Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Rotel A14 MKII

Integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # ROT1015012

Rotel A14 MKII

Rotel A14 MKII

Integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # ROT1015012

11 reviews
View this product

Rotel A14 MKII

Guest from Redlands, CA on 5/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything on my A12 MKii is great. Another reviewer here is complaining about the DAC only playing up to 44khz. An iPhone and iPad only have the ability to process audio at a max bit rate of 16 bit/44 kHz. That's it, they cannot do more. To get rates of 32 bit/384 kHz, you have to use something else (my MacBook Pro works great). On the MacBook, I have to adjust the preferences on Apple Music AND Audio MIDI Setup. And then voila, you get the bit rates promised by the Rotel. If you know what you're doing, this is a remarkable amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Nirvana!

Willis from Georgetown, TX on 4/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Llipsch Heresy IV Speakers are incredible; depth of sound, amazing quality. The Rotel A 14 is similarly good at its job. Clean sound in all registers; controls that allow one to adjust to one's own preferences. It is an amazing partner for the wonderful Klipsch sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost scary good.

Kenneth from Kernersville, NC on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been looking for an integrated amp with modern features to upgrade over my 35-year-old refurbished amps, and that would pair well with my power-hungry Polk RTi-A9 towers. Tried Rega, tried Atoll, tried Emotiva, and finally went to Crutchfield for this Rotel model. Leaving all the audiophile-speak aside, this Rotel has the magic quality that sometimes fools me into thinking the performer is here in the room, even with these Polks not being the most revealing speakers ever made. And a second magic quality that, at fulfilling volume bringing out all the musical details, I can still carry on a conversation with another person in the room without yelling. The treble sparkles without being bright, and the midrange is so detailed with no hint of harshness. My cheap Sony 4K player connected by optical cable to the internal DAC sounds like a top-of-the-line CD/SACD player, and the built-in moving-magnet phono section is truly superb. The remote is a bit busy, but I appreciate that it has buttons for almost every function and doesn't force you to maddeningly scroll through all the options to select the one you want. The best thing of all is that I can stop looking now! The scratch-and-dent price was good, too. A big "Thank You!" to whoever sent this back (wish you had chosen the Silver model).

Pros: Clean, balanced sound. Very musical rendering, even of streaming sources. Tons of analog and digital inputs. Superb DAC and phono section. No power transformer hum.

Cons: LED indicators on front are bright even at lowest level. Runs warm so it needs good ventilation.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rotel A14 MKII

Richard from Devens, MA on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You pay a rather steep price but it's worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Great sounding amp and dac

Steven from Bowie, MD on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy this amp. I've mainly been listening to a CD player with optical outs going to the amp's onboard DAC. I'm really impressed by the sound of the DAC and amp together. There's a big soundstage, the music sounds open and clear. There's plenty of detail but it doesn't get in the way of the music (if that makes sense). Harmonies and vocals are great. A piano sounds like a piano and a sax like a sax (not like a piano behind a curtain). ( I also tried a CA Dacmagic 200m through the analog input to compare. While it sounded good and punchy, I enjoyed the onboard dac more.) The amp is paired with MA Silver 100s. I was worried that the Rotel might be too neutral for the Silvers, but it works pretty well and I haven't found it to be a fatiguing combination. If I had to make a couple of small criticisms, I'd say that it isn't as punchy or dynamic as some amps, but it has a nice smooth sound. Also, the bass could have just a little more impact and a little more detail, but maybe this would be true of all 80wpc amps (my other amp has 250wpc and a damping factor of 500 so not really a fair comparison). I really like this amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Rotel A14 MKII

Crutchfield customer from Mukwonago, WI on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set up a 2ch stereo in an exercise room in the basement. I'm streaming Tidal over my iphone & ipad. I chose the Rotel (matched to wall-mounted Dali Oberon 1s) because of its connections, including USB-A in front, USB-B in back, & built-in bluetooth. I tried multiple cables & adapters. In the end, the best options were iphone-8 (lightening) to front USB and ipad pro (USB C) to rear PC-USB. Note: there is a menu setting to change PC-USB port from USB audio class 1.0 to 2.0. I could not get the ipad pro to work with the front USB. A call to Crutchfield confirmed the front port is designed to work with iOS devices with a lightening port. As mentioned by another reviewer, audio resolution topped out at 44.1KHz from ios devices, even at the highest quality setting in Tidal. Substituting my macbook, I got 32B/96KHz PCM or 24B/48KHz MQA. There is not a dedicated subwoofer output, but there is a set of preouts & a second set of speaker connections. Finally, I connected a sonos player to aux 1. I have a line-in from my home theater to a second sonos. This allows streaming the basement TV through both the home theater and exercise room without running additional wires to the Dali's. Overall, I'm pleased with the amp. It took some trial and error with cables. But it sounds good and is powerful enough to fill the space without distortion. It also safely put itself into standby when I repositioned a speaker and a cable came loose, resulting in a short.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Wonderful sound!

Crutchfield customer from Stoughton, MA on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic integrated amp, Perfect for a medium sized room. Smooth,full, open, detailed, soundstage, Paired with the best bookshelves speakers ever...B&W PM-1....along with a Krell 350a cd player. It replaced a Yamaha S-2000. Couldn't be more pleased. Although, when I first connected it to my system I thought I made a mistake and considered sending it back. Then I decided to break it in for about 72 hours straight. Made all the difference in the world! And the PM-1 are power hungry. To those who diss break in time....couldn't disagree more.

Pros: Everything about it.

Cons: None at all.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Rotel A14 MKII

Crutchfield customer from Bedford Hills, NY on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in our living room, paired with Sonus Faber Cremona Auditor M speakers. Simple setup with no bells and whistles, as a stereo integrated amplifier should be. Solidly built, but not heavy for the sake of seeming expensive. I went with Rotel after a string of bad luck with NAD systems failing just out of the warranty period. I appreciate Rotel's 5-year warranty, which tells me the company is confident in their designs and component choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice looking. Poor DAC.

Patrick from Los Angeles, CA on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power on this is good and clear. Lots of inputs and options. The Phono Amp is very decent. BUT -- this amp gets a major downgrade because the internal DAC doesn't deliver anywhere near what it promises. I have tried connecting my iPhone and iPad with the USB-A on the front and the digital outputs on the back. I have tried using Apple Music and Tidal. I've made sure all settings on my phone and iPads are outputting at high res lossless. No matter what I try, I can't get a higher bitrate than 44.1KHZ. The instruction manual is evasive, Rotel support is not helpful, and Crutchfield support has tried, but they keep sending me cables that frankly don't work. No one seems to have any answers on this. For $1600, an integrated amp that hypes its new internal DAC better work. And it doesn't. Extremely frustrating.

Pros: Clean sound. No distortion. Solid build.

Cons: DAC does not work.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 15 found this helpful

Rotel A14 MKII

Michael from Portland, OR on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price. I'm using the internal DAC, along with a Raspberry Pi streamer and Roon on my back deck. A definite sound quality improvement from the Yamaha Receiver it replaced.

Pros: Nice built in DAC Plenty of power for most speakers easy to navigate setup menu

Cons: Advertised as Roon Tested, but USB DAC input does not handshake with Roon Ready streamer when Amp is in standby mode.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

An Excellent Integrated Amp

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great piece of equipment. Powerful, refined, deep, and clear. My setup it replaced is a B&O 100 watt power amp, and a B&O preamp-tuner. It's been a very good combination, but the Rotel is a definite & worthwhile improvement. The extra features with streaming, Bluetooth, and the high quality DAC are worth the extra cost. The Bluetooth works well, but the real difference is the DAC--I use a Blu-Ray player for movies, concert films and mostly CD's. With a very inexpensive optical cable (they either work or don't--both expensive and inexpensive, they all work the same!) the CD's entered a new dimension. Everything from rock, to funk, to classical--went from very good sounding to great. Streaming from my iPhone is also great, Apple Music dramatically improved the sound quality for everyone this June 2021, no extra cost. Don't know if it's quite as good as Tidal, but my guess is that Apple will keep improving until it's at the top. Use a USB cable, the increased sound quality bandwidth does not stream over Bluetooth.

Pros: Powerful Great Sound Great DAC Great Features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound