Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Rotel A12

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # ROT1015001

Rotel A12

Rotel A12

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # ROT1015001

30 reviews
View this product

Rotel A12

Dennis from Prescott Valley, AZ on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At this price range you can't go wrong. Powerful as well as clean sounding. I'm impressed by the detail that it produced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Michael from Redondo Beach, CA on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A12 delivers everything I need for my set up. Plenty of power for my Focal 806's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rotel A12 ??????

David from Milford, MI on 5/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect for the zone intended. Clarity and power density of Rotel amplification is extremely impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfectly suited to my needs

David from Roebling, NJ on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Rotel A12was easy to set up and looks great. It also sounds great, which is the most important thing. But it's not without it's annoyances. First of all, the remote is as big as the amp, yet the buttons are ridiculously small,and the print is even smaller. Also, pressing the OFF button on the remote stops whatever function was on at the moment, but leaves the amp in a kind of standby mode with a red light illuminated. In this condition I've had my phone suddenly start playing music through the system which sometimes turns itself back on when the Bluetooth decides it's bored and wants to play. Another thing I find annoying is when switching from Bluetooth to the phono mode the volume is all over the place. It has to be cranked up considerably higher when listening to the turntable than when listening to the Bluetooth. But once the volume is in the sweet spot this is a beautiful sounding amp. And I've only had it less than a week so far, so I haven't even had a chance to test all of it's functions,since I'm still working on upgrading my system. I live in an old row home that's not very big. My listening area is only about 16'x12', but open on one side, so optimal speaker and seating positions are not really possible. Yet I manage to get acceptable imaging and soundstage with more than enough power to drive my old Polk Monitor 10Bs. I kinda miss having a tape monitor line out even though I'd probably never use it. I have a Nakamichi ca

Pros: Looks and sounds great. Easy setup and connects to just about everything.

Cons: Remote is huge with tiny buttons and print. Bluetooth turns on by itself when unit turned off by remote. No electrical outlets on rear panel.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great amp for the money

Toby from Atlanta, GA on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: - Great sound with natural bass and very detailed mid/highs (I can hear new elements to songs I've listened to for years). - More powerful the the 60w per channel suggests (they run KEF Q550s in a large space with ease). - Bluetooth connects seamlessly. - Attractive/high end feeling product. - Purchased $200 under original price. A lot of amp for the money. Cons: - Remote buttons are hard to see/small. The remote also looks dated and lower quality than the amp. - Phono stage is good but not exceptional (probably par for the course for the price).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Chris from Riceville, TN on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just the ticket to power my bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

CXA81 comparison

Phillip from GUNTERSVILLE, AL on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleasantly surprised! I purchased a Cambridge CXA81 at the same time as this Rotel A12 and compared the two. The CXA81 had more volume, but the A12 can still shake my neighbors houses The A12 sounded clearer and better with my Cornwalls. The A12 was just over half the price of the CXA81. I returned the CXA81

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality amp

David from Stow, OH on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is very early, but all is well. Bluetooth connection seems to be rock solid. The amp sounds very good. One little quibble...the volume control is numbered from 0 to what seems like 99...45 to 55 is normal listening volume, which seems kind of high for a volume control. But otherwise, this amp is beautifully built, very powerful for its modest rating, and feels like very high quality gear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rotel A12

James from Maricopa, AZ on 4/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp looks great, is easy to set up and delivers clean power. It drives my KLH Model 5s with ease.

Pros: Great Look and clean power

Cons: Sadly the remote seems like an afterthought. The buttons are small, very small and the printing is even smaller and difficult to read.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Brady from Omaha, NE on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only gave it 4 stars because of the lack of power------everything else is wonderful and a great deal with the discount-----I fixed the power problem by adding a Rotel RB-1552MKII power amp (also a great deal by buying an open box item and I don't think the box was even opened). I like the Rotel sound - just needed more of it. I probably didn't go about getting my system the right way but it's what I did and sounds really good. I have 2 pairs of Klipsch speakers--a set of RP600M's sitting on top of a pair of RP8000f's---the A12 powers the bookshelves and the power amp runs the floor standers---it all sounds good together, but I mainly run the smaller portion late at night so as not to disturb the neighbors because the bigger portion really carries some weight - even at low volume Huge upgrade from the entry level Yamaha it replaced.

Pros: Analog and digital inputs along with Bluetooth--much better value than the A11 that everyone seems to be talking about Clean and detailed sound

Cons: Lack of power

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Detail and clarity

GIANG from Kennedale, TX on 4/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I has been more than a decade since I have last heard a Rotel product and I am excited to see they are widely available for purchase in recent years. I just needed a smaller amplifier to power my secondary system and wasn't expecting much. Pairing this A12 integrated amplifier with B&W 706 S2 and REL T9/X subwoofer, I was totally blown away! Everything sounded big and open. The one word I would use to describe this amplifier is CLARITY. It will give you better insight into the recording while still sounding pleasant and easy on the ears. It's amazing what they can do nowadays for so little money. Without going into all the details that has already been mentioned, I think this amplifier brings out the best features of your speakers and just let you enjoy your music without drawing attention to itself.

Pros: Beautiful looking and very well made. Appear to use very high quality components without weighing a ton.

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Amp for the Price

Howard from Richmond, CA on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amp is a great value for the money and sounds wonderful. I bought it to use with my computer system specifically because its built-in DAC can receive high-res audio through the USB input up to 192 KHz resolution, and when I was finally able to experience this, the sound was spectacular. I've also played standard CDs (from a stand-alone CD player) through the SPDIF input with similarly excellent results, as well as computer audio through the TOSLINK (optical) input. The only thing I haven't tried yet is the phono input (though I will do this at some point). For my purposes the A12's 60 watts per channel is more than sufficient to it power my speakers cleanly and musically. Okay, if you want to rock out at earsplitting levels, maybe this isn't the amp for you, but for me it is equally at home with every genre of music I could throw at it. Could not be happier with this integrated amp.

Pros: Excellent built-in DAC Full array of inputs, including phono Extremely clean and musical sound

Cons: Maybe not as powerful as some would want

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

love the Rotel

Michael from Washington, DC on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

truly wonderful box, easy to install, works like a charm... a great upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rotel A12 review

Andrew from Champions Gate, FL on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sounding Amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Sound!

Scott from Williamsburg, VA on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic integrated amplifier, just the right price point to get me listening to my music the way I used too back in the 80s.

Pros: Sleek, sexy and sounds amazing!

Cons: The supplied USB Cord was a nice add, but not long enough unless your unit is right next to your computer. I purchased a separate cord!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fir TV

Bryon from Dayton, NV on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a vintage fan and I only purchased this amp to listen to tv audio through Bose 701s. I was looking for an amp that would match my silver faced Pioneer components. This amp fits the bill. TV sound is clear and crisp and the amp accepts the optical line. My perception is that this amp outperforms my previous Yamaha AX-V481 receiver, but this review is not for music audio. I am very satisfied with this amp. Solidly constructed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Michael from Venice, FL on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in process of assembling a small stereo system and do not have everything I need yet, therefore I can not speak of the sound quality at this time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp with HT (tone) bypass

Fathmi from Raleigh, NC on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Integrated amplifier. Used my KLH model 5s with it and it sang! Before using the A12s I was running the Model 5s through my Yamaha receiver only and I can say that I was missing a lot! I used both PC USB and Bluetooth to run songs from Tidal. They sounded great. Having a Tone bypass with Aux1 connection (Home theater bypass) option was part of the reason I chose this amp, so that I could integrate the stereo into my Home theater system. Crutchfield's experts helped me find this amp and answered all my questions to make the decision to buy this great product. Very happy.

Pros: Great Integrated amplifier for the cost with home theater bypass option.

Cons: Front USB only accept iphone connection. Android users will have to rely on Bluetooth or PC USB connection or a dedicated streamer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Clarity and detail

Ed from San Diego on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as a second amplifier to run my UB5s and a new pair of Q350s. My initial impressions are crisp clarity with emphasis on detailed presentation. Not alot of heft especially when listening at below 50 on the dial but the amplifier has performed extremely well thus far. With the 350s being new I expected a break in period so I'm just beginning. With that said it motors my 4ohm UB5s like a champ. Im literally in awe at how well they paired. It brought out the clarity and punch on the bottom end that these speakers can produce masterfully. A word of caution though...this amp gets hot fast so I highly recommend an air cooling system on top. I'm waiting on the aircom t10 this week. Otherwise this will make music lovers smile. Enjoy!

Pros: Amazing detail and crisp presentation.

Cons: Gets hot fast so have a cooling system available.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great integrated amplifier

Barbara from Sioux Falls, SD on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really liking this amp. It's replacing a tiny chip amp and a stack of small separate components in my bedroom; it looks much less jumbled. More importantly it sounds great! It's super easy to use and to set up. So far I've primarily used it for streaming from my phone; but the phono sounds great too. I think I'm going to build a dedicated streamer with a raspberry pi and will just use the built-in DAC. I realize this is just shallow, but the knobs and buttons have very satisfying "clicks". It makes me happy to switch on and off!

Pros: Gorgeous, powerful, good DAC

Cons: None at this pric

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Crutchfield customer from Leland, NC on 3/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Rotel RA 1062 for a long time and loved it! The A12 was on sale so I gave it a shot. Wow! A real nice amp! Super warm sounding with a robust depth to it. In a lot of ways it sounds as good or better than my CXA 61! Running Wharfedale diamond 12.3's,EVO 4.3's,Elac debut 6.2b&Q acoustic 3030i.Runs each set well&all sound great.The amp is a little beast!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rotel A12 is perfect

John from Roseville, CA on 2/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Researched integrated amps for months before deciding on the Rotel A12; this amp has a simple layout, clean power, and every input option I could possibly desire. It sounds wonderful and combined with the Rotel CD14 I purchased from Crutchfield's, it will definitely deliver the best sounds for years to come.

Pros: Clean layout, plenty of power, wealth of inputs.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Neil from Somerville, MA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver. Clear sound, the best bluetooth Ive heard!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Guest from Dade City, FL on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a bit concerned about its power (only 60 watts per channel) but I purchased it anyway as my budget was limited. In my den, I have this unit hooked up to my SVS Ultra bookshelf speakers and my KEF LS-50s (older models). This unit powers both sets of speakers, simultaneously, with ease. I could not be happier with their performance. Furthermore, this unit looks great and has all the hook ups I need. I don't think you'll be disappointed this unit. That being said, I'd buy the most expensive Rotel integrated amp you can afford. But, for me, this one serves me well on my limited budget.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Music to my ears

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NJ on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier does everything I ask of it. Uncomplicated but feature packed. I am using it exclusively for music, everything from blues to to Jam bands to glam rock. All sources, vinyl, cd, Bluetooth sound great. I am using it through a pair of Elac Debut 2.0 F6.2 Speakers

Pros: Full featured, plenty of inputs, crisp but warm sound

Cons: I didn't buy it sooner

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

The Rotel A12 Has Everything You Need!

Cory from GLEN ALLEN, VA on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is awesome! 60 watts per channel proved to be a great match with my PSB Imagine XB bookshelf speakers. I also love the design and look of this amp and it's one of the most versatile amps I've used in terms of its inputs with several digital and analog inputs, and even USB from a thumb drive or computer. I used a variety of sources including Bluetooth and a CD player, but mostly stream through a network streamer going through the built in DAC on the A12. It's a beautiful sounding amp and is perfect for my living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Rotel A12

SL from CT on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CD's sound great. Bluetooth sounds great. Digital files sound great. Gorgeous, substantial piece of equipment. Takes me back 40 years except the sound is really so much better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 14 found this helpful

Rotel A12

Crutchfield customer from N Grosvenordl, CT on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have purchased a 120 wpc into 8 ohms. I still may.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 34 found this helpful

EDEN

Thomas from EDEN on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, I have this running my Klipsch R-820F. I was worried about power when I Purchased this amp but these things rock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Rotel A12

John from Dewitt, MI on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have mine pared with klipsch rp6000f towers ( that I got from Crutchfield)Over all it sounds fantastic. it has a very nice DAC.originally had planned to us with a topping DAC but the built in on sounded better. Also the phono preamp is vey good as well. I have used the DAC via the rear computer usb and the front usb connected to iPad and Mac book. I have a chrome cast connected that I never use how ever it dose sound better than Bluetooth via iPad. Because sound is so important to me I usually plug iPad in to front usb and use Amazon music had. The one complaint is power. I had a receiver rated at 25w per channel and never went more the half volume, but with this often on Friday night I get it to 80 and the room is not that large and speaker are very officiant. Make me think it is over rated. That and lack of apple air play are really the only cons. Also I did have questions early on and I contacted Rotel they were very help full even calling me back after getting more info for me. At this price you can't go wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound