Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KLH Kendall

Floor-standing speaker (Black Oak)

MFR # KLHF00001

KLH Kendall

KLH Kendall

Floor-standing speaker (Black Oak)

MFR # KLHF00001

36 reviews
View this product

Beautiful Speakers. One issue

David from Manchester, MD on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife got a pair of these for me as a Christmas gift. Here are my thoughts. They are made extremely well Everything about these screams high quality. They are made extremely well and are definitely a step above what you will see in box stores. They are extremely efficient and look amazing. Unfortunately there was one issue that caused me to return these. They are extremely bright with certain music styles. The highs can border on ear piercing at least for me. I am most certain they will work for most people. They are absolutely beautiful. The sound is very detailed with a nice low end. It's just the highs that really gets to my ears.

Pros: Build Quality is top notch

Cons: Treble can be a bit too bright.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Proof that outstanding speakers don't have to cost a fortune.

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are the best kept secret at Crutchfield! They sound amazing, excellent highs and lows, the music comes out clear with no distortion whatsoever(at high volume). I can listen to them for long hours and they don't cause speaker fatigue. Their construction is solid and the walnut finished is so elegant, very well done. For all the things that these speakers offer their price is ridiculously low, they are a real bargain.

Pros: Excellent value, beautiful sound...very detailed. Well constructed, beautiful finish...get them!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is an excellent speaker choice. Build quality is top notch appearance is pleasing. I had them paired with a Yamaha AS801 amplifier and an audio technica turntable. Playing the Rush 2112 LP Geddy's voice was most prominent and I would say slightly annoying. The mids and lows we're flat in comparison. The Robert plant raising sand LP Had a nice balance again mids and highs really stand out. Godsmack when legends fall LP sounded good but lackedthat low and punch that they are known for. Grateful dead skull and roses LP sounded good but again lacked a solid punch. Led Zeppelin ll LP The speaker started to come to life. The low end punch woke up. Bonhams power and presence shown through. When I put on Dre chronic LP the speakers really perked up. I had them placed 7 feet apart perpendicular to the wall the sweet spot was about 9 feet Dead center. Bass was awesome. Mids and highs were well-balanced and pleasing to my ear. I did adjust the EQ on the amplifier 60% base 20 to 30% treble was where I enjoyed listening the most. The speakers are versatile they are powerful and with the right tuning and tweaking I highly recommend them. I did have them bi wired Through the amplifier originally but changed over the single wiring Early on. 100 watt per channel on the Yamaha wasn't enough to drive them properly 50 watts go to the tweeer And 50 watts drive the other three speakers. Overall I highly recommend the speakers and with a proper break in I feel they'll only improve.

Pros: Loud, Versatile, well Built, Good Bass Response

Cons: Can be bright in the upper register. Lowered volume often.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing speakers that punch way above the price

Matthew W. from Toledo, OH on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did my due diligence and auditioned a ton of floor standing speakers. I could have bought these at a box store, but I know that Crutchfield give points towards a future purchase and they have 2 day shipping. I unboxed my speakers, and just played Music through them for 100 hours while messing with positioning, room correction and EQ. These speakers sound amazing for the price. The clarity, detail and sound stage are amazing and bass amount is excellent. I have the Speakers mated to a Cambridge Audio CXA-81 with an HP Laptop plugged in to play my digital files. I also have an old Kenwood turntable with a Grado red needle playing through an IFI Zen phono preamp. 80 watts/channel of clean power is more than enough to drive these speakers to concert level volumes. I have never pushed the amp past 50%. The efficiency of these speakers is very noticeable. I went from a pair of JBL L1 bookshelf speakers (1991 model) at 87db efficiency to 96db with the Kendalls. The Kendalls sound better and play louder with less watts being pushed. I highly recommend these speakers for all types of music.

Pros: Solid Build, Classy Looks, Great Bass!, Clarity detail and sound stage are excellent. Highly recommend!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Absolut

Sean from Houston, tx on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Complete waste of time and money. Bought two, first one the tweeter was DOA, before the replacement could get here, one of the bass drivers on the "good" speaker quit working, I'm using an amp that is rated at 200 sms I will be returning both and NEVER purchasing this junk again. AVOID KLH ANYTHING!

Pros: Great looking paperweight or doorstop.

Cons: Can't handle advertised power Don't work right out of the big

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Kearney, NE on 11/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound and great service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wife Approved!

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just Perfect - beautiful speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

At any price...Nothing is "Better"!!!

Craig from Athens, AL on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ive auditioned hundreds of pieces of Sound Reproduction Equipment over the Sixty years of my life. From Vandersrteen to Magnepan to Dalquihst to Dynaudio. Its a long and extensive list. I actual downed a pair of the original KLH Model 5's many years ago and loves them. Who knew Id be here raving about another pair of KLH Speakers so many years later. If KLH would have placed a $3500 per pair sticker on this exceptional speaker system, I believe you would have seen many more reviews...but most of the comprehensive reviews are found here, on sites like these that sell them. The KLH Kendall's in my very humble opinion, are easily the finest speakers you can purchase at any price. WHAT??? And sincerely, no amount of money will buy you a "BETTER" more enjoyable music listening experience. Sure they may look much more impressive than these towers, but for sound...no. Look at all the specs for the available towers...none approach the Kendalls low end of 25hz. And the mids and highs produced, along with a wonderful soundstage, are simply sublime!! My system is powered by a Yamaha AS-801 who's clean 100wpc drive these speakers effortlessly, playing any and all types of material with detail, scale and depth. I played Spyro Gyra's CD "Got the Magic" last night (OPPO BDP83) and just sat in the dark in awe...once again, at how shockingly good these speakers are! I used the included rubber feet with the washers for the spikes on the front to tilt the speakers up. Base port included!

Pros: An absolute Joy to listen to! There beauty is understated, until you take off the grill. Bass response is second to none!

Cons: You may end up being late for your next appointment because you cant stop listening to them! LOL!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

KLH, Shades of My Youth

William from Denver, CO on 7/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had these speakers for a few weeks now and love them. It was also nice to get KLH speakers as it reminded me of speakers from my youth. The wood finish is a bonus--they look beautiful-- and they sound great. I had a 25 year old amp and turntable that both died within a few weeks of each other and I went in search of new equipment. Then I splurged and went for these speakers as well. I am happy I did. My old PSB speakers still sound good, but this is a definite upgrade. I made the mistake of only ordering one set of speaker cables, so the first day I only had one speaker attached. I thought there was not enough bass and so I changed the level and it sounded awesome. But once I got the second speaker hooked up it almost seemed like too much bass and I set the dial back down again. Still playing with it but honestly these things are awesome. And did I mention, they look great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

excellent floor speaker/fronts

Crutchfield customer from Camp Hill, PA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

better than expected bass and midrange. I would buy again. This speaker is very inexpensive for what you get from it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

INCREDIBLE

Dennis from Independence on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son in law purchased a set of these speakers and I ran some old Mountain, old Sabbath, Hot Tuna and the first two Roy Buchannan albums through his set and what was my opinion? I think that when we die and have been good enough to get into heaven that the only speakers allowed there will be KLH Kendalls being run by a 150WPC amplifier of great quality. You can pay three times as much for Zappereli Quantum Prince Henry Stage King Zipidees or whatever and still not find what you can hear from these fairly modestly priced speakers. I am now waiting to call Crutchfield to see if they might happen to have a couple "scratch and dent" versions as I could give a rats backside how they look as long as they can recreate what I heard at my son in laws house.

Pros: Their existance in my presence

Cons: I am a cheapskate looking to buy them at as low a price as possible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean, clear, beautiful sound

Crutchfield customer from Cortland, NY on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's tough making a decision on speakers without a live audition, and it took me forever, but Crutchfield's Speaker Compare feature was invaluable and after endless listening and comparing, I landed on the KLH Kendall. WOW! I can't speak highly enough about them. First, the shipping was immediate (like Crutchfield always does) and the packaging was bullet-proof. Their handsome physical appearance is really very classy and they fit in our room space beautifully. Extremely well-made, heavy, and solid. They look terrific both with and without the grill cover. But the sound is the thing. At this price, they're not the priciest speakers by any means, but the sound is just stunning, and you'd think they cost much much more. It's the clarity that stands out to me - just clean, clear, crisp, transparent music reproduction without being the least bit harsh. We have pretty eclectic tastes - classical, jazz, blues, maybe a little R&B, soul. Chris Botti, Nina Simone, Diana Krall, Bruckner's 4th, Walter Trout, Mark Knopfler, Joey Bonnamassa, and of course Ray Charles - everything sounds just fantastic! We've gone well past the standard 60-hour break-in period and they've definitely gotten better and better as time goes by. Zero listening fatigue - we frequently have them on for hours and actually hate shutting things down at days end. Matter of fact, I think I'll wrap this up and go fire them back up now! Henry Kloss would be proud!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Michael from Howell, MI on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker. Owned them for over a year. Beautiful! I can't say enough about the build quality and look. I love to look at them with the grills off. Definitely need a break-in period. Powering with a Denon AVR4700 (125w/channel). Work well well with a 12" Klipsch powered sub. Clarity is great, not "tinny", but sharp. At their best with jazz, country or light rock. Hard rock or heavy metal stress them a bit. If you're a loud & hard music listener, you'll definitely want a good sub. Great with surround sound. I would give 5 stars, however I had a tweeter failure. 10 year warranty is awesome and KLH customer service is top notch. I had a replacement in 4 days. Driver was difficult to remove from cabinet. I wouldn't want to exchange more than once or cabinet will become damaged. All in all awesome sound but nervous about the tweeter failure at this price point.

Pros: Sound quality, beautiful finish and construction. Warranty and customer service.

Cons: Tweeter failure.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. If you want to hear your music, these speakers produce every sound in the music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Clarinda, IA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying the Kendall speakers a great deal. Was hesitant at first with so many fine speakers in this price range. Being old enough to remember the quality of KLH and AR speakers from the 60-70s i decided to take a chance on the Kendalls. Glad I did! I was considering purchasing a sub to go with the Kendalls but at this point i don't see a reason to do so. I know my ears don't pick up what they did 40 years ago but the Kendall speakers deliver and i have not turned on the TV in the evening for a week. My evenings have been filled with Martini's and listening to old vinyl and cds. Also a shout out to all the staff at Crutchfield. They have been an example of how employees of any company should approach customer service!

Pros: Great bass response.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Quest for matched pair is kuput.

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried to get a matched pair, but alas, had to go to another brand after two attempts. I was greatly disappointed in KLH. The left speaker. Let's call it the left. It was really nice. the first right sounded like it was wearing a mask. The replacement for the right speaker was much better than the first right. The music was sublime, as I had been listening to 40 year old Bose 301s, with the woofer replacements going on 15 years. I may not have noticed for weeks, but fortunately I had hooked up the speakers to new cables and did some A/B testing to test the cables. That revealed that the second replacement for the right speaker was a weak brother to the left. I supposed I could have lived with them with the appropriate placement, but sent the pair back to Crutchfield on principal. Crutchfield was magnificent through it all. I did find that the Kendalls create a very wide stage, set the instruments in there place like a rock, and no sub is necessary for music. I don't have a TV so can't say if the base would be adequate for movies. I was sad to send them back. I really wanted these Kendalls to work. They are absolutely beautiful in their real wood veneer.

Pros: Hugely wide stage. No sub needed for music.

Cons: KLH could not build me a matched pair.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Bass Head Approved!!!

Anthony from Huntington on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very hard to beat, well rounded floor standing speakers, at this price point, that offers this much value! Did I mention the bass. It's pretty deep. I don't think I've heard a pair of full range speaker go as deep as these. Don't have the space for separate subwoofers. These will be just fine. I do question the efficiency though. It may not take much to get a full range sound. But It takes a powerful amplifier/s to get them to really come alive. They have a live front row type of sound. They also need a ton of room space to breathe. Get them at least 3ft from any wall boundaries. Space them at minimum of 6ft apart. From a seating area 9ft away. Results will vary. Do not pair with bright sounding gear! I'm very satisfied with my purchase. I highly recommend them if you can find them in stock.

Pros: Bass, Mid bass, Build, comes with a set of rubber screw in feet and a set of screw in metal carpet spikes, plus a 10 year warranty!

Cons: Skinny, Tall, Can be easily tipped over, not a smooth finish, dusting cloth fibers get caught in the finish. Treble can be bright or harsh at times.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the speakers and the shipping was really rapid, ordered them Wednesday night and received them Friday morning. The only complaint was that there is a slight ding on the edge of one of them. The grill pretty much covers it up.

Pros: Sound great, look great.

Cons: Slight ding from shipping.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Get 'em

Daniel from Plantation, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had them 2 weeks now. Bought them on spec based on the reviews and nice to know if I didn't like them I can always return them thanks to Crutchfield's 60 day "no worry" return. Let me tell you...they are keepers. Smooth, balanced and neutral sounding. They partner really well with a decent subwoofer. I'm using my 12yr old Velodyne DPS-10, one of the best 10" subs at the time and still very good these days (yes I like EDM!). Set them 9ft apart 16" back from the wall and they'll shine. I have them bi-wired which brings out the mid range and improves the upper end "sizzlyness" of CD's at 44.1khz and made them sound smooth like silk. Impressive. They just sound better with time (be patient and allow some burn-in time). Highly recommended.

Pros: Wide sound-staging, detailed, 3D depth (especially when bi-wired), well built with real wood veneer finish.

Cons: Heavy, not much else lol

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Badass

Guest from Santa Clarita California on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coming from a guy that doesn't know a whole lot about speakers. These are perfectly priced and they sound badass playing rock rap or country. Would definitely buy again!

Pros: Loud no extortion deep bass annoys the neighbors

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Holiday Hills, IL on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There perfect, well constructed,clear on highs and mids,base put a smile on my face!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't go wrong with these speakers. And the walnut finish is beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Superb speakers,

Crutchfield customer from Aiea, HI on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with Kendall speakers. Very clean and true sound reproduction. Shipping/delivery by UPS was few days late, but units arrived in good condition.

Pros:

Cons: Spikes on feet of speakers make movement on carpet very difficult as tall, narrow shape and weight make movement awkward.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 18 found this helpful

Won't be disappointed.

Guest from Pembina, ND on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, so it's early. I just got these things hooked up. I picked the wife's Spotify classic rock playlist. Let the system warmup while I shower and get a drink. First song was Lay your hands on me by Bon Jovi, at the end she goes "that, was awesome". She was in prime listening position for song one. Third song was Promises by Def Leppard. At this point she was sitting in the dining room. painting. 180 degrees from the left channel. She goes, wow I've never heard that before. There was some light harmonizing and singing about 3/4 of the way through the song, that she had never heard before. This is at late night, kids are in bed volume level. Great start. Black oak finish. Superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Justin from Salt Lake City, UT on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So pleased with the KLH Kendall, I spent weeks considering all the comparably priced speakers and finally decided on the Kendall based on specs and what few reviews I could find. These sound fantastic now that they have been played for a couple weeks. They definitely need some break in, regardless of naysayers there is no question. When I first powered them up I was afraid I had made the wrong choice. Sounded very flat, but after a few hours they really opened up and now I believe they get a little better every time I play them. My good friend is a supreme audiophile with $50k speakers and a system to match. He was very impressed and could not believe they were only this price for the pair. This is the common theme I see and hear. Highly recommend.

Pros: Sound quality and price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Great Value & Performance

Joseph from Denver, CO on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up to my Denon X3500H for about 4 weeks now in our home theater and I'm very impressed so far. It is hard to demo speakers these days but we still have one audio shop here in Denver that has Focal, B&W, SVS and GoldenEar. Went to a local shop and listened to Definitive Tech's offerings too. They all sounded great but it seemed like you got more for your money going with KLH or SVS. After seeing that the Kendall made it to AVS Forum's Recommended list, I narrowed it down to the Kendall and SVS Pinnacle's...both seemed a better value than other offerings (3-way design, bigger woofers/better bass). At the time the Pinnacle was relatively new and there weren't many reviews so I pulled the trigger on the Kendall's knowing I could return them. Build quality is excellent and the speakers look beautiful in black. I've primarily used them for movies and they are clear, nice imaging and I've turned them up as loud as I'd ever play them and haven't heard any distortion. I'm currently using these with the KLH Story center channel and without a sub. I have the KLH Beacon surrounds/dipoles but I have had time to mount those yet. The base is solid and at this point I don't know that I'll want or need a sub. With the 3-way design I'm hearing things I never heard with my old system. Overall, the Kendall's are a safe choice if you don't have the ability to demo...couldn't be happier at this point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Michael from Topeka, KS on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recieved my speakers in timely fashion. Noticed the boxes where different sizes. One was the old packaging the other the new. The old package had the speaker flopping around like a fish. Had me worried, but all was undamaged. Craftmanship is great. Very impressed with the sound. Music was very detailed. Bass is very good. Could do away with my subwoofer that was accompanying my KG 4.5(2way). Midrange is very open. High frequencies are crisp. Overall avery satisfied. Lost a star do to old packing.

Pros: Quality construction

Cons: Old packing. New way is better.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Bang For Buck

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent balance and response across the frequency range. I'm particularly impressed by the mids. Despite the small diameter of the woofers these are no slouch on the bottom end. I have these connected to an old JVC 5.1 receiver with Audioquest type 4's. I did the Pepsi challenge with one of these vs. the JBL 3-ways I replaced with them. They held there own with my go-to bass demo track Dead Prez's "It's Bigger Than Hip Hop" despite the JBL's featuring 12" woofers. Even Better the KLH's responded so much better in the mid-bass range with a clarity I've rarely heard in a floorstanding speaker. The build quality is excellent. The real wood veneer, kevlar cones, and socket head hardware are all top-notch. These arrived very well packed and super fast. I was looking for something with a smaller footprint and a better build quality, and read an article about the best floorstanding speakers for under $2k, and these were a standout in that review. They do not disappoint. My next step will be to upgrade to a 7.1 receiver so that I can bi-amp them.

Pros: Sound great, and built like a fine piece of mid-century modern furniture

Cons: The finish on the walnut is a lot redder than my other walnut furniture. It has more of a cherry hue that doesn't match so well. They are also rather deep, and due to the rear ports need to be placed some distance away from the wall. This is a bit of a liability if you live in a narrow row house like me.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Man Cave is Done

Patrick from Albuquerque, NM on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for some very efficient speakers for my tube amp (Cayin CS-100A). Had some Klipsch speakers hooked up to this amp, sounded HARSH, not very easy on the ear. To be fair, they're older and smaller speakers, but none the less they had to go. Instead of getting another pair of Klipsch I decided to go with the KLH Kendalls (96db), I'm so glad did !!! They look great, they sound great, and I got them on sale, (Crutchfield Holiday Sale). Added a sub (JL Dominion d110) BOOM!!! Man Cave is DONE......Great service Crutchfield.

Pros: 10 year warranty, Sounds awesome.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

KLH Kendall - Excellent Sound and Beautiful Looks

Robert from Page, AZ on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of KLH Kendall tower speakers about a month ago (12/18) for my 7.2 setup. I use them for movies, tv and for 2.0 stereo vinyl, cd and streaming music. From the first time I powered them up I was impressed with their full-range response and clarity. I love the smooth detailed sound they produce. I drive them with an Onkyo TX-NR747 AVR and have played cd's and vinyl using both "direct" mode (2.0) and "stereo" mode (2.2). I am very impressed by the bass response of the Kendalls for classic 2.0 stereo music listening as these new Kendalls replaced my 30-year old DIY kit speakers with 10" SEAS bass drivers. The Kendalls also sound great in my 7.2 movie watching setup. Of course, for movie watching, my dual SVS SB powered subwoofers are engaged for the LFE. Overall, the sound from the Kendalls is excellent in all listening modes and volumes. I am very happy with their performance. Also, the fit and finish is superb. I got the black oak finish and the look is fantastic. The magnetic grills fit and stick perfectly. These are a great set of skinny tower speakers and I am very pleased with their performance and looks.

Pros: Great sound at all volumes for music and movies. Excellent sound for classic 2.0 stereo listening. Excellent appearance and superb fit & finish.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic KLH Kendall speakers!

David from ORLANDO, FL on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional speakers! After doing extensive research on potential floor standing speakers for my future man cave 5.1.2 set up, I learned about KLH audio and researched the KLH Kendall further. The specs looked appealing and really drew me in from the impressive frequency range, high quality kevlar woofers, dedicated 3 way speaker design to the overall small footprint and much more. These speakers are relatively new and outside of professional reviews very little is written about them in consumer reviews and AV forums. When I saw these on sale during Black Friday week, I jumped at the the chance knowing I was safe with Crutchfield's exceptional service and 60 day return policy if things didn't go well. Needless to say I have not regretted this purchase. I have been using these for the past week and a half and I am blown away by the clarity and detail at every level from low, medium & high freqs. Out of the box, I was impressed but as another reviewer pointed out they are getting better with time. Currently using them as a 2.1 set up until I move them into my Man Cave in the new house and will eventually get the KLH Story Center channel to compliment them along with in ceiling atmos and rear speakers. However, even in 2.1 set up I am having a blast with them and have never enjoyed playing Apple Music as much as I am now. In fact, I will use them in stereo mode in the future even after I set up them up in surround home theater set up. Too Good!

Pros: impressive detail & clarity at low, medium and high frequencies without any distortion. High quality build and cabinetry. High end speaker material qualities

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed!

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced my 40 year old floor standing Interface Electrovoice speakers (which treated me quite well over the years). It was time for a change to updated technology. The Kendalls met this need. My purchase has not been regretted. Excellent sound quality at all frequencies. I was anticipating getting a subwoofer. Since I only use them for use with my stereo receiver, cd and cassette deck, no need. The base response with rear vented ports qualify for my requirements.

Pros: Exceptional well rounded sound and staging.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Seward, AK on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These do double duty as speakers for Turntable and front speakers of surround system. I am very pleased with speakers and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Kendalls, I love you.

Evan from Huntington, NY on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I remember the KLH 5's I had years ago and how much I loved them. So I figured I'd take a chance on the new line of KLH speakers. Well I'm glad I did. I picked up a pair of KLH Kendall tower speakers. Holy crap! These are fantastic right out of the box. Deep bass. Well defined Mid's and clear non-fizzy treble. I auditioned speakers in this price range and nothing in my opinion touches the Kendalls. I can't wait until they break in. Plus the 10 year warranty is a bonus.

Pros: Extreamly well balanced. Deep bass and clear non fizzy highs. Very efficient. They look great as well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Exceptional Speakers!

Rob from Shelby Township, MI on 8/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As I conducted my research into building a two channel, turntable based system, my focus was to capture that retro aesthetic while incorporating current speaker technologies. That balance is hard to find, especially at this price point. Then I came across KLH Audio, a new company formed by a team of seasoned audio executives that set out to build on the heritage of the original KLH. Having now spent several hours with the Kendalls, I continue to be amazed by the detail and imaging of the sound stage - they seem to get better with each listening session. The range and responsiveness easily outperform any other speaker I've seen at this price point. Listening through Sufjan Stevens "Come on Feel the Illinoise", the details in the voices, horns, and strings are so revealing, as well as the low end kick coming through on the track "Jacksonville". Close your eyes and the band is in the room. The Kendall's real wood veneers are perfectly textured and aligned to create not just a great speaker, but a great set piece for any room. Take off the magnetic screens and the Kendall technology becomes immediately evident. The Kevlar drivers look amazing in person and sound even better! I highly suggest you take the time to evaluate these speakers, as the price to performance ratio is exceptional. Finally, I also want to especially thank Jon at KLH Audio for being available to answer questions and provide guidance during the process.

Pros: Wide frequency range (25Hz - 23kHz), very efficient with a frequency response of 96 db, real wood veneers, Kevlar drivers, exceptional price to performance ratio, sound great!

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

14 of 20 found this helpful

Awesome sound!

Marcelo from Indianapolis, IN on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As an electrical engineer with some knowledge of circuits and waves I prefer excess power in the amplifier and mass/size in the speakers to get the best distortion-free sound. These KLH Kendalls have a midrange driver and a pair of large woofers, and cross-overs to separate low, medium and high frequencies, which give them excellent range with response down to 25 Hz. I do not buy speakers frequently so I'd rather pay a little more to get great speakers that I will enjoy a long time. After listening to the KLH Kendalls for a few weeks now, I am very pleased with them. Distortion free and clear sounding low-volume jazz and high-volume metal (Livid, Nothing More, Deep Purple, Black Veiled Brides)."

Pros: Great sound for a wide range of music and power.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

TOP