Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Samsung SWA-8500S

Wireless surround speaker kit for Samsung sound bars

MFR # SWA-8500S/ZA

Samsung SWA-8500S

Samsung SWA-8500S

Wireless surround speaker kit for Samsung sound bars

MFR # SWA-8500S/ZA

29 reviews
View this product

Good speakers - be sure to update firmware first

Norbert from Brandon, FL on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially had difficulty connecting to my Soundbar (Samsung Q70R). First contacted Samsung support (20 minutes later still not connected), then Crutchfield Tech support. Just before calling Crutchfield to see about returning the product I ensured the soundbar was connected to the Internet. While on the phone with Crutchfield, the soundbar began an automatic firmware update. Once that completed, the speakers connected and have worked flawlessly since. Very small speakers so don't expect "big" sound out of them but they do accomplish providing surround sound effects so they do their job. If you are having issues with these connecting to a compatible soundbar, ensure you are running the most up to date firmware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Spencer, IA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work perfectly with the Samsung HW-R650 soundbar. Synced up quick and sound great. For all of the reviews that say that these aren't loud enough, those people either somehow set them up incorrectly or they have completely unreasonable expectations. Perhaps they don't understand how surround speakers are supposed to work? Anyways, volume is adjustable within the soundbar controls (HW-R650) in a range of -6 to +6. I have mine set to 0 and that seems like plenty with the seating arrangement that I have. I'm fairly close to the left surround speaker. I do wish that they were adjustable for time alignment left to right since I sit way closer to the left speaker than the right but that probably has more to do with the soundbar than these speakers. I'm super happy with these speakers and Crutchfield service was excellent as always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price and size they are real good. I'm satisfied. I searched the internet and your price beat all the others plus free shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine sound-small package

richard from Roslindale, MA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I highly recommend the 8500S. It provides accurate lifelike surround in a small package and can be mounted easily on a wall or stand. Connects seamlessly and wirelessly with sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Es pequeño poco espacio pero muy bueno el sonido para su tamaño

Pros: Buen sonido por el tamaño

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Addition to Q70 Sound Bar and Sub Woofer

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, WA on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great little speakers! While some reviewers have said they aren't loud enough I've found that claim to be inaccurate. Depending on the broadcast and format I've had to turn the volume down because they were a bit too loud. I'm using them in our family room which measures 14' x 17'. I've placed them on end tables next to our couch. While they will not crack the plaster on the walls they definitely enhance the listening experience. I recommend these speakers and would urge anyone who's thinking about rear speakers to give these serious consideration. If you have the opportunity to purchase them on sale just do it!

Pros: Good Enhancement to Sound System

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a very nice unit. Set up is very quick and sound quality is above average. My only complaint is that it would be nice if the speakers connected wirelessly to each other and nit just to the main unit. This would avoid speaker wires across the floor.

Pros: Easy set up, above average sound quality

Cons: Speaker wire needed to connect speakers to each other (speakers are connected wireless to the man unit)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small, Compact, & Worth It!

Steven from Mandan, ND on 8/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hang and light! Receiver connected even through a 1/2 sheetrock wall about 12 feet away. These little speakers definitely add surround. Small and Compact

Pros: Light, Small Profile, Pretty big sound! Easy to hang

Cons: would be nice if remote had a volume control for these as it does for the Sub. Still well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent surround sound

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read reviews so expected they would add to my soundbar experience. But at least two reviews complained about the inability to adjust the volume. An upgrade? Just with the remote I can boost the back speakers if I want more music or peripheral sound. Or I can lower it if I want to focus more on the dialogue. In conjunction with the Samsung soundbar and the Samsung TV-WOW!

Pros: Great surround Easy setup Remote allows adjusting bass, treble, center, and especially front to back

Cons: Threading wire through stands was a drag

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent buy.

Crutchfield customer from Orange Park, FL on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpesive very adequate surround speakers to use with Samsung 3.1 soundbar. Not the newest available but has decent sound. For the money, an excellent buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like these speakers. Such a easy setup and the speakers are very clear. When Crutchfield offered them at a super low price, I just had to get them.

Pros: Easy setup....great sound ......not expensive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canton

Kai from Canton on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are not wireless speakers. They have a wireless receiver and wired speakers. Completely false advertising and barely have good enough sound to even notice their there. The wires are more noticable than the sound.

Pros: Wireless receiver

Cons: Has wires Small sound

Crutchfield response on 7/29/2019
Kai, we're sorry you're disappointed with the design of your wireless speaker system. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Maybe I need to learn more.

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had mixed success with these so far in getting them to pair and sound loud enough with the bar and sub. Maybe a learning curve on my part.

Pros: Good sound from small speaker

Cons: Loudness is sometimes a little wanting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple interface and setup with the Samsung/Harmon Kardon sound bar...surprising sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S kit

Crutchfield customer from Chicopee, MA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is deceiving, small speakers that pack a punch. The unit linked with the soundbar before I was able to turn the sound bar off. The set up is easy, just match the color coded speakers and wires and you are done. My expectations were met, and with Crutchfield, great price. Thanks.

Pros: Easy set up, great sound, great price

Cons: Does not link to older Samsungsub woofer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy set up

melissa from Charlottesvle, VA on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to pair, and quite discreet on our shelves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

David J from Denham Springs, LA on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We're using these in a 14 by 14 ft. family room paired to a Samsung sound bar. Getting the speakers to link up via Bluetooth to the Samsung sound bar was quick and easy. However, performance is very lacking. No volume control. You have to pick up the speaker and put it next to your ear to hear anything. We tried all the different sound settings available on the sound bar with no apparent change in volume. Turning up the sound bar volume just may it louder with not change in the speakers. Very disappointing.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: No volume control. Very weak sound, you would not know they were on unless you put one up to your ear.

Crutchfield response on 1/7/2019
David, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, non-intrusive in size, sound helps fill in the room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound good, no issue connecting to soundbar!

Ken from Glenside, PA on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DIsclaimer - I am an amateur when it comes to audio. I picked up the HW-MM55C Soundbar last week and since I had some reward $$ available from car audio purchases I decided to add the the rear surround speakers. UPS rang the doorbell and less than 30 minutes later the speakers were hung and working with no problem. I followed the directions carefully because I had read that others connecting via bluetooth. My speakers connected the first time I attempted the connection. Put on a Star Wars movie to test them out and worked perfectly.

Pros: Easy to install Great little speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value and I would recommend them to anyone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Poulsbo, WA on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a good product, easy to install, pairing had no issues. Complaint would be that they could be louder. They do help fill-in and round-out the sound, but seem a bit quiet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surround speakers.

Bob from Troy, VA on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased sound bar from Sam's Club. Does not work even though web site said it would. I'm very disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Will not work

Kevin from Omaha, NE on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not get them to connect to my Samsung sound bar that I purchased. Had techs from Crutchfield and Samsung on the phone trying to get these to work with no luck. I am so frustrated that words can't describe.

Pros: Look nice perfect size for what I wanted.

Cons: Would not connect to the sound bar

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

They are small but do the job for rear speakers

Yogi from Asheboro, NC on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work well. Put the volume on 6 and let them work. Don't get to carried away just because you are hearing them right at the moment. They work at different volumes as the surround part of the system works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Jim from Sacramento, CA on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first got the sound bar and the rear speakers it would work in surround sound. I have had to fool with it repeatedly though to keep the rear speakers working. Now I can't get them to work no matter what I do. I have reset the amp and reinstalled the whole set up without success.

Pros:

Cons: Does not work.

Crutchfield response on 1/1/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Jim to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too small for a large room. Not loud enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

Guest from Melbourne Beach, FL on 11/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this set a year ago. Excellent Sound Bar and crisp deep base sub-woofer sound. As for the rear speakers - Put the remote to 'Music' setting then Rear Speaker (max) volume at #6. You should get to hear 'surround sound' but I am not sure about 'Dolby Digital'.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

J michael from Snohomish, WA on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No volume control. Not very loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/14/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to J. Michael to help him further. We'll either help him get the speakers working the way they should, or help him return them for an exchange or refund.

1 of 5 found this helpful

Samsung SWA-8500S

JW from TX on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not worth the money. Speakers are not loud enough.

Pros: None

Cons: Flimsy, weak sound

Crutchfield response on

18 of 20 found this helpful

TOP