Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panamax PM8-AV

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # PM8-AV

Panamax PM8-AV

Panamax PM8-AV

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # PM8-AV

27 reviews
View this product

Panamax

Crutchfield customer from Orchard Park, NY on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks and feels sturdy and does the job.

Pros: Sturdy, compact, long enough cord

Cons: It could use more plugs and usb ports.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Another Great Panamax Product

Robert from Sebastian, FL on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using Panamax products for years. Always good value and whenever there was a problem (like a lightning strike) Panamax has stood behind their products. I have the larger Panamax M4300-PM and needed more power outlets for a turntable, DAC, external hard drive and phono preamp so I picked this up. Works great and operates quietly giving me good sound and peace of mind from power surges and thunder storms. I would recommend this to any such application and a larger Panamax for any high current components such as amplifiers and receivers.

Pros: Very quiet , improves sound and surge protection you can count on.

Cons: May want to use a larger Panamax when connecting a high current component such as an amplifier or receiver.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I initially rolled my eyes at the thought of a power strip costing more than $20 but I was so desperate to get rid of the fuzz and feedback coming from my speakers for years that I bit the bullet and bought em. My speakers have never sounded better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I now have several of the for my home theater etc. So far so good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CA on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

none

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ready for Lightning !!

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks impressive, well built and enough ports for our system. Waiting for Lightning Strike !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, IN on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far so good...

Crutchfield customer from Altamonte Spg, FL on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had it a week but I'm very happy with my purchase so far. I like the design of the outlets because it allows thicker plugs the space they need without blocking the others. The green lights remind me that it's doing its job without being too bright. But my favorite part is having piece of mind knowing that my equipment is protected.

Pros: Smart design, lights aren't too bright

Cons: Cord could be a little longer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job not tested, yet...

Kenneth from Collierville, TN on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and small enough to conceal. Great unit so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as expected

Crutchfield customer from Akron, CO on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Panamax power strip with surge suppression. It has 8 outlets, LED status indicators and keyholes with mounting hardware. It's wide enough to accommodate all of your power cables and thin enough to mount to the back of your cabinet or wall providing necessary space.

Pros: See review

Cons: Color is silver. Wasn't offered a color choice. Would have preferred one in black.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So so

Michael from Crete, IL on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing special my Monster surge protector was just as good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Were running new 4k TV off of 9 year old Monster surge protector, and picture was vibrant, clear. When we plugged same Tv into PM8-AV, clarity was lost and colors looked faded. We connected TV into an old Furman surge protector and vibrancy along with clear pictured returned. We tried this 4 separate times and same results, even plugging directly into wall plug resulted in better picture quality. We sent PM8-AV back for refund.

Pros: Many great reviews, form factor for our purposes.

Cons: Plastic and very light weight unit seems cheaply made.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NC on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You won't know if this device works unless you experience a power surge. It certainly looks robust. Hope it works if needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CA on 6/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solidly built. Like the wide space plugs for wall warts. It has good brackets to hang it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksbrg, TX on 2/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It seems to work ok.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Matthew from Long Island, NY on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had any surges, but take comfort with having a premium surge/power conditioner for my equipment. The location of the power switch and outlets are very helpful. Nicely designed. The 6' cord is helpful too.

Pros: Nice design (outlet spacing & Location) Lifetime warranty 6' Cord

Cons: None to report

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from East Jordan, MI on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I took the advice on this item needed to replace a unit that failed during a power surge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

christopher from Early, TX on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great...crutchfield advisor helped decide on this ...excellent as usual

Pros: has multiple outlets

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 11/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After some research I determined I was not protected and this was recommended by CRUTCHFIELD. Tech support even clearfied hook up of cable. Could have spent a lot more and of course could have stayed with a lesser surge protector but this unit seems like the best solution to protect my 5 thousand plus dollar investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just right

David from New Orleans, LA on 10/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product at an awesome price. Like the outlets at are Inn the side of the unit. Easily fit under any cabinet or wall mount.

Pros: Power conditioning Surge protection Protection for cable and phone lines

Cons: Only available in one color

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Crutchfield customer from Attleboro Falls, MA on 10/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

Dave from Hixson, TN on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panamax PM8-AV is a nice compact unit. the outlets are spaced well to accommodate 8 plugs and enough room to allow those clunky transformer type. Has two coaxial (cable type) inputs with outputs. One phone line. It's function is unseen so I won't know how well it protects my equipment until it happens. It is a comfort to think I am protected.

Pros: Outlets are spaced well. 8 outlets two cable one phone. enough for most applications I suspect. Reasonable price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

Giancarlo from New Jersey on 7/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this after a lightning storm fried my cable modem. Since I installed this, it has not been tested but I don't doubt the protection it provides against surges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax PM-8AV

Gbro from Macatawa, MI on 12/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Layout of plugs could be designed better.

Pros: None

Cons: Switch in odd position.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PM8-AV

Eddie from punta gorda florida on 8/22/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LIVING IN THE LIGHTING CAPITAL OF AMERICA, I KNEW IT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA TO PURCHASE A GOOD SURGE PROTECTOR. SIX YEARS AGO I BOUGHT A PANAMAX, AND AFTER MANY LIGHTING STORMS, MY SONY BRAVIA NEVER GOT DAMAGED. WHEN I RECENTLY PURCHASED A NEW FLAT PANEL FOR OUR BEDROOM , I PURCHASED ANOTHER PANAMAX PM8-AV FOR THERE. I FIGURED IT DID NOT FAIL ME THE FIRST TIME, SO STICK WITH WHAT WORKS.

Pros: FITS ALL OF MY ELECTRONICS, HAS A GREAT WARRANTY (HOPEFULLY IT WIL NEVER HAVE TO BE USED). PRICE RANGE WAS ABOUT AVERAGE COMPARED TO OTHER SURGE PROTECTORS.

Cons: BACK MOUNTING HOLE , WOULD BE BETTER IF IT WAS A TAB LIKE THE FRONT TWO.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Product

LanceB from Phoenix, AZ on 4/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very reliable product. There was a storm a while ago and the surge protector did its job. It powered down until the voltage was stable and I was amazed. Thank god I have this product protecting all of my AV gear and I feel confident it won't let me down. Also the picture quality did improve for anybody wondering about that part. Theres warranty on all the gear that you plug in as well.

Pros: Safe and very reliable

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panamax PM8-AV

LY from Ben Lomond, CA on 9/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy set-up. Can't believe the difference it made in the picture quality on my HDTV! And I feel that my electronics are safe. Plan to purchase another one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP