Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Over-ear headphones (Walnut/Gold)

MFR # M99C-WG

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Over-ear headphones (Walnut/Gold)

MFR # M99C-WG

16 reviews
View this product

First pair of decent 'phones

Michael from WILLIAMSBURG, KY on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should start out by saying that I am a speaker guy. That is, I believe that to be fully experienced, recorded music needs to be heard through speakers, and those speakers need to be big enough to move air. However, life doesn't always allow for that. These are the first decent pair of headphones I've owned and I must say they are fantastic! If you've been putting up with your standard cheap plastic headphones, you owe it to your self to get something like these. Soundstaging isn't as good as a decent pair of speakers (B&W 683s2 for me) but it is pretty darn good. Lots of detail as well. Another plus is that these 'phones are very comfortable. I've worn them for hours at a stretch and they feel great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

At Last the phones I have been looking for

Dan from Port Townsend, WA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immersive and involving sound. Light on the head. Nice wood. No "V" sound tuning. Quick to put on and take off since spring requires no adjustment. Only way you know these are inexpensive is the spring creaks slightly when putting them on. Fake leather is surprisingly cool and comfortable.

Pros: sound light weight beautiful wood and old-time radio style

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful, comfortable headphones that sound great!

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CO on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The selling points for these are the beautiful real wood ear cups and the extremely comfortable fit. These are solidly built and feel like they will last for years if not decades. If it's in your budget, you should definitely go for these over the plastic model even though its $100 extra. You won't regret it! The sound is excellent as well, and they're definitely the best-sounding headphones I've ever owned. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Beautiful wood ear cups, extremely comfortable

Cons: None that I've seen so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Vienna on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these to replace an old sennheiser that I use for listening at work. Sounded bass heavy at first but that was just the change from the previous phones I have used for years. Now I am enjoying the sound. The auto adjustable strap is comfortable and you get a good closed-in feel without being tight. However I am surprised none of the reviews mentioned that the "solid" build quality results in a headphone where touch or vibration of any part of the headphone transfers directly into the earcup. Just lightly brush the wires or the top frame and a metallic brushing sound will be heard mixed in with your audio. Just don't move when listening.

Pros: Comfortable and good sound.

Cons: Resonant body couples any touch of the wires or headphones into annoying sound in the earcups.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Elegant, thoughtful, and captivating. That applies to build AND sound.

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful headphones, that sound as good as they look. I love that they're modular (no adhesive, all screws and bolts) and they're built to last. They seem fairly rugged, and fit beautifully. The automatic headband adjustment is something I never thought I'd want (after years of click/slide-to-adjust cans), but it's soft as a feather and remarkably light. And the sound -- especially through my AudioQuest Dragonfly Cobalt -- is remarkable. They are far preferable to almost any active headphones I've had (save the PSB M4U2), and surprisingly spacious for closed-back headphones. There are times where I have to take off the headphones to make sure sound isn't coming straight out of my device! All in all, I'm a big fan. High quality materials, clear craftsmanship, durable build quality, and replaceable parts, on top of a spacious soundstage and brilliant audio. Consider me a Meze convert!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them they sound great

Pros: Comfortable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Meze Audio 99 Classic Headphone!! They're best to listen to all forms of entertainment!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well-built, pleasantly repairable, sweet-sounding. The only real shortcoming is that you can get the Meze 99 Noirs for $100 less!

Pros: build materials lush sound signature

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Doral, FL on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Headphones. Super.comfortable, great quality. Wood is spectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Listen and compare for yourself

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I generally do not post reviews, in the interest of not repeating what has already been said. Spent hours reading headphone reviews and finally ordered the Meze 99 Classic and Focal Elegia to evaluate as "two ends of the spectrum" within my desired price range. My preconceptions were of the Meze as "a bargain option" which would be underwhelming, while expecting to be blown away by the Elegia. I was was shocked to find the reality very much the opposite. I found the Elegia's character to be thin and harsh, with overstated mids and no response in the midbass region or lower. Even using Roon Eq, I was unable to achieve a pleasing character, regardless of the style of music. I also found the Elegia heavy and confining to wear. In contrast, right out of the box I found the Meze 99C to be incredibly rich sounding with a pleasing balance across the entire audible range. At the same time, they are light and airy to wear. I felt compelled to write this review because prior to owning the Meze 99C, I primarily saw them referred to as "fun", which while true is not a very insightful description for potential buyers. I would highly recommend comparing the Meze 99C against any closed-back headphone regardless of price.

Pros: Rich sound, comfortable, excellent quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Classic Are Recommended By Stereophile and Innerfidelity

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I get an e-mail from Crutchfield saying I could win a $350 rewards card if I review the Meze 99 Classics I purchased recently so here we are! The first thing I'd mention is these headphones have been reviewed by many industry pros and the overwhelming consensus is they're very good. They are a Stereophile recommended componemt and you can read Ken Micallef's review here: https://www.stereophile.com/content/meze-audio-99-classic-headphones. Innerfidelity includes the Meze 99's in their Wall of Fame for over ear sealed headphones and Tyll Hertzens' review is located here: https://www.innerfidelity.com/content/meze-99-classics-very-fun-very-tasty. My personal observations are this is an easy set of headphones to drive - an outboard DAC and/or headphone amp will almost certainly improve their sound, but they sounded very good right out of the box. To my ears, the Meze phones seem to get bass, midrange, treble and the balance between them right. I primarily listen to rock but I've also listened to some jazz and a few classical pieces and the Meze reproduced all these musical genres equally well. They are comfortable to wear but my ears feel warm after listening for a half hour or so - I think this is a characteristic of over ear sealed headphones in general. My only reservation in recommending them is they may not be the last word in resolution so if you are a listener who want to hear every last detail, there may be better choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great in the modern smartphone world...yet..

Crutchfield customer from Monsey, NY on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I genuinely like this headphones. They are light and although I didnt feel any great production value the sound is most assuredly far better than phones in the same price range. I returned them however due to an emphasized bass that although is a great additive for use with a smart phone, I found it to be to elevated in use with a controller or amplifier. And that is that.Phone? Great. Home theater? More than a bit biased.

Pros: Simple. Light. Nice sound.

Cons: Bass overkill.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound good. Look good. Reasonably priced.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding cans that pair well with a headphone amp. Primary use is in an open office environment and allows for good sound quality while still providing passive noise cancellation and not having to blast volume. Overall low and mid detail is good, and does decent with highs (still prefer Senn 598s highs but are open back). As for looks, these headphones look absolutely beautiful and good build quality is apparent.

Pros: Very pleasing aesthetics, good construction quality, comfortable to wear, tension headband works well, bass sounds natural and does not overpower, accessories - case/cables/adaptors

Cons: Details on highs not quite there, kevlar cable prevent tangles but does not sit straight or wrap well (might need to be broken in), ears get warm inside headphones (might be me only)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didnt realize what I was missing until I purchased these head phones. Sound is amazing, clear they way sound should be

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Stephen from Santa Rosa, CA on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So nice! I am looking forward enhancing the sound's already excellent quality with a HeadPhone Amplifier. As the review states, they are light and balanced with quality components. With some sounds there is no need for an Amplifier. The headphones come with a very nice case, and the cords and connection are of high quality. With the price, quality and finish a great value! Thanks Meze Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Hershey, PA on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound and extremely comfortable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP