Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Dynaudio Emit M20

Bookshelf speakers (Black Satin)

MFR # 902022

Dynaudio Emit M20

Dynaudio Emit M20

Bookshelf speakers (Black Satin)

MFR # 902022

10 reviews
View this product

Dynaudio Emit M20

Crutchfield customer from Monroeville, PA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little monitors!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

over delivers - more than expected

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a forgiving and easy to listen to speaker. Beautiful range and no harshness. Using it in a home theater and stereo setup with a REL T7i. Placement is not too finicky. I like the overall look and matching stands as well. The center channel M15C complements nicely. Not my main stereo setup but I find myself listening to a lot of music on these. They are just enjoyable.

Pros: flexible, good price point, great sound, not harsh

Cons: Sort of cons: utilitarian design (but i like it), needs a decent amount of power to get the most (will be using Anthem MRX540)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

WoW

Ken from Northwest Indiana on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I almost stopped looking for book shelf speakers when I got the Wharfedales EVO4.2s.And being that I can't stop looking at the Crutchfield APP, I noticed that the EmitM20s were sold out but they had a pair in black that were marked scratch and dent. I never had a chance to audition Dynaudio speakers in person but always wondered what they sounded like. If I judged speakers only on build quality and finish, I would have kept the EVO4.2s that I was lucky enough to compare side by side with the Dynaudio Emit M20s. The Wharfedales EVO4.2s have excellent build quality but to me they lacked sparkle on the top and the bass and midrange was plentiful but not tight or controlled and the speakers just didnt image well in my environment . I use a Sony SACD player and a NAD2200 Power Envelope amp that was just recapped and cleaned, along with a period correct NAD1240 pre amp. I purchased both NAD Pcs new in 1987 . The EmitM20s really wowed me, they just disappeared the first place I put them, the tweeters project spacious and very clean sound while the bass is super tight, and controlled just like it was recorded only being deep when it was meant to be .Also the way that the music starts and stops, the quiet parts,and the way that the sounds blend together put this brand on another level. Crutchfields generous return policy made the possibility of comparing speakers in my home with my stereo equipment a reality.Thank you Crutchfield !

Pros: All the good stuff!

Cons: No cons except how good are the next level up Dynaudio stand mount speakers ? I want to know !

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

MY perfect bookshelf speaker

Titus from St. Louis, MO on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Dynaudio Emit 20 to replace a pair of PSB 1B speakers. The PSB was flat and had an "in the box" sound. The Emit 20.. TOTALLY different. I had always wanted a pair of Dynaudio speakers. I got a deal on a pair for my theater/ music room. Next was a pair for my upstairs living space. The Emit 20, a bookshelf speaker, has the sound quality of it's big brother tower speaker the Emit 30. Sound is big and robust. The soundstage is wide. It images VERY well. Off axis listening is great. But what sold me with these BOOKSHELF speakers is the way they produce bottom end. It's not boomy, but full. EDM and Rap/Hip Hop and even Jazz with good string bass sound incredible WITHOUT a sub!! The high end is smooth to a tad bright depending on recording. The mid-range is detailed. Classical, folk, funk/R&B .... EVERYTHING and anything with detailed nuances sound incredible. I did eventually purchase two Rel Ti subs to go with. That has upped the game. This is strictly a 2 channel "Zone 2" system with a Bluesound Vault 2, NAD M17 preamp and an old Parasound 1000A amp. Highly recommend. Wish I had bought it in white...

Pros: GREAT bottom end for its size. Mid-range is detailed. Great soundstage, imaging and off axis listening. Beautiful gloss black cabinet. Plays any and every genre of music VERY well. Cabinet is a bit larger than most bookshelves. Is a rear ported speaker. Has some of the same qualities as it's tower brother the Emit 30.

Cons: NO cons from me.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mid bass and soundstage

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned these speakers and powered them with a Yamaha a-s801. They started out bright, but after a 2 week break in, tho TS settled quite nicely...what a mid bass on this set and the soundstage is amazing. However , I decided to return them because they don't go as low as I wanted for a 2.0 setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid Speakers

Edwin from Reseda, CA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are very well-balanced across the frequency range. They can be dynamic during loud volume listening when called upon while still maintaining neutrality. They literally just disappear in the room allowing for a pleasurable listening experience. The speakers are being driven by a Musical Fidelity M2si integrated amplifier with ease.

Pros: Very capable entry-level audiophile speakers

Cons: none at this price

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Jack of all trades, master of none.

robert from Tallassee, AL on 9/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being involved with hi-fi gear for 40 years, I was eager to invest in some modern gear to supplement my vintage gear. I wanted some stands mounts to compliment my newly acquired Peachtree Nova 150 Integrated amplifier. I researched many brands and read many reviews. From those reviews, it seemed the Emit 20's would be an ideal match. In the interim, I was auditioning my 20 year old B&W Matrix 1's. When I received the Emit 20's I was eager to see how they compared. I was optimistic from the reviews rating them above the B&W 600 series. Needless to say, I was underwhelmed. The mids sounded grainy. The speakers come supplied with a foam plug to utilize in the passive port as an option depending on placement. My opinion is, it's a cheap, if not a gimmicky feature. Based on the reviews and product info, the speakers offer "versatility" for different genres. In so many words, "a jack of all trade" speaker. Translation, it does many things OK, but not very well. Bottom line: I have to believe there are better speakers in the same price range. I will be returning mine.

Pros: small?? loud?? May be suitable for a college student dorm room.

Cons: Devoid of dynamics.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 29 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Dave from Katy, TX on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned several bookshelf bookshelf speakers for an office that has an entire back wall of glass, a high sloped ceiling, a side set of French doors and a layout that forces me to use the short wall with glass doors in the corner to set up my gear- obviously an acoustic nightmare. Amanda at Crutchfield suggested the Emit M120. These Emits are amazing. They are designed to eliminate up to 75% of the sound that radiates off the floor and ceiling and create a very large "sweet spot". I must say that although I don't fully understand the tech, it does work . The cabinets, although nice, are not as glamorous as some other bookshelves. Dynaudio is designed, manufactured and assembled in Denmark. Other HiFi speakers use Dynaudio drivers and components. The money spent in the manufacturing of these speakers goes towards sound quality. When I close my eyes I can imagine a sound stage twice the width of my room. They are crisp, incredibly detailed, natural, warm and accurate. I have them on stands filled with rice, about 1' off the wall, slightly toed in. I run an SVS SB1000 to catch everything below 60hz. Dynaudio is honest (most are not) and calls these 4 ohm. Leaving my Yamaha R-N803 amp with YPAO on 8 ohm setting for hours doesn't even get it warm. Amanda told me that these speakers gave her goosebumps, and not to worry about 4 ohm- they drive easy. You will have to play these many hours for them to really start opening up. They just keep getting better.

Pros: Tight, accurate, uncolored and full sound comparable to much more expensive speakers.

Cons: 4 ohm- but don't be scared of it. Most small bookshelves rated higher are fudging, and these speakers are really easy to drive on the 8 ohm setting (less THD) on my Yamaha R-N803 with zero heat or issues. Dynaudio keeps it honest. Try them! Thanks Amanda!

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

I have stopped looking for speakers!

Brian from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely stunning. I'm done looking for bookshelf speakers. I was initially looking for bookshelf speakers in the $500 range for my living room. The use is 75% music and 25% movies. I have a vintage Pioneer integrated amplifier that sounds pretty good. I tried out KEF Q100, Q150, Q350 and ELAC UB5. From my listening, I think the KEF Q100 are the best speaker under $500. Not much low end but the detail is fantastic. The ELAC was a close second. Made the music fun to listen to but there was an artificial quality to it. I didn't care for the KEF Q150 or 350. A lot of punch from these, but not enough detail- a little veiled. I own Focal Twin 6be powered studio monitors that I use for my music production. These are world class speakers. I have used Dynaudio's studio monitors in the past and know their standing. When I read about the EMIT series I thought I should try them out. I realize these are almost twice the price of most of the speakers I was auditioning but my itch was not being scratched. The moment I hooked up the Dynaudio's I was done looking. Seriously. The EMIT M20 are perfect for my room. The larger woofer and crossover frequency are designed really well. Detail AND punch AND low end. I really don't want a sub with my setup and these speakers deliver. I would HIGHLY recommend these speakers to anyone looking for absolute hifi goodness.

Pros: Stunning detail. Powerful punch and low end. Natural sound.

Cons: A little big for what I was looking for in a bookshelf, but come on. These are amazing!

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

Dynaudio Emit M20

Russell from San Jose, CA on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everywhere I went I always seemed to find people saying that the Dynaudio speakers sounds great. I wanted to get some bookshelf speakers for my bed room but not too big in size. I have had many powered studio monitor speakers from Genelec 8020D 4" to Adam Audio A7X, and even the KEF LS50 in my living room as if now. So I bought these Emit 20 in White but at the time I could not find them in the USA so I bought them off eBay new from Italy. I always buy my gear from Crutchfield if I would known I would have waited. So I finally received them and decided to give them a try in my living room where my LS50's are on stands. I am running a Athem Integrated 225 amp. And to my surprise these guys really have some HUGE CLEAN BASS with very nice high's. Not as detail and clean as the KEF LS50's but better larger bass. The LS50's are better overall but what I find with the LS50's is they DO NOT play all MUSIC GENRES very well. Like not all Rock Music sounds great coming from LS50's, but with the EMIT 20's I extremely happy with. These guys are a nice edition to my audio gear and I will be running them with a Cambridge Audio Azur 851A amp and for the DAC I will use my Oppo UDP-205 via Roon. I would highly recommend on giving Dynaudio a try I really think they can keep up with KEF speakers depending on the models.

Pros: Large Clean BASS Big Sound Stage Clean High's Very well made Plays all music Genres well

Cons: If you decide not using the cover because they are not magnet they show 4 x plastic holes in all corners. KEF LS50 are still better in the price range way way more detailed and cleaner sounding.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP