Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Floor-standing speaker (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO43WLN

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Floor-standing speaker (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO43WLN

20 reviews
View this product

Great looks, mediocre sound

David from Brooklyn, NY on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really thought these would be perfect for me given the positive reviews and their beautiful appearance. But ultimately I found their sound to be muffled with a very narrow sweet spot. They sounded boxy as well, not airy and open. I was disappointed because I had been impressed by another air motion tweeter I sampled. After demoing the Elac Debut Reference DBR62s, the Emotiva T1+s, the Wharfedale Evo 4.3s, the Focal Chora 816s, and the Polk Reserve R600s, I settled on the Polks. They have great imaging, and a little sparkle in the treble but are never over-bearing. They are larger than the Wharfedales, and are vinyl rather than real wood, so aesthetically they are definitely a step down in my opinion. But still attractive enough, and with much, much better sound to my ear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Search is over!

Guest from OHIO on 5/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to revamp my modest system to hopefully something better. Had an Onkyo TX-8270 and Elac UB52. First move was going with the Marantz PM7000N. Then, added a Lavaudio DS600 for the LDAC Bluetooth and dual ESS 9038Q2M. Speaker time (Crutchfield is amazing BTW). I started with the Def. Tech. D11 (too shrill), then Polk R200 (too bass heavy and harsh), then Wharfedale EVO 4.2 (almost), then Elac UBR62 (nice and better than UB52, but not better than EVO 4.2), then Elac Carina 243 (good as well, but still did not beat EVO 4.2). At this point, tried to get the EVO 4.2 to a final set up, but what a chore in my room (12x14). Struggled mightily with proper stand height and getting off the wall far enough to be content. Studied the EVO 4.3 and ordered them in. so glad I did! The height of these are perfect (puts the tweeter right at ear level while sitting in the listening position). Also, the smaller dual woofer in these made for perfect bass in my room as the I struggled somewhat with the 4.2s in that regard. The AMT and soft dome midrange in this EVO line can be mesmerizing. Great staging and detail. Just very good with the Marantz and DS600. While doing the 4.3 break-in, the Martin Logan 35XTi went sale and tried one last audition. and these impressed me too. My ranking from these tests: EVO 4.3, ML35XTi, EVO 4.2, Elac UBR62, Elac Carina, Def. Tech. D11, Elac UB52, Polk R200. Now on day 62 of the 4.3s, so they're mine. smiles! P.S. trying to justify keeping the 35XTi too.

Pros: Mids and highs are the star. Both can be somewhat forward (recording dependent), but not bright or fatiguing at all. Bass is balanced and tight. Finish is top notch. The black version looks like Batman and Darth Vader joined forces lol.

Cons: Price. maybe.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Douglas from Shallotte, NC on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice warm sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great job Wharfedale

John from Ogallala on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my home theater setup and I'm very pleased with the purchase. The tweeters are somewhat directional on the vertical, but everything else is wonderful. Clear and concise are the two operative words to describe these. I'm using them in a 14'x18' room and they supply more than enough sound for my enjoyment. I'm using a sub, which for my taste, brings the lower bass that I like. I think most people may want a sub to pair with these. The speakers are very nice in appearance giving a bit of high end elegance to my system. Lastly, I bought these scratch and dent, with the imperfections being quite negligable, and not noticeable. Kudos to Crutchfield for the many levels of advice supplied by their staff.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: For me, none.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Wayne from Iowa on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice high end and warm bass response which is enhanced when you bi-wire the tweeter and bass speakers. I was particularly interested in tower speakers that were less than 3 ft tall and a foot or less wide and these are perfect. The walnut finish turned out to be an even closer match to my existing AV cabinet than I had expected. The quality of the speaker veneer and enclosure is exceptional. The speakers came in super cushioned boxes and arrived in perfect condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome vinyl jazz speakers

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, IA on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From the minute I hooked these up 2 weeks ago to today, these speakers keep opening up and expressing even more sound. The sound is incredible while not taxing and the sound stage is clear and well focused. I can highly recommend these to anyone especially those looking to reproduce clear vinyl jazz.

Pros: Well packaged, very good sound, does not fatigue the listener.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Music??

Crutchfield customer from Helotes, TX on 11/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I not only hear parts of most songs I have never heard before, the fidelity and bass at low volume is even better than expected. Warfedale should be proud to help this old music lover enjoy hear my " New" music. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not necessarily a huge tower speaker however they certainly pack a powerful punch. I am very happy with the detail and sound of the speakers. Not to mention I really love the look of this Wharfedale front stage. Looking for that perfect center channel stand!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speaker just what i was looking for. Wanted a small floor standing speaker with a big sound the EV04.3 fills the bill. Tried some high end bookshelf monitors while they sounded very good open and resolving they just didn't have the full body sound of a three way true floor stander with four drivers, You just can't get it out of a 2 way monitor no matter what the press says, not too say bookshelf's are lacking there just not going to give you true full range musical reproduction. These take up less space than a medium sized monitor on 24 inch stands. They give almost everything my large Revel F206 Performa's dish out although they sound different the Wharfedale is a touch more open ,Bass is good and the mid range is very alive and resolving. Been enjoying this hobby for 30 years have owned a dozen different so called high end speakers and the Wharfedale's are very musical and dynamic and in my opinion are a true value! for the money they also look great in black. As one reviewer stated these speakers are not made to play extremely loud butt play plenty loud for my 69 year old ears. Sound great with my 40 watt tube amp in some areas i like the sound better than my 120 watt solid state amp. Give these a try can't go wrong with Crutchfield true class vendor and you can return if you don't like tried the Linton's butt they didn't quite give me all I needed returned them with no issues. Bought a scratch and dent model great price can't see any flaws great speaker.

Pros: Good base response for size Open mid range Clear treble response Well built and look great

Cons: For the money none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile but I selected a set of Wharfedale EVO4.3 to pair with my new Willsenton R8 tube amplifier. I can't be more pleased with the sound. As important as the speakers themselves is the service one receives from Crutchfields. I've ordered several items from them in the last year and all items were shipped the day of the order. You don't get that kind of service anywhere else.

Pros: Outstanding sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Truly wonderful!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Leland, NC on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Evo 4.3's are great speakers! I have owned Kef, Revel, Elac & B&W . The Evo's are magic! I'm using a Cambridge 81 amp & a Audiolab cdt 6000. The sound is fantastic! My room is 18x15 and they fill up the room. Very pleased with the sound!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

As Wavy Gravy once said..." I'm in Heaven Man!

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have about 20 hours towards the break-in period and they are starting to open up. I am impressed with the clarity at low volume.

Pros: Great sound for a 12 x 18 listening area.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful sound, beautiful build. Highly Recommended!

Daniel from CANAAN, NH on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned a bunch of speakers, including Wharfedale's own Diamond 10.5 a few years back. The Diamonds could reach lower into the sub-bass regions, but didn't have the detail retrieval the Evo 4.3 provides. Beautiful to look at, well made, sounds great. On acoustic music they're great out of the box, with movies/games I find myself boosting bass by about 5 dB. I'll be looking into a subwoofer just to fill out the last 10 to 15 hertz. Very satisfied, all things considered.

Pros: - Non-fatiguing detail is hard to achieve, and these do it. - Beautiful build quality. - Some great trickle-down tech from the Elysian line.

Cons: - They don't make a subwoofer in the Evo 4 line!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 11 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was considering buying the Wharfdale 4.2 bookshelf speakers, but decided on the 4.3 Wharfdale floor standing speakers this would add to my existing set of Kef 150's. I currently play all four speakers at the same time on my Yamaha 501 amp and they sound great together. My initial concern was if the Yamaha would have the power to run both sets at the same time, and it does a great job. The combination of my Yamaha amp, Kef and Wharfdale speakers along with my blue sound node make for a wonderful listening experience. This challenge of a great sound system would not have been accomplished without the expert help provided by the Crutchfield team. Thank you very much Crutchfield. Ralph, The Villages, Florida.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just Buy Them Already!

Crutchfield customer from Shaker Heights, OH on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are proving to be perfect in every way. Balanced sound, clarity, full bass, build quality, aesthetics - they check every box. Bravo Wharfedale!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are fantastic. They've hugely improved my listening experience for all types of content. Just wanted to note that they sounded pretty stiff out of the box, but after about a week of frequent use they really opened up and shined.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound fantastic. Really happy with them for both music and watching movies. Sound and look fantastic.

Pros: How they sound and look.

Cons: Will probably pair a subwoofer with them eventually for everything below 50hz.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from Watsontown, PA on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research I chose these speakers. I could not be happier. Deep bass and great highs. Great advice from Willy at Crutcfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.3

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen to a wide variety of music, including classical, big band, light rock, etc. These speakers are outstanding throughout the entire spectrum of music. I also use them for sound from the television. Again, with outstanding results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Lookout...Bang for the Buck!

HTFan from Ca on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Check it out, soft dome midrange in this tower is a true stab at engineering which worked. These towers brilliantly meld the air motion tweeters with the soft dome midranges to achieve 3D sound even at low volumes. Lookout...Bang for the Buck!

Pros: Pure WoW Factor!

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound