Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

KLH Kendall

Floor-standing speaker (American Walnut)

MFR # KLHF00002

KLH Kendall

KLH Kendall

Floor-standing speaker (American Walnut)

MFR # KLHF00002

15 reviews
View this product

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't go wrong with these speakers. And the walnut finish is beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Superb speakers,

Crutchfield customer from Aiea, HI on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with Kendall speakers. Very clean and true sound reproduction. Shipping/delivery by UPS was few days late, but units arrived in good condition.

Pros:

Cons: Spikes on feet of speakers make movement on carpet very difficult as tall, narrow shape and weight make movement awkward.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Won't be disappointed.

Guest from Pembina, ND on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, so it's early. I just got these things hooked up. I picked the wife's Spotify classic rock playlist. Let the system warmup while I shower and get a drink. First song was Lay your hands on me by Bon Jovi, at the end she goes "that, was awesome". She was in prime listening position for song one. Third song was Promises by Def Leppard. At this point she was sitting in the dining room. painting. 180 degrees from the left channel. She goes, wow I've never heard that before. There was some light harmonizing and singing about 3/4 of the way through the song, that she had never heard before. This is at late night, kids are in bed volume level. Great start. Black oak finish. Superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Justin from Salt Lake City, UT on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So pleased with the KLH Kendall, I spent weeks considering all the comparably priced speakers and finally decided on the Kendall based on specs and what few reviews I could find. These sound fantastic now that they have been played for a couple weeks. They definitely need some break in, regardless of naysayers there is no question. When I first powered them up I was afraid I had made the wrong choice. Sounded very flat, but after a few hours they really opened up and now I believe they get a little better every time I play them. My good friend is a supreme audiophile with $50k speakers and a system to match. He was very impressed and could not believe they were only this price for the pair. This is the common theme I see and hear. Highly recommend.

Pros: Sound quality and price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value & Performance

Joseph from Denver, CO on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up to my Denon X3500H for about 4 weeks now in our home theater and I'm very impressed so far. It is hard to demo speakers these days but we still have one audio shop here in Denver that has Focal, B&W, SVS and GoldenEar. Went to a local shop and listened to Definitive Tech's offerings too. They all sounded great but it seemed like you got more for your money going with KLH or SVS. After seeing that the Kendall made it to AVS Forum's Recommended list, I narrowed it down to the Kendall and SVS Pinnacle's...both seemed a better value than other offerings (3-way design, bigger woofers/better bass). At the time the Pinnacle was relatively new and there weren't many reviews so I pulled the trigger on the Kendall's knowing I could return them. Build quality is excellent and the speakers look beautiful in black. I've primarily used them for movies and they are clear, nice imaging and I've turned them up as loud as I'd ever play them and haven't heard any distortion. I'm currently using these with the KLH Story center channel and without a sub. I have the KLH Beacon surrounds/dipoles but I have had time to mount those yet. The base is solid and at this point I don't know that I'll want or need a sub. With the 3-way design I'm hearing things I never heard with my old system. Overall, the Kendall's are a safe choice if you don't have the ability to demo...couldn't be happier at this point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Michael from Topeka, KS on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recieved my speakers in timely fashion. Noticed the boxes where different sizes. One was the old packaging the other the new. The old package had the speaker flopping around like a fish. Had me worried, but all was undamaged. Craftmanship is great. Very impressed with the sound. Music was very detailed. Bass is very good. Could do away with my subwoofer that was accompanying my KG 4.5(2way). Midrange is very open. High frequencies are crisp. Overall avery satisfied. Lost a star do to old packing.

Pros: Quality construction

Cons: Old packing. New way is better.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bang For Buck

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent balance and response across the frequency range. I'm particularly impressed by the mids. Despite the small diameter of the woofers these are no slouch on the bottom end. I have these connected to an old JVC 5.1 receiver with Audioquest type 4's. I did the Pepsi challenge with one of these vs. the JBL 3-ways I replaced with them. They held there own with my go-to bass demo track Dead Prez's "It's Bigger Than Hip Hop" despite the JBL's featuring 12" woofers. Even Better the KLH's responded so much better in the mid-bass range with a clarity I've rarely heard in a floorstanding speaker. The build quality is excellent. The real wood veneer, kevlar cones, and socket head hardware are all top-notch. These arrived very well packed and super fast. I was looking for something with a smaller footprint and a better build quality, and read an article about the best floorstanding speakers for under $2k, and these were a standout in that review. They do not disappoint. My next step will be to upgrade to a 7.1 receiver so that I can bi-amp them.

Pros: Sound great, and built like a fine piece of mid-century modern furniture

Cons: The finish on the walnut is a lot redder than my other walnut furniture. It has more of a cherry hue that doesn't match so well. They are also rather deep, and due to the rear ports need to be placed some distance away from the wall. This is a bit of a liability if you live in a narrow row house like me.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Man Cave is Done

Patrick from Albuquerque, NM on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for some very efficient speakers for my tube amp (Cayin CS-100A). Had some Klipsch speakers hooked up to this amp, sounded HARSH, not very easy on the ear. To be fair, they're older and smaller speakers, but none the less they had to go. Instead of getting another pair of Klipsch I decided to go with the KLH Kendalls (96db), I'm so glad did !!! They look great, they sound great, and I got them on sale, (Crutchfield Holiday Sale). Added a sub (JL Dominion d110) BOOM!!! Man Cave is DONE......Great service Crutchfield.

Pros: 10 year warranty, Sounds awesome.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

KLH Kendall - Excellent Sound and Beautiful Looks

Robert from Page, AZ on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of KLH Kendall tower speakers about a month ago (12/18) for my 7.2 setup. I use them for movies, tv and for 2.0 stereo vinyl, cd and streaming music. From the first time I powered them up I was impressed with their full-range response and clarity. I love the smooth detailed sound they produce. I drive them with an Onkyo TX-NR747 AVR and have played cd's and vinyl using both "direct" mode (2.0) and "stereo" mode (2.2). I am very impressed by the bass response of the Kendalls for classic 2.0 stereo music listening as these new Kendalls replaced my 30-year old DIY kit speakers with 10" SEAS bass drivers. The Kendalls also sound great in my 7.2 movie watching setup. Of course, for movie watching, my dual SVS SB powered subwoofers are engaged for the LFE. Overall, the sound from the Kendalls is excellent in all listening modes and volumes. I am very happy with their performance. Also, the fit and finish is superb. I got the black oak finish and the look is fantastic. The magnetic grills fit and stick perfectly. These are a great set of skinny tower speakers and I am very pleased with their performance and looks.

Pros: Great sound at all volumes for music and movies. Excellent sound for classic 2.0 stereo listening. Excellent appearance and superb fit & finish.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic KLH Kendall speakers!

David from ORLANDO, FL on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional speakers! After doing extensive research on potential floor standing speakers for my future man cave 5.1.2 set up, I learned about KLH audio and researched the KLH Kendall further. The specs looked appealing and really drew me in from the impressive frequency range, high quality kevlar woofers, dedicated 3 way speaker design to the overall small footprint and much more. These speakers are relatively new and outside of professional reviews very little is written about them in consumer reviews and AV forums. When I saw these on sale during Black Friday week, I jumped at the the chance knowing I was safe with Crutchfield's exceptional service and 60 day return policy if things didn't go well. Needless to say I have not regretted this purchase. I have been using these for the past week and a half and I am blown away by the clarity and detail at every level from low, medium & high freqs. Out of the box, I was impressed but as another reviewer pointed out they are getting better with time. Currently using them as a 2.1 set up until I move them into my Man Cave in the new house and will eventually get the KLH Story Center channel to compliment them along with in ceiling atmos and rear speakers. However, even in 2.1 set up I am having a blast with them and have never enjoyed playing Apple Music as much as I am now. In fact, I will use them in stereo mode in the future even after I set up them up in surround home theater set up. Too Good!

Pros: impressive detail & clarity at low, medium and high frequencies without any distortion. High quality build and cabinetry. High end speaker material qualities

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed!

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced my 40 year old floor standing Interface Electrovoice speakers (which treated me quite well over the years). It was time for a change to updated technology. The Kendalls met this need. My purchase has not been regretted. Excellent sound quality at all frequencies. I was anticipating getting a subwoofer. Since I only use them for use with my stereo receiver, cd and cassette deck, no need. The base response with rear vented ports qualify for my requirements.

Pros: Exceptional well rounded sound and staging.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KLH Kendall

Crutchfield customer from Seward, AK on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These do double duty as speakers for Turntable and front speakers of surround system. I am very pleased with speakers and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kendalls, I love you.

Evan from Huntington, NY on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I remember the KLH 5's I had years ago and how much I loved them. So I figured I'd take a chance on the new line of KLH speakers. Well I'm glad I did. I picked up a pair of KLH Kendall tower speakers. Holy crap! These are fantastic right out of the box. Deep bass. Well defined Mid's and clear non-fizzy treble. I auditioned speakers in this price range and nothing in my opinion touches the Kendalls. I can't wait until they break in. Plus the 10 year warranty is a bonus.

Pros: Extreamly well balanced. Deep bass and clear non fizzy highs. Very efficient. They look great as well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Exceptional Speakers!

Rob from Shelby Township, MI on 8/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As I conducted my research into building a two channel, turntable based system, my focus was to capture that retro aesthetic while incorporating current speaker technologies. That balance is hard to find, especially at this price point. Then I came across KLH Audio, a new company formed by a team of seasoned audio executives that set out to build on the heritage of the original KLH. Having now spent several hours with the Kendalls, I continue to be amazed by the detail and imaging of the sound stage - they seem to get better with each listening session. The range and responsiveness easily outperform any other speaker I've seen at this price point. Listening through Sufjan Stevens "Come on Feel the Illinoise", the details in the voices, horns, and strings are so revealing, as well as the low end kick coming through on the track "Jacksonville". Close your eyes and the band is in the room. The Kendall's real wood veneers are perfectly textured and aligned to create not just a great speaker, but a great set piece for any room. Take off the magnetic screens and the Kendall technology becomes immediately evident. The Kevlar drivers look amazing in person and sound even better! I highly suggest you take the time to evaluate these speakers, as the price to performance ratio is exceptional. Finally, I also want to especially thank Jon at KLH Audio for being available to answer questions and provide guidance during the process.

Pros: Wide frequency range (25Hz - 23kHz), very efficient with a frequency response of 96 db, real wood veneers, Kevlar drivers, exceptional price to performance ratio, sound great!

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

Awesome sound!

Marcelo from Indianapolis, IN on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As an electrical engineer with some knowledge of circuits and waves I prefer excess power in the amplifier and mass/size in the speakers to get the best distortion-free sound. These KLH Kendalls have a midrange driver and a pair of large woofers, and cross-overs to separate low, medium and high frequencies, which give them excellent range with response down to 25 Hz. I do not buy speakers frequently so I'd rather pay a little more to get great speakers that I will enjoy a long time. After listening to the KLH Kendalls for a few weeks now, I am very pleased with them. Distortion free and clear sounding low-volume jazz and high-volume metal (Livid, Nothing More, Deep Purple, Black Veiled Brides)."

Pros: Great sound for a wide range of music and power.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

TOP