Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Floor-standing speaker (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO44WLN

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Floor-standing speaker (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO44WLN

48 reviews
View this product

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Charlie from Mulkeytown, IL on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just quit thinking about it and order them !! You won't regret it !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old School Amps with New School Technology

Phil from Glenn Heights, TX on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, let me put a plug in for Crutchfield.com. These people epitomize GREAT customer service, period. With that said, let me say that I am very critical and deliberate in my sound. I have built many sound systems throughout my lifetime. I did some research on these speakers and while I am a JBL fan (JBL l112, L100), I decided to give these speakers a shot. First let me say that people fret about about the sensitivity rating of a speaker. Keep in mind that an amp is like a turbo in a car, it doesn't kick in till you hit a specific speed. An amp doesn't really show it's true self till you work it a bit. That's why a high sensitivity rating is not always the best. I am running two Sony TA-N330ES amps strapped mono with a Polk Audio subwoofer and a JBL subwoofer. To compliment the setup I have a set of Bose 161 speakers for the rear and a Marantz NR151501UAD that I use as a preamplifier only supplying sound to my rear speakers and my center channel Polk Audio speaker. The sound is amazing. Articles I have read show these as 'budget' speakers. I say at a grand each, they are not budget speakers. The mids are soft on my ears (which I have a sensitivity to) and I let my two powered subs do the bass work. I have put these speakers through the mill and they pass my test - which is critical. The only critical thing I would say is that they are made in the PRC. UK engineering farmed out. But I like them and that is really all that matters. Highly recommend!

Pros: Attractive in my living space with fine detail. They are like a fine piece of furniture. The feet, while a pain at first, I like. They keep down resonance, which for the critical ear is imperative. Don't bother driving these speakers with a mediocre receiver or amp. Give them some power that will illustrate their robust and enriching sound.

Cons: The bass will roll off, especially when exceeding excursion of the drivers and that's why you compliment their sweet sound with a high quality sub. With a properly tuned subwoofer you will hear the magic of these speakers.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfdale is back!

David from Santa Fe, NM on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking at the Martin Logan 40i for the for the folded motion tweeter. Sonny and Rucker both pointed out the Wharfedale for the same tweeter style. I did my homework (reviews etc) and decided on the Wharfedale. Your tech people are TOP notch. They are the sole reason I went with Crutchfield instead of Costco for my Yamaha AVR - even at the few hundred dollar difference. You guys are awesome, no body else holds a candle to your guys and ladies. thx!

Pros: They just DON'T break up on any frequency.

Cons: Wharfedale says the drivers are 6.5 inches, more like 5.25. Sure wish I could see what the back of the drivers looked like.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Brad from Covington, KY on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY satisfied with these speakers. I was looking for quality and something that will look good in our 170 year old house AND sound good with 13 foot ceilings and these fit the bill and then some. As I listen to them more and breaking them in they keep on opening up from warmer high notes to deeper bass these things keep evolving. Powered by a Sonos Amp to keep it integrated with the rest of my system and seems to be more than enough power (60% volume is as high as I've made it so far which absolutely pounds). The Crutchfield chat help was super useful in helping me understand what to look for and answer questions.

Pros: Beautiful look Amazing sound Magnetic covers

Cons: Heavy, but feel super quality

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, aesthetic and price

Nate from Bay Area, CA on 3/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much else to say that hasn't already been said. Great set of speakers, sound awesome, look great and a bargain at the price point considering what else is out there. They do need a hefty amp to really get them to open up (running them on an NAD C399) but with enough power I think you can get away with 2.0

Pros: Sound great Look great Well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Bill from Newbury Park, CA on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Speaker. I tried this with Cambridge Solid State integrated amplifier and an R8 Tube integrated amplifier. Sounded great on both! Took the extra bass of the tube amp with ease, so much so that I don't need really need a sub!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Travis from Angola, IN on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers that really do go down to 40hz. They are warm sounding speakers, which is what I wanted. I did buy the 4.1 first to demo before getting these. Although they sound similar, the 4.4 definitely has more sound throughout the frequency range. They are power hungry though. I used a cheap receiver with 50wpc initially, and it sounded fine. I changed my receiver to over 130wpc, and the sound is so much better. I had some issues with open box from Crutchfield, but their customer service was amazing and they replaced them at no extra cost to me. One issue I saw was the feet broke the bottom of the speakers in shipping on 2 of them I received, so this seems to be a weak point when transporting them. Once they are in place though, I have not seen any issues for a few months. I did think I had a broken speaker when the highs disappered from one of the speakers, it turned out that the plate to connect the connectors was loose. It was my fault and easily corrected.

Pros: Warm sound, look great, good bass down to 40hz

Cons: Need power to push them, Feet could break bottom of speaker if moving,

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Flexibility

Peter from Kettering, OH on 2/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great! The bottom port allows you to be flexible with placement. This is something I needed, as my listening room is very small. Despite this, they image amazing and the sound stage is very big. Would definitely recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

John from Royal Oak, MI on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced some Boston Acoustics T1000's from the late 80's. I was a little hesitant about buying speakers without hearing them first. I wasn't sure if I was upgrading or possibly not liking them as well, but I am very pleased. Even old CD's recorded in analog and copied to iTunes sound great. As other reviewers have stated, the instruments all stand out and vocals are crisp and clear. Movies and TV shows also sound great.

Pros: Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Wayne from Fairfax, VA on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful x2

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade my 2006 system and thought that the Pioneer Elite receiver was the first component that needed upgrading. After in-home testing a MacIntosh 8900 integrated and then the Moon Ace all-in-one, I wasn't so sure that my beloved Paradigm Studio 100 v3's were as good as I thought they were. I mean, they rock for sure, but lack a soft touch that I wanted to move towards. What timing to receive a Crutchfield flyer in the mail and lay my eyes on the beautiful Wharfedale EVO4.4's. After reading the reviews, and considering the 60-day return policy, and only two days to ship for free, I jumped on them. After about a 60-hour break-in period, we could really notice the improvement over the Paradigm's. Now, thanks to my local hifi dealer, I was still trying out the Moon Ace. I had the chance to A/B every different component in the system. I listened to both Rihanna - Shut up and Drive, and Three Doors Down - Landing in London. The first shocker, is that streaming the songs, dare I say it - sounded better than CD, and these are great sounding CD's. One of my concerns was that the Moon is only 50 watts per channel, albeit the first 5 is Class 'A', so it comes off more like 80 watts per channel. That concern disappeared with the first song. Running out of characters :/ Playing the Moon through the Paradigm's, I found myself listening. Playing the Moon through the Wharfedale's, I found myself feeling. Feeling the music is exactly what I was after

Pros: Solid construction Speaker posts are top notch Beautifully made Highs are not bright or harsh Midrange is beautiful Bass is tight and present way down

Cons: Noticeable ideal listener position

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Buy them!

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even before breakin they have amazing sound. Great stereo separation. Tweeters are astounding. Midrange is well defined. Woofers almost,but not quite, eliminate the need for a sub.The look pleases even my wife who normally hates large speakers. Great speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sounds from a beautiful speaker. I am using them in a two channel set up, with a Rotel RA-1592 amp and SVS SB-1000 Pro sub. The sound is amazing! Very natural and crystal clear. You can hear details in your music you never heard before, and can listen to them for hours without fatigue. I just can't decide if I like them better with or without the grills.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I know is I have never heard sound like this before! I never knew there was so much music in my music!

Pros: Beautiful sound, Beautiful speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beautiful Sound!!

Crutchfield customer from Shelby, OH on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from Klipsch RP 8000 F series. The Klipsch had great mids, very little bass, and highs that brutalized my ears. The Klipsch horn tweeters were way too much for my ears at high volumes. The Wharfdale EVO sound wonderful. I only use them for music. It took 5 vinyl albums to break then in and they just opened up. They have warm beautiful treble, wholesome clear mids, and tight punchy bass. These speakers are perfect for vintage sound.

Pros:

Cons: None!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superb

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a stalwart fan of Wharfedale speakers since my first Hi Fi system in the mid 70s. The Evo 4.4s are superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit and finish of these speakers is excellent. They are shaped and tapered--not like the other floor standing speakers which remind me of coffins. A Crutchfield representative recommended them when I described the fact that most of my listening is jazz, jazz vocals, and classical. The speaker decision was a choice of the following: Monitor Audio, Martin Logan, or the Wharfdale...these fit in the $2000-$3000 per pair category. The speaker is neutral and smooth in sound. I tried the Klipsch Heresy; however, they were too much "in your face" kind of sound. These blend well with the music and are not tiring to listen for an extended time frame--loud or soft. Also, the bass is not boomy but definitely present....I do feel your listening would benefit from a subwoofer (I have added the SVS SB1000...lots of modifications electronically to enhance the low end--depends on the music chosen). Comparing them to my JBL Century 100 (original purchased way back), they are a bit smoother and colorless...if you enjoy a very neutral speaker these would be a good choice. Obviously, there are tons of choices--especially if listening to contemporary music...you get a great speaker in this price range.

Pros: Smooth and neutral...good imagery and presence, magnetic speaker grills with no fittings visible

Cons: Be careful of spikes---especially on wood floor--do not drag the speaker--place in position and then add supplied flat buttons under spikes

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

The looks and the functionality

Todd from Charlottesville, VA on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply amazing... They sound as sexy as they look! Very full sound and amazing separation.

Pros: Looks, Sound quality.

Cons: Heavy, easy to break included feet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceeds Expectations

Warren from Kailua, HI on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have listened the Wharfedales for at least a month prior to reviewing it. This speaker offers high value and sound quality rivaling speakers costing much more. The Evos can produce a wide and deep soundstage, but where it really shines is its ability to distinctly isolate instruments and voices. Compared to my previous Monitor Audio Silvers, it is more musical and lacks the occasional upper level glare that can originate from the MA metal tweeter. The Evos also readily take on the characteristics of your type of amplification; with my Quicksilver Silver 90 Mono blocks the music is thick, liquid, and lush sounding. Switching to a my higher powered Wyred 4 Sound solid state amp the highs become much more extended and the bass tightly controlled. The music is much more dynamic and impacting using the Wyred 4 Sound amp without sounding harsh, but acoustic and vocals may be slighting more enjoyable on the tube mono block amps. Subwoofers are not required, however adding a pair of sealed subs will take the Wharfedales to the next level and is my preference to reach audio nirvana!

Pros: 1) A great value 2) Very musical sounding 3) Top quality fit and finish 4) Amazing ability to isolate different instruments and vocal 5) Non fatiguing sonic character and can listen to music louder and for extended periods

Cons: For those who seek a very high level of detail in the upper regions the Wharedales may not be the speaker for you.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Rodolfo from San Antonio, TX on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st pair arrived with a mid driver dented as if someone put their finger into it. Asked for a replacement. This is how the 2nd set arrived (see picture, box torn). No idea how they sound, since I could not try them. Terrible packaging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

A natural, relaxed, full, and detailed sound experience

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo, CA on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing and I hope they'll last me many years, if not decades. I'm using them for 2-channel music listening only and my source is the Bluesound Node. I've compared them against them SVS Prime Pinnacles, which are also spectacular (and especially for the money). The Wharfedales have a more natural sound while the SVS speakers have more impactful bass. If you enjoy acoustic instruments, vocals, and a natural, laid-back feeling to the music - the Wharfedales are simply incredible. If you want impact, fun, and party-type speakers then the SVS's are superb. I've tried a few amplifiers and the sound of the Evo's really changed with each option. The Yamaha S801 really brought out the midrange (vocals, etc.) while the bass and high-frequencies appeared recessed. It was a pleasant sound but a bit too laid back, sometimes. The Rotel A14 had a rich and full sound with better bass than the Yamaha, but the highs were rolled off. The sound was a bit mushy when paired with the Evo's. The best combination for my preferences is the Cambridge CXA81. It was recommended as a good match by Zero Fidelity for the Evo 4.2's and I can see why. The amp is said to have a V-curve for the frequencies and it complements the tonality of the Evo's just perfectly. The bass is much more pronounced now (still not over the top, of course) and the highs are more clear and present. The mids, which were almost too pronounced with the Yamaha, are present but not longer overp

Pros: Instruments and vocals sound natural. Incredible bass with the right amp (see below). Laid back, full, rich, and detailed sound that makes you want to never stop listening.

Cons: These speakers need the right amp to wake them up. Otherwise, they can be a bit too laid back and unengaging - especially at lower volume levels.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Room. Big Speakers. Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and great looking speakers. Can't wait to hear them with my new amp. Great customer services Thanks for being there for all of us.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfectly balanced

Crutchfield customer from Shasta Lake, CA on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound. Great separation. I can close my eyes and I can hear each instrument clearly. It's like having your favorite group of musicians playing in front and of you anytime you wish. Just throw on their album.

Pros: Great sound, great value

Cons: Took three tries with Crutchfield to get a working pair in my hands. Happy now. No cons regarding the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Mountain, UT on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers will rock your head off! Don't hesitate

Pros: Great sound from all aspects

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great for the price. They are hooked to a Carver M500T and carver preamp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Evo 4.4 sounds marvelous. Excellent SNR. Lots of bass and the tweeters sound marvelous. Sounds as though the musicians are right there with you. The speaker itself is very solid and the craftsmanship is excellent. Looks way more expensive than it actually is. I've had it for about 6 months and I couldn't be more pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Evo 4.4s for a week in a 12x16 room powered by a Sony STR-DN840. They bring to life many of my HD recordings and TIDAL streaming, lots of hidden details discovered. Jazz, R&B, good live rock, funk, jamband recordings sound outstanding. Although my amp is not audiophile grade, I think it's powering them fine. Bass is tight, I'm actually turning down my subwoofer volume. Movies and dialogue also sound amazing a surprise improvement. Very happy of initial experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Where Have You Been All My Life

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very refined with a midrange that has been (for me) sorely missed all these years and they also have the perfect balance of bass for me and the AMT tweeters? are what I cut my teeth on. I love them as much here as I did with my ESS AMT 1A's and still do with my Infinity Reference 4's . The Wharfedale EVO4.4's are not only beautiful to look at, they are more importantly beautiful to listen to

Pros: Fantastic! no need to look further for my purely stereo listening needs...

Cons: Tough to move, best to use furniture glides under the spiked feet until you've found a permanent spot in your listening area.......

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Fern Bch, FL on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are in a big room, so the bass suffers a little bit. But I would rather have that than "boomy" bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Seabrook, TX on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding

Peter from HENDERSON, NV on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 60 hours, these speakers really began to shine! Wonderful addition to my audio room...

Pros: Well balanced Bass extends to 30 Hz Wonderful mids

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speakers I have owned!. First of all, the design and finish on these speakers is simply gorgeous. The sound details and imaging are amazing. I use these in a very large room and they fill it with sound with ease. I powered these both with a small form integrated amp with 50w at 8 ohms as well as a large integrated amp with 150w at 8 ohms and both were able to drive the speaker well and produce great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 16 found this helpful

Great Sound, Poor Shipping Experience

Crutchfield customer from Covina, CA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give the speakers five stars but, including the shipping issues, I gave it 4 stars. I have listen to many speakers that were far more expensive but, these are just as good if not better. The reason that I am not giving 5 stars overall is because there was some damage at the bottom of the speaker. The box was dropped at least once. The loosely held foot bracket hit the wood enclosure. I considered sending them back but, I was concerned that the next set would return much worst off given that the box had many holes in it and was wet all over. I was able to hide the damage but, someone should reconsider how these are packaged. Maybe put the foot brackets in a different box inside the main box.

Pros: Great Bass, Mids and Treble...

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Mauldin, SC on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the money. I've never heard speakers this clear and well balanced. I'm powering these with a peachtree nova 300. They cover everything from metal to jazz extremely well.

Pros: Sound is amazing

Cons: Need a high quality amp with at least 150 to 200 watts to really shine.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. Wide, dynamic, creamy smooth but precise. These are very telling of your source and equipment. They are also beautifully made and finished. Definitely large, full-scale speakers. The bass is remarkable (I kept checking my sub was off), the vocals from the dome midrange bring another level of scale and detail to male and female vocals. The ribbon (AMT) tweeter is sweet and not harsh at all. They seem to smooth off before any hint of sibilance (except some poor recordings with certain female vocals). I wouldn't call them bright, which was a concern. They are great within a 7.2 setup or 2-channel. I am listening to my music (FLAC and vinyl) all over again and my mouth is usually open and my head moving around and finding all kinds of detail, depth, and separation. I listened to similar $2k speakers; B&W, Martin Logan, Definitive Tech, ELAC, KEF and Monitor Audio. The Monitors and ELAC were close but these just did everything better. I wanted B&W's 603's but the mids were bright, felt dry and overwhelmed the music.

Pros: +Bold, dynamic, spacious sound. +Bass seems unreal for the size of the drivers. +Detailed without being fatiguing. +Beautiful design and build.

Cons: +They are big and fill out a large room well (maybe not a con?). + Telling of poor recordings or equipment.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

30 of 31 found this helpful

Evo 4.4

Crutchfield customer from Menomonee Falls, WI on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the money! Needs at least 15 hours to get that wharfedale sound.

Pros: Nice higher end

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Great Recommendation!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield Advisor recommended this speaker. I took his recommendation, and I'm glad I did. Great bass, presence and stereo imaging. The folded ribbon tweeter produces beautiful highs. I have listened to more music in the past few days than I have in the last two years. Old cds come to life, and I'm noticing nuances that I did not hear with my old speakers. If you love music, this is the speaker for you. These speakers also add more detail and excitement to my home theater setup.

Pros: Powerful, detailed sound

Cons: These speaker are very heavy and their curves make them had to grab and pick up.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sound & Build Quality Beyond their Price Point!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood Ranch, FL on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To my ears, Wharfedale hit it out of the park with the EVOs; I had the pleasure of listening to both the 4.2 and 4.4 in my latest setup; tube preamp, dual mono-block amps, a streamer, turntable and a CD player. The EVOs have a sound and build quality above their asking price and provide a detailed, yet easy to listen to musical presentation. If you're looking for an analytical presentation look elsewhere as these speakers have a more traditional British sound signature. No, they aren't dull nor overly warm; however, they will not cause ear fatigue during long listening sessions. They provide a huge, deep and wide soundstage and it seems that Wharfedale paid particular attention to the crossover point between the AMT tweeter and soft dome midrange as you're rewarded with a seamless balance between them as neither driver calls attention to itself. Major difference between the 4.2 and 4.4, is as I'm sure you can guess... bass response. Both provide crisp, well defined bass; however, due to the larger cabinet and extra driver, the 4.4 goes a little deeper and in my room, satisfies my listening habits. If you have a larger room, the 4.4 would be the way to go. Are these speakers perfect... no, but all speakers will have compromises; however, the EVOs more than satisfies my ears and bring a smile to my face each and every time the music starts playing...

Pros: Vocals and string instruments have a great tonal balance with a high end that doesn't sound sharp nor over clinical. Bass is deep and well defined.

Cons: At this price point, none thus far.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Answer to the wish list

Crutchfield customer from Millsboro, DE on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As someone who has long dreamed about high-end equipment but could never afford it, these speakers fill the wish list very well. They are part of a long-over due upgrade that was made painfully apparent when I moved from a small listening space in an old farmhouse to a large, open-design home with an 18-foot ceiling over the main living area and overlooked by a 40 by 15 second-story loft, where my dedicated listening area is located. My music tastes are varied and eclectic, but my main goal was to create a good sound stage for classical music. A call to a Crutchfield advisor helped redirect my initial fascination with another make that is more home theater oriented toward makes more specifically for hi-fi. In short, the Wharfades deliver. The sound reproduction is tight and, most impressively, detailed. I am hearing resonances I don't recall hearing on favorite recordings. The first day, I was sitting on stage with Diana Krall. (Note: I did order a quality amplifier to go with them, which no doubt plays some role.) On the other hand, these speakers will quickly reveal the quality of the recording. They fill the large loft space impressively and project well into the living space below. I am still in the break-in period and waiting to make any adjustments - something that with all my previous speakers always had to be attended to immediately. Also, I was pleasantly surprised that the speakers' unboxy shape fits well in my house's overall decor.

Pros: Tight, accurate reproduction Cabinet design

Cons: Enclosed user manual contains inaccurate graphic for hookup. May be light on low end for some tastes

Crutchfield response on

22 of 26 found this helpful

Beyond Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had some wonderful tower speakers over the years, but I'm simply blown away by the level of detail and perceived quality in these Wharfedale towers. They even come in their own crown royal bags. As far as the experience with Crutchfield - amazing as always!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 29 found this helpful

I really enjoy listening to these speakers

Crutchfield customer from San Luis Obispo, CA on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. I love the naturalness of the sound as opposed to an antiseptic "replication of what's in the source" even if it isn't very musical.

Pros: Great looking Beautifully made When I listen to recordings of concerts that I recorded, I recognize the sound of the real thing A speaker more designed for classical music than others

Cons: I have no complaints

Crutchfield response on

25 of 26 found this helpful

Traditional British Sound - Wharfedale and ARCAM

John from JACKSONVILLE, FL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers for the clarity and soundstage. I listen to mostly jazz and they shine once I got the placement correct. Took some time for them to wake up from new, but now they are getting better and better. I thank the Crutchfield advisors for their assistance and advice. I had a budget for costlier speakers, but my advisor told me he'd buy these over more expensive options and that's what I did. I use these with an ARCAM SA 20 integrated amp and ARCAM SACD player. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Sonic bliss

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! I recently moved into a new house and planned on purchasing a new pair of speakers as my new primary listening room is much larger, 19 x 20 feet, than previous. After much research I had settled on another pair, but before I pulled the trigger I checked out Crutchfield's outlet store and these caught my eye. I hadn't considered them initially as they were just a bit out of budget. These are one of the best purchases I've made to date. Absolutely sonically stunning! Imaging and clarity - check, strong balanced bass - check. They are more than capable to fill a 19x20 foot room with clean and clear audio joy. Fit and finish are great. I got mine in walnut.

Pros: Great sounding and good looking

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Tower speakers that "disappear" like bookshelf speaker do.

Crutchfield customer from Wayzata, MN on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my 2-way book shelf speakers to bring out more in the mid range instrumentation and vocals, and they do this well. They are neutral sounding, with good base, but I still use my sub-woofer for the very low end. I am impressed with the great soundstage, and they do disappear nicely like small bookshelf speakers do; I hear the music without noticing the sound coming from the speakers. The build and finish quality of the speaker is excellent, they look fantastic and am very happy I got these. While still breaking them in, they do sound very nice thus far. They are heavy to move around, and I am careful that the floor spikes don't harm my carpet as I test out placement for optimal sound.

Pros: Clear base, midrange, and treble, and especially nice for acoustic guitar. Vocals are front and center as I was hoping for. They can play very loud without distortion. They are very suitable for a mid-sized room.

Cons: These may not shine in a very large room at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 34 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Oakhurst, CA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have excellent sound, despite their smaller drivers. The magnetically attached grille snaps smartly into place. The top is ideal for holding a vase, even though the manual takes particular pains to advise against it, saying (and I quote), "...they are not jardinieres..."! The only caveat I'll note is that the connectors at the back stand out in quite a prominent fashion. Since these speakers are recommended to be positioned "...at least 200mm from the rear walls and 700mm from the side walls..." you're going to see them as I have shown in the photo.

Pros: Terrific sound,

Cons: Prominent connectors

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

18 of 21 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.4

Crutchfield customer from Center Valley, PA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speaker. I have a large room and this speaker is great. I spoke to several service reps at Crutchfield over the 2 months or so that I researched options for my audio system. All were most helpful and offered good advice.

Pros: Delivers excellent sound for all types of music. I listen to classical as well as rock and the EVO 4.4 handles all.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

26 of 30 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply blew my socks off! I upgraded from mission 781 bookshelf speakers. What a difference. I use jolida jd901b tube preamp, Vincent sp331 power amp with Loki equalizer.

Pros: Dynamic, full bodied sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

For 2k , it is magic to get this level of sound

venkata ravi babu from TAMPA, FL on 10/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wharfedale did magic for 2k . this level of purity , clarity , details, excitement, smoothness, bass accuracy, vocal pleasure, imaging and walnut finish is impossible. absolute real value to my money. These are not warm, laidback, forward or heavy bass, just feels everything right. The sound signature like refined version of good part of Elac adante ( clarity , dynamics , real feel to music, bass) and Harberth mids ( but not lag and loose muffled bass). bass as good as elac andante and there no upper bass boosted to give fake lower grunt . literally i can fell drum stroke variation. So if bass is there in song it shakes room and if not , it will not add any fake bass. Kef , elac and Dynaudio have to do something miracle to do justify their prices tags. It easly outclassed their 5k flag ship models. I demoed (with my own cds) kef r11, Dynaudio evoke 50 and many other brands around 5 to 6k. For my ears this is it. Evo 4.4. is the match.

Pros: each time i switch one song , i feel some thing high quality sound thing going on ...no matter how what kind of music.

Cons: none. maybe overall size can be reduce little bit . they little big.

Crutchfield response on

65 of 69 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound