Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
848 131 422 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
848 131 422 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Bookshelf speakers (Blackwood)

MFR # Diamond 220-Bk Ash

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Bookshelf speakers (Blackwood)

MFR # Diamond 220-Bk Ash

25 reviews
View this product

Classy, Smooth, and a Steal at this Price

Crutchfield customer from Ayer, MA on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely beautiful. Silky and smooth with great separation and clarity for a steal of a price. Incredibly happy with them as part of a 3.1 system! Perform just as well watching The Avengers as they do listening to punk rock. Classy, sturdy construction too.

Pros: Clarity, Construction, Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Take me down the audiophile rabbit hole

Crutchfield customer from Butler, PA on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sounds great! So great, I think I need a better amp now. I can tell how much more I am missing...

Pros: Build quality

Cons: Discontinued

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bright and expressive speakers, don't expect massive bass (they're bookshelf's after all) but rich and detailed notes that fill the space. The gloss black fronts do pick up greater amounts of dust and fingerprints than the veneer wood on the sides and top so keep that in mind if you care about finishes.

Pros: Bright clear sound Rich detailed bass Easy set up and wonderfully spaced binding posts (no forcing fingers into tight spaces) Comes with basic rubber isolation feet

Cons: Don't expect deep shaking bass without a subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Coatesville, PA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unfortunately these speakers do not sound better than the Polk speakers that they replaced. I am disappointed because I expected them too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

They really hold their own

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked up 2 pair of these babies to act as side and rear surround speakers. To test them I set each pair one at a time on top of my Diamond 10.7 towers and plugged them in as mains with the sub woofer. I was surprised how well they held their own as main speakers compared to the towers. It almost seems a shame to relagate them to the job of surrounds but at this price I might as well go with better speakers just because I can.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first plugged these in to my Yamaha RX-A770 as my front two speakers of my 7.1 setup, I was slightly disappointed as the speakers sounded slightly muffled. However, after about a week of use, they opened up significantly, but still not exactly what I was expecting from wharfedale. So I changed my setup to bi-amp these two speakers, and I am much more satisfied. The difference is like night and day. Now I really feel like I have made an upgrade to my humble system.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Bi-amp must be utilized, don't looks as nice as diamond 11's.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Appreciating music old school.

Crutchfield customer from Gordon, PA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker,excellent sound for my living space.I resurrected a pioneer receiver-sx1250 and a technics sl-3300 turntable after 20+ years of storage and extremely happy with the results.

Pros: Great sound,great value.

Cons: None,other than I waited too long to do this.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a smaller speaker due to space constraints. I had looked at these before, ended up getting the Cambridge Audio SX-50's then. I am glad I finally got a pair of the 220's. They are in a smaller bedroom hooked to a 1992 era Technics receiver (GX-350). Still breaking them in but they sound really good so far. Very please with them.

Pros: Fit the space I had Sound Great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After years of using a surround setup for both video and music, I go tired of all the tangle of wires and extra speakers and decided to go back to basics with a 2 channel system for music only. These little speakers are very clear and project a wide soundstage. The top end and midrange are well defined. Not much bass but what there is clear and not muddy. I'm pairing these with an NAD C316 BEE v2 integrated, Denon DP300F turntable, and a Schiit Modi DAC for streaming music. All in all, excellent value and sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product..

Be from San Jose, CA on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound clean and crisp sound. Great product, great sound.

Pros: Very good product. Sound very smooth and clear.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound

LOUIS from Fairfield on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been listening to these spkrs. in my system a scant 2 days in long, extensive listening sessions. They sound magical. I am thrilled. Not using a sub, most folks will. Wharfedale says place them as near as 55 mm from the rear wall, or more. That's pretty close. Coupling like that in effect makes the dry wall in your room a tonewood of the speakers.No good. Mine are 7-9 inches. They sound cleaner.Who wants to listen to drywall? I say whatever works for you is right. What hifi's review really swayed me. 2014 budget spkr. of the year in it's range. I can't be any more pleased.

Pros: In addional to superlative sound these spkrs. LOOK like great speakers.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audiophile quality at a budget minded price. Plus they are beautifully constructed.

Pros: Sound plus fit and finish. I find it amazing a relatively small bookshelf speaker can provide so much detail and imaging.

Cons: None. Honestly nothing comes to mind.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Matthew from Brookyn on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One Piece At A Time

Alan from Lancaster, OH on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in the process of making a small home theater out of an extra bedroom. I have a good stereo in the living room and just wanted something affordable and attractive that sounds good. Currently these speakers are in my dining room connected to a couple of old Crutchfield purchases, a Denon AVR-786 and a Denon DVD-3910. I've listened to Ted Nugent, Lake Street Dive, Shelby Lynne, Rolling Stones, etc on them and these speakers are really good for the price. However, you will probably want to use a subwoofer with them as they are bass shy. Two of my non-audiophile friends came over while the speakers were playing and I asked them to guess what I paid for the pair of speakers, one said $500 and the other said $600.

Pros: They look and sound good, especially for the price.

Cons: You will probably want a subwoofer with these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic right out of the box

Pros: Grills included, speakers are a great bang for your buck

Cons: Biwire

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great fit to my ears

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The softer tweeter was such a relief to my ears. I had originally ordered the Polk S20, even though these speaker were excellent, my ears where bothered by the sharpness of the tweeter. Woody from Crutchfield, paired my Wharfedales with a Martin Logan 10" subwoofers, the sound is great! Had to dail the sub back because the Wharfedales have low bass frequency and I didn't want to repeat the same bass frequencies. I bought the speaker stands that were tailored for these Wharfedales, stands are super adequate because the platform is a perfect fit for the diameter of the speakers...plus they are sleek and sexy..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Dull and Disappointing

David from Wilmington, NC on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently moved to a smaller space and bought these to use in my much smaller listening room. I had high hopes for the Diamond 220s based on reviews and the recommendation from the Crutchfield customer service rep. I found these speakers to be incredibly dull and lacking in the mids and highs. Vocals, especially female, sounded muffled. Acoustic guitar and mandolin had no ring or sustain. Percussion had no crispness or attack...... There were instruments in recordings that I just could not hear through these speakers. Miles' trumpet and Joni's voice caused one tweeter to make a sizzling sound. Surprisingly the bass was adequate. They were very inefficient compared to my other 86db speakers and needed a lot of power from my Musical Fidelity M3si to get them to acceptable levels. I was truly flabbergasted at how much I disliked these speakers. FWIW, I gave them about 14 hours of break in/play time before boxing them up and getting an RA from Crutchfield.

Pros: On sale.

Cons: Dull Inefficient Unrealistic instrument reproduction Muffled tone

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamonds are Diamonds

John from Glen Rock, PA on 11/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for downsizing to a much smaller listening environment, I pro-con'd about 10 competing speakers in general "bookshelf" size and cost and bought these over the rave reviewed Elac's and others. As described, and every makers self described attributes are always 'fantastic', their imaging is excellent for bookshelf range with a wide tonal range, perhaps a bit bass shy, but I'd have to say that for all speakers of this size. The bottom port takes away some of the consideration of placement near a wall also. Exterior finish is also excellent, I bought the Rosewood veneer, obviously not solid wood, but beautiful in the traditional vein. In fact, since I mainly listen to my music in surround- 5.1 or quad, I bought a matching set for the rears. I am well pleased with their performance.

Pros: Great tonal range and quality components.

Cons: Any "Cons" would increase the cost noticeably.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Harry from Pensacola, FL on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little larger than I wanted but great sound for my old ears and a great upgrade from my twenty year old Yamaha's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Quality

Tammy from South Amherst, OH on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these for my son-in-law who is a music fanatic. He is over the moon with them!

Pros: Easy order, delivery, set up and awesome sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 1/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like these speakers to start. I didn't know what to expect from such a small package. These replaced free standing Klipsch speakers from the 90's. When first turned on the speakers were off, not a good soft full body sound but as they broke in over the next couple minutes and days they have turned out to be really impressive. Mid range voice is much clear over my older speakers. The base is not as full but I would expect that. Very impressed and very happy, I recommend these to anyone who wants a book shelf sized speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sound great, look great

Nadine from Austin, TX on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and great looks for the price. I bought these as a Christmas present for my husband and he's in love with them.

Pros: Sound quality Pearled walnut finish is pretty Easy to set up

Cons: Nothing I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220

william from Sparta, WI on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker easy hookup sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 220 Walnut pr

stephen from Hallandale, FL on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased my 220's a year ago. I love them. They put out great sound! I did plenty of research - What Hi Fi! rated these as best speaker in their price range in 2014. The sound is clear and precise. A great value!

Pros: Clean & Crisp sound Bi-Amp capable Well made

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

These can't be bookshelf speakers, can they?

Rick from Iowa City, IA on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bookshelf speakers? Hard to believe that's true. Incredible fidelity and response for what is sold as a bookshelf speaker. We were looking for a reasonably priced pair to use with a blue-tooth compatible receiver. Initially was considering Bose or Polk Audio, but saw these and started reading reviews. Better reviews and less cost. Hmmm We took the plunge and couldn't be happier. Unless you have a very large room or area, these speakers will put out more than enough quality sound.

Pros: Great range, phenomenal fidelity and a very competitive price.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP