Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono™

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges

MFR # StudioPhono

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono™

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono™

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges

MFR # StudioPhono

36 reviews
View this product

Great Little product

Brian from Columbus, MT on 1/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little pricey but works great out of the box. I have the Mofi Ultradeck with Mastertrack Cartridge and this was configured for that already so plug and play since my Receiver didn't have Phono Preamp. Honestly cannot tell much difference in the "mono" and "subsonic" configurations but all around great sound at any setting.

Pros: Easy install, great sound

Cons: pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Matthew from Aptos, CA on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed product. Records play louder at a lower volume. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!!!!!

Michael from TOLEDO, OH on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is powerful you definitely need some way to control the volume.

Pros: The sound for the money is incredible

Cons: Definitely needs a way to control volume.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Phono Preamp

Crutchfield customer from Paint Lick, KY on 12/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very adaptable and easy to setup

Pros: Adaptable, mono switch, subsonic filter

Cons: Odd size/format

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice little preamp

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this for the most part. The bass control is AMAZING! It's by far its best attribute. The only thing I can say somewhat negative is that it can be somewhat too revealing for my taste. Oh... one more thing, the rumble filter is the bees knees.

Pros: Bass control Price rumble filter that actually works

Cons: too revealing on some songs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very well worth the cost

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to replace a Cambridge Solo preamp.Nothing particularly wrong with the Cambridge but thought I should be getting a little bit more in separation and staging. This fits the bil. Sounds really good to my old ears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding phono amp. Recommend both it and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Entry level phono stage

Crutchfield customer from Sayreville, NJ on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice phone stage for the price. It has for gain settings and several load settings. I have only played with the Jason settings, as my cartridges are MC or high output MC.

Pros: Easy to use Compact Neutral sound

Cons: No settings for capacitance

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superior option for a turntable preamp

Crutchfield customer from CHARLOTTE, NC on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A while back, I finally purchased a new receiver after some channels failed on my original. I got my old Mission turntable refurbished and upgraded with a fantastic Ortofon MM cartridge, hooked it up to the receiver and could barely hear anything. Definitely freaked me out! After researching I learned I would need a preamp for the turntable to generate enough output to sound normal with the new receiver. I did a little shopping and bought a rather inexpensive one ($45-50) online. Hooked it up, and maybe increased the volume capability by no more than 20%. Back to square one. I trusted the Crutchfield name AND the Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs name. I have a bunch of original MFSL vinyl from working nearly 20 years in a music retail chain during the 80's and 90's. After reading a lot of reviews, I picked this MoFi StudioPhono box. I was really drawn to the fact that it had all the dip switch setting options. I got out the Ortofon owner's manual and read through the specs on my cartridge. When the Mofi preamp arrived, I hooked it all up and tried three different dip switch combinations. It was just astounding how much difference each setup created in the sound output quality. One was too gainy, one was a big soft, but the third one was just right. I know, "The Three Bears" right? This little thing just made the sound quality go through the roof for my turntable and stylus combo. I cannot recommend it enough!

Pros: Extremely easy setup. Be sure to look at the dip switch chart on the bottom of the unit. It has more detail than the printed owner manual.

Cons: I thought the price was a bit high, but I am getting over that based on how nice this sounds.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Bluford, IL on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds better than the receivers preamp .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition for my UltraDeck

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a MoFi UltraDeck turntable with Master Tracker cartridge and I noticed a couple issues running directly to the phono input of my NAD M33 integrated amp. The phono output seemed too low and I was seeing some woofer-pumping in my REL S510 subwoofer while playing the opening tracks on records that were warped. I purchased the MoFi StudioPhono preamp and I'm very pleased with the results. I followed the very instructions and adjusted the gain on the StudioPhono to match the specific output of my cartridge and both the meters on my amplifier and my ears tell me that these are now at the right level. I also use the built in subsonic filter on the StudioPhono to eliminate any rumble and woofer-pumping caused by warped disks without any negative impact on sound. This is a great product.

Pros: Ease of use Seamless integration Flexibility to work with your specific cartridge Rumble filter Rock solid quality Improvement in audio quality Value

Cons: Had to buy a set of good interconnects (Kimber Hero) to complete the set-up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Big-league phono stage slumming it for $300

Dan from PORT TOWNSEND, WA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an incredibly musical phono stage--and downright startling for the money. It may not have the spacious sound of much more expensive alternatives, but the sound is so involving, it makes it hard to stop listening. I ended up returning it when compared to that in a Mytec Brooklyn DAC+ w/Sbooster, it didn't quite measure up--but it was surprisingly close. If I didn't also need a DAC, this would be my phono stage.

Pros: Musical, Involving

Cons: wonder what this would sound like with a better power supply as an option

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but power light stays on all the time.

Horace from DOUGLASVILLE, GA on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Easy setup with MoFi turntable. I didn't like the power light staying on all the time. Other than that, no problems.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: I wish that light would go out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best $ you'll spend for your vinyl collection.

Ryan from Indianapolis, IN on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rarely have I come a crossed such an impressive piece of equipment for a such a reasonable price. I replaced a Project Audio Phonobox ($100) mated to my Uturn Orbit Plus TT with a MoFi Studio Tracker cart and I can honestly say you would be crazy not to spend the extra money for the MoFi pre. The difference was immediate in the soundstage, focus of instruments and tightness/depth of the low end. The biggest reveal for me however was the texture in the vocals. Playing the latest Cage the Elephant release let Matt Shultz's unique delivery come through like I've never heard with a sweetness and delicacy I very much enjoyed. In short buy it, you will not be disappointed. Give the Studio Tracker cart a try as well, way better than my Ortofon 2M Red or Grado I had prior. B&W 703's, B&K 507, Velodyne Minivee sub, Kimber speaker cables and Homemade Silver interconnects.

Pros: Excellent soundstage, separation, imaging and great bass.

Cons: None that I've found.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Sudbury, MA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great, but I haven't compared it to others.

Pros: simple to hook up and use. No audible noise

Cons: Seems to stay on 24/7 (at least the one yellow light does) No indicator light when the two buttons are pressed (for mono or subsonic filter)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Seward, AK on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I connected this to a Onkyo RZ820 bypassing the phono input on the receiver , placing the Mobile Fidelity between the turntable and the receiver using an rca plugged analog input.There was a noticeable difference in the sound. Customer service and technical support are top notch from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not impressed

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While this phono preamp makes a a nice presentation - compact and attractive package - I don't really feel that delivers the kind of fidelity that I'm looking for at this price point. Not impressed with the sound quality overall. I'm also not a fan of preamps that you cannot turn off with a button or switch, and with this preamp you actually have to unplug it physically either at the unit or using the wall wart plug. For about the same price - in my case it was actually less - you can get a vintage receiver with a built-in phono preamp that sounds far better. It might take up some space, but many of them look cool and most of them are easily serviced by a local technician. Not to mention the fact that most of them are easy to turn off and on.

Pros: Nice looks, slim size and easy to connect.

Cons: Not great sound quality. No power switch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 20 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Timothy from Ponte Vedra, FL on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pairing this with first turntable in a long time. Sounds great, but my limited recent experience means I'm no pro.

Pros: Solid performance, logical price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Super MoFi Studio Phono

Crutchfield customer from Mcallen, TX on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using the Phono input on my Yamaha A-S801 integrated amplifier and often wondered how much better could my sound get. Well the first thing I did was purchase a MOFI Master Tracker Turntable and was super impressed with the quality difference over my older Denon DP-500. Then the idea of purchasing a Phono Pre amplifier was burning inside of me. Being so happy with the MOFI products I decided on purchasing the Studio Phono. Did not know what to expect but what I received was a smallish item with a big bang sound. I did not know what I was missing. This product is an awesome bargain and recommend it to the guy that wants more without spending big money. Very pleased indeed.

Pros: Spent very little

Cons: Would have liked more functionality.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Superb affordable phone pre

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great time to be a music lover, and an even better time to build a system on a budget. I bought this for my vacation home as part of an inexpensive system after considerable research and the sound quality is surprising. Very detailed high end, resonant and articulate mid range and a good solid low end with ample punch. I have a Manley Steelhead in my main system which is a great phono preamp and the Mobile Fidelity holds its own against it and is at least as detailed. Listening with headphones the stereo separation is the best I've heard, and isolation of different instruments, even in a busy mix, never sounds blurred. I've listened to this with a Benz Micro Ace Cartridge, an AT OC9 iii, and the Ortofon Red which came with the turntable for my 2nd home and the preamp does them all justice. Even the Ortofon is downright fun to listen to with this preamp. Highly recommended.

Pros: Superb high end sound quality for an affordable price.

Cons: Wouldn't call it "eye candy" but at this price who cares.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried several preamps for my system (Rega P3 with Nagaoka MP-150), starting with the ART DJPre II and then moving to the Schiit Mani and the Graham Slee Gram Amp 2 Communicator. For my ears, the MoFi StudioPhono sounds the most full and vibrant. I am always chasing a lower sound floor, and the MoFi does still have an audible hum on MM settings. But the floor is considerably lower than the Schiit Mani. Side by side comparison with the Communicator, the MoFi has deeper bass and clearer highs to my ears. I am thoroughly enjoying this preamp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Richard from Issaquah, WA on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it on a Pro- Ject Classic with an upgraded Hana Shibata Lo MC. Sounds fantastic. The load and gain settings are plentiful and helped me tune the car ride perfectly.

Pros: Excellent performance and value.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 5/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this preamp to remedy the very flat dry sound I was getting from my Project Debut Carbon w/ Ortofon Blue 2M through the onboard phono input in my marantz 2230. Digital music sounded big and full through the receiver's aux, so i figured it must be the phono input and I was right! The MoFi preamp provides much tighter and full low end and smooths out a lot of the high end harshness i was hearing previously. The soundstage was improved and i hear a new depth and excitement with records that previously felt flat to me. It's a subtle change, but very noticeable and appreciated by me. As other reviews state, this preamp's look and sound quality far outpace its price tag. Highly recommended.

Pros: Price. Build quality. Big full sound. Looks slick.

Cons: No on/off button, but not a huge deal.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Brian from San Diego, CA on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the Mo-Fi and it arrived three days later. Good so far. Connected everything up, cued up an LP and? Nothing but a slight buzz. Re-checked all my connections but it still was dead. Called Crutchfield and spoke with tech services. We determined it must be a bad unit. Customer service dropped another one with UPS and paid to have the old one returned. This was on a Friday. Got the new one Tuesday, hooked it up and voila! Music. So far it sounds wonderful. Much better than my pre-amp's internal phono pre-amp. Altogether satisfied with Mo-Fi products and Crutchfield's super service.

Pros: Versatile and compact. Noticeable improvement over on board pre-amp it replaced.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, if not mandatory compliment to the Mofi Studiodeck

Pros: Adjustability

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

Crutchfield customer from Branford, CT on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adjustable gain settings and the mono button are extremely convenient features. Fantastic sound, well manufactured, and far exceeded my expectations for the price point. If you buy it, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Mono button

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buy one; you'll love it.

John V from Shaker Hts, OH on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono stage did wonders for my low output MM cartridge. Adjustable gain settings make it versatile. The Mono button is a nice touch, and very welcome for listening to old vinyl. Great product; greater value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This review was done by my husband he is the owner of the mo-fi phonop

Jls from San Juan, PR on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent phono pre tone,presence,detail,musicality,resolution,body,excelent soundstage all that you need from an expensive unit in a less expensive one. And very compatible with my at 33 evo cartrige.FANTASTIC??

Pros: All

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent phono stage

James from Melbourne, FL on 8/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing sounds great. I bought it to replace an integrated phono stage in my Emo XSP-1 preamp, and this definitely sounds better. It's got a very open natural sound with really good bass and clean extended treble. Running Ortofon 2m black on Technics SL-1200GR. The subsonic filter is really nice too, especially for warped discs. The build quality is very good as well. I see no need to ever upgrade from this.

Pros: Sounds great Relatively small Well built Nice features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent phono preamp

Michael from Ellisville, MS on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MoFi StudioPhono is an excellent phono preamp. It blew away the built in phono stage in my preamp. Soundstage is very spacious and 3 dimensional. Imaging is also great and natural sounding. Bass is deep and tight. It just sounds great out of the box! Not much tweaking if you have a moving magnet cartridge, but dip switches on the bottom provide adjustments for any cartridge including moving coil. Definitely worth the price. Also made in USA .

Pros: Great sound and excellent build quality for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best value in a phono pre-amp

Daniel from Tulsa, OK on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried several different phono pre-amps in this price range and this unit far exceeds the value, look, and performance of all of them. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: -Attractive unit -Very well made -Detailed and very musical -Low background noise -Mono button is great feature

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very impressed.

Nick from Trumbull, CT on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big improvement compared to my receivers phono preamp. Best bang for the buck phono preamp around, especially because of the numerous cartridge loading and gain options it's gives you.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great deal.

PAUL from Philadelphia, PA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Grade PH1 with this, no regrets.a great simple product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Studio Phono

Crutchfield customer from Southfield, MI on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace another phono stage that was giving me RFI issues. I like the sound of this phono stage a lot. Bass reproduction is good and the treble doesn't sound overly rolled off like some stages. Midrange is well done also, and the subsonic filter and mono button are useful. One glaring issue with this unit is that it was not stress tested with higher output MM/MI cartridges. If your cartridge has more than 4 to 5MV of output and you play some hotly cut records you will notice a graininess in the sound which seems to be one of the gain stages inside the StudioPhono becoming overloaded on the lowest gain setting (40 dB). Many phono stage manufacturers are guilty of not adequately stress testing their gear in this regard, but I expected more from a prestigious brand like this getting into the hardware game. It's something that should be tested for, since it is common for carts to have higher output than the manufacturer's spec. For example, the popular Ortofon 2M series are nominally spec'd with 5.5MV of output but can sometimes test with over 8MV of output. Carts like Goldring's 1000 and 2000 series (6.5MV) are also going to be a problem with this unit. Overall, it should've been tested more extensively before coming to market to avoid this problem. A more generous overload margin or a lower gain setting (35dB or so) would have mitigated these issues. As a result I can't recommend this 100%. If there was a way to have my unit modified for a lower gain setting without voiding the warranty I would consider it.

Pros: Subsonic Filter Mono Switch Adjustable Gain MM and MC compatible Pleasing Sound

Cons: Not enough resistive loading options. No capacitance loading options.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity StudioPhono

ramon from Paterson, NJ on 10/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent phono pre amp, better than Cambridge audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

TOP