Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
861 395 422 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
861 395 422 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Bookshelf speakers (Blackwood)

MFR # Diamond 225-BK Ash

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Bookshelf speakers (Blackwood)

MFR # Diamond 225-BK Ash

54 reviews
View this product

A Gem!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully balanced loudspeaker pair at a great price! When you team this little gem of a bookshelf with a quality sub, you will find yourself in "audio nirvana."

Pros: Balanced Clear highs Soulful midrange

Cons: Nothing at this price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

??225,s

GARY from Shelby, NC on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had a pair or sm350 definitive Technology and sound good but a little bright and sometimes fatiguing also being 10 years old so I pulled the trigger on these ??225s and man Pink Floyd , Zeppelin, Rush, Yes , The Who , Supertramp , Rolling Stones, to Iron Maiden or AC/DC sounds great and clean and open! Matched up with as 501 Yamaha amp highly recommend!

Pros: Sounds great on anything

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean Sound

muthu from Frisco, TX on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sound with lots of Clarity. Spending most of my stay at home by listening to classical music in Diamond 225.Highly satisfied. This is my 4th purchase in Crutchfield.

Pros: Music sounds very good..Vocal is so clear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Diamond 225 experience

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality. Listened to my favorite flac files from jazz, female vocals, pop and rock. I found bottom end a bit muddled with lower mids, missing upper mids and definitely laid back highs. The speakers sounded veiled to me and very laid-back. Horns, sacs, and lead guitar solo runs normally front stage fall to the middle. Just not my bag. I've read other reviews where folks like these to listen to older poorly recorded CDs. I can see why as they smooth over imperfections in audio tracks while missing key reproduction elements. If your looking for detailed audio these I would not recommend.

Pros: Beautiful cabinets and construction. Simulated wood covering very good, nice bi-wire binding posts. Attractive pricing.

Cons: Laid back veiled sounding. To the extreme non bright speakers. Think polar opposite of say Horned Klipsch.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Preferred to Diamond 11.2

L. CURTIS from Richmond, VA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Both the Wharfedale Diamond 11.2s and 225s have been recommended for several years. I ordered both to audition at home. Getting straight to the point, I found the 225s to be better looking (walnut), better sounding (my taste is more on the mellow side of treble and bass) , and as an added bonus, they are cheaper. My Cambridge Audio CXA80 amplifier allows you to hook up two pairs of speakers and do an A/B comparison. In my opinion it wasn't even close. Returned the 11.2s.

Pros: Much better looking than Crutchfield photos. Nice bass for the size. Great value.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great bookshelf speakers

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good build quality, a great deal at the current price. You can find many reviews online, most praising the quality of these speakers. These are the best sounding speakers I ever had. Sound very good even with a cheap class D amp. If you are looking for speakers in this price range or even at the original MSRP, you should consider these.

Pros: Sound Build quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Hammondsport, NY on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I updated from some (embarrasingly so) older equipment. I am not an audiophile but certainly appreciate good or reasonable sound reproduction. I think the Diamond 225's are a great buy for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound precense of good bass

Pros: A lot of image, deep bass

Cons: Not yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must biwire

Ronald from CALIFORNIA CITY, CA on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first was not impressed ok speakers but a little muffled. I decided to try biwiring, made all the difference am very happy now, more like what I expected and at this price point can not get better. Will be looking for a small subwoofer as I like just a little more base.

Pros: Very clean, great sound

Cons: Must biwire

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bargain

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You will not find a better bookshelf speaker at it's current price. My preference is for a warmer sound which this provides

Pros: Rich warm sound Well made cabinet

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice sound and look really nice.

Pros:

Cons: not really a con, but they are bigger than what I was expecting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Newton, NH on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great. The bass isn't overpowering, yet you feel it where it counts. I was thinking about buying a separate subwoofer for this system, but it doesn't really need it. I bi-amped and bidirectional these, and I couldn't be happier with the result. Crisp, clean highs, and room shaking lows, with a full rich mid-range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Delivers on the Expectations

David from Edgewater, MD on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for a 2.0 system after using the Crutchfield listening kit and SpeakerCompare. I'd highly recommend using the comparison tool with a good set of headphones b/c I could really hear the difference between the speaker sizes and frequencies where some the bass would be punchy and then completely fall off (Jamo 803). Not sure if SpeakerCompare page has been updated but it's important to note that you can use your own tracks as an option now. It came down to the 225s and the Elac Debut 2.0 models (5.0 or 6.0) - convinced you can't go wrong with either but Elacs have only 3 year warranty. I slightly preferred the 225s and am glad I got them. They're very smooth and effortless and they dig a bit deeper on the low end (45 Hz) with the 6.5 inch woofer than many bookshelf models and a subwoofer is not an option for me. While the high end is 20K Hz my 50 year old ears can't hear beyond that (best human hearing is 22K ) and you lose every decade. BTW the 225s are incredibly superior to the 220s in the listening test - 220s sound like they were still in the box to me. I got the Walnut and they are a very attractive speaker as well - the front is a black gloss which doesn't come across as well online. Others have mentioned it but for awhile the 225s were the thing because of Stereophile reviews from a ways back. I got the Yamaha 303 @100 watts and they really complement each other. Great listening overall if you like smooth/warm over bright and punchy styles.

Pros: Great 2.0 option because the speakers provide solid bass for the size

Cons: None for me but some may think they're too laid back for aggressive styles of music like metal or some rap

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

lance from Bismarck, ND on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

History. Coming from a pair of Bose 301 speakers. Was recommended these by advisor Nemo. Did the online listening tool and was down to these vs elac b2. I went with these and man they sound great. They are garage speakers filling a 1000 foot area. You must break these in before judging. They are smooth, warm and a good bass kick. I also added a 1/2 in spacer under the bottom plate and it makes them even better. They can breathe it seems to me. Clear concise vocals with solid kick. Highly recommend !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sound great!

Paul from Knoxville, TN on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look great and sound great. Love them!

Pros: Beautiful finish. Can be bi-wired and good soundstage for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality speakers

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is very nice it's quality on looks is as good as it gets the sound is very warm and rich the only drawback is I like a little more treble in my speakers but for scratch and dent it was a very good deal although I couldn't find a scratch or dent they were perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best money can buy!

Jose L from VEGA ALTA, PR on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, super "smooth" and "warm" sound, detailed, strong and detailed bass and very good soundstage; compared to my JBL Studio 530, the Wharfedale Diamond 225 sounds better, more musical, very detailed and a cleaner sound, I'm very impressed.

Pros: detailed, clean and very smooth sound

Cons: For big rooms you will need a sub, but for small to medium size, the bass is very strong and detailed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. They are being used with Klipsch KG4 and a Denon AV receiver.

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: Placement instructions call for being 24" from the wall. This could be difficult in a true bookshelf setting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Chris from Barrie, Ontario Canada on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound reproduction clear,precise and balanced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CA on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really impressed with the sound and finish of Wharfdale. Clean sound, used with my home stereo and subwoofer. Very pleased with Crutchfield and their recommending the Diamond 225 from Wharfdale.

Pros: Sound and finish

Cons: Had not heard of Wharfdale.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great for apartment dwellers

Art from KEY BISCAYNE on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

About 6 years ago I accidentally created an excellent tower speaker using my 1980's speakerlab 6 kit speakers, and placing an infinity p162 upside down on top with tweeters aligned. It sounds better than many $6000. Speakers I audition in stores. Tons of air and separation between instruments. Wide sound stage. I mostly listen to jazz, classic rock, blues and reggae. But guitar greats like Dwayne, and Stevie Ray always sound harsh, and I always wanted to try a soft dome tweeter. The reviews were great for the wharfdales . " They render shrill horns as smooth as butter said the Absolute Sound. So as much as I prefer to listen before I buy, I purchased them on the strength of the professional and user reviews. My receiver is a Yamaha 100 watt stereo, with the ability to drive 2 sets of speakers. So I listened to the current Infinity's and Wharfdales, switching back and forth instantaneously. The 225's sounded very good. Smooth as advertised. Bass was excellent and well defined. But as soon as I switched back to the infinity's the trumpet immediately came alive...It had bite ! Ditto the saxophones, and guitars. And there was suddenly way more separation and air. I did this repeatedly hundreds of times to the same effect. This would be great speakers for apartment dwellers looking to sacrifice some Sonic's for neighborly civility. But they didn't satisfy my appetite for the best possible sound, played alone or in combination with the large rock n roll speake

Pros: Great smooth overall sound. Excellent and well defined bass for a small speaker. The price is a steal for the value. Arrived super fast in the middle of Christmas mayhem. I purchased my receiver and infinity's from Crutchfield as well and am very happy with them, and all the folks working with them on the phone.

Cons: The speakers lack the bight of real instruments for me. Sacrificed real sound for smooth. It sounded compressed to me. No air or separation between instruments. We read often of listener fatigue. I suppose if we were in studio with Miles Davis, John Coltrane, or Stevie Ray Vaughn for 4 hours we would be a bit fatigued as well. So maybe we should celebrate that effect in our speakers as producing accurate renditions rather than seeking a smoother sound we can listen to all day long.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Richford, VT on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I am impressed by the quality of the box itself. Second, I am very satisfied by the tests I did. At low volume, basses are precised, and highs are very presents. At medium-low volume, everything is neat, highs are also very precised and I start to feel that 3D sound. At high volume even better. And these are paired in 2ch on a basic Yamaha RXV-485 receiver. I tried bi-wiring for fun, the only difference was a bit more of basses, that I did not need. So I went back to a single 12 gauge. At that price it is a very very good buy. First buy at Crutchfield, I am very satisfied of the service. Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Fills up 20' x 14' room and they sound better with each use. Does take time for breaking in though. Very satisfied with with the sound and quality. However they do liked to be pushed to get the best sound. Accepts banana plugs and the binding post did not have the "hard to remove" plastic plugs installed from the factory, which was good. Shipping was fast and no damage to box or speakers. The amount of sound that they put out is amazing for small speakers.

Pros: Full bodied sound and great bass. Cabinet finish is nice and looks like veneer. If it's vinyl, I'm fooled.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Too warmed over for me.

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They were not for me. I did want something warmer or not as bright as what I've had. These were too muted for my ears even after I broke them in for a few days. To hear them in a way that suited me, I had to play them a bit loud. This was a case of the pendulum swinging too far in the warm direction for me.

Pros: Some detail did not get lost....

Cons: .....but required more volume to appreciate. More sensitivity may have helped the muddy sounds.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent value for the price!

Antonio from BARRIGADA, GU on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the CX-A80 on sale. Been using it to run a pair of Klipsch RP-160M. Sounds really good at low volumes.but cannot turn up without serious listening fatigue. So I gave these a try. First impressions..WOW very smooth and DEEP. I am sure they go below 45HZ sounds more like 30HZ.had to turn off my sub for stereo listening. Now I can turn up the volume to 12 clock and no brightness ??. Awesome speakers laid back, and smooth, yet still very tight freq response all around.

Pros: Wharfedale ambushed me! LOL..I have owned Boston Acoustics, Klipsch, Polk and PSB.they all have strong points. But my opinion is none can match Wharfedale for PURE 2 channels listening. Wharfedale is a rival to Boston Acoustics for fit and finish.they look really elegant.

Cons: Need metal stands...Bass is so deep in these little hitters they rock the cheap stands....I got the (Sanus SF26 Speaker Stands Steel Foundations® series - 26" (Black) Now I am good to go!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Brits "got this in the bag". The Wharfedale Diamond 225 pair of bookshelf speaker is the bomb! The sound is warm, rounded and so natural. The bass doesn't sound boomy and you can actually recognize the clarity of the mid-range from the high notes produced through the tweeters. The air ports are cleverly placed below the speakers, so no need to adjust how far one should place them from the wall. The cabinet is modern, well-built, and very attractive looking. I bought mine in white and they look very modern. This is my 2nd pair of Wharfedale Diamond speakers. I bought a pair of Wharfedale floor speakers, model Diamond 240, true 3-way. I enjoy the sound they produce, the first day I connected them. I highly recommend you choose Wharfedale, if you're in the market for a pair of speakers. You won't be disappointed- guaranteed !

Pros: The sound these speakers produce is warm, well-balanced, and natural sounding. The cabinet is well made and modern looking. They are priced very reasonable, considering the sound these speakers produce is phenomenal. Very good value for your $money.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just okay

Crutchfield customer from Holt, FL on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i received the Wharfedale 225,s last week. I felt the finish was beautiful, high quality look. I listened with varied music as well as movies. The bass qas amazing, beru low and defined.. The vocals were not prominent and the hi, s were not Impressive for me. I sent them back, and I am awaiting a pair of PSB alpha 5,s. As always , crutchfield had amazing staff and services. Jay

Pros: Amazing lows and finish.

Cons: Weak mids and Hi,s

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look great, crisp sounding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers, Great Price

Crutchfield customer from Womelsdorf, PA on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Wharfedale Diamond 225's sound is captivating. They create an airy sound stage where the speakers just disappear. They are very musical and listening for hours is not fatiguing. I listen mostly to jazz and electronic music but I do throw in some classic rock now and then. The 225s handle each genera with aplomb. The Wharfedale Diamond 225 Bookshelf speakers are a great value and a wonderful addition to any stereo system. A special thanks to Crutchfield and Allison who listened to my preferances and then recommended these speakers over several others that I was thinking about. It was definately the right choice...Wharfedale and Crutchfield.

Pros: Great highs and lows, very clean sound, airy sound stage, good looking cabinets (walnut)

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Linden, VA on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These bookshelf style speakers have great sound, for their size. I needed smaller speakers for my small home, as my old speakers were just too big and took up too much space in my small rooms. I bought my old speakers in 1974, ('JBL 4310 stereo monitors using solid walnut cabinetry). They lasted all of these years and sounded great but everything wears-out Perhaps someday someone with the know-how to replace the actual speakers themselves, might want them. (I can't bring myself to throw-away those nice walnut units). '

Pros: Great sound for bookshelf speakers

Cons: No idea how long they might last; still sounding good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Stephen from Staten Island, NY on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my aging tower speakers with these. These helped claimed some real estate back . Despite the small size, these have a bit of oomph to them. I find myself using these without my subwoofer connected. (i have a small listening room, 10' x 12') I'm using an older Onkyo TX-DS787 receiver.

Pros: Very good sound for the size & price!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing performance for the bucks!

Robert from Bedford, NY on 6/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing performance for the money.

Pros: I purchased these for our vintage system located in our living room. They literally have brought a smile to my face. Detail. Detail. Detail. And extremely easy to drive.

Cons: Absolutely None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Golden Valley, AZ on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lousy bass muddy and garbled.

Pros: None

Cons: Bad bass

Crutchfield response on 5/6/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 9 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Guest from Culpeper va on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased Polk RTi A3 and kept for 30 days. Sounded good but couldn't get passed the brightness on the high end. Returned them for Wharfedale Diamond 225. To me they sound great. Definitely keeping and very good looking speakers.

Pros: Great value for a well built speaker.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A big sound from a small box

Jeff from Sharpsburg, GA on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many esoteric speakers in my life and have gotten great pleasure from them all. I just updated my desktops to Diamond 225. I never thought I would own a Wharfdale but based on sold reviews I took the jump. For a small box this speaker puts out a great sound with good punch, solid bass and excellent detail. I wouldn't take the time to write but I am very happy with my new speaks. I was afraid they would be ugly but they have grown on me and I like the look. This is a great value and there is a lot to like in the Wharfdales-- simply very listenable in a solid box. Everyone has a special personal taste but mine has been satisfied since I wired these up to a vintage Kenwood amp. Very sweet. Give them a shot. I am not professional reviewer but I know a good sounding speaker when I hear one. Money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Wally from Orting, WA on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am all around very impressed! The speakers arrived Quickly. I purchased the 225 speakers as a scratch and dent item to save a few bucks but I found absolutely nothing wrong with them. I replaced my 24 year old surround sound front speakers which were Velodyne with these fantastic sounding speakers. Well worth the price and hats off to Crutchfield for the excellent service. I also read a review where the author thought the speakers were ugly and from my opinion he couldn't be more wrong. I would definitely order these again and just wish I ordered them sooner.

Pros: Sounds Great with full range sound. Best price on the internet and super fast shipping.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet Sound, Sweeter Price

Michael from Saginaw, TX on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You will be VERY hard pressed to find a better bookshelf speaker for the price. Mine are hooked up to a late-70's Pioneer received and the sound is phenomenal when cranked no matter what the musical style. If you're on the fence about a new speaker (bookshelf OR floorstandong) and these are in your price range, give them a shot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

There's a reason Wharfedale has been in business over eighty years

chris from Beaverton, OR on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a modest priced speaker, I am pleasantly surprised by the build and sound quality. I prefer a soft dome tweeter to a metal tweeter which for me is too bright and at times harsh. The Wharfedale speakers have a lush midrange and a detailed warm non fatiguing tweeter. Bass is controlled, not overbearing. Another surprise is the quick and smooth integration between drivers. I gave the 225s five stars considering price to performance. I am using them in a two channel bedroom set up. My music preference is CDs, mostly jazz but I do listen to a variety of genres. I have an expensive 5.1 system in the living room but find now I also enjoy listening to the diamond 225s.

Pros: Musical, warm, non fatiguing.

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Keith from La Porte, TX on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These look great right off the box. Currently hoped up to a old Pioneer Elite VSX99 and a Music Hall MF7.1 as a second system. Sounds very good. No hard hitting bass, but plenty for the size these are. Still breaking then in but I am very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Great sound from a bookshelf speaker

Cons: Speaker connections a little odd, but secure

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best in it's class

Lauro from Los Angeles, CA on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading a lot of positive reviews including one from Whathifi.com, i finally decided on getting this one. I paired it with Yamaha R N303 so I can enjoy my collection of ALAC and Mp3 music files. This speaker really really sounds great, be it a jazz, blues, rock or classical. If you're looking for a a pair speaker for this budget, look no farther. this is the ONE.

Pros: Awesome sound, look great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Richard from Fishkill, NY on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pound for pound the best investment in book shelf speakers. It beats a lot of fancy speakers that cost 3/4 times higher. The Wharfedale diamond 225 is a superior speaker with high quality build construction, and awesome power resulting in lush sound with all genres of music.

Pros: Deep base, and beautiful treble.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Arcadia, CA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers for the money, decent soundstage and bass for the size of the speakers unless you have a large room. A good upgrade from my current setting with very little investment. Very happy with the purchase from Crutchfield's recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cannot Go Wrong

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 20 year-old set of Paradigm Mini Mk3's, and a 13 year-old set of PSB Imagine T-55's with these speakers. I hooked these up today, and right out of the box, I heard a dramatic increase in clarity and detailed mid-bass. I did a fair amount of listening with my sub off, and the bass was nice. After a while, I added the sub in, and it complemented them, and vice versa. I noticed these speakers brought some of my old music to life. In my opinion, jazz really shines through with these. I know these will only get better after some more break-in (not convinced that is a real thing). I bought the Rosewood, and they are beautiful. They are nicer than I expected. I also bought the matching stands. I feel this was a nice upgrade to my system, and I expect many years from them. Equipment: Outlaw RR-2150 Kimber cables Music Hall MMF-5 turntable SVS SB-2000 sub Enjoyed Today: The Allman Brothers - Live at the Filmore East Miles Davis - Kind of Blue Vince Guaraldi Trio - A Charlie Brown Christmas Metallica - And Justice for All Peter Gabriel - So Steely Dan - Gaucho Al Stewart - Year of the Cat Stevie Ray Vaughn - Soul to Soul

Pros: Clear voices Detailed mid-bass Beautiful

Cons: Have not found one yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Chad from TRAVERSE CITY, MI on 11/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these rigged to an NAD 3020 V2, placed atop open shelving within a mid-size living area--roughly 17' x 22'. Maybe not an ideal set-up; certainly not a dedicated 'listening room'. But they sound phenomenal. For such an inexpensive speaker, they ooze extraordinary clarity, imaging, and warmth across the board. This is especially true for mid-highs: funky horns and cymbals have never had it so good. Silent passages are, well, silent but retain the sort of pregnant anticipation/immediacy you would expect from a live studio session. Depth and punchiness of low bass may suffer a bit, but this isn't an issue for most of what I listen to. When it is, well, that's what a sub is for. Now to justify the four stars. To my eye, these things are pretty ugly. I can't imagine why the people at Wharfedale settled on the shiny, black-lacquered front panels (that are non-removable, by the way). And the shiny rings/flanges? I have tried to write this off as British eccentricity or that they are cool, old, greying engineers who can't be bothered with aesthetics. Maybe the speakers have an 80s retro look and are, therefore, kind of cool for that reason. No; they're just ugly. Good thing they sound the way they do, so I can live with it. Another negligible issue: a bit of dried glue smeared on the top of one of the woofer's foam screening, near the ring/flange which is totally unnoticeable from away. But come on. Despite this, still highly recommended, indeed.

Pros: Exceptional sound for the size/price; perfectly accommodates lower-wattage amps; mid-highs are sublime

Cons: A bit ugly, perhaps

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Carthage, NY on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth every cent at their price point goes without say. Pair this with Emotiva, NAD, Parasound, Outlaw Audio or Marantz for a definitive liestening experience. These speakers are very articulate in their portrayal of mids and the analogue (but highly acoustic) experience associated with listening to woodwinds, strings, or an orchestra itself. Although 2-way speakers, these Wharfedales are superior to my 3-way ELAC Uni-fi UB5s by Andrew Jones. Do not purchase a low-powered Amp/DAC combo or you will miss out on hushed or whispered tones in some audiophile quality music samples or offerings. The sound of the Wharfedales has clarity, depth and spatial dimension. The build quality rivals some of the best speakers in the world and the fit and finish is glorious. There are even gold connectors on the binding posts. Who else goes there and who else achieves this on budget speakers? Hats off to the Wharfedale center of excellence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, was my first reaction after listening to them. Great mid and base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

American coffee shop warmth meets British high tea refinement

BoilerFan from Castle Rock, CO on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still picking my jaw up off the ground. I really love these speakers. They are warm, inviting and for the type of music I primarily listen to (70's acoustic, singer songwriter) they really seem to create an intimate setting as if the performers are in front of me. Very sharp and detailed but without sacrificing atmosphere. Regularly finding new nuance in my music as I am hearing guitarists slide up and down frets that I had never heard before. For some of my jazzier horn based favorites (ie Lyle Lovett's large band) there is brassy magic going on in the high end. These replaced a set of Polk RTi A1's which I love in their own right and I drive them with a Cambridge Topaz SR20 and play primarily FLAC files and CDs. Very clean set up for me. Special thanks to Crutchfield's Harley who helped me navigate the "personality" characteristics of the speakers I was evaluating along with these from Elac and Klipsch.

Pros: - Warm atmosphere but sharp clarity - My sweet spot is mainstream rock to acoustic singer/songwriter and these navigate well between the Keith Richards drop D telecaster riffs to Jackson Browne's melancholy alternative acoustic voicings - Seem efficient for me - Handsome laquer style cabinetry

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Crutchfield customer from Central Illinois on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get a lot for your money with these speakers. We replaced a 7.1 surround sound system with a simple integrated amp with these 2 Wharfedale Diamond 225 speakers. We don't even have a subwoofer now. This simple setup is night-and-day better than the system it replaced. No, it doesn't have that room shaking bass, but the bass it does have is 100 times better sounding. Music is so much better sounding. Music I have listened to countless times on other systems over the past several years - now sound much more satisfying. I can hear things in the recordings that I never knew was there before. For a modest investment, you sure get a lot for your money here. I am powering these with a Marantz PM7005 integrated amp. It pairs up very well with these speakers. Beautiful to listen to.

Pros: Incredible "bang for the buck" here. Music clarity and detail is breathtaking. The music is very satisfying to listen to... never harsh. I've heard it described as being a bit on the warm side. I would agree with that.

Cons: Absolutely NONE.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Diamonds are everyone's best friend

Dave from Hartford, CT on 8/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the Diamond 225's. I've owned this brand in the past and this model is the best I've heard so far from Wharfedale. There's a lot of well-controlled bass here. Run them in for a day or so, sit back and you'll be amazed at the full midrange from the 6.5 in. Kevlar drivers and the clear highs. In my 16 X 12 ft room they sounded best positioned 2 ft. out from the wall but that was for me where they sounded the most balanced but with the slot bass loading it's likely that the room boundaries will become less of a factor. With a speaker such as the 225's a more powerful amp or receiver will make them sound especially impressive but they should sound just fine with a less costly brand name receiver. Wharfedale paid special attention to the enclosures on this model to make sure they didn't get in the way of the drivers, so they're solid and heavier than most bookshelfs you'll find in the under this price point. Another nice thing, you can listen to these things all day and not suffer the least bit of ear-fatigue. In that respect, I find them a lot like my much loved Energy RC-10 in their ability to extract the meaning and information found in a recording without being overly bright. They just seem to have a rightness and richness to the sound that begs the listener to stick around for more. There's real depth to the soundstage, too, with well-extended highs. They're not the most attractive speaker out there, but that you won't notice once you spend time with them.

Pros: -Drivers work really well together -Solidly built -Easy to listen to -Big, full soundstage

Cons: -Not the most modern looking cabinets

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225

Rick from Santa Monica, CA on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gorgeous sound clarity, incredibly well made, ready to roll straight out of the box - great that it's set up for bi-wiring!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sounds great, look terrible

Crutchfield customer from San Clemente, CA on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great and are really ugly.

Pros: Amazing sound

Cons: Bad 80's glossy black and chrome finish on the front.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Sophisticated, sleek, artistic looking speakers!!!

Michael from Blue Springs, MO on 12/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Nice product. Everything I had expected and them some. These speakers were well built. Nice looking and contemporary feel to them.

Pros: Nice contemporary design. Sophisticated look. The SANUS speaker stands complement the sleek sophisticated look and design of the WHarfdale speakers, Low profile speaker stands are nice to have with plenty of power so it seems. Smooth Highs on French horn sounds coming through speakers. Especially on Classical music (specifically)

Cons: I had bought these speakers to bi amp with another Sony amplifier. They do not work that well with the BI AMP able capaballities??? I don't quite understand why the two amps to not complement each other while powering the new Wharfdale speakers??? The back of the speakers are NOT very easy to hide the speaker wires down the back of the SANUS Speaker stands The 18 " stands. I still have NOT FIGURED OUT HOW TO utilize the Sony Walkman yet, as far as uploading music to the SONY Walkman???

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

Wharfedale Diamond 225 (bk ash)

Loren from Appleton, WI on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Because the Diamond 225--which is an audiophile-grade speaker (see Stereophile's Product of the Year Awards for 2017)--works so well as a near-field monitor, I use it at my computer station, driven by a Sony ES receiver (STR-DA5ES), but I originally tested it (on stands) next to KEF LS50 and DALI Mentor 6 speakers, where the 225 held its own, in both depth and articulacy, while powered by an NAD M27 amplifier (pre-amped by a Marantz AV8802a). I play all sorts of music, from punk to classical, and this speaker keeps up beautifully. Horns in Grieg's "Peer Gynt" are saturated with all their harmonics (not just "clear"). Drums in "Head Over Heels" (by Tears for Fears) are controlled but resonant. In Bach's Mass in B minor, voices spring to life without blaring. And Miles Davis never had it so good in this lazy, wistful corner of the room. The KEF LS50 is probably one level up in finesse, but, at a fraction of the price, the Diamond 225 is one of those purchases that, when you look back at it, you can say, with confidence, "that's a best buy"--and I mean "Crutchfield" when I say that!

Pros: Quality of sound. Price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 23 found this helpful

Wharfedale does it again!

Sam from Lake Elsinore, CA on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had wharfedale speakers in the past and so I'm quite familiar with the brand. I saw these at Crutchfield on sale and I decided to take the leap of faith on these speakers. First off the speakers arrived in 2 days not 3 days which was awesome. After unboxing the speakers I noticed what a gorgeous finish they had not some cheap vinyl wrap. After hooking them up to my tube amp I started to listen to some music from my satellite TV. I was immediately Blown Away how clean the speakers sounded. All speakers need to go through a burn in. What is scary is how much better the speakers will sound after the burn in. Since my tube amp has no adjustments for bass treble or mid-range it runs basically pretty flat. But the speakers sound so natural and clear that I really don't need to tweak anything. The treble is clear but not irritating. Mid-range is acceptable but what really makes the speaker great is the bass. It is a down-firing port and it's not overpowering when you turn up the volume. Just enough bass for flavor. There is a little space between the bottom of the speaker and the speaker plate allowing for the air to leave. I placed these speakers on 24 in stands and used 14 gauge speaker wire as a hookup. The black piano finish on the front and unique grills really set these bookshelf speakers apart from any speakers that I've owned in the past. I'm not using it as a surround sound speaker. Mainly for listening to music and bypassing the lousy small speakers on my flat screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 17 found this helpful

TOP