Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # WHD122BLK

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # WHD122BLK

17 reviews
View this product

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Jeffrey from Indianapolis, IN on 4/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried a lot of speakers and these are the best I've had love them!

Pros: Great all around sound don't really need a subwoofer but it's a nice addition.

Cons: Haven't found any so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Warm, rich and full.

David from Amarillo, TX on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker has a warm accurate sound. The upper range is pleasant and not to bright. Mid-range is full and well balanced. The lower range is adequate, though a subwoofer is well appreciated. I am using the speakers with a Jamo subwoofer. I am very happy with the sound. I have used a tube preamp and a 25 watt per channel SMSL amp with nice results. I have used a Topping DAC as well. I have another pair in the living room with Yamaha receiver. I enjoy the warm rich sound reproduction of these speakers v

Pros: Excellent sound reproduction. Can be driven with a small amplifier.

Cons: Better with a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Charles Keit from Sedro Woolley, WA on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, paired them with a SMSL DA-9

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speakers For Today's Listener

Fred from Port Townsend, WA on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished up two weeks of non-stop listening with the Diamond 12.2s, Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2s and Polk R200s. I kept the Polks because they were the decathlon runner between the three. They did everything well. They also cost more, and that may put them in to another class of speaker. I'm taking time to comment on the Diamond 12.2's because they do some things EXCEEDINGLY well...unlike anything else I've heard in a bookshelf speaker. Several online reviews mention their forward midrange performance. It's fair to say that this speaker is designed to reproduce modern day audio. In a world dominated by earbuds and soundbars, the 12.2's elevate the listening experience for people accustomed to that kind of sound. Today's consumers did not grow up with Magneplanars and Klipsch Heresys. Today's sound comes from Samsung soundbars, UE Bluetooth speakers, Sonos, Airpods and cell phone speakers. Put a consumer of those products in front of a pair of Wharfedale Diamonds and they will be elated. They may also consider some of the competitors dull, or hollow-sounding. The Wharfedales get right to it. Some "Forever Wharfedale" fans may think that these aren't your daddy's Wharfedales. They're not. But for TV, movies and modern pop music, they are special and delightful.

Pros: Excellent for TV/movie audio and modern pop Well-rounded You will hear things in songs you've never heard before, esp. percussion and synth

Cons: Could use a little air/silk in the high highs

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Kearny, NJ on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the these speakers .they are worth the money .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not A Diamond In The Rough

Crutchfield customer from Statesville, NC on 10/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced some older, larger JBL N28 speakers in my den for both 2 channel stereo and movie sound use. I have found them to be far more detailed and nuanced, especially in micro-dynamics than the old JBLs ever were. The midrange on these is nice, there is plenty of bass for such a small speaker (and it is detailed), but yes, I am using a sub-woofer, rolling over to these at 80 Hz which works well. Now, the treble: Some reviewers said it was harsh, but I don't think so. Perhaps only when pushed far louder than they should be does this ever show. In normal use, the treble is sweet, detailed, and NOT strident. I'd characterize it as "smooth" and non-fatiguing. I could listen to these all day (and I do!). These do need a decent amp to make them shine, but they also play well at low volumes too. I like these so much, I'm considering the Wharfedale Linton speakers for my living room. I consider them a great find. I compared them to my ELAC Debut B6.2 which I use in my computer room/home office, and like the Diamonds' midrange better and find they play better at lower volumes than the ELACs which don't sound great until you "wake them up". Do note that you need some 30" to 32" tall stands with these. The "sweet spot" is placing the midpoint between the tweeter and the woofer at your ear height when seated. You'll find a great balanced sound there.

Pros: Balanced, neutral, slightly warm sound. Great micro-dynamics. Smooth treble. They look beautiful. Amazing what you can get for $500 these days.

Cons: Need some tall stands to make these shine. A bit power hungry but not crazy. Most small bookshelf speakers are.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Extra! Extra! Great hi-fi is now very affordable.

Crutchfield customer from Union, NJ on 9/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Wharfedale Diamond 12.2 are great little speakers. These are actually my first hi-fi speakers, and I'm enjoying the change from computer speakers and tv sound bars. It's another level, another scale, now it's real hi-fi. I can now hear that music has several layers of sound (instruments). Great quality built and looks for the price. Great imaging and instrument separation, healthy bass, detailed highs and punchy midrange. Good well rounders for all types of music genres. I can listen to these all day without fatigue. These are pretty neutral to my ears. I paired mine with an Emotiva Basx TA1 integrated amp (trebly amp with 60 watts/channel), and a Sony Blueray disc player. I'm waiting for the NAD C 538 cd player to become available, to complete my simple system. These are great and affordable entry level hi-fi speakers. Highly recommended.

Pros: Built, looks, sound, affordability, etc, etc, etc,...

Cons: Well,... I just found out that a good part of my cd collection are bad recordings,... These speakers have no mercy with bad recordings,... Life is a b***h sometimes,...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Speakers!! Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Rodrigo from Round Rock on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound amazing, Well balanced i can listen to them all day!!! Well constructed very solid enclosure making the bass response sound tight!! Sound stage is great. Overall its a clear winner in my book.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful looks and crisp sound

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 12.2s are beautifully made with a high-quality look and feel. They are solid and heavy for their size. My system: Audiolab 6000a amp, Blusound Node2i streamer, and Rotel CD11 Tribute CD player. They are mostly neutral with slightly forward mids which is perfect for my taste. Clarity and imaging are impressive and the soundstage is excellent but not extremely wide. On some tracks they can sound a bit boxy or constrained but they mostly get out of the way of the music. I find these speakers engaging and they bring a subtle excitement to the music. They are replacing a pair of late 90s B&W 602 S2s. The 12.2s can't compete with the size and warmth of the 602s but they do bring a crispness and clarity that is really fun. I will likely consider a sub in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 7/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoy these speakers using them in a large room powered by a Cambridge 85 watt amplifier, put them through a test today listen to some Queen streaming on Amazon, and then some Miles Davis

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big sound from this bookshelf

Tom from St.Louis, MO on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have about 12 hours of listening on these so far and am very impressed. I'm paired with the Denon PMA-600NE integrated amp and it's providing more than enough power. I upgraded from the Polk S15 which I was mostly satisfied with but wanted a "bigger" sound for my relatively small space. These are definitely meeting that requirement. The build quality is great and they look good as well. I was also considering the Denton 85th but went with these for just over half the cost. Seeing how I rarely go over 30% volume and my hearing is not great (too much live music), I figured I'd probably never hear the difference. I did a bunch of online research and the Diamond series is typically near the top in this price range. I don't think you'll be disappointed with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Awesome sound and bass

Ryan from Oakland, CA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a year of use, I am very impressed with the sound quality. I have played every genre of music and love the low end bass these put out. I had considered the Elac Debut 2.0 along with this one for their low decibels rates. It helps with the low end sound in my opinion and experience. I went with these for the over all look. But I am honestly not crazy about the piano gloss front with the matte wood on the sides. It grows on you though. If classical music is more your preferred music, these do tend to sound a little on the bass heavy side but have a very clean sound. I noticed new elements in old records that I hadn't heard in much lower grade speakers. They were temporary substitutes before these beauties. krautrock records sound incredible with the electronic sound, crisp and clear on top of the bass filled under tones. Reggae, Hip Hop, and Dub music sounds great, picking up the low end perfectly with out a sub woofer needed. But it does help with feeling it in a medium apartment 12x12 sized room for sure. Soundtracks, Vapor wave (modern new age), Lounge, and various Jazz sounds very clean and clear. These speakers pick up silent moments with the louder sounds in perfect harmony. The same to be said for other music not mentioned. I have been very pleased with these speakers and recommend them for music.

Pros: Great sound and great bass with the lower decibel out put. The look of them is nice. The back wire connectors is a step up in good quality.

Cons: The piano gloss not a favorite but grew on me with time. No others, just need to update the rest of my stereo now.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very happy

Crutchfield customer from Teaneck, NJ on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived quickly. Good price. A great sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Mind-Blowing Build Quality!

Crutchfield customer from South Portland, ME on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Wharfedale Diamond 12.2's produce the kind of warm sound that you can listen to all day and not get tired of it, plus better build quality absolutely cannot be found at this price. These speakers are 18 lbs. each and sound every bit the masterpiece of construction that they are!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 12.2

Crutchfield customer from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound and finish of the speaker. Great price!!! Must have!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

These are keepers!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying several sets of bookshelf speakers I fell in love with these. Excellent soundstage. Deep, tight, accurate bass. Overall sound reproduction is perfect. Keep in mind these are heavy, well constructed bookshelf speakers so invest in quality speaker stands. The overall look of the speakers is sophisticated yet simple. I keep the magnetic grills on. The wife loves these speakers too. Mostly because I've now stopped buying and returning so many. My small gripe with these Diamond 12.2s would be that off-axis listening lacks quite a bit of their treble. Luckily 90% of the time I'm listening to these the tweeter is right at ear level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Nice speakers for good price

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, RI on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a good mid level quality speaker for my entertainment system. These are hooked up with a turn table and my smart Tv and so far the sound is great. They have a good amount of Bass sound on their own and I have yet to buy a subwoofer. The Tv dialogue sounds good, though I'm thinking of adding a center channel as well. I choose these because I needed something I could use with my stereo system and TV. I have a pretty wide range of musical taste and so far this set of speakers does well with everything.

Pros: Nice design and finish

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 16 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound