Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Floor-standing speaker (White)

MFR # WHEVO44WHT

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Floor-standing speaker (White)

MFR # WHEVO44WHT

14 reviews
View this product

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. Wide, dynamic, creamy smooth but precise. These are very telling of your source and equipment. They are also beautifully made and finished. Definitely large, full-scale speakers. The bass is remarkable (I kept checking my sub was off), the vocals from the dome midrange bring another level of scale and detail to male and female vocals. The ribbon (AMT) tweeter is sweet and not harsh at all. They seem to smooth off before any hint of sibilance (except some poor recordings with certain female vocals). I wouldn't call them bright, which was a concern. They are great within a 7.2 setup or 2-channel. I am listening to my music (FLAC and vinyl) all over again and my mouth is usually open and my head moving around and finding all kinds of detail, depth, and separation. I listened to similar $2k speakers; B&W, Martin Logan, Definitive Tech, ELAC, KEF and Monitor Audio. The Monitors and ELAC were close but these just did everything better. I wanted B&W's 603's but the mids were bright, felt dry and overwhelmed the music.

Pros: +Bold, dynamic, spacious sound. +Bass seems unreal for the size of the drivers. +Detailed without being fatiguing. +Beautiful design and build.

Cons: +They are big and fill out a large room well (maybe not a con?). + Telling of poor recordings or equipment.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Evo 4.4

Crutchfield customer from Menomonee Falls, WI on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the money! Needs at least 15 hours to get that wharfedale sound.

Pros: Nice higher end

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Recommendation!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield Advisor recommended this speaker. I took his recommendation, and I'm glad I did. Great bass, presence and stereo imaging. The folded ribbon tweeter produces beautiful highs. I have listened to more music in the past few days than I have in the last two years. Old cds come to life, and I'm noticing nuances that I did not hear with my old speakers. If you love music, this is the speaker for you. These speakers also add more detail and excitement to my home theater setup.

Pros: Powerful, detailed sound

Cons: These speaker are very heavy and their curves make them had to grab and pick up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound & Build Quality Beyond their Price Point!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood Ranch, FL on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To my ears, Wharfedale hit it out of the park with the EVOs; I had the pleasure of listening to both the 4.2 and 4.4 in my latest setup; tube preamp, dual mono-block amps, a streamer, turntable and a CD player. The EVOs have a sound and build quality above their asking price and provide a detailed, yet easy to listen to musical presentation. If you're looking for an analytical presentation look elsewhere as these speakers have a more traditional British sound signature. No, they aren't dull nor overly warm; however, they will not cause ear fatigue during long listening sessions. They provide a huge, deep and wide soundstage and it seems that Wharfedale paid particular attention to the crossover point between the AMT tweeter and soft dome midrange as you're rewarded with a seamless balance between them as neither driver calls attention to itself. Major difference between the 4.2 and 4.4, is as I'm sure you can guess... bass response. Both provide crisp, well defined bass; however, due to the larger cabinet and extra driver, the 4.4 goes a little deeper and in my room, satisfies my listening habits. If you have a larger room, the 4.4 would be the way to go. Are these speakers perfect... no, but all speakers will have compromises; however, the EVOs more than satisfies my ears and bring a smile to my face each and every time the music starts playing...

Pros: Vocals and string instruments have a great tonal balance with a high end that doesn't sound sharp nor over clinical. Bass is deep and well defined.

Cons: At this price point, none thus far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Answer to the wish list

Crutchfield customer from Millsboro, DE on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As someone who has long dreamed about high-end equipment but could never afford it, these speakers fill the wish list very well. They are part of a long-over due upgrade that was made painfully apparent when I moved from a small listening space in an old farmhouse to a large, open-design home with an 18-foot ceiling over the main living area and overlooked by a 40 by 15 second-story loft, where my dedicated listening area is located. My music tastes are varied and eclectic, but my main goal was to create a good sound stage for classical music. A call to a Crutchfield advisor helped redirect my initial fascination with another make that is more home theater oriented toward makes more specifically for hi-fi. In short, the Wharfades deliver. The sound reproduction is tight and, most impressively, detailed. I am hearing resonances I don't recall hearing on favorite recordings. The first day, I was sitting on stage with Diana Krall. (Note: I did order a quality amplifier to go with them, which no doubt plays some role.) On the other hand, these speakers will quickly reveal the quality of the recording. They fill the large loft space impressively and project well into the living space below. I am still in the break-in period and waiting to make any adjustments - something that with all my previous speakers always had to be attended to immediately. Also, I was pleasantly surprised that the speakers' unboxy shape fits well in my house's overall decor.

Pros: Tight, accurate reproduction Cabinet design

Cons: Enclosed user manual contains inaccurate graphic for hookup. May be light on low end for some tastes

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beyond Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had some wonderful tower speakers over the years, but I'm simply blown away by the level of detail and perceived quality in these Wharfedale towers. They even come in their own crown royal bags. As far as the experience with Crutchfield - amazing as always!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

I really enjoy listening to these speakers

Crutchfield customer from San Luis Obispo, CA on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. I love the naturalness of the sound as opposed to an antiseptic "replication of what's in the source" even if it isn't very musical.

Pros: Great looking Beautifully made When I listen to recordings of concerts that I recorded, I recognize the sound of the real thing A speaker more designed for classical music than others

Cons: I have no complaints

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Traditional British Sound - Wharfedale and ARCAM

John from JACKSONVILLE, FL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers for the clarity and soundstage. I listen to mostly jazz and they shine once I got the placement correct. Took some time for them to wake up from new, but now they are getting better and better. I thank the Crutchfield advisors for their assistance and advice. I had a budget for costlier speakers, but my advisor told me he'd buy these over more expensive options and that's what I did. I use these with an ARCAM SA 20 integrated amp and ARCAM SACD player. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sonic bliss

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! I recently moved into a new house and planned on purchasing a new pair of speakers as my new primary listening room is much larger, 19 x 20 feet, than previous. After much research I had settled on another pair, but before I pulled the trigger I checked out Crutchfield's outlet store and these caught my eye. I hadn't considered them initially as they were just a bit out of budget. These are one of the best purchases I've made to date. Absolutely sonically stunning! Imaging and clarity - check, strong balanced bass - check. They are more than capable to fill a 19x20 foot room with clean and clear audio joy. Fit and finish are great. I got mine in walnut.

Pros: Great sounding and good looking

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Tower speakers that "disappear" like bookshelf speaker do.

Crutchfield customer from Wayzata, MN on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my 2-way book shelf speakers to bring out more in the mid range instrumentation and vocals, and they do this well. They are neutral sounding, with good base, but I still use my sub-woofer for the very low end. I am impressed with the great soundstage, and they do disappear nicely like small bookshelf speakers do; I hear the music without noticing the sound coming from the speakers. The build and finish quality of the speaker is excellent, they look fantastic and am very happy I got these. While still breaking them in, they do sound very nice thus far. They are heavy to move around, and I am careful that the floor spikes don't harm my carpet as I test out placement for optimal sound.

Pros: Clear base, midrange, and treble, and especially nice for acoustic guitar. Vocals are front and center as I was hoping for. They can play very loud without distortion. They are very suitable for a mid-sized room.

Cons: These may not shine in a very large room at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Oakhurst, CA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have excellent sound, despite their smaller drivers. The magnetically attached grille snaps smartly into place. The top is ideal for holding a vase, even though the manual takes particular pains to advise against it, saying (and I quote), "...they are not jardinieres..."! The only caveat I'll note is that the connectors at the back stand out in quite a prominent fashion. Since these speakers are recommended to be positioned "...at least 200mm from the rear walls and 700mm from the side walls..." you're going to see them as I have shown in the photo.

Pros: Terrific sound,

Cons: Prominent connectors

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Center Valley, PA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speaker. I have a large room and this speaker is great. I spoke to several service reps at Crutchfield over the 2 months or so that I researched options for my audio system. All were most helpful and offered good advice.

Pros: Delivers excellent sound for all types of music. I listen to classical as well as rock and the EVO 4.4 handles all.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply blew my socks off! I upgraded from mission 781 bookshelf speakers. What a difference. I use jolida jd901b tube preamp, Vincent sp331 power amp with Loki equalizer.

Pros: Dynamic, full bodied sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

For 2k , it is magic to get this level of sound

venkata ravi babu from TAMPA, FL on 10/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wharfedale did magic for 2k . this level of purity , clarity , details, excitement, smoothness, bass accuracy, vocal pleasure, imaging and walnut finish is impossible. absolute real value to my money. These are not warm, laidback, forward or heavy bass, just feels everything right. The sound signature like refined version of good part of Elac adante ( clarity , dynamics , real feel to music, bass) and Harberth mids ( but not lag and loose muffled bass). bass as good as elac andante and there no upper bass boosted to give fake lower grunt . literally i can fell drum stroke variation. So if bass is there in song it shakes room and if not , it will not add any fake bass. Kef , elac and Dynaudio have to do something miracle to do justify their prices tags. It easly outclassed their 5k flag ship models. I demoed (with my own cds) kef r11, Dynaudio evoke 50 and many other brands around 5 to 6k. For my ears this is it. Evo 4.4. is the match.

Pros: each time i switch one song , i feel some thing high quality sound thing going on ...no matter how what kind of music.

Cons: none. maybe overall size can be reduce little bit . they little big.

Crutchfield response on

53 of 56 found this helpful

TOP