Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pangea Audio DS400

Pair of heavy-duty speaker stands (24")

MFR # PGDS400 24

Pangea Audio DS400

Pangea Audio DS400

Pair of heavy-duty speaker stands (24")

MFR # PGDS400 24

10 reviews
View this product

Simple, Solid, and Heavy

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, MO on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heavy duty components, easy to assemble. These stands also allow the user to fill with sand or shot to make them even heavier (they weigh, IIRC, 27 lbs each empty). I use these with my Dynaudio Evoke 10 speakers and couldn't be happier. I am considering getting a 2nd pair for my ancient Polk Audio RT25i or whatever I replace them with.

Pros: Rugged Heavy Ease of Assembly

Cons: Finish is rather plain - not glossy, etc.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High quality and solid

William from Gardendale, AL on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are well made stands. Assembly was easy and straight forward. Just don't tighten any bolt until you have all of them started. This is my second pair of the DS400. I used play sand from Lowe's to fill them. It is extremely fine grained and dry as a bone. With my first pair, I noticed a small amount of sand escaped when I moved the stands. I emptied them and used black caulk all around the bottom of the tubes and refilled them...problem solved. It took more than 1 bag but less than 2 total play sand. They are great stands.

Pros: The DS400 is as advertised and a fine value. I'd rather buy from Crutchfield than anyone.

Cons: A larger top plate for my Legacy Studios wouldn't hurt my feelings.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from St Croix Fls, WI on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stands are very well built and they are heavy. The floor spikes work great on my apartment carpeting. I do wish they came with a different set of feet though for hardwood floors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speaker Stands!!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made speaker stands. Heavy gauge steel and a good finish. The legs didn't line up exactly on one stand but a little persuasion got them straightened out. I filled all 4 legs on each stand with sand. Be prepared, it took almost 30 lbs. of sand to fill both stands. They are super solid after that!! Perfect fit for my Klipsch The Fives!!

Pros: Heavy, well-built, room for lots of sand.

Cons: Carpet spikes are a little fiddly to get installed due to powder coat.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pangea Audio DS400

Crutchfield customer from Saint Albans, NY on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a sturdy and heavy speaker stand. I have not filled the stands with sand or any other material and from my listening (electronic and jazz music mostly) it does not seem to resonate with music playback. The only reason I am giving this stand 4 stars instead of 5 is that lining up the pillars and top plate is difficult. I had to force the pillars to line up with the screw holes in the top plate. Once that was done however, the DS400 stands firm.

Pros: Heavy and sturdy

Cons: Hard to line up pillars and top plate

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pangea Audio DS400

Crutchfield customer from Cape Elizabeth, ME on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not yet put it to use, but easy to assemble, and seems very solid.

Pros: I have not yet put it to use, but easy to assemble, and seems very solid.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sturdy stands

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these stands to support a pair of large monitors that weight 45lbs each. Each of the four pillars affixes to the base using two screws, and then a single recessed screw to secure to the top plate. Once the two bottom screws are in place you could then fill with sand (which I have not done yet), you would have to fill each of the four pillars separately. Once assembled there is a 7/8ths of an inch gap between the pillars from the front, and a 5/8th of an inch gap from the side. There is no place to hide speaker wires, and the stands have a slight grit (powder coat paint) texture to them. They provide you with 4 dot sized sticker cushions to prevent scratching the bottom of your speakers to the plate, but I would recommend getting something better. I did not use the carpeted speaker spikes but they are substantial, the conical (spikey)part of the spike is just over half an inch and the whole threaded spike assembly is 1 3/4".

Pros: Sturdy design Easy assembly Looks

Cons: Insufficient speaker plate "dot" sticker protection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't bother

Steve from Rio Rancho on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You generally get what you pay for in this life. So I shouldn't be too disappointed with these stands. 2 of the threaded inserts in the bases were pre-stripped at the factory and installing the spikes was near-impossible. These things are too heavy to bother returning to Crutchfield. They are headed to the local metal recycler . If you value your speakers AVOID THESE LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Pros: Low price.

Cons: Poor construction.

Crutchfield response on 9/8/2020
Steve, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker stands. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stands; great value

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I agree 100% with the comments of the other reviewer, Richard from Brooklyn. I bought these stands for my new Martin Logan Motion 35XT bookshelf speakers (7.6 x 13.5 x 11.8" - 19.2 x 34.3 x 30 cm). The steel top plate is slightly smaller than the speakers, but provides ample stability. Assembly was a breeze. These are heavy, sturdy stands and can be purchased at a very appealing price point compared to most other similar stands. I didn't use the included spikes because I placed the stands on a brick floor. I simply added felt stick-on pads to the bottom of the base plates. As usual, great Crutchfield service; shipping was free, and I received the stands in Dallas two days after ordering them.

Pros: Sturdy, easy assembly, good value

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great, Heavy duty stands

Richard from Brooklyn, NY on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had these assembled and ready to go in about 30 minutes. Very heavy duty . Each stands weighs in at 30 pounds and provides a rock solid platform for your speakers. I know some people have commented on how difficult is it to assemble but the trick is not to tighten anything tight until you have all the pieces in place. As usual, Crutchfield totally ROCKS.. they told me 3 day shipping to NYC and I got them in 2 days.

Pros: Heavy duty, well built stands

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP