Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Record cleaning machine (Gloss Black)

MFR # RDVI GLSBLK

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Record cleaning machine (Gloss Black)

MFR # RDVI GLSBLK

15 reviews
View this product

Well done!

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan, WI on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what. Hoped it would be?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Deep Cleans and Efficient

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't see a speck of anything on the record after using my new Record Doctor VI. Took about the same time as a spin clean. Easy, efficient, and does a better job. Really cleans the grooves out! You will want to upgrade your inner sleeves to non-static, as it doesn't seem right replacing such a clean piece of vinyl into the paper original.

Pros: - Easy - Efficient - Deep cleans record

Cons: - A little more expensive than a spin clean - Want to upgrade your inner sleeves to match the cleanest of your records

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Hustonville, KY on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work great cleaning records. I've cleaned 100+ so far. My only complaint is the noise level. If you have a heavily soiled record (mold, dust, etc), you may need to clean it twice. I enjoy the time savings vs the spin clean due to no drying time needed.

Pros: Time saving

Cons: Noise level

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Works well. Wear hearing protection.

Dan from PORT TOWNSEND, WA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine--you can feel that the record resists spinning due to the suction. But not only is it loud, the frequencies of the noise are downright painful. I'm going to experiment with building a vented box to quiet it down. It also is a bit of a hassle, but worth it for the quiet records that result.

Pros: Small size. Quiets records.

Cons: Noise. Not up to the dirtiest records (use a Spin Clean for those).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Good Dr VI

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dr VI is an all around mid priced vinyl record cleaning apparatus. The Dr is simple to use, except for the loud vacuum motor, and is of superb quality for the price. Save time and save your vinyls with the Dr.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We inherited a home from a friend and he left us over 200 plus 33 and 45 rpm records which were in dire need of cleaning. the Record Doctor VI has been doing a great job on the 33 rpm's. Not quit sure on the 45's yet as the whole record does quit reach over to the vacuum as well. We will see once I get the inserts today that I had to buy so I could place it on the machine to be cleaned. But so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cleans records very well. I wish it was not so loud.

Pros: Make my vinyl sound great.

Cons: Too Loud

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wet /dry vacuuming.

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, MO on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am new to this record cleaning machine so my verdict isn't totally decided. Overall I do think it has helped some of my albums sound better. Some albums, I can't say it did much to help. Apparently they have had too much use in the past to be able to restore their original sound. It is a pretty simple method of cleaning. I will say it is quite loud. It is as loud as a wet dry vacuum cleaner. Basically that is what it is. I have read other reviews that the older models have had issues with mold and water damage. This model does have the aluminum top on it. I do hope that helps keep it from having damage later in its life. I do have concerns where the fluid does go as when you open the plug in the bottom of the cabinet, nothing has come out of it. I hope it is being vaporized and not collecting somewhere in the cabinet. It has such a small drain I am not sure anything actually does drain from it. Time will tell if it starts damaging it due to it not draining. Overall, I do think it helps somewhat. It won't "cure" any album that is worn or has any real damage so don't expect it to work miracles.

Pros: Looks nice. Seems heavy duty.

Cons: Noisy to use. Unsure where the liquid is going as nothing seems to drain out of it when opening the drain plug.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Record Doctor VI 20th Anniversary Edition

Crutchfield customer from Harpers Ferry, WV on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've cleaned about 15 records with this so far and it works great. I upgraded from a Spin Clean used in conjunction with a Vinyl Vac. That system worked ok, but it was a major hassle to setup and breakdown. The Record Doctor requires almost no setup, so I'm far more likely to clean records, especially new vinyl, which I almost never cleaned before. My only complaint is that the top corners of this device are very sharp. I discovered this the hard way. I slipped when I was placing a record on the spindle and the record tilted before I could catch it and grazed one of the corners. This put a small, but deep scratch in the vinyl, ruining the record for my standards. There is now a loud pop during playback for about 10 revolutions, so I'll have to replace the record. Luckily it isn't a rare or audiophile grade pressing. I ended up putting several layers of masking tape on the corners to make sure that never happens again if I slip. Given how many records people typically clean when they own machines like this, I think it's likely to happen to someone else at some point, even if they are being careful. I'd recommend that the manufacturer put something protective over the corners on the spindle end of the unit. With the spindle being black on a black background, it's tricky to line up with it at time and the record could tilt towards the corner.

Pros: Easy setup Simple and effective Fairly quiet for a vacuum system

Cons: Sharp corners can damage records

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I would buy again

Ryan from San Antonio, TX on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: My records sound better than they ever have. Seriously, I notice an audible wow difference using my setup: Pro-ject Debut Carbon w/ Acrylic Platter, Pro-Ject Phono Box S2, NAD C316BEE, and KEF LS50. Convenient to leave and use near my turntable. The Spin-Clean I used before it was a messy hassle in comparison. Looks stylish enough to leave out on display. I did get a Digital Deck Cover for mine though to help keep it dust free. Does dry washed records with enough effort and time. Cons: Loud. According to my Apple watch the noise is capable of causing hearing damage. Not the best for those who are about to listen to and appreciate music. I purchased some cheap ear protection designed for wearing at the shooting range to wear while I use it. That has solved the loudness problem and is only slightly inconvenient. Others in my house get to hear the noise of the Record Doctor though which is annoying. Takes work and time to really clean. Most often there is still a line of dust where the sweepers corralled dust to, but the vacuum did not remove. This kind of makes me question how good the vacuum is and if the design really takes advantage of it or if the vacuum is mostly for show. With a little tweaking, repetition, and time I am able to get 99% of the dust removed though. Where does the dust go (filter)? Caveats: I have been mostly using this with Mofi Super Record Wash and the cleaning brush. T

Pros: Improves sound of vinyl, convenient, stylish, dries records

Cons: Loud, takes time and effort

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Capable but needs personal technique

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot of personal technique needed to get the most from it but does a good job. Instructions underestimate the ease and location that provide best pressure points, and how many rotations needed for drying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great cleaning

Crutchfield customer from Warrenville, IL on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a good job cleaning your record and all fluid is removed. Probably me but sometimes hard to line up record hole with the spindle vs on a turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Met my expectations

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a nice job cleaning vinyl. I can tell the difference! Motor is somewhat loud but probably has to be for the vacuum to work as effectively as it does.

Pros: Very good atcleaning vinyl

Cons: Somewhat loud vacuum motor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent alternative to vpi, oki nokki and nitty gritty

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, NJ on 6/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great machine for cleaning my precious LP's Much less expensive than the vpi's type of machine due to the fact that it does away with the the second motor that turns the record . So that doubles the price. If you don't mind turning the record by hand, it's no big deal. The vacuum is very powerful and the records come out really clean which translates to quiet music. It's very well built, and should last a long time. I just wish that for the price, it would include a larger bottle of cleaner. 4oz? Comon' Pangea, you can do better than that. Otherwise, very pleased. Cleaned about 20 albums so far , and can really see and hear a difference

Pros: Well built, powerful motor

Cons: Only 4 oz cleaning fluid Like to see a larger platter for the LP.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great record cleaner.

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, and improved over earlier versions. This unit ie a bit quieter and lighter. Comes with a cover. This has virtually eliminated the crud build up on my cartridge needle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP