Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Arcam SA20

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC

MFR # ARC-SA20-US

Arcam SA20

Arcam SA20

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC

MFR # ARC-SA20-US

23 reviews
View this product

Arcam SA20

Carlos from Toa Alta, PR on 12/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelent power!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth it over the SA10

Jonathan from CHARLOTTE, NC on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had originally bought the SA10 and loved it, but once the honeymoon phase ended, its limitations became clear. The SA10 was great cranked, but at lower-medium volumes(60-70db) it was a tad flat with little dynamics. In busier songs, the sound would get uncontrolled. The SA20 has a more refined sound. It is warm, but vocals are more defined, instrument separation is better, and bass has more detail. The biggest improvement was at lower volumes. The Class A really shines!! You get the richness of the speaker without needing to crank it. I think with a more efficient and bright speaker the Focal Chora the SA10 would have shined. The added power and clarity of the SA20 really made my Revel Concerta2 M16s sing. My wife typically doesn't care about high quality sound, but I played her favorite Pentatonix song, and she was completely captivated. She listened to if for another 30 minutes and went, "Wow, that is much clearer than the old amp". Now she's joined me on my past few listening sessions. Nice to see her enjoying my hobby too.

Pros: Class G is amazing! Tons of power Fantastic DAC

Cons: Big jump in price from the SA10. A dedicated SUB out would be nice at this price. Bluetooth should be included at this price. Wish the USB port could do more than firmware updates.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Brandon from DPO, AE on 10/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amplifier is an incredible pairing with my Wharfedale Lintons. All features are easy to use and the Outlet unit I purchased looked brand new. The service from Crutchfield was impeccable, as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Flawless Victory!!!

Daniel from San Antonio, TX on 10/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome amp! I'm using it to power a pair of Kef Ls50 Metas and it sounds incredible. Before this amp I was powering my Kefs with a Nad 316BEE v2. The speakers sounded clear but missing that much needed low end and mid bass. This Arcam sa20 amp is a much better match for the Kefs! I also picked this up at a nice discount from scratch and dent with basically no noticeable scratches or dents just a beat up box. Thanks again Crutchfield!!!!

Pros: Class G

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Charles from Miami, FL on 9/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amplifier runs cool sounds terrific.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

John from St Petersburg, FL on 8/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely smooth and a lot of low Power. This integrated amp has a very high-quality feel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Needed a modern Amp

Robert from Titusville, FL on 8/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this amp. Having a Sansui 990db and a Primaluna prologue one this amp hits everything that those amps miss.

Pros: Clean detailed power and remote

Cons: Input buttons would be nice if illuminated.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Ryan from TUCSON, AZ on 7/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Compared the Rotel A12, Arcam SA10, and the Arcam SA20. The Rotel seemed outdated in comparison. The screen wouldn't dim enough/shut off, the remote was from an 80's VCR and was not back-lit. The sound seemed more sterile overall. The SA10 and SA20 were harder to compare as it was subtle. The higher wattage didn't make much difference in volume but the SA20 seemed to have a bit better instrumental separation and be better at lower volumes. This may be due to the slightly better DAC and class A low-end power. That said, both have great neutral to slightly warmer sound. Arcam's strike a good balance between detail and musicality. String instruments still have the sharpness without being harsh. I assume the higher wattage is a better match for the 6ohm Elac Carina's. I could see the AMT tweeter being a bit much with a brighter sounding amp. Overall, it's a tough choice between the two Acram units. My OCD is having me keep the pricier of the two. I don't need a lot of volume in my bedroom/stereo setup with SVS Micro 3000. I want clarity, with the ability to crank it from time to time. Volume around 30 is normal , with 50 being too loud for most streaming music sources. My TV has a low signal and requires it to be around 85 for movies. It's the TV's fault in that case. Still good volume.

Pros: Good clean power, neutral without being harsh. Kicked the Rotel's butt on musicality. Enough power for movies in my setup.

Cons: No treble/bass adjustment.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Wallace from Dallas on 7/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is a game changer with the Morrow MAP3 power cord. This is the first time my system has that wow factor. This is an audiophile amp for sure with a huge soundstage at any volume sounds great.

Pros: Deep Bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Christopher from West Caldwell, NJ on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaces a failing Arcam A65+, similar 'house sound' , but much more detailed with wider & deeper soundstage. Midrange is lush and vocals stand out, a worthy upgrade in sound quality. Digital inputs are good, but can be bettered with a good external DAC.

Pros: Exceptional value, and with the discount even more so!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Crutchfield customer from Blue ridge tx on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this arcam on sale about 2 months ago. It is amazing. I have monitor audio silver 50 and a klipsh 10 inch sub hooked up to it. It is all I can ask for. The volume stays at 49 and is plenty loud enough. As of yet I haven't played with the features, just use the aux and play using tidal via my android. Arcam is my first amp so I can't compare. At the price I can't see how you can go wrong.it shipped fast and no damage from the outlet store. The only problem I had was it cut power at first. I use bare wire to the speakers. When I tightened down on the binding post the problem never happened again.

Pros: Fair price, great sound, easy to use,slim profile

Cons: None I can tell ya about

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

charlotte

TERRY from charlotte on 10/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The ARCAM SA20 very clean sound amp musical ( ENOUGH SAID ) sorry for a short review ( OUTSTANDING )

Pros: OUTSTANDING

Cons: OUTSTANDING

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Sonido suave no agresivo

Crutchfield customer from Guayama, PR on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dios los bendiga ,Este integrado suena agradable ,neutral ,nada agresivo ,sus 90w por canal son suficientes para trabajar cualquier parlante lo estoy usando para mover un par de vienna beethoven baby grant ,obtuve mejor sonido que mi antiguo amplificador de potencia MaCormack 225.El dac muy bueno mejor que mi oppo 103 .

Pros: Suavidad,claridad,musical ,Dac muy bueno

Cons: Ninguno

Crutchfield response on

27 of 33 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Xenia, OH on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderfully musical. Rich , full, clean sound, a bit on the side of warm. Cables make a big difference in connecting to other components. Great listening at all volume levels. Lives in Standby mode, you will have to use the remote to wake it up. May take a couple pushes of the On button. Can't beat it for the price.

Pros: Rich sound at all volumes, great connectivity

Cons: Sensitivity means connecting cables will make a huge difference.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Big difference!

Crutchfield customer from Freeland, WA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The A20 is truly eye opening. I upgraded from a NAD 316BEE & did not expect a huge difference. Au contrar! Instead of having to crank the volume to hear "all" the music & individual instruments, the A20 allows a more mellow volume level with a clarity and crispness to enjoy & process every nook & cranny of the studio or live performance. A very happy audiophile here!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

41 of 41 found this helpful

Arcam SA20 truly wonderful amplifier.

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Truly wonderful amplifier. Mated with Arcam CDS50, using coax cable (reviews on YouTube suggested this was far superior to using RCA cables). Musicians are in the room!! Clarity and purity without being fatiguing. Piano sounds like a piano, without artifacts. My wife, not "into" such things, was immediately impressed and mentioned how pleasing and realistic the sound was. The joy of listening music has increased a multiple of times. True with all forms or types of music. Don't know the reasons, but we'll take it. Use it also for TV sound. Noticeable difference for that use too, which was unexpected.

Pros: Clear, pristine sound, without fatigue. Great presence.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

25 of 26 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Greg from Mt Washington, KY on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a solid amp with a really good DAC implementation. Phono preamp is fairly good, but the amplifier section was not to my liking. I thusly returned the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 43 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My new Arcam is everything that I was expecting! I am well pleased with the description that Crutchfield gave this Amp. It is "spot on" as the British would say. Well done Crutchfield! Is it any wonder that you have earned your place as a reputable company to do business with. Keep up the good work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 17 found this helpful

Class A goodness

Jason from NEWARK, DE on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A lot of good Amplifiers out there today. Some; and few can set themselves apart. Well! this one does. The delivery of almost pure unimaginable Mids from this amp will leave you wondering what else have I've been messing. Grab your favorite CD's or Licorice Pizza and behold a sound you only thought possible from Live music or Amps costing 4-6 thousand dollars. On low volume you can tell the difference in the Class A amp mode, it does change as the sound increased but that shift is smooth and precise. I have had this for a couple weeks now and used several sets of Speakers. NOTE... The Kef's Q150 sound like thousand dollars floor standing speakers. The sound stage and presents is almost irritating when considering its easy to spend a couple grand on alternatives. I have played this amp on a pare of Monitor Audio silver 8's and wow did they come to life. I compared this to a Denon AVR 3500. No comparison, the Denon failed is every aspect. The low bass is on point never a hint of over exaggeration, you do not see the bass in front of you, its all around deep and rich. As noted the Mids. Life like presents and so real. Dave Mathews sound 10 feet away. Tom Petty's rich guitar rhythms come out of the center stage. I would recommend this. My main speakers I got with are KEF R3's. Such a great Match.

Pros: Awesome Sound. Nice looking and build quality is good.

Cons: At this price point a streaming service would have been nice. No real cons.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

38 of 38 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Crutchfield customer from Kaukauna, WI on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the integrated amplifier I have been looking for. The sound quality is full and detailed, on the warmer side of neutral and not at all fatiguing. Some might describe the SA20's top end as sweet sounding, which is quite desirable. It offers plenty of power and doesn't sound strained at higher volumes. Build quality is excellent and it feels heavy for its size. Overall, this is a fantastic amplifier from a great British brand!

Pros: Full and detailed sound that's on the warmer side of neutral. Not at all fatiguing. Plenty of power. Excellent build quality. Built in phono stage.

Cons: None for me personally. Lack of Bluetooth may be an issue for some people.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I brought out some heritage speakers handed down to make a home office makeshift system. Sound was not great until I bought this amp/DAC combo and wow new life brought to the speakers. I thought maybe they had been damaged in moving or this thrown together system with no special interconnects, power cord etc, had too many weak links in the chain, but no, this made bass tight and vocals holographic. Love what this did to the sound. Super happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Arcam SA20

Crutchfield customer from Gurnee, IL on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

An outstanding Integrated. I bought it to use with Vienna Bach speakers but I like it so much that I am using it in my main system driving Vienna Beethoven Baby Grands. I like Parasound but a second one was too expensive. That's 90 watts replacing 140 watts. The main reason I chose the Arcam is the use of ESS Sabre chips in the DAC. I favor that DAC approach because the Parasound Integrated uses them as well as my 15-20 year old Oppo DVD player. A good DAC eliminates the often heard complaint of a very strident high end. For me a fabric tweeter is crucial as well as a good CD transport . I listen to a lot of Mahler and Wagner as well as brass music andBritish brass band. I also wanted to try the hybrid Class G amplifier. The results are outstanding. I can now listen to the many DGG recordingsI have that are always on the bright side -with this current system without listen fatigue. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a very good Integrated Amplifier and the 90 watts is absolutely as much power as needed.

Pros: ESS Sabre DAC. Class G amplifier. Also controls the Cambridge CD transport. Outstanding performance.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

53 of 53 found this helpful

Quality AMP!

Crutchfield customer from Wshngtn Xing, PA on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase. Great warm sound, solidly built. Pairs very well with my Focal Aria speakers.

Pros: Sound, build quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

39 of 41 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound