Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
422 120 052 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
422 120 052 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine CDE-170

CD receiver

MFR # CDE-170

Alpine CDE-170

Alpine CDE-170

CD receiver

MFR # CDE-170

45 reviews
View this product

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Shasta Lake, CA on 6/10/2020

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and sounds great; rejuvenated the factory speakers. Thought I might need new speakers and an amp, but I don't think so. Pretty easy install; probably took me 2 hours total. The only issue was the faceplate adapter had no means of attaching it to the unit, so it was able to slide in and out a bit. I had to Mickey Mouse that by bending out some of the triangular-shaped cutouts on the Alpine to sort of secure it.

Pros: Sounds GREAT to my non-audiophile ears.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Angel from E PALO ALTO, CA on 5/23/2020

2004 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok to play cds and radio and charge your phone pretty much wont let you play iPod or music from your phone over the usb only the aux cable

Pros: Get something else not worth it

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Good sounding unit.

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 5/15/2020

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice CD/player. Seems to have usual 'recent'Alpine quality. I've bought Alpine past 30 yrs (along with other brands Pioneer, Kenwood, etc.). Unit sounds great (running with power pack KTP-445A). Crutchfield Service is excellent as usual. FAST shipment...ordered Friday and received Sunday??. Who does that?. Gave 4 stars bc I prefer blue display over red and it's too bright at night.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Display too bright.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Carmel Valley, CA on 5/12/2020

1993 GMC K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good basic set. Sounds crisp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Mc Alisterville, PA on 5/4/2020

2001 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it but for what ever reason it shuts off the amp outputs when I adjust the audio side of the head unit. Still the adjustability on the ouputs and other features make up for it.

Pros: Adjustability, user friendly, classic alpine quality, and two sets of outputs.

Cons: Have to use an aux cord when streaming music from apps on my android. Some reason the USB will only play music that is downloaded on the phone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 3/29/2020

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We enjoyed the features of the CD player and the quality of it too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, CA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding radio had in a long time , great service too & overall satisfaction

Pros: I like the features easy to set the clock even click display clock is there even in aux mode

Cons: sadly when comes to a incoming call lacks the feature for that option but don't regret buy the radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Alpine Head Unit!

WAYNE from PLAUCHEVILLE on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had Alpine components in my vehicles for over 30 years. I just recently bought the CDE-170 head unit to replace the 13 year old CDE-9870 head unit in my 07 F150. Let me tell you, it might not be the most expensive Alpine head unit Alpine makes, but it has the sound and features of a very expensive head unit! I was blown away with sound that this unit makes. Alpines quality never ceases to amaze me! The Alpine CDE-170 has so many features and quality sound in it the price should be double of what it is! Great quality Alpine! And, such a great price for an AWESOME head unit CRUTCHFIELD!

Pros: Great sound A lot of features Should be priced higher because of its quality

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Corsicana, TX on 2/18/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with the directions, and the plug from Crutchfield

Pros: Sounds Great

Cons: Doesn't play my Samsung note 10+5G through the USB

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from W Baden Sprgs, IN on 1/21/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo. Has excellent reception. Wish it came with a remote. Purchased a remote online for around $13 so still overall a good bargain. Sounds can be selected and adjusted to fit the area/speakers. I am currently using with factory speakers. Plan to replace the front speakers. I mainly use the tuner and USB port. Have purchased this same stereo about 2 years ago and used in Jeep Wrangler. Has plenty of power to be heard without amp and the Jeep top down. Crutchfield makes it easy to install by providing the mating connectors, dash mounting kit and antenna adapter. I buy and sell several cars, whenever I need to replace a stereo I always choose Crutchfield...

Pros: Great sound without an external amp. Improvement over the factory radio.

Cons: No remote included.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Mason City, IA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

like it but buttons to small

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pleasantly surprised with ease of installation

Crutchfield customer from Excelsior MN on 11/9/2019

2002 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to say I was amazed at how easy this was to put in. The pre-wired converter plug was worth $25 all day long. The installation kit fit right on, and with a little filing out like the instructions indicated, the new stereo fit right in, just like it was from the factory. I have a whole new outlook on this type of job now, as I have not put a car stereo in for 25+ years. Standardization on the size is probably the key. But anyway, the stereo sounds great and the price was at least $100 less than I expected to pay.

Pros: Very affordable Anyone could install this, provided they buy the converter plug Picks up more stations than the factory stereo Sounds fantastic

Cons: WHY DIDN'T I DO THIS SOONER??!!??

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Monterey, CA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service and products

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Denison, IA on 9/22/2019

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great but sounds awsome!easy to install

Pros: Great value sounds awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 9/6/2019

1997 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's an allright unit. Not the same quality as alpine of the past i guess. Works good, but the lack of features and adjustment is sub par. In todays world this thing feels super outdated. I guess for the price i sort of expected it.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Lack of features, cheap feel, not like the alpine i remember.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cadillac replacement radio

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great radio however did not fit tight in space since it was longer and hit vent inside dash

Pros: has names of songs on radio plate and plate it removable

Cons: wires not previously done and doesn't fit tight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Hartwell, GA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love alpine products

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Bessemer, AL on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine CDE-170 i got is great! Couldn't be happier with this radio ! Plus the plug in harness made putting it in a breeze .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Gordo, AL on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. Easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Harsh, fatiguing sound

William from Stover, MO on 4/4/2019

2002 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this HU in my 2002 Honda Accord LX Sedan that comes with the 6 speaker system (separate tweeters in front, woofers in front doors, and 6x9s in the rear). I ordered the ready harness to make installation much easier. I had high hopes for this unit, and expected the sound to be leaps and bounds above my stock Honda HU. After trying some well known hi fidelity music cds such as Pink Floyd's The Wall, and some of other stuff by Phil Collins, ELO, and Peter Frampton. After fiddling with the 3 band parametric EQ for about 45 minutes and driving around, I got a pretty good idea of the sound. I compared it a few times with the old stock head unit which I plugged back in. I was pleasantly surprised that the stock unit actually sounded better and smoother overall! The EQ options, looks, and stereo width of the Alpine were clearly superior, but no matter how hard I tried, I could not EQ out this particularly harsh, noisy, fatiguing quality in the treble. I customized the EQ several times, fiddling with the center frequency, Q, and gain of the bass, mid, and treble... all to no avail. I am very disappointed with this Alpine head unit and its hot, noisy sound that makes music hard to listen to for very long on my stock speakers. Unfortunately, I must return this. I was expecting it to be like a Clarion I also previously had in 96 Accord (Cz101 to be exact, which I very much enjoyed.). This could not reach that level for me.

Pros: Looks great! Great FM reception! 3 band parametric EQ Impressive stereo width and clarity!

Cons: Faceplate felt a tad bit flimsy Harsh, fatiguing treble Inefficient and slightly unintuitive settings

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Alderson, WV on 3/31/2019

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buttons are a bit non-intuitive, but that seems to be the norm these days -- don't fiddle with it while you're driving. Pretty basic unit, as expected. No complaints. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine receiver

John from Hanford, CA on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver alpine is a has a great quality.

Pros: I love this receiver because it has a u s b port and a detachable face.

Cons: No bad quality that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Alvin L from Evansville, IL on 2/24/2019

2002 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get no sound out of my factory nose system with this reciever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Jason, reached out to Alvin to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from East Taunton, MA on 1/16/2019

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with performance and ease of operation of unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 12/30/2018

1998 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price on this Alpine looks and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent upgrade to crappy Infinity head unit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 12/15/2018

2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade from Infinity system head unit. Much more clarity and bass. This unit provided the simple interface my wife needed. She didn't need all the blue tooth etc just the CD. The ready harness was great and made this easy install. Only had to make a quick call to tech support due to the reverse rca jack to get the rear speakers to work. Probably due to the factory amp. Crutchfield provided great support. Bravo! I am buying from them again.

Pros: Good reception,clarity and improved bass. Detachable face and easy to use

Cons: Like other reviews the source button is too bright at night.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great upgrade over stock, should have done this sooner

ernie from Catlettsburg, KY on 12/12/2018

2000 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service from start to finish, easy to install , and with the supplied kit installation was a breeze. Shipping was fast. Will definately do business again.

Pros: shipping, great sound,easy installation. 100% satisfied

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Sullivan, MO on 12/7/2018

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

John from Lewistown, OH on 12/3/2018

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an easy install for my 08 Subaru Impreza. The only bad thing about it is. Bad radio reception. At least I'm able to play my MP3's again. The harness that was provided was a cinch to attach and plugin.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love My radio

Marcie from Knoxville, TN on 11/25/2018

2002 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my radio. Easy to install and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds good!!!

Tom from Los Angeles, CA on 10/30/2018

1987 BMW 535I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just had this receiver installed in my restored '87 BMW 535i and it sounds great!! Highly recommend and a great sounding receiver for the price.

Pros: Good mid-range and more watts per channel than my previous Alpine.

Cons: Don't seem to get as much output from the kick panel speakers, but they may be a separate issue? Don't know yet. Trying to figure it out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Alpine quality! But......

Thomas from Palm Beach, FL on 10/10/2018

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is really nice! Great Alpine quality! The only complaint I have is; I am unable to update the firmware on this head unit. I tried two different, freshly (FAT 32) formatted flash drives and I keep getting the same "update error" message. I've been in contact with Alpine; but to no avail. I miss the good 'ole analog audio days. Software driven electronics will give plenty of headaches.

Pros: Audio quality Appearance

Cons: Unable to update firmware

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT DECK & SOUND

james L from Antioch, IL on 10/8/2018

1997 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

YOUR SERVICE WAS GREAT & THE ALPINE WAS MORE THEN I EXPECTED FOR THE PRICE. TOTAL INSTALL TIME 35 MINS. THANK YOU, JIM CURRY

Pros: EASY INSTALL. GREAT SOND.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170 Review

Mark from Clermont, FL on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine CDE-170 sounds good. The AM radio reception is tremendous. Install was not as planned as I bought a ReadyHarness which wasn't ready for anything but splicing into my existing set of plugs that came with the previous Crutchfield Sony unit that I was replacing. Not a huge problem, just a huge disappointment.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Crutchfield ReadyHarnessT Service? Not even close. Lucky my last install was a Crutchfield Sony that had connectors which matched my truck which I spliced in to what came with the Alpine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 9/27/2018

1995 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it sounds awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For vintage Volvos, there's no other complete source!

Mark from Oak Ridge, TN on 8/6/2018

1991 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 50+ years of Volvo and Saab ownership, car stereo installation, and technical work, it never ceases to amaze me how complete the Crutchfield kits are. The 2 wiring harnesses with plugs for a 1991 Volvo 940 fit perfectly, and only required splicing a dozen or so wires to bypass the existing amplifier which wasn't working anyway! The speakers were miraculously fine, and didn't need replacement. This Volvo has 6 speakers, and the sound (for this car) was more than satisfying. For a daily driver, this car's owners were more than pleased with the sound!

Pros: complete wiring plugs and harnesses, great sound, easy installation of the face in the dash.

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Bruce from Olympia, WA on 7/18/2018

2005 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The deck and wiring harness arrived in the time promised. It only took two calls to tech support to figure out to install and it all worked well. My only disappointment is that the deck will not play an Ipod. I can copy music from Itunes to a USB drive but the only way to play from the Ipod is to us the auxiliary port and that does do show the song title or artist.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from New River, AZ on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and service

Alex from Parker, CO on 7/5/2018

2004 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Purchased the pre-wired connectors. Worth every penny.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sounding, relatively basic

Thomas from King George, VA on 7/4/2018

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a good deal for the price. I've only had it installed for a few hours, but here is my initial impression. The sound is good: I have stock speakers and I think it sounds a little better than the stock unit. Installation and setup is easy. The controls are easy to understand and menus easy to navigate. There are two things I'm not a fan of: the volume knob is a little "mushy", and by that I mean the action between clicks are not notchy. Not a huge deal, and it doesn't affect functionality. The second thing is that I don't believe this unit has auto-dimming. The wire is present and I hooked it up, but the unit only has three options: on, off, and clock when it comes to the dimmer.

Pros: Price, sound, menu/setup

Cons: Auto dimmer, volume knob

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bang for the Buck !

Tyler from Gordonsville, VA on 6/23/2018

1995 BMW 525I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit ! I've installed this in multiple cars and for the price it's the BEST product in its class bar none. And for a Alpine and Alpine quality for me it's no other choice.

Pros: Cost - quality - alpine reliability

Cons: For this price there are None....

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Cut Above

Marty from Kensington, MD on 6/18/2018

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Sound is as good as some high priced Alpine radios I have owned in the past. The controls for this radio are actually approaching intuitive. This is a much appreciated improvement over a couple of my previous Alpines. I installed the radio in my Miata with an eye towards cutting down on unnecessary clutter as the space is quite limited. With four 8 gig usb thumb drives one can load in excess of 100 cds.

Pros: Price, sound quality, USB, 24 bit FLAC file playback, sufficient power.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Display, 24 bit playback with usb

Nathan from Apple Valley, CA on 6/8/2018

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this is a good head unit for our needs. I didn't want bluetooth, for security reasons and this was one of the few units that had that omitted from its feature set. The 24bit converters seem intriguing although i think being able to listen to straight .wav files would be better than having to convert to FLAC- So I have yet to hear my mixes in 24 bit as i produce music for a living and prefer a higher bit rate for resolution. Oh yeah the steering control does not work yet either-possibly the harness. The Crutchfield directions are very good though and hook up was a breeze even though i am not using as intended due to the 2004 BMW 325i onboard amp and funky ohm ratings on an array of speakers...so I will be getting speakers and doing a further install-wasn't quite plug and play as the website advertised this. But, all-in-all that has more to do with the platform(BMW) than the head unit and I believe this is a good one . BTW, my head unit was missing when i bought my car and the Alpine will do fine with a better speaker complement i'm sure. Just make sure you're car is easier to install than mine YMMV. Thanks Crutchfield for your service!

Pros: Usb, cd and steering wheel control. No Bluetooth (for me a +)

Cons: No ohm rating on website had to go to manufacturer site and still no straight answers. No remote, although higher $ units have that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, CT on 6/7/2018

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't like Navi systems because after a few years they are out dated. Phones are way more powerful with calls, GPS, etc..let them do what they are good at. This is simple...I can plug the aux in my phone and everything is perfect. All I need, powerful and simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-170

Jim from Sun Lakes, AZ on 4/29/2018

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what a great radio for the price sounds is great and radio is easy to operate. And with crutchfields help installing was a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP