Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
788 598 841 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
788 598 841 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine CDE-172BT

CD receiver

MFR # CDE-172BT

Alpine CDE-172BT

Alpine CDE-172BT

CD receiver

MFR # CDE-172BT

196 reviews
View this product

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Lakebay, WA on 2/16/2020

2004 Dodge Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the way it sounds through my Polk speakers, but I hate the control panel. Can't see the display because of glare, impossible to use tuner while driving and most of the controls are too small. I haven't even tried the CD player or bluetooth stuff. Also the blue and green display lights are annoying.

Pros: good sound

Cons: crappy control panel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/10/2020

2004 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and tons of adjustments

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 2/9/2020

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

have not had time to install yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Weare, NH on 2/3/2020

1993 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit and performs great

Pros: everything to install and easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Hewitt, TX on 1/26/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my application in my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. Fit like a glove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jeep Wrangler stereo

Crutchfield customer from West Creek, NJ on 1/26/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install now I want to upgrade my speakers! Reason for upgrade was factory radio was cutting out every 3 seconds too much $$ to fix or replace

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Still an Alpine fan.

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Grove, UT on 1/22/2020

1999 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to program and adjusting the lights to match the dash, pretty close, is a great plus. Blue tooth is easy to set up and mic works great on calls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Extremely nice CD Receiver--Love Alpine clarity and flexibility

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 12/31/2019

2005 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This along with four Polk DB+572 speakers were a clear improvement over a factory deck in my daughter's 2005 Taurus. A big plus is that it accepts CDs, BT, Aux, and USB (WMA's, MP3s, etc) to make it extremely versatile and phone calls could not be any clearer. She's thrilled. Thank you Alpine and please don't quit making these or similar decks!!! I've bought Alpine and hi-end Kenwood decks for the last 30 years for multiple cars and I constantly compare them...along with Pioneer and JVC. If I ever hear anything clearer and more natural than Alpine, I will buy it...but so far I haven't run across it. The hi-end Kenwoods I have bought were decent but I only got those because the Alpine's I wanted were unavailable or priced too high at the time.

Pros: Still plays CDS!!!!! Plus BT, Aux, and USB Input. Plays WMAs and MP3s. Both keys and display has separate colored lighting. Clear sound, very nice appearance. IMO bang for the buck is great for this unit.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, KY on 12/28/2019

1993 Nissan 240SX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was a breeze, no issues so far. Nice sound with stock speakers that will likely be replaced in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great easy upgrade for 1998 F-150.

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 12/25/2019

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have given this little radio 5 stars except the date cannot be displayed while the radio information is displayed. It does everything it says that it will and I was able to mount it in my 1998 Ford F-150 pickup without all of the cutting required by the double din. the Blue Tooth is excellent, paired with my LG V30 (Android) phone and routing the mic wire to my sun visor was also easy. I did notice in all of the videos I reviewed and I experience a lot of dash cracking. So if you plan to take an old dash apart for this model of truck expect it. I loved the upgrade and Crutchfield was helpful in convincing me that the colors on the "ready" wiring harness would work (even though the colors appeared to be reverse of the factory). Also I need to upgrade my speakers. (plan to do it with your upgrade).

Pros: Easy and no cutting. Great sound. Hands freed cell phone.

Cons: Smaller screen (compared to the double din) and the time can only be displayed or radio information.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Battle Creek, MI on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks to be a good unit ,price is right ,looks simple enough to hook up .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Momence, IL on 12/21/2019

1997 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install .... Loved it changed colors so we could set it to look like the rest of the dash inside the Pontiac which is red

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 12/19/2019

2003 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for a nice cheap head unit this thing is perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 12/16/2019

1997 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 12/13/2019

2003 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Sound. Installation was easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 12/8/2019

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply Awsome...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MD on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Easy installation. Great support and service.

Pros: Price and features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing!

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, OK on 11/23/2019

2007 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit alone has completely revamped my commuting experience. It replaced the old stock unit in my 2007 Hyundai Elantra. I absolutely love this head unit for many reasons. A few of which I was unaware of when purchased. It has every feature I was looking for and more. Dimmable display when lights turn on and off, blackout setting that will shut off all of its display lights, custom color options, Pandora integration, automatic Bluetooth connection, steering wheel control comparability and simply Alpine quality. If I ever purchase another commuter car, this will be at the top of the upgrade list.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Cooperstown, NY on 11/21/2019

2005 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System is nice, with intuitive setup, and better than factory. Documentation for install perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Ludington, MI on 11/20/2019

2001 Infiniti QX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros: Good sound. Pairs easy

Cons: Doesn't seem as loud as I hoped

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT Review

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MA on 11/19/2019

1983 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine radio is awesome. Great sound and value.

Pros: Tons of great options to go along with a great radioe/CD

Cons: o cons to note.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Kodak, TN on 11/18/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products and even greater service very impressed. Will definitely be a returning customer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from La Pine, OR on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and clear sound??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 11/9/2019

2005 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio looks good, sounds good and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Guyton, GA on 11/4/2019

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the simplicity of this deck! It does what you need. Crystal clear sound. All around great deck for the cost!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 11/3/2019

1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great job walking me through it. MAC was right it fit just right. Sound better then original. It woke up the Bose.

Pros: Great Radio, able to change color to match my SL500.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Federal Way, WA on 11/3/2019

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great receiver at a GREAT price.

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 10/29/2019

2006 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very versatile, good power, multiple display color options, sounds GREAT and at a very affordable price.

Pros: Versatile, lots of options and sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jeep wrangler install

Crutchfield customer from Sturgis, SD on 10/22/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo. Easy install. Good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 10/21/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been great so far. No complaints. Everything fit perfectly.

Pros: Great looks, excellent fit and easy install.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Hammond, IN on 10/21/2019

2004 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is so clear and loud. Multi control of all sound levels is great. Easy to adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sounding stereo with all the features I needed

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, TN on 10/19/2019

2003 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding stereo with all the features I needed

Pros: The sound quality is fantastic

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio and easy install!

Louis from Jeffersonville, IN on 10/13/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered Monday, installed it Friday (it arrived on Thursday but Jeep was in the shop) in time for a 2,500 mile road trip. Simple to follow instructions lead to an easy install. We are thrilled with the new life and sound this head unit has given this old (2005) Jeep Wrangler. The sub sounds better, the speakers sound better, it's also MUCH higher volume than the stock unit. The BT functionality and hands free use works great and callers have said they've never heard us so clearly. This radio made my wife want to keep the Jeep instead of selling it and I plan to buy one for my Jeep as well!

Pros: Easy install, excellent sound, great features, clear Bluetooth, far better than stock radio in all ways.

Cons: Can't think of any!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Sumner, WA on 10/11/2019

2000 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

INSTALLED EASY. HARD TO SEE DISPLAY ON SUNNY DAYS, BUT SOUNDS GREAT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 10/8/2019

1947 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect this is 2nd alpine love um

Pros: quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Salina, KS on 9/30/2019

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Easy for my mother in law to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is real good. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 9/8/2019

2005 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to use. Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine for the win

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 8/27/2019

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid alpine piece yet again! I like this unit I'm still getting used to the features without having read the manual but I appreciate all of the one is have discovered so far. Part of me misses the ease of skipping forward with the larger forward and pack buttons of my previous alpine unit but it's not a deal breaker.

Pros:

Cons: Small skip song buttons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 8/26/2019

1993 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio..quick and easy order...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from East Hampton, NY on 8/25/2019

1974 Jeep CJ5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install in 1975 Jeep cj5 Great sound and power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine quality at a great price!

Crutchfield customer from Fraser, CO on 8/25/2019

2015 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the CDE-172BT is an excellent car stereo. The sound is a big improvement over my factory radio. I had it professionally installed and it looks great. One thing that was a bit tricky for me was changing the display / buttons color. You have to go into the menu, and find what you are looking for, and it is a little tricky. But I got that figured out and all is good. It has a lot of choices for music, like Bluetooth, USB flash drive, CD's, aux. jack to plug in an ipod, and Sirius XM with optional adaptor, and a few other choices. I tried out a call using the Bluetooth, and sound was great, and my caller could hear me just fine. I like that you can remove the faceplate for security when leaving in public parking garages. You can adjust the brightness of the dislplay lighting which is nice if you don't like it too bright. My installer said he had to change to RCA cables when putting this in (factory radio didn't use RCA cables I guess) so I'm glad I had it installed, that would have thrown me if I installed it. Anyway, I am very pleased with this little stereo, it really rounded out my system nicely, and the price was very reasonable (I got an open box one and it was perfect, saved me $13!. I would give 5 stars except for the learning curve in changing the display/buttons color back to how I wanted, but once I got used to it it is really pretty easy. Had to beat for the price, and it's an Alpine!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Rochester Hills, MI on 8/19/2019

2000 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than I expected. Pretty nice unit. Id buy it again

Pros: Knob volume. Extra bass button.

Cons: Like with every electronic today. Options built into 1 button rather than separate. Id like to see the EQ portion manually operated on the outside of the unit. Not deep into a menu.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Remington, VA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome . lots of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Point Roberts, WA on 8/15/2019

2004 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised, easy to use , easy to install

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: No case for faceplate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 8/14/2019

2013 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the radio works well, since it is angled up on my motorcycle its incredibly difficult to read in the daytime. Having the face angled down would make life easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Valley City, OH on 8/14/2019

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound, love how easy it was to get the correct adapter kit to install in my Jeep. Easy install everything was there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Greenbrier, TN on 8/11/2019

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head, everything works as it should but I really wouldn't call something Sirius/XM ready if you have to add the Sirius/XM turner.

Pros: Price, function

Cons: Sirius/XM turner add on.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The rep was exceptionally helpful and I will do business with Crutchfield again based on the level of service I received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT with pre assembled cable

Crutchfield customer from Grand Prairie, TX on 8/11/2019

1993 GMC K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. I also ordered the preassembled cable and all I had to do was follow the instructions to replace existing radio. Nothing to build. All parts needed was included in order.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Two great sound'n Toy's

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, VT on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gotta say you guys rock! Everyone at Crutchfield (sales,tech support etc) have been professional all the way! Prices are excellent,quality products,easy instruction's along w/absolute customer respect! I've been using Crutchfield products and services since the early 80's and from what I have experienced Crutchfield just keeps get'n better!??????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver!

Crutchfield customer from New Caney, TX on 8/5/2019

1995 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 3, one for each vehicle. Absolutely awesome in dash receiver. These days, Bluetooth is a must and this one works flawlessly. I get in any of the three vehicles and my phone automatically connects and begins playing my music where I left off. The sound is clear and operation is intuitive.

Pros: Sound clarity, power, ease of use.

Cons: Display still looks like they did 25yrs ago. But hey, if it works...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Kevin from Swan Valley ID on 7/31/2019

1997 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this stereo with the additional pre made wiring harness. In my first review I said the harness didn't fit my truck only to discover it was my fault. It actually fits perfect, was easy to install and I love it!!

Pros: Pre made wiring harness makes install easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Schuykl Havn, PA on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the old 1998 Panasonic head unit I had. Does everything a modern stereo does for my 25 year old Jeep. I love it!

Pros: Still has an old school CD player which will play MP3 CD's. USB is great for charging phones, connecting USB devices and such. Aux in the front is super handy also, loving the display and keys color illumination also. Bluetooth connectivity for hands free phone really helps too, comes with mic. So many Pros to list...

Cons: None that I've found.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Holualoa, HI on 7/14/2019

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has all the extras great price easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lacks nothing and great sound.

Crutchfield customer from Concho, AZ on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small price for big quality. Replaced a cd player I bought from Toyota that cost me $550 [cd player failed]. This Alpine, for 1/4 the price, doesn't skip on rough roads and the music sounds better. Plus bluetooth, plus built in Sirius/XM that the Toyota player/radio didn't have. Looks good too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Houston, MO on 7/1/2019

2006 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit , loads of fun with the usb play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio for the price

Dale from Fayetteville, NC on 6/28/2019

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it to replace the factory radio. Contacted support via chat for a recommendation and had this one recommended. Great sound, easy to configure, (easier then another manufacturer's product I had purchased for another vehicle.) Installation was easy and quick. Bluetooth synced without an issue with my android phone and using it for phone calls is easy. No complaints from recipients regarding the voice quality from the included microphone. Playing music from the phone via Bluetooth was also clear. Only complaint is the display, even set to brightest settings, is difficult to read during the day. As a result, found it easier to configure the radio and save stations at dusk then during the day.

Pros: Good sound, easy to setup, configure and use. AM1, AM2, FM1, FM2, FM3 so you can save lots of your favorite stations.

Cons: Display not bright enough

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 6/25/2019

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SIMPLE AND MANY NICE FUNCTIONS FOR THE PRICE. IT'S ALPINE-ENOUGH SAID

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Customer Service!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 6/24/2019

2004 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield technical line provides fantastic support. I called them on a Sunday morning and they answered all my questions. Within half an hour, I was listening to my new system! These guys are great, I will be a Crutchfield customer for a long time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 6/20/2019

1986 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the money. Was worth it for the blue tooth for the phone

Pros: Pretty straightforward to install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/18/2019

1995 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality, functionality, and look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Houma, LA on 6/17/2019

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound the best

Pros: U can do it so easy and it's fun

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is a very nice lower end unit I am happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, WA on 6/10/2019

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this new Alpine Stereo 3-days ago, so far, I love this Stereo!

Pros: Awesome!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 6/5/2019

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with product and installation kit. Everything went smoothly and works exceptionally well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Seaside, CA on 5/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

too many opitions , needs simpler menu...

Pros:

Cons: not as easy to change settings ...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from N Ft Myers, FL on 5/24/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Easy to use controls and a wide set of features to tweak a stock or upgraded system.

Pros: Color options Blue tooth ease

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/22/2019

1999 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice deck and very easy to use!

Pros: Easy and simple to use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Thank you

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 5/22/2019

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with whole experience. Will be buying stereo for my other rug. Thanks, Alan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grandpa can crank again!

Craig from Montrose, CO on 5/12/2019

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Today I pulled out my 15 year old Alpine CDA9807 and flawlessly installed my openbox CDE172BT. Powered on FM and the Lord looked down upon my work and was playing the blessed Kashmir as the first audio out on this wonderful unit. BT paired without issue, external microphone was crystal clear for phone test, voice button made Google search a piece of cake. Hands down the easy upgrade I've done in years. Now this old Grandpa can pull up my 98 Dodge Ram next to those young whippersnappers at stop lights cranking real music that was meant to played at 11.

Pros: Simple install, flawless bluetooth audio and phone, 3 line outs, simple operation, volume knob

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 5/8/2019

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Easy to use. Sounds great. Alpine never seems to disappoint

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Pocatello, ID on 5/3/2019

2001 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!!!!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Hardwick, VT on 4/29/2019

1986 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 1986 F150 . It sounds great and would recommend to any body looking for a solid sound machine in a old school vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine car stereo

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great and I love the features. Install went very well on my PT cruiser. I bought the xm tuner only because of the $70 rebate but I discovered there are some good channels so maybe I'll keep it. Crutchfield has the best customer service I have ever experienced

Pros: Value. Quality. Features.

Cons: Small buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Stereo

Matthew from Oneonta, NY on 4/21/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit Does as listed. Great sound especially with The Bose system interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Rocks

Crutchfield customer from Mount Croghan, SC on 4/17/2019

2004 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great experience!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Crosslake, MN on 4/16/2019

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has great sound and alot of options .It is a great value.

Pros: Easy installation and Crutchfield sells a great installation kit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 4/15/2019

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

customer service very helpful.. listing advised wiring harness required for my vehicle.. install very simple...

Pros: easy install

Cons: non yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Doral, FL on 4/10/2019

2002 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio car and easy to install!

Pros: High Fidelity sound.

Cons: It is difficult to connect with a old amp. It does make noise when changing radio stations or functions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, IA on 4/10/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice radio like the color options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Disappointing

John from Egg Harbor Township, NJ on 4/10/2019

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's in a 350z roadster and replaced a Bose system. The display is difficult to see with the top up and useless with it down. The sound is disappointing. The cheap standard radio in my Fusion sounds better and plays more stations. The buttons are too small and too numerous. The tuner has an odd quirk. The volume fluctuates by itself. This does not happen playing a CD. The auto time setting resets the clock to the wrong time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from West Harrison, IN on 4/9/2019

1998 Toyota Camry LE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrade to my 15 year old sons factory radio. Wanted to install a hands free phone feature for safety, but got way more! This receiver is incredible! Easy to figure out, connect Bluetooth and use. Great reception. We used the pre-amp outputs and get awesome clarity and volume. I drive his car on occasion just for the system! Paired it with Polk speakers and a 1000watt Pioneer amp. Great bass even without Subs!!

Pros: Does everything you would want and sounds great. Great price for everything you get!

Cons: Haven't found any. He and I both love it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Box Elder, SD on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the factory stereo in my f150 and very happy with the sound quality and simplicity of this head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 4/2/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deck. Connectivity of two devices at the same time has been sweet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, TX on 3/23/2019

1989 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a fan of alpine for awhile. The first one I got replaced a Sony and there was no comparison. Now they're the only brand of head unit I buy. So I can't compare them to others but I highly recommend from the cheaper ones to the expensive they are worth it. Also I've installed radios at work and I've noticed that other brands have changed connectors and trying to switch radios of the same brand and basically the same model means changing connectors. Alpine has used the same connectors for awhile. I've swapped out the ones on my vehicles and it was nice just being able to plug in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Superb unit

Crutchfield customer from Port Orange, FL on 3/11/2019

2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a very nice upgrade to the Infinity system originally installed (OEM amplifier kept in place). Sound quality is much better and tons of bass if you want it. And now I have USB and Bluetooth capabilities. Took about an hour to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 3/11/2019

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, fit right in, love the USB port and bluetooth capability

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Mike from Blue Ridge, GA on 3/8/2019

2002 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver and easy to use and with Crutchfield customer service installation was very easy also

Pros: Very easy to operate and hooks right up to my telephone just like it supposed to

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great headunit

Edwin from Richmond Hill NY on 3/4/2019

2002 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved it my wife wanted a Bluetooth head unit and the ability to play pandora. Installed this in her 02 Toyota RAV4 and it is perfect sound quality is great considering it's connectet to the factory 6 speaker audio. Phone quality is super clear. Connects to her phone fast. And the ability to change the colors on the display to her liking was a huge plus for her!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Custom fit into 1967 Camaro

Charlie from Walla Walla, WA on 3/3/2019

1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Custom fit into my 1967 Camaro looks and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Jason from Danville, VA on 2/21/2019

2010 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 5th Alpine that I've installed in mine or a family member's over the last several years. Tons of features for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good clean sound.

David from Carlisle, AR on 2/10/2019

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all nice radio.

Pros: Easy function. Multicolor display. 3 pre amp outputs.

Cons: Not a lot of power. Can't control as many htz as I would like.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the money

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 2/4/2019

2002 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price. I have a more expensive unit in my other vehicle and the only thing I wish this had was more lines of text. Good choice tho.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 1/27/2019

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Frank from Jonesborough, TN on 1/25/2019

2005 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a Chrysler 300, perfect fit with the free install kit....very easy install...Great customer service....Crutchfield treats it's customers great....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Spring Creek, NV on 1/17/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent quality equipment. superb service. perfect instructions.

Pros: everything about the service and product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 1/15/2019

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio for a good price

Kevin from Cranston, RI on 1/15/2019

2010 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, looks amazing and has good sound quality. Everything you expect from an alpine radio

Pros: Price, features, quality, sound, looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome sound!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, NY on 1/13/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big Improvement from my old pioneer deck. Just what I needed without bank!!!!

Pros: No more sloppy looking cords from my phone to my receiver

Cons: None so far!!!!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Finally a display you can read in bright sunshine

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've purchased two of these units and like them very much. I especially like that the display is bright and is easy to see in daylight. Many of today's units are almost impossible to read during bright sunshine, but not this on. I will be purchasing one more for another vehicle this week.

Pros: Bright display, good quality sound, many nice features.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Stereo for Budget

Crutchfield customer from Vevay, IN on 1/10/2019

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install, plenty of great features, works perfect for the budget shopper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very pleased.

Michael J. from Lansing, MI on 1/10/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this unit. Good sound and user friendly. The Alpine KTP-445A Power Pack compliments the unit well, giving it a nice, rich sound in my 2006 Chevrolet Silverado extended cab pickup truck.

Pros: User friendly controls. Especially the sleep mode, which allows the time to display constantly.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 1/9/2019

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this nice little Alpine unit to replace the outdated and weak stock stereo in my 2007 Nissan Frontier. What a great stereo at a great price. The Bluetooth connection to play music from my iPhone is awesome. Great sound, great quality and great customer service from Crutchfield. Super easy install. I'm very happy with this Alpine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love this unit

Daniel from Bloomington, IN on 1/9/2019

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this head unit and I love it I was looking for something that could handle my mids and highs jbl. because before I started out with a pioneer that was already in my vehicle full den and it sucked so I purchased a kenwood and j.b.l 6 1/2 speakers all the way around anyway kenwood is not like they used to I would jam on long road trips and the kenwood would go all scramble ish on me so I got on crutchfield and looked for a good alpine because you can't find thmno longer found this one and I was impressed from the start I just ordered the alpine ktp 445A brick amp a few days ago it just arrived yesterday and I installed it boost it up a little bit not as much as I was hoping but plug in play I prefer so I don't have to drain my battery and I hear a difference with my j.b.l's I think I will give it a few more days to see how much I can tweak my alpine head unit to the perfect sound if I can't get a better sound I might just return it and I buy me a soundstream 5000,.4 for mids and highs and a sub for a little bass any how I will repost what I think of it in a few days I give this head unit a 5 star rating

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Rob from Wichita, KS on 1/8/2019

2002 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for my son's '02 Durango. He likes the versatility of the bluetooth capabilities as well as the CD player. Installing the unit was fast & easy.

Pros: Versatility & capabilities.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Richard from Tucson, AZ on 1/8/2019

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Great sound. Love the bluetooth in my older truck. As always Crutchfield is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Alpine Rocks

Randy from Hilliard, OH on 1/7/2019

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit in my 2004 JEEP Grand Cherokee. Has so many features it should have cost a lot more than I paid for it!! It paired up with my I Phone and the Bluetooth so I can stream all my music through it and use my Sirius All Access as well. Maximizing my bang for my buck is what this unit allows me to do. The installation was easy with Crutchfield's easy to follow directions. Adam my advisor helped me match my system to my JEEP and he really knows his stuff! A BIG Thank You to Adam and to the whole Crutchfield experience for making this Alpine rock my JEEP.

Pros: Good Looking, Hands Free Option, USB option on front, plug and play with Alpine Amp options.

Cons: None that I have found yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Bang For The Buck!

Bob from Kent, OH on 12/29/2018

2009 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't done a system install in years, and was surprised by all of the features this unit has. Years ago this would have easily been a $600 unit!

Pros: Alpine quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Huge upgrade over a tired Corolla factory radio

Yury from Duluth, GA on 12/27/2018

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is for my son's car and he was the one who selected this particular unit over a slightly cheaper and more powerful Sony, mostly for its looks, but it's hard to go wrong with an Alpine.

Pros: Sounds good.

Cons: The setup is somewhat tedious and not intuitively obvious.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent value

Richard from Springfield, IL on 12/25/2018

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't go wrong for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A happy medium for someone wanting modern features at a good price

Bryan from Eliot, ME on 12/23/2018

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I surprised myself when I bought this head unit for my old 05 Tacoma rather than updating to a full screen double din unit. The main reason i went this route is that I appreciate the simple things these days. And mainly, the fact that upgrading to a double din unit most often means you have volume BUTTONS instead of a tangible and intuitive knob!! So this was the way to get modern features with an old style interface . With an iPhone plus i also couldn't justify a screen unit and saved a quarter the cost. So far it has treated me very well with the bluetooth connectivity. I do wish it had a more "advanced" EQ interface but i managed to get the sound dialed in where I wanted anyway.

Pros: volume knob is THE way to go, RGB color display matches my toyota orange perfectly, great simple unit that's easy to use but still modernizes an old truck

Cons: handsfree microphone sends a lot of "road" noise to the caller, but i blame that on my Tacoma being a utilitarian/unrefined truck with little sound deadening

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

head unit

Andrea from Winterville, GA on 12/18/2018

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great buy for the price!

Pros: good michrophone, can use voice commands with it and great look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Doug from Monrovia, IN on 12/16/2018

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo...SOURCE light could be dimmer, but it's not a deal breaker. Sounds great with factory speakers (next upgrade). Live it!!!

Pros: Sound quality...specs, lots of settings, colors for display

Cons: SOURCE light kinda bright

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Mark from Evanston, WY on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son added his phone. Now my phone will not work correctly. I look in the manual to remove his phone. The instructions are not clear and have options the my unit does not display. I've been a big fan of Alpine for about 25 years but will never buy another one again.

Pros: Great sound with Alpine tweeters

Cons: Bluetooth is terrible.

Crutchfield response on 12/19/2018
Mark, if you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

Love it

Robert from Tomball, TX on 12/11/2018

2006 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, has a lot of power, great addition to my build. Mac was great in helping make sure I got all the right accessories.

Pros: Lots of features, sounds great, easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Kalispell, MT on 12/10/2018

1998 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sounding unit. Also the guys at Crutchfield were very great to work with. Unit arrived on time. Very pleased. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Great with my 1000 Eathquake Amp

Tom from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 12/9/2018

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Bass is unreal. Like the fact that I can change the color to match all my new Blue LED'S in my dash. Running 4 6 x 9's Kickers. 2 in the front doors and 2 in the enclose I built under my back seat of my 2000 Silverado. Then I boxed in the two 6 x 9'S.. Replaced the 2 6 1/2 factory with 2 6 1/2 inch kickers. This unit matched with a Earthquake 1000 watt amp and I more then pleased. Oh Ya the customer service has been AWESOME. And yes you can squeeze a 6 x 9 in the front doors of a Silverado... Papabird

Pros: Unreal bass with my 4 6 x 9 Kickers, then throw in 2 6 1/2 inch kickers in my 2000 Silverado. And yes you can squeeze in a 6 x 9 in the front doors . I built in a enclose under my back seat, then boxed in 2 6 x 9 kickers. Replaced the 2 rear factory 6 1/2 inch with 2 kickers. I'm more then pleased.

Cons: Wish I had bought this a long time ago

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/9/2018

1988 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for Bluetooth calling-fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Michigan on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Alpine is a great unit..esp with it's low price. Looks and sounds good and was easy to install. Set-up is also easy. There a couple things about it that I don't like... First, the source button is way too bright. There is a dimmer and brightness control, but any setting less than max makes the rest of the display too dark to read. Second, when adjusting the volume, the display shows the vol level for approx a half second, and then disappears. Wouldn't be so bad, but the vol display is hidden by the users hand when adjusting it. Drives me crazy..have to nudge the vol knob with one finger in order to see the display before it disappears. I would not recommend this Alpine because of these two things.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great Unit. Surprising value here.

Morgan from Portland, OR on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 12-year old Alpine receiver in my 2005 Sprinter with this one. And I couldn't be happier that I did. The installation was a breeze. The BT hook up with my iPhone XS Max is now fast and effortless. And the sound quality is phenomenal. Great price too.

Pros: Easy to install myself - plug n play in my case. Good clarity of sound and balance of tone quality are remarkably consistent regardless of source (bt, radio, usb drive, CD). EQ once and forget about it. BT pairing is remarkably fast and effortless. The Crutchfield customer service agent was great. He hooked me up with the appropriate product. And gave me all of the information and necessary accessories I needed to install it myself.

Cons: The off/on button is too bright and will need to be taped over.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, IL on 11/28/2018

2005 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great..Knob is a little touchy and the display is hard to see in the daylight

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value for money

SP from Basking Ridge, NJ on 11/18/2018

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the price. Easy to install. I have a factory installedHarmon kardon speaker system in my car and this head unit is more than adequate to power all speakers including the subwoofer. Lots of cool features including Bluetooth connectivity. Easy to setup display, Bluetooth connectivity etc.

Pros: Lots of features including Bluetooth connectivity.

Cons: Small buttons on this single din head unit needs getting used to. Replaces a BMW factory installed head unit which is also single din, but has larger buttons because of its design.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

James from Ogdensburg, NJ on 11/1/2018

2002 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always alpine is a great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Service was Spectacular

Ben from Woodbury on 10/28/2018

2004 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Kevin from Danbury, CT on 10/23/2018

1998 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect replacement for my factory head unit. I bought the 175BT to get Bluetooth while also having a decent tuner something I have found lacking in many aftermarket head units. I am also planning to add the KTP-445A 4 channel Amp. I have already replaced my factory 6.5 S with Alpines. I am very satisfied with this economical Alpine Head Unit. It serves all of my needs and more....definitely recommend!

Pros: High Quality Low Price Good Tuner Loaded with features

Cons: Small controls

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Tennessee on 10/21/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 SRT 10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy connection, good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Greg from Wellborn, FL on 10/21/2018

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit, great tuner. More stations and great sound. Only negative is the source button is way too bright at night. Put a piece of masking tape over it and was still too bright. Have 2 layers on now and it's ok.

Pros: Great radio

Cons: Too bright at night.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use, no 12 year old tech kid needed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 10/11/2018

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, great sound, great features. Syncs quickly with smartphone via bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/11/2018

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this Alpine back in March. Siriusxm did not work properly-sent it back for another and also had them include pre-wired harness. With the new 172BT, the Siriusxm would not work at all. It kept saying "Check Tuner." I think I spoke to just about every Tech support "specialist" to resolve this problem. They were all very nice, but not one could solve the problem. Over time, 5 months, I tried four 172BTs, all of them came up "Check Tuner" for siriusxm connection. I tried a Pioneer, and got a Siriusxm connection. I tried an old 124 Alpine, and got a Siriusxm connection; the 172BT refused to connect. the cd and radio worked well with the 172BT, and the sound was excellent, but all I got from Siriusxm was "check tuner." I patiently executed all the options given to me by the Tech Support Specialists arriving at the same result; "check tuner." Having spoken to just about all of the Tech Support Specialists, it appeared to me that this is a new problem for them to solve, but none of them seemed curious enough to solve this "new" problem. There has to be an answer, and I challenge Tech Support to find an answer. After five months, and may hours on the phone with Crutchfield, I gave up; I was patient, I was confident in Crutchfield's specialists, but enough was enough. I returned the merchandise, and Crutchfield had the nerve to charge me $10.00 for shipping on a free shipping label.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Waynesboro, VA on 10/9/2018

1999 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. The ability to change the color of the screen and buttons is nice. Great Value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good buy

joseph from Warrington, PA on 10/8/2018

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit into my car. The 172BT has great sound with the original speakers and many features from tuner to B.T. Good value for the money.

Pros: Fit good, sounds good, priced good.

Cons: Nothing I can think of right now.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Newton, KS on 9/9/2018

2004 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Program settings were intuitive. Small problem with time of day setting. It seemed to go 1 hour off after setting on several different occasions. I think it is okay now.

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: Clock setting issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Michael from Carnegie, PA on 9/7/2018

1993 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great overall head unit, connects easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio for the money.

Crutchfield customer from S Charleston, WV on 9/4/2018

2000 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Pushes the door speakers very well with no amp. Classic alpine look so far seems great. Programmable colors to match your dash lighting is definitely a plus.

Pros: USB, Bluetooth, color customizable, good power.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unit would not power up

HD from San Antonio, TX on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have installed many head units in the last 59 years. Simple plug and play connectors. Unit powered on but had no sound. I knew I had one more connection to make, and phoned tech support to ensure it was performed correctly. Made connection, blew a fuse in the vehicle fuse block. Replaced fuse and head unit would no longer power up. Checked all fuses and all were good, including fuse in back of radio. Had to return the Alpine head unit. This was my first Alpine experience & am not very excited about trying another. Will likely go back to Kenwood.

Pros: Crutchfield Tech Support

Cons: Internal circuitry not very robust on Alpine

Crutchfield response on 9/3/2018
HD contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Geneva, IN on 8/28/2018

2007 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice radio. Microphone for phone calls could be better. Wife complains she can't hear me. To much noise.

Pros: Great sound. Bluetooth music is great

Cons: Phone calls are hard to hear for both ends of the line

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Eldon, MO on 8/14/2018

2010 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The OEM radio in my Dodge Dakota ate a CD. Off to Crutchfield's I went. Something I rarely do is click on "chat", BUT I did. Best decision I made. The tech/rep led me to the Alpine and all the accessories I would need. Payment was a no-brainer, and Installation was SIMPLE. I'm an old man (76) and this unit is user friendly. A great feature is SiriusXM Ready. That too was easy to hook up. All is well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound quality

James from Springfield, MA on 8/9/2018

2005 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 05 Element. Hooked up the Sirius as well. Much better than the factory installed. The sound quality is noticeably better almost reaching the depth of my wife's 14 CRV with the souped up factory stereo. Install was a breeze and the adapter fit perfectly as well as the free mount that came with it.

Pros: Easy to Install, Great Sound Quality

Cons: Have to read the manual there are so many features :-(

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Inexpensive upgrade

Mark from Western Springs, IL on 8/9/2018

2002 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install (2002 Mercedes SLK) was a breeze with the wiring harness! Made the old speakers sound so much louder and clearer. Only knock - when I change stations or source. There is an audible (click!) old tech meets new tech. Can definitely live with it, but gotta tell you what to expect

Pros: Much better performance from existing speakers

Cons: Clicking sound (like a needle on a record) while changing stations and functions

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Joe from Chesapeake, VA on 8/7/2018

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine is an excellent affordable go to VERY USER FRIENDLY easy to figure out , functions well perfect for an entry level head unit

Pros: Easy to install and user friendly

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Pico Rivera, CA on 8/6/2018

1998 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

stereo is working great. Alpine has always been a favorite of mine and still is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Significant Upgrade to original

Pete from Woodstock, GA on 8/5/2018

2005 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this unit. Installed in a 2005 Nissan Altima. Reception and the sound reproduction is much better than stock receiver, even through original speakers. The Bluetooth phone is clear and required no adjustments for gain. The multicolored display is nice also but requires the brightest setting and white selected for the face to be seen in bright daylight. Installation was a snap. The only challenge was reinstalling the A-pillar cover after running the microphone through it; a bit difficult to line up. The line for the microphone was run behind the dashboard with the excess wire bundled and tie wrapped. Also used the ReadyHarness which saved a lot of time and aggravation. Took less than an hour to install.

Pros: Excellent Bluetooth, sensitive reception, significant sound quality upgrade. ReadyHarness was worth the $$$.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super Quality

Rickey from Kodak, TN on 8/2/2018

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality and easy to install.

Pros: Sounds great with new speakers "6" in my '93 Mustang.

Cons: The only con would have to be, I was sent the wrong size speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Vermon from Mannington, WV on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Give it 5 stars!

Pros: Great item, easy install!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Jenison, MI on 7/31/2018

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit...sounds so much better than stock radio, even with the stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Darrel from New Albany, OH on 7/31/2018

1987 Pontiac Fiero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, I was replacing a 6 year old Alpine unit equipped very much like this new one. I had considered changing brands but was concerned about just how much rewiring I might have to do. I was able to blow up an old owner's manual schematics about how the plug in mine was wired and compared it to the owner's manual tab that Crutchfield conveniently provides right on their product page and......Poof! It looked like a plug and play to me. Worst case scenario I might have to move or connect an extra wire or so, but hey much simpler, right? Crutchfield was on top of things from start to finish with my order. Fast ship and the right accessories if I did run into wiring problems. Got the new unit, plug looks the same, unplug old unit, and plug in the new one....success. Since Bluetooth was an option on my old unit I only had to plug-in the microphone to the back of the unit and clip the tiny mike on to the dash. Done. So the new unit is great. I think Alpine has cleaned up the top end and they have replaced the old Loudness with what they call their Bass Engine. I still think I prefer just adjusting tonal balances the old fashion way. I run this with a self powered sub in my Fiero Gt and I like it. And, no it is not a boomer set-up but I have a great sound stage with tight accurate bass. And so far, so good with this receiver.

Pros: Nice head unit. Clear highs and decent bass. Everything works as advertised.

Cons: Bass Engine is a little confusing. Still not sure I like how it sounds when it is in use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

David from Gulf Breeze, FL on 7/28/2018

2000 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was easily installed with the provided adapter kit, and functions perfectly. The sound is defined, and adjustable to my truck's interior environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Brad from Murrells Inlet, SC on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every Alpine car stereo I've ever heard was amazing and this one is no exception!

Pros: All in Alpine perfection.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Sender

Gregory from Orlando, FL on 7/25/2018

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was purchased to replace an 05' Pontiac Vibe's Monsoon OEM 6-Disc AM/FM head unit after the disc player crapped out after only 13 years of daily use. The OEM Monsoon 2 ohm speakers, amp & subwoofer, which still function great, remained intact. Having a 24-bit DAC CD player with a great sounding 8 dBf sensitivity AM/FM tuner were the primary features being sought in a replacement. After waffling between several brands, it all came down to just one word: Alpine. Dollar for dollar this very affordable Alpine CDE 172BT is a great sound system that is loaded with all the latest features, is easy to operate, and looks sweet in the dash. The BT paired up quickly and painlessly. But the sound, the sound is what really makes this unit a winner. The radio is crystal clear with plenty of options for station programming, the disc player delivers impeccable sound and the BT 3.0 / Smartphone features function like a champ. The 3-band EQ along with the 11 preset EQ profiles provides plenty of sound tuning options. The detachable faceplate is a nice feature as are the multi-color lighting display options. A SLC-4 was required to complete the install. It's a solid little sender that was easy to tune and simple to install, especially with Crutchfield's pre-wired harness. Plug it in. Turn it up.

Pros: Read the product overview and details sections. It's all true.

Cons: The display is a tad washed out in the daylight, but it's not a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Bartlesville, OK on 7/22/2018

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with Crutchfield's service. Unit fits nicely and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks and sounds great!

Mark from Ridgeland, MS on 7/22/2018

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sounds great and was easy to install. Custom wiring connector from Crutchfield works extremely well.

Pros: Perfect fit and looks great.

Cons: Perhaps a little difficult to set-up, but I can't compare it to others. It has a lot of different functions and capabilities and setting all of them up takes some time, but worth the effort.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Visual display can be adjusted to fit with other cockpit controls

Brett from Bellevue, WA on 7/22/2018

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit and really like the visual display adjustment. Finding stereo head units that fit with the control display of the rest of the car is helpful to reduce the impact of non OEM installed products.

Pros: Great value unit with easy to use controls

Cons: Would like more power built into the head unit - 25W RMS at this price point is reasonable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Chris from Branchville, NJ on 7/19/2018

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine still makes the best car stereo. This has all the features I needed!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

William from Chapel Hill, NC on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best place to buy a radio. Great people.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 7/17/2018

2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, easy to install, and the Bluetooth works great! I highly recommend this stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and service

Mike from W Valley City, UT on 7/15/2018

2003 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sterio works great. More importantly, I was very happy with my first experience ordering from Crutchfield. The instructions they included were specific to my make and model made the install relatively easy. I paid for the wire connection service, and the wires came connected and neat. I will definitely use Crutchield in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Robert from Houghton Lake, MI on 7/10/2018

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The truck I installed this in was a 1995 F-150 with the original radio, couldn't believe what a difference this radio made in the sound. The main reason for upgrading was for Bluetooth capability, which works well. The only downside is that the default blue lighting is very hard to see in bright sunlight, but I gave it a 5 star rating anyway. This unit gave me everything I wanted for a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Easley, SC on 7/9/2018

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Installation was straight forward and easy. I like the new features that were added to this model. The EQ presets make it simple to find the best sound for your flavor of music. The added base boost is a great feature as well. Most of all, I really like the mic adjustment for the blue tooth. You can talk hands free with clarity in a older model vehicle for a very small dent in your wallet. Great job on this Alpine unit!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Jon from Las Vegas,NV on 7/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always happy with alpine products. Very happy with this unit

Pros: Clean design does exactly what i need.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Fred A from Chicago, IL on 7/4/2018

2004 Chrysler Sebring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with the factory speakers. Fastest phone pairing ever! Display easy to read. Ok brightness in sun, but it's in a convertible. Great unit, great price!

Pros: -Easy BT pairing -Easy install -Great sound

Cons: Display could be better in sun

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, MA on 7/1/2018

1985 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, VA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great out of the box and am having no problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finally !

Mike from Prudenville, MI on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Last person I spoke with (lady) understood exactly what I wanted as far as tuning options for a receiver. The 1st one I ordered required a degree from MIT to operate.

Pros: Now finally I can EASILY and QUICKLY access the tuning options for the bass,mid,trb,balance and fader.

Cons: Haven't figured out yet how to adjust the sub-woofer separately.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from N Myrtle Bch, SC on 6/25/2018

2000 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Purchased it to modernize my Honda S2000 with blue tooth and USB. Easy install with great help from the Crutchfield support guys.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine the Best

Shawn from Woodway, TX on 6/25/2018

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love it pics up live radio in Dallas & Austin & I live in Waco

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wouldn't buy again. Popping sounds. Poor Bluetooth performance.

Austin from Madison, WI on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth is super finicky. Doesn't always connect to my phone or any device I try to use. Sometimes I can talk on the Bluetooth with my phone sometimes I can't. If you listen to CDs on it there's a constant popping noise on plosives even at low volumes. You have to go through three layers in the menu to get to detailed sound settings. If you're listening to music via USB you will get the same popping on plosives but at higher volumes. I've checked and re-checked every other component of my system and everything is fine. Popping sounds started only after I installed this deck. I would not recommend to anyone that wants loud, serious quality sound. I will be swapping it out soon and I've only had it for a few months.

Pros: Clean look.

Cons: All things listed in review in addition to tiny buttons and complicated setup. I've been using aftermarket decks for years and it still took me a bit to figure it out.

Crutchfield response on 6/26/2018
If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or you can contact Alpine at 800-421-2284 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this receiver.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from West Fargo, ND on 6/20/2018

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sounding unit so far. Nice power and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Ken hunter from Zebulon, NC on 6/19/2018

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely excellent, my daughter could not be happier. Thanks and thanks to alpine for always producing top line outstanding product.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied beyond expectations

Tracey from Falmouth, MI on 6/17/2018

2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My last four Head units were 3 Alpines and one other brand. After the other forementioned brand, I purchased this Alpine unit and soo glad I did. I love the ability to change the Key and display color settings. There are a few settings that this unit doesn't have compared to my other Alpines but I really think the sound quality is so much better that I don't need all the adjustability. The price point is a no-brainer, the value of this unit far exceeds the price. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Change colors Price Value It's Alpine

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Bill from Marietta, PA on 6/13/2018

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced Factory head unit with CD player. BMW 2000 Z3 Roadster. The fit was perfect. I feel like I jumped 20 years out of the past now having hands-free audio for phone. Controls and settings are relatively easy to use do I have to admit having to refer to the owners manual several times. The sound is good and the playback is Good from CDs Bluetooth audio USB and the tuner. Next Step is replacing the standard Hi-Fi speakers.

Pros: Up-to-date systems for listening to music and Bluetooth audio

Cons: Wish I could figure out how to get the clock to stay on in anything--but tuner mode

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

2007 Rav 4

Todd from Fayetteville, GA on 6/12/2018

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is greatly improved over stock radio. Crutchfield wins again with excellent instructions and pain free wiring kit!

Pros: Microphone is very clear Easy install Great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Use - Great Tuner

Dave from Lenexa, KS on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I REALLY like this radio! Finally, a full featured radio that is easy to use. If I can operate it, anyone can. I have only needed the manual on some initial set-up items like display color for instance. If you are looking for a head unit that actually has a great tuner, then this is the one; both AM and FM reception are outstanding. I have been very disappointed in the last 2 aftermarket "radios" I have had because it seems like the tuner section is an afterthought; one of those units was over $500, and had an awful tuner section. Last, but not least, the CDE172-BT sounds great. I can't imagine more bang for the buck.

Pros: Easy to use - excellent tuner - sounds great - good value

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Super thanks for asking

Bert from New Bern, NC on 6/11/2018

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice radio. Great sound and colors on display screen. Bluetooth works very well. Fits like a dream

Pros: Bluetooth, great sound, easy controls, great display,

Cons: Dosnt come with remote. Dosnt drive the car for you! Maybe next one!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

Theodor from Los Angeles, CA on 6/11/2018

2003 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the factory receiver in a 2003 Toyota Avalon with a broken cassette player. I still used the factory amplifier with a harness. Actually sounds better right off. Of course, it also has Bluetooth, front USB port, etc. I am extremely satisfied with this unit.

Pros: Sounds great, front USB port.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BT troubles

Dug from Palmer, AK on 6/8/2018

2006 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality and ease of use is good. Loads of features but struggles connecting to Bluetooth devices. Takes several attempts and after it connects to one of the two stores devices it's nearly impossible to switch devices without first turning of the whole car. Since that's the primary function I selected this unit for, it's a fail.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, CO on 6/4/2018

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoy the hands free calling and the Blue Tooth. High Quality sound with an install that was cake. Received solid direction from Otis, Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Danny from Meridian, TX on 6/3/2018

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price this Indash cannot be beat!! Period!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!!!

anthony from Pompano Beach, FL on 6/3/2018

2013 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory stereo with this. Excellent unit. Easy to read display in sun. Sound quality great. Easy install. Crutchfield does all the hard work with there great installation hardware and wiring harnesses included.

Pros: Easy to see display in sun. Easy setup. Excellent sound. Sturdy feel.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Juan A. Burgos from Mine Hill , NJ on 5/29/2018

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since my teenage years I've been an alpine fan & to this day I haven't switch brands great quality products & always come to crutchfield for specs/reviews & great prices etc.

Pros: All around great quality!

Cons: No remote like all the old models but either you never used it or lost it! Who needs a dam stankin remote!??

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Perfect!

Jim from Marshfield, WI on 5/25/2018

1995 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied. Replaced old Sony head unit because couldn't get decent FM or AM reception. Suspected bad antenna or antenna amplifier, but testing with alternative antenna still failed. Wasn't sure new radio would fix problem, but it did and I am happier than a pig in mud.

Pros: Full featured, looks great, sounds great - tuner reception excellent, easy and intuitive to program.

Cons: Difficult to read display in daytime because of glare.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Billy from Prt Washingtn, NY on 5/21/2018

1991 GMC Syclone

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to use and navigate thru. CDs and my iPhone work great with it. Alpine always makes a great product. My Crutchfield rep recommended it and i am very happy he did so. Very happy with the value also.

Pros: Great sound, easy to use

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Kyle from Drakesville, IA on 5/21/2018

2005 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound just a little hard to see display in the daylight.

Pros: Descent RMS and clear sound through reciever

Cons: Display is difficult to see in the day.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

James from Eustis, FL on 5/20/2018

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nope ve features at a great price

Timothy from Stratford, CT on 5/20/2018

1992 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features, and easy to use. The sound quality is good using the internal amp. It's nice being able to change the display color to match the vehicles dash lights.

Pros: Feature filled, display lighting colorist adjustable. Internal amplifier,

Cons: Menus can be a bit awkward to access (ie. adjusting clock, lighting colors, brightness etc.) until you get used to it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied customer.

Christian from Fresno, CA on 5/15/2018

1996 Infiniti G20

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield made this purchase very easy. They also gave me free harness for my car!! You must Buy all audio stuff here! Very good head unit. Many features, custom screen color and Equalizers. BT is pretty basic The radio reception in my area was great. I heard a station on almost every dial!! Comes with a high quality microphone for BT calling. Sound quality is good has BASS BOOST. Also It's not necessary but I like a little more power and volume so I added to Alpine Kttp-A 4 channel amp and a slight improvement was made.(Will probably go with more powerful 4channel amp later). But this review is about the CDE-172BT and it is overall good! Only thing is that this unit does not come with a case for the detachable face plate. I knew before buying but I guess thats limited to the more higher end models.

Pros: Great Quality build and sound. I've only had good experience with Alpine products.

Cons: No case for the faceplate but that's ok.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Long Creek, SC on 5/9/2018

1999 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase was to replace the original equipment radio in my 1999 BMW 328i convertible. I wanted to be able to play CD's and have an auxiliary input, as well as bluetooth connectivity. I didn't replace any of the speakers, and this unit sounds a ton better than the old radio. Also has a really good FM receiver, pulling in stations I hadn't received before. The customizable key and display colors is a neat feature and allowed me to have a display color that matches the amber of the other displays in this old car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great deck

Doug from Shelby , MT on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2010 Tahoe. Bought the bracket to fit where the Bose system was. Had Crutchfield make up the connections and everything fit great and was a real easy install. I love Alpine. Sounds great!

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Federal Way, WA on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo sounds great and works well with the ktp 0445 power pack. The bluetooth features are nice and the phone mic picks up well, even in a noisy vehicle.

Pros:

Cons: Only complaint is that the volume dial is so small and not easy to grab for adjustment. Most all ate like that though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Uriel from Port Arthur, TX on 4/30/2018

1997 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works awsome. Iv used alpine sterio since o was 15 and always preffer a alpine sterio before other brands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Guest from Tucson Arizona on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio just came out and I happen to come across it while shopping for a new head unit and Alpine has been a favorite head unit brand of mine since I caught the bass bug back in the early 90s this unit hands down has so many features I've had it for a week now and I'm still catching up and discovering new technology and features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Patrick from Zumbro Falls, MN on 4/24/2018

1999 Honda Passport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio alpine always had them for years got a cheaper kenwood sounded like a bad radio this is an Alpine great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine CDE-172BT

Crutchfield customer from Jax Bch, FL on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to instal sounds great and easy to use its for my 17 year old daughter for her first car and crutchfield service was grdat as always

Pros: What can i say great stereo

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine cde-172bt

Mike from Warren, MI on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cd head unit is phenomenal. The 3-band eq gives it the sound that I have been looking for. There is nothing like an alpine.

Pros: Everything you expect from a trusted company. Alpine.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP