Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Stabilizing turntable weight

MFR # SHVWT

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Stabilizing turntable weight

MFR # SHVWT

18 reviews
View this product

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

David from Alameda, CA on 4/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holds vinyl to platter producing greater detail and separation

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Premium weight

Crutchfield customer from Hastings Hdsn, NY on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Premium weight for sure. A nicely dampened rubber bottom provides vibration-free performance. I knocked one star off for the price - it's expensive for sure. But I figured I'll likely keep it forever, so it's worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No regrets.

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like others, I was skeptical, but I do recognize an improvement in clarity and noise reduction. It couldn't be more simple, sturdy and understated in appearance. It's just friggin' expensive. It's a luxury, but no regrets here. It's five stars minus one for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Oswego, IL on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this with along with my MoFi Ultra Deck +M turntable mainly to prevent record slipping and flatten out mild warps. I figured I could something that does the job cheaper, but it matched the Ultra Deck, so spent the money. First couple albums I played were perfectly flat, no slipping (the Ultra Deck platter is slippery) so I didn't bother with the weight. Then I got to an album that was not making good contact with the platter and slipping, so employed the Super HeavyWeight. Of course it took care of the slip, but what I didn't expect was a NOTICEABLE sound improvement. Bass was clearly deeper, highs were cleaner and I felt the overall sound stage was more coherent. I'm very impressed by the performance of this little weight, and only knock off a star because (even though I love it) it's too expensive.

Pros: Stops record slip on Ultra Deck platter. Noticeably improves fidelity Looks great

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Willowbrook, IL on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks cool,but can't tell any difference in the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Mcallen, TX on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally awesome sound quality.

Pros: Increased sound quality

Cons: Don't try to insert it when you're high

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Centralia, IL on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MoFi weight fits my turntable spindle snugly, anchors the vinyl securely to the turntable, and significantly improves the sound quality. Expensive, but worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice addition to a MoFi turntable

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made, packaged and the weight compliments my MoFi turntable. I have not had any issue with the tonearm hitting the weight at the end of a record (I read this on the internet as a possible problem). I am pleased with the weight and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the cost, seems a bit high for something without any moving parts.

Pros: Well made, rubber padding against the record, matches MoFi turntable

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Expensive-but-essential music puck for the Mobile Fidelity TT

Crutchfield customer from Forest Hills, NY on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought the Mobile Fidelity turntable but without the center weight or "puck" that holds the records stable, and it's clear to me that this puck isn't really optional: the TT can play perfectly flat records with perfectly-punched center holes just fine, but for the other 99% of vinyl records, this puck makes the difference between playability and non-playability. Once I put the puck on top of a badly-pressed records, most of the problems go away, and images become clearer & sharper, and most of the right-pull I was experiencing pre-puck are gone. So if you've got the BF TT without the puck, buy the puck right now. Oh, I gave it 4 stars 'cause it's $200! (And I also don't know if it's any better than a 3rd-party music puck.)

Pros: sound, design

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The weight greatly improved the sound quality by reducing background noise and increasing the bass. I highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does make a positive difference sonically, but on some LPs the runout grooves are too close to the weight and the headshell will bump against it when the arm is raised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Louis from San Juan, PR on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your buying a Mofi deck and phono stage, this is an obvious purchase!!!

Pros: Perfect compliment to my Mofi set-up. It works perfectly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury, CT on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, and makes a noticeable difference in slight warps. May not be necessary on higher end turntables that are already well dampened or quiet, but does help a significant amount on more modest decks. If you are already happy with a preamp and stylus, this is a logical next step, but get those other things right first.

Pros: Appearance, build quality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

The Super HeavyWeight

brandon from Racine, WI on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Super HeavyWeight to go along with the StudioDeck, they look & work great together.

Pros: Fits snug on the spindle. Looks good. Matches MoFi turntable. Additional mass to dampen vibrations as well as secure record to platter.

Cons: over priced

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good Product

James from San Antonio, TX on 9/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product to dampen & hold vinyl more securely. weight is not a problem for potential cause of excessive wear on motor/belt.

Pros: Very good to hold vinyl to platter & dampen unwanted vibrations. Weight not seen as a motor & belt wear issue.

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super heavy weight

Michael from Sterling Hts, MI on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference in sound! Mofi does it again! Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros: Everything it's supposed to do! Awesome!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

craig from Richmond, VA on 7/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My music hall 5.3 came with a screw on record weight. Although I am a skeptic with regards to such accessories, upon a friend's recommendation (insistence) , I ordered the MoFi. The difference was not the least subtle. The bass was cleaner and fuller, treble less shrill, the overall sound fuller or more complete. To draw an analogy, before the MoFi the sound was like a circle lightly and incompletely filled in; with the MoFi, the circle was completely filled in with more saturation. I am not sure why or how this works, but suspect it has to do not only with the weight per se perhaps "flattening" the record but also the "gel" contained within the weight dampening any vibrations. Just to make sure I did not experience purchase bias, I had a friend visit allegedly to listen to a new album. Unknown to him, I played the lp with the music hall and then the MoFi weight-- he didn't know what I had done -- he immediately asked me what had improve the sound, commenting that whatever it was, it certainly was not a subtle difference. He wants one now. Besides the sound, it is a true pleasure not to have to screw down the weight (as was the case with the music hall supplied weight).

Pros: truly improves the sound its "slip on" mechanism beats screw down weights

Cons: none so far (although in a way, the price is high for a low tech device).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Mobile Fidelity Super HeavyWeight

Tim from South Portland, ME on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Mofi Super Heavy Weight not only feels well built, but fits snugly on the spindle. I previously was using a cheap weight and I was skeptical that a far more expensive weight would make a difference,but boy was I wrong! Bass is tighter and more articulate and there is more shimmer on the highs and it looks great to boot.

Pros: Definitely performs as Mofi advertised!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP