Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Over-ear wired headphones (Walnut/Gold)

MFR # M99C-WG

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Over-ear wired headphones (Walnut/Gold)

MFR # M99C-WG

50 reviews
View this product

10/10 would recommend. ??????

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of Sennheiser HD660S's and I got these for my wife cause she loves the way they look. My father in law has the walnut 99 classics and he is an audio freak. He believes they are the best. I love my Sennheisers, but these do outperform them in certain ways. I do prefer the open back of the HD660S, but my wife and father in-law love the closed back 99 Classics which I would recommend to anyone. They are gorgeous, made of real wood and sturdy metal. They are put together without glue so they can be completely taken apart and cleaned/worked on at home if you need to. I can't find anything wrong with these bad boys.

Pros: Very lightweight on your head, super comfortable, and superior sound compared to most other products in this price range.

Cons: The only con I have is that the bass isn't quite as powerful as the HD660S that I have. That is a personal opinion. I believe others might disagree.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and one of the most comfortable pair of headphones I've ever used. Very happy with these and would not hesitate to recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like my purchase.

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 7/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with purchase. Wanted an affordable good quality headphone that would be comfortable with my 7 3/4 head. Have only used together with the Dragonfly Red DAC/Amp - but together they've remarkedly improved the sound from my computer. There are plenty of positive reviews on the Meze Audio 99 on the internet so no point in restating them. I have noticed that you must be careful for the headphones or metal band to touch anything - i.e. from tilting your head against the headrest. Very sensitive to any touch. Like having both length wired connectors - the short one is a perfect length for use with the computer. One reason I picked the Meze Audio 99 phones was the enclosed ears. This was so I could listen at higher volumes in my office without disturbing my wife . I have a good set of 5:1 speakers upstairs in the media room built around some old PSB Stratus Golds but they fill the house with sound at higher volume levels and the sub-woofer shakes the walls. I had a pair of Sennheiser headphones that I paid several hundred dollars for some 3+ decades ago - but they've disappeared somewhere to one of the grandkids. I set out to replace them, but not at the same quality level. So these are 5 star quality for my intended purpose. There are obviously higher quality headphones for higher prices. I find these to be the right mix of performance and price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

True Classic

Crutchfield customer from Fort Payne, AL on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great build quality and sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love these headphones

Michael from Tacoma, WA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned these for more than a year and love them: solidly constructed, distinctive look, comfortable, really good sound via Tidal thru iPhone 12 thru DragonFly Cobalt. The cables and carrying case are also high quality. Carrying case fits into small backpack nicely if you're thinking about taking them on trips.

Pros: There is no Right or Left ear cup. Instead, the cables snap have detachable R & L jacks that snap in securely. Solid construction, distinctive look, comfortable, excellent sound.

Cons: None discovered yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I use the Meze 99 for many needs!

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Meze 99 Classics have been very comfortable on my ears, even after many hours. And the sound quality is superb. I can hear sounds in tracks that I hadn't previously heard. And when watching films, I also hear some of the sounds I wouldn't normally hear. I found myself taking my headphones off wondering if someone was talking near me or approaching me at home when those actions were happening in the movie. Lastly, I also use them for phone calls and Zoom calls. The sounds and microphone both work well during a call. The only drawback is that the sound is amplified when the headphone graze anything, but that happens with other closed-back headphones.

Pros: Sound quality Sound detail Microphone works great Comfort for hours

Cons: Could hear anything the headphones touch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound and Style

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 5/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first set of decent headphones after purchasing a used Burson headphone amplifier. The packaging, case, cords, fit and finish were impressive right away leaving a pleasing first impression. I've listened primarily to LP's and CD's over perhaps 50 hours thus far. These headphones are very comfortable and they appear well built in terms of repeatable flexibility taking them on and off. The sound appears pretty neutral towards a bell shape perhaps with tight bass and a nice roll off in the higher notes producing non fatiguing listening sessions. The mid bass is exceptional and closer to a sound I particularly enjoy in vintage gear from Sansui, Advent, KLH and AR. Lastly, the efficiency rating on these seems legitimate as I am able to use these headphones on an older iPod and my phone with great results. I did quite a bit of research before purchasing these and I am really pleased with my decision.

Pros: Packaging, case, cords, fit, finish, personal sound impressions

Cons: None thus far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Wheeling, IL on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones are very accurate. They sound great no matter what source I play them from. I use them outside with an iPhone/Audioquest Dragonfly Red. In the house they sound great using the headphone jack on a Rotel integrated amp and through a Matrix Audio Mini-I Pro 3. I was shocked by how good the headphone output on the Rotel amplifier sounds with the Meze Audio 99 Classics

Pros: Look good, comfortable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good timbre, tonality, emphasized but not intolerable low end. Excellent midrange, very good soundstage and imaging. Good value considering build quality and comfort.

Pros: Price, comfort,

Cons: Highs not the most detailed, bass is good but could be restrained a bit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great entry audiophile headphone

Crutchfield customer from Lucas, TX on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a headphone based setup that provided above average sound quality at an affordable price. After reading the reviews I decided to go with the 99 Classics. I was initially sold on how they are assembled (screwed vs. glued) making servicing them an option if needed. Many said they were heavy in the bass end and I do like lots of bass, so this was not an issue for me. I paired the 99 Classics with an iFi Zen Signature Dac / Amp combo streaming Tidal & Hysolid from a laptop. ($850 all in). The 99 Classics are so easy to drive the amp barely needs any volume to get them to play loud enough, but seem to benefit from the amp having fuller sound than just simple headphone sources (phone or laptop). With only 20+ hours on them they exceeded my expectations and very happy listening to them all day while working and during focused listening sessions when I get the opportunity. I have not experienced any comfort issues and barely notice they are there. I am very happy with my purchase and can see the 99 Classics staying as part of my gear even if I upgrade down the road. Since the 99 Classics are so easy to dive I might try with an iFi Hip Dac as a quality travel solution when work travel starts up again.

Pros: Sound quality, serviceability, price

Cons: Cable upgrade options limited

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

not as expected

James from Connecticut on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't believe that the headphones I received are actually made of wood. They sound good, but the casques feel plasticy/rubbery, not like wood at all. The "wood" finish scratches easily revealing a light gray surface underneath. Solid wanut would not do this. I have contacted Meze and will contact Crutchfield support as well to try to return them. I'm very disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/7/2021
James has set up a return. We appreciate all feedback and offer 60-day returns to ensure everyone is happy with their gear. But we have confirmed with Meze that the earcups are indeed solid walnut. And the 99 Classics are among our best reviewed headphones - they earn high marks for their build quality.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Headphone

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Point, OR on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking for a reasonably priced headphone. No bluetooth, wireless or ANC. I wanted a set for music listening only. The Meze 99 fits that need very well. It has solid low end, but nice clarity throughout. I am very happy with the price of the Meze and the quality, looks and sounds.

Pros: Great sound, comfort, good price for what you get.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Pawling, NY on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Meze 99 Classics

Terry from Waynesboro, MS on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These cans are awesome probably the best I've heard at this price point no matter the type music they just sound great. Oh did I mention they look awesome too?

Pros: Sound Quality Comfort Design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Jeff from Benton Harbor on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Meze 99 classics maple/silver version and the Sennheiser hd650 at the same time for a head to head comparison. As some of you may know, the hd650 is considered one of the standards in the middle priced headphone choices. I listened to a variety of genres on vinyl only on the same headphone amp for about two months. And the clear winner were the Mezes for many reasons. It has a better bass which is expected of a closed back model but not overbearing as some reviewers have said. The midrange is more balanced and not in your face like the hd650. The Soundstage is 3D where the hd650 is 2D. And to my ears the Mezes extracted more detail and were easier to drive. Don't get me wrong, the hd650s are a fine headphone and if I'd ordered only them I would have probably been content and stopped right there. Sure glad I didn't cause in the under $500 price range there was obviously a better choice for me.

Pros: Great detail and just the right amount of bass. Also, lightweight and comfy.

Cons: For some they can be noisy when adjusting them on your head but for me that is not a problem. Can have cold feel when you first put them on because of the material.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace a 12 year-old pair of Grado SR125s. These are certainly a big change, which I kind of wanted after being very used to the Grados. I'll start by saying that stock I would give these three stars. With the stock earpads the bass was too much for me, and as other people have said sort of blends into the mids so that things can feel a little claustrophobic. I probably would not have kept them with the stock earpads. After replacing the earpads with the Brainwavz Hybrid Oval earpads the low end became much more tamed and wasn't bleeding into the midrange while still being prominent and enjoyable. After this upgrade the headphones are a joy to listen to. The imaging on them is really good and the ability to hear details like reverb tails is great. As many people have said, the headphones are very comfortable. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase but would highly recommend replacing the initial earpads and would recommend the Brainwavz.

Pros: Comfort Bass Good sound stage/image

Cons: Stock earpads High end a little lacking

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very comfortable, and wooden ear cups are fun. Sound, however, is slightly bassy. More bass forward than warm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice headphones

Lyle from Roseville, CA on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice fitting and sounding headphones. Played rock, jazz and piano on them. All sounds great. They also have a wonderful quality feel

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks and sounds great!

Francis from BELLEVUE, WA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For work (from home) and travel, I normally use a pair of Bose NC700 - where the noise cancellation is great for conference calls, in airports and on planes. But when it comes to audio quality, the Meze Audio classics have more depth of a soundstage, better imaging. The sound stage isn't as "clear" as with speakers in a room but for headphones, these are quite good. Connected to my Dell Inspiron 13 7000 laptop, the bass seemed over-emphasized - then I realized I had Windows' Sonic for Headphones turned on. With it off and with no other enhancements, the sound quality was much more balanced - though still bass forward. It's highly likely that I was hearing sounds down to 30 hz (eg. bass on Hotel California (Acoustic Version) - Stairway to Heaven) which I may be typically cut off at the knees with my regular speakers. Very easy to tell the difference between lossy and lossless audio streams - you'd likely not want to be listening to regular old Spotify or the compressed audio streams with these. They are extremely comfortable - and my head a wider than average. Impressive and a new experience. Now I need to upgrade my speakers :) Would I consider upgrading? Higher end/priced headphones have more detail. But for this price point, these are great and love the looks!

Pros: good dimensionality to the soundstage

Cons: missing some detail of higher end/priced headphones

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfecto!

scott from GOSHEN, CT on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully crafted, excellent sound. I chose these headphones to replace a $50 set I've had for several years... frankly that $50 set was pretty impressive given the low cost but I had some points to redeem here on Crutchfield from purchasing my preamp, amp and speakers, so I decided to treat myself to a new set of headphones. Sound quality is superb, especially the low end. Overall a very natural sound, conspicuously without the somewhat harsh treble response I'd always noticed in my less expensive headphones. Very comfortable fit, and the walnut shells are gorgeous. Hard to see how anyone could be disappointed with this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super comfortable, great quality and even better sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Middleburg, FL on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound really good. Worth the price to me.

Pros: Comfortable, high quality, sound really good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones

Larry from BALLWIN, MO on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Meze Classics are excellent value for cost. As always, the advisors at Crutchfield were patient and helpful with recommendations. Again worked out great. The value of trusted advisors who are not hard selling is appreciated.

Pros: Weight, sound quality, comfort.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This Karen really likes them.

Karen from Chicago, IL on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for headphones that are as good as an old set I had for many years. I bought a bluetooth set (around 90.00) and was not very fond of them, so I ran across the Meze Audio 99 Classics and loved the design and read through the feedback and ordered a set, it was here in the two days. I really like the sound, other commentators are right, I do pick up things in songs I never noticed before. I am glad I decided on them.

Pros: Deep rich sounds, comfortable, Clear audio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very glad I got them !

Pros: Good fix for me

Cons: Mic new to me so trying to figure out how to work it .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very clear sound excellent servise from advisors hunter & hogan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass, super comfortable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These beautiful headphones are light weight, almost noise canceling without the quality loss. The bass hits hard and the treble is high and crisp. Easy to drive great headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Headphones I own

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, NY on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are so comfortable , I forget sometimes I have them on. I listen through the dragonfly attached to my laptop and I just can't get enough. Finally something that touts quality really delivers. They also recommend music and every one is great and the musical quality is top notch

Pros: Sound is great, want to wear all day

Cons: I tend to crank them up for too long.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones for TUNEAGE!!!!

marc from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These bad boys look fantastic. They are extremely comfortable. They do seem a little heavier on bass than I was hoping. Sound was clear. Very nice headphones.

Pros: Look Great. Very Comfortable. Sound fantastic.

Cons: A wee bit bassy. 9Ft headphone cord is too short.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, AL on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're very comfortable and sound good (as far as my ears, which are not as keen as they used to be, can tell).

Pros: Comfort, high quality, useful accessories, like adapter to switch between big and small jacks and even one for airplane use.

Cons: It's a bit of a hassle winding up the cords and using a velcro fastener to stow them in the little bag.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Buon Suono!

Crutchfield customer from Braddock, PA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are just what I wanted. No added thumping bass. Just clarity and articulation. Super comfortable. Could be tiniest bit tighter on my noggin. Very pleased ! Recommend !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of headphones; really shines on songs with high energy & tons of beat. Love the gold accents and the wood cups are additional icing on the cake.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Near Perfection!

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a wonderful set of headphones! I can hear things that I have never heard before in my records and on streaming services. They are also incredibly comfortable and they go along perfectly with our midcentury modern listening room aesthetic.

Pros: Comes with great cables and multiple adapters.

Cons: Make me want a better headphone amp!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First pair of decent 'phones

Michael from WILLIAMSBURG, KY on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should start out by saying that I am a speaker guy. That is, I believe that to be fully experienced, recorded music needs to be heard through speakers, and those speakers need to be big enough to move air. However, life doesn't always allow for that. These are the first decent pair of headphones I've owned and I must say they are fantastic! If you've been putting up with your standard cheap plastic headphones, you owe it to your self to get something like these. Soundstaging isn't as good as a decent pair of speakers (B&W 683s2 for me) but it is pretty darn good. Lots of detail as well. Another plus is that these 'phones are very comfortable. I've worn them for hours at a stretch and they feel great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

At Last the phones I have been looking for

Dan from Port Townsend, WA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immersive and involving sound. Light on the head. Nice wood. No "V" sound tuning. Quick to put on and take off since spring requires no adjustment. Only way you know these are inexpensive is the spring creaks slightly when putting them on. Fake leather is surprisingly cool and comfortable.

Pros: sound light weight beautiful wood and old-time radio style

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful, comfortable headphones that sound great!

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CO on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The selling points for these are the beautiful real wood ear cups and the extremely comfortable fit. These are solidly built and feel like they will last for years if not decades. If it's in your budget, you should definitely go for these over the plastic model even though its $100 extra. You won't regret it! The sound is excellent as well, and they're definitely the best-sounding headphones I've ever owned. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Beautiful wood ear cups, extremely comfortable

Cons: None that I've seen so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Vienna on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these to replace an old sennheiser that I use for listening at work. Sounded bass heavy at first but that was just the change from the previous phones I have used for years. Now I am enjoying the sound. The auto adjustable strap is comfortable and you get a good closed-in feel without being tight. However I am surprised none of the reviews mentioned that the "solid" build quality results in a headphone where touch or vibration of any part of the headphone transfers directly into the earcup. Just lightly brush the wires or the top frame and a metallic brushing sound will be heard mixed in with your audio. Just don't move when listening.

Pros: Comfortable and good sound.

Cons: Resonant body couples any touch of the wires or headphones into annoying sound in the earcups.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Elegant, thoughtful, and captivating. That applies to build AND sound.

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful headphones, that sound as good as they look. I love that they're modular (no adhesive, all screws and bolts) and they're built to last. They seem fairly rugged, and fit beautifully. The automatic headband adjustment is something I never thought I'd want (after years of click/slide-to-adjust cans), but it's soft as a feather and remarkably light. And the sound -- especially through my AudioQuest Dragonfly Cobalt -- is remarkable. They are far preferable to almost any active headphones I've had (save the PSB M4U2), and surprisingly spacious for closed-back headphones. There are times where I have to take off the headphones to make sure sound isn't coming straight out of my device! All in all, I'm a big fan. High quality materials, clear craftsmanship, durable build quality, and replaceable parts, on top of a spacious soundstage and brilliant audio. Consider me a Meze convert!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them they sound great

Pros: Comfortable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Meze Audio 99 Classic Headphone!! They're best to listen to all forms of entertainment!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well-built, pleasantly repairable, sweet-sounding. The only real shortcoming is that you can get the Meze 99 Noirs for $100 less!

Pros: build materials lush sound signature

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Doral, FL on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Headphones. Super.comfortable, great quality. Wood is spectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Listen and compare for yourself

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I generally do not post reviews, in the interest of not repeating what has already been said. Spent hours reading headphone reviews and finally ordered the Meze 99 Classic and Focal Elegia to evaluate as "two ends of the spectrum" within my desired price range. My preconceptions were of the Meze as "a bargain option" which would be underwhelming, while expecting to be blown away by the Elegia. I was was shocked to find the reality very much the opposite. I found the Elegia's character to be thin and harsh, with overstated mids and no response in the midbass region or lower. Even using Roon Eq, I was unable to achieve a pleasing character, regardless of the style of music. I also found the Elegia heavy and confining to wear. In contrast, right out of the box I found the Meze 99C to be incredibly rich sounding with a pleasing balance across the entire audible range. At the same time, they are light and airy to wear. I felt compelled to write this review because prior to owning the Meze 99C, I primarily saw them referred to as "fun", which while true is not a very insightful description for potential buyers. I would highly recommend comparing the Meze 99C against any closed-back headphone regardless of price.

Pros: Rich sound, comfortable, excellent quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Meze Classic Are Recommended By Stereophile and Innerfidelity

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I get an e-mail from Crutchfield saying I could win a $350 rewards card if I review the Meze 99 Classics I purchased recently so here we are! The first thing I'd mention is these headphones have been reviewed by many industry pros and the overwhelming consensus is they're very good. They are a Stereophile recommended componemt and you can read Ken Micallef's review here: https://www.stereophile.com/content/meze-audio-99-classic-headphones. Innerfidelity includes the Meze 99's in their Wall of Fame for over ear sealed headphones and Tyll Hertzens' review is located here: https://www.innerfidelity.com/content/meze-99-classics-very-fun-very-tasty. My personal observations are this is an easy set of headphones to drive - an outboard DAC and/or headphone amp will almost certainly improve their sound, but they sounded very good right out of the box. To my ears, the Meze phones seem to get bass, midrange, treble and the balance between them right. I primarily listen to rock but I've also listened to some jazz and a few classical pieces and the Meze reproduced all these musical genres equally well. They are comfortable to wear but my ears feel warm after listening for a half hour or so - I think this is a characteristic of over ear sealed headphones in general. My only reservation in recommending them is they may not be the last word in resolution so if you are a listener who want to hear every last detail, there may be better choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great in the modern smartphone world...yet..

Crutchfield customer from Monsey, NY on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I genuinely like this headphones. They are light and although I didnt feel any great production value the sound is most assuredly far better than phones in the same price range. I returned them however due to an emphasized bass that although is a great additive for use with a smart phone, I found it to be to elevated in use with a controller or amplifier. And that is that.Phone? Great. Home theater? More than a bit biased.

Pros: Simple. Light. Nice sound.

Cons: Bass overkill.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound good. Look good. Reasonably priced.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding cans that pair well with a headphone amp. Primary use is in an open office environment and allows for good sound quality while still providing passive noise cancellation and not having to blast volume. Overall low and mid detail is good, and does decent with highs (still prefer Senn 598s highs but are open back). As for looks, these headphones look absolutely beautiful and good build quality is apparent.

Pros: Very pleasing aesthetics, good construction quality, comfortable to wear, tension headband works well, bass sounds natural and does not overpower, accessories - case/cables/adaptors

Cons: Details on highs not quite there, kevlar cable prevent tangles but does not sit straight or wrap well (might need to be broken in), ears get warm inside headphones (might be me only)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didnt realize what I was missing until I purchased these head phones. Sound is amazing, clear they way sound should be

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Stephen from Santa Rosa, CA on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So nice! I am looking forward enhancing the sound's already excellent quality with a HeadPhone Amplifier. As the review states, they are light and balanced with quality components. With some sounds there is no need for an Amplifier. The headphones come with a very nice case, and the cords and connection are of high quality. With the price, quality and finish a great value! Thanks Meze Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Meze Audio 99 Classics

Crutchfield customer from Hershey, PA on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound and extremely comfortable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP