Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine iLX-407

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # ILX-407

Alpine iLX-407

Alpine iLX-407

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # ILX-407

72 reviews
View this product

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Oak Point, TX on 11/18/2021

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound this one puts out vs the factory radio. I had it professionally installed and had some issues with the installer but as for the radio, I really like it. Works great and I would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio!

Crutchfield customer from Boyne City, MI on 11/15/2021

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JL)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never had an Alpine before - obviously it is a trusted brand in the marketplace. Due to the supply shortages when this one came in (and it was only one of 5 that would even fit in my vehicle) I jumped on it. It works great, the interface is intuitive and it is pretty cool. Can see all kinds of data about the vehicle in addition to the usual data. It works as it should, and it is pretty quick to switch between Carplay (wired) and Bluetooth (wireless). My last Pioneer unit would take a significantly longer time to switch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good choice for double din

Crutchfield customer from Cortlandt Manor, NY on 11/15/2021

2013 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver sounds great and offers all of the features I was looking for including Android Auto, Apple Carplay, and SiriusXM capability. With the iDatalink port and a Maestro unit the receiver fully integrated into my car including steering wheel controls and secondary display. The only weird point is that there is no on and off button. It just comes on when the car starts. There is a mute button which effectively turns the unit off if you don't want to listen to anything.

Pros: Great sound and functionality.

Cons: No on and off button.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NOT Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Bay Shore, NY on 11/4/2021

2002 Cadillac Seville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

NOT the Alpine quality of the past. i am on my second unit both have the same problems. the source switch and memory have quirks, the equ is poor and the USB audio play back is absolutely poor with no features.the receiver front end is poor aswell

Pros: packaging

Cons: see review

Crutchfield response on 11/15/2021
This customer is working with our Tech Support team to resolve the issues. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Time Correction feature is awesome

Ronald from Fremont, CA on 10/29/2021

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use. My favorite feature is time correction; with it I am able to set fader/balance/EQ at neutral when paired with Sony XS-690ES and Sony XS-160ES speakers and music is sweetly accurate. I have this paired with the KTA-450 amp and together they pump plenty of power for my tastes. I'll be adding a subwoofer and look forward to using the built-in crossover UI. Also, I have an ASWC-1 steering wheel control plugged in and it works great; the ASCW-1 automatically recognized the iLX-407 upon power-up and did not require any setup on my part.

Pros: Time Correction, Apple CarPlay, PowerStacking

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for the price. Very happy with my purchase and crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2020 JL wrangler

Crutchfield customer from Beeville, TX on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great radio and easy to install . I replaced my factory 2020 Wrangler head unit for the ILX-407 it's 100x better , I do recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent radio

Crutchfield customer from Perry, FL on 10/14/2021

2016 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio, just wish i would have read that it only came with 1 USB plug in which i require 2 of them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from South Lyon, MI on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo works great and sounds great as well. A step up from factory. Would definitely recommend

Pros: Easy to operate

Cons: Have to put parking brake on to access settings

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Villanova, PA on 10/12/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the shallow design which allows a lot of space for the Maestro Module and harness. I didn't have to remove the metal bracket, but it did require trimming of the dash opening. Works well with rear camera too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade for teen

Crutchfield customer from Port Byron, IL on 10/6/2021

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a perfect upgrade for my teenage driver. CarPlay is great as it allows him to control his music and calls all from the touchscreen without having to mess with his phone. The screen is very responsive and fast. The sound quality is amazing. I love that it has so many inputs that we can upgrade the head unit by adding additional features like Sirius xm radio and cameras. All around a great head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Cortland, NY on 10/6/2021

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this receiver installed for a month now. Looks great and fits well. It's bug free and easy to use. The only issue I have is that I cannot reregister my Ford Pass App with my truck. I'm supposed to confirm the sync with the old OEM screen (it add a cheap 4" one). The only thing I can't do now is remotely start and unlock the truck from my Ford Pass app. Hopefully Alpine will provide a firmware upgrade to fix that. Other than that, I love this unit. With the equalizer, my music is much more rich!

Pros: Feature rich and great sound quality!

Cons: Can't register my Ford Pass App anymore.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from North Plains, OR on 10/6/2021

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good HU with lots of setting features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pass if you can

Crutchfield customer from Lehigh Acres, FL on 10/5/2021

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not very pleased with this purchase but the pickings are slim for iDatalink. The screen smudges worse than I've ever seen before, the settings are not very intuitive to navigate, and the overall look seems more like a $50 knock off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Another great Alpine product!

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, IL on 10/5/2021

2005 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Produces awesome sound, very easy to navigate. Easy to install, simple instructions. Just don't forget to wire up to the parking brake otherwise you won't be able access certain settings

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Spokane Valley, WA on 10/5/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality, smooth installation. Works great with my Android phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 10/4/2021

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. Very customizable. That said, takes forever to turn on. Could do with less options for a faster processor or whatever makes it turn on quicker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine easy Install

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, IN on 10/4/2021

2011 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am 65 years old and I have not installed a radio since I was 18 yrs old, I always had the professional do it. This time I decided to tackle myself, so with the detail install instructions and everything was put together all I really had to do is remove the old radio attach the pre setup cables and install the radio into the dash, then turn on the key to great music weather streaming from my phone or by using sirius radio that also was a snap to install. This radio and the way the company took care of me all the way through you just can't go wrong with this Company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 10/4/2021

2014 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for my wife's vehicle to replace the malfunctioning stock head unit in a 2014 Toyota Highlander. A fantastic upgrade! The CarPlay is an awesome feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, AR on 10/2/2021

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply an awesome radio. Love Apple Car Play! Never realized what car play was until I got this radio and I love it. Also, the screen is very bright. Even in the daytime with the sun "blaring down" on it, it's still clearly visible. Love the fact that it is a shallow mount double din, helped a lot with installation. The settings and flexibility this radio has is awesome. Love the differences I can make with the built in Xover and Time correction. I am very happy with my purchase. It goes WELL with my Alpine MRP-1000 and Alpine R W10D4. Was very happy to keep it all Alpine. Very happy with that decision as well. Thank you, Crutchfield!

Pros: Convenience Convenience Convenience. Great Radio. Shallow mount is very appreciated. Bright screen, even in bright sunlight. Apple car play is a big plus.

Cons: No complaints at all.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 10/2/2021

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit with great features and sound quality. The instructions for install from Crutchfield were easy to follow. Installation took about 2 hours and everything worked the first time. The screen on this automatically adjusts brightness based on the amount of light in your vehicle, regardless of whether or not your lights are on. This is a game changer for me. I had to constantly adjust brightness on another CarPlay unit. This one, I never touch the brightness. The touch responsiveness of the screen is spot on. It feels like you're interacting with a phone instead of an early 2000's PDA.

Pros: Amazing features, solidly built, great screen, self adjusting brightness

Cons: Wished there were more bands in EQ.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from SPRING HILL, TN on 9/30/2021

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well Extremely responsive with Android/Auto (better than OEM units in new cars)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver unit

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 9/29/2021

2009 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for a couple weeks now, this unit is really easy to use, the operating system is very quick in general. Start up takes about 10 seconds. Wish there was more visual customization, but overall I'd recommend this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Tyler from Fort Worth, TX on 9/29/2021

2019 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my factory head unit. Installation and setup were easy, the only problems I had setting up the head unit had to do with Alpine head units being picky with the cable you use for android auto. The standard Samsung cable plugged directly into the back of the head unit ended up working for well for me.

Pros: Quick Response Good Sound Quality Good Picture Quality User Friendly Interface

Cons: Android Auto is Finicky About the Cable You Use USB Extension Wouldn't Work With Android Auto Dog Fur and Finger Print Magnet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice, compact head unit that is better than factory radio

Crutchfield customer from Youngtown, AZ on 9/27/2021

2009 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice compact unit that contains a lot of upgrades from my old factory head unit. Really like the integration with my android phone. Was very easy to install with the bracket and wire harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 Star Products and Service!

Crutchfield customer from Platte City, MO on 9/27/2021

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Alpine ILX-407 head unit and all the accessories to install in my 01 Porsche Boxster S. After unboxing I thought maybe I had gotten into a larger project than I had expected. After reading directions and following the instructions sent to me by Crutchfield I was able to figure most of it out. A quick 5 min call to tech support was all I needed and BAM.. we had music. All in all I spent about 5 hours pulling my stock head unit and cupholders out of the Boxster and this installed and looks PERFECT! A couple things to know if installing in a Boxster.. You will most likely need to remove your middle console trim to wire to your Parking Brake. This is a tough removal but search online you will find videos to help remove it. I have an Auto transmission so it can be done and I am no mechanic but I do have a lot of car experience (I think??). I was able to Greatly Improve my Porsche Audio system for under $500 and my stock speakers sound great with this head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 9/27/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been a fan of Alpine. I liked the idea of Android Auto and built-in HD Radio on this unit. My only complaints so far is that I would prefer a 9 band eq instead of the 5 band.....and when I am in Android Auto with Spotify the music mutes when I make eq adjustments. Installation instructions were not great......I put this in a 2018 F150.....probably the toughest install I've done. Would it have been that much more for Alpine to put a higher resolution screen on these? Overall.....sounds great. I still need to tweak the time alignment and set the amplifier levels more thoroughly.....maybe I'll do that today

Pros: Sound quality HD Radio is standard Quick startup and responsive touchscreen

Cons: 480p resolution?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Exceeded my Expectations!

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Alpine 407 is incredible! I spent several hours reviewing equipment the specs the details the pros and the cons several different models as well as accessories needed, and then on the phone with Ace, their sales support gentleman, he answered all my questions, did not try to lead me in any direction, but helped me understand the choices. This Alpine unit and all of their tech-support are wonderful. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: Their Tech Support offered was incredible as well. After receiving everything and reviewing everything and preparing for the install, I did have one question or either I missed something or it was unclear. I called the Tech Support line, they answered within two or three rings and it was a quick easy answer. He understood exactly the equipment I was working with and the question I had. Greg install went flawless.

Cons: None!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin Park, CA on 9/23/2021

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using Alpine for over 20 years. Couldn't be any happier with the purchase. Works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Olney, MD on 9/23/2021

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality and reliability So happy with this unit in my car So much better and so much bigger than the OEM unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The 407 is excellent with Nitro

Crutchfield customer from Dsrt Hot Spgs, CA on 9/23/2021

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and very easy to use recommended

Pros: So far everything worked exceptionally

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Comstock Park, MI on 9/23/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this! So easy to start up Apple play! Customer service was wonderful with installation questions as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not quite what id hoped for

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, GA on 9/23/2021

2011 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, which including all the cables adaptors and what not, it's ok. I'm unable to use the vehicles factory USB ports, which is annoying nor am I able to use my vehicles factory sxm antenna. So now I have two antennas right next to each other. Plus even after several calls my rear entertainment screen will not show a picture(oem was a DVD player through the oem head unit). Additionally, the tech support was hit or miss. I actually had one technician raise his voice at me, as I couldn't 100% understand what he was trying to tell me. So, that left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I felt like the tech support was just going through the motions, not really trying to help me solve my problems. If I had to do it all again, after spending close to $1000, I probably would have left the factory system installed.

Pros: Install looks nice and professional

Cons: Lots of features don't work like I'd hoped

Crutchfield response on 10/7/2021
Our Tech Support has reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Dorr, MI on 9/23/2021

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly, Looks great, and sounds amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cant go wrong

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 9/23/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, very easy to install and very user friendly

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Replacement for 2012 Camaro

Crutchfield customer from Anna, OH on 9/22/2021

2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine iLX-407 was a perfect solution for replacing the factory radio in my 2012 Camaro. Everything sounds better than it did with the factory unit. If you have a 2012 Camaro with the factory back up camera in the rear view mirror you can buy this harness from Gen5Diy to keep everything PNP https://www.gen5diy.com/products/12-camaro-video-harness?_pos=36&_sid=5e97c540c&_ss=r.aAll other cables and connections can be provided by Cructchfield. If you are retaining SiriusXm, make sure you identify those cables because they are both the same color.

Pros: Provides plenty of space for all the wires. IDatalink compatible

Cons: Doesn't play CD's (but i haven't used CD,s in years so this really doesnt bother me)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Mesquite, TX on 9/22/2021

2004 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best stereo I have ever had ton of features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ILX 407

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 9/21/2021

2011 Suzuki Kizashi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is best unit I've tried so far

Pros: Fast start up Has hdmi Dual camera input

Cons: Screen contrast is a bit dull

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Cordell, OK on 9/21/2021

2009 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, lots of features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice looking Media-media receiver

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son and I installed the Apline iLX-407 into his 2008 Saab 9-3 this past weekend. Looks amazing. I planned ahead and purchased the necessary aftermarket double DIN kit from Incartec (UK). Both the Alpine iLX-407 and the aftermarket kit installed nicely. My son's girlfriend commented "it looks like it came from the factory!". The only reason I didn't give [5] stars, should be a [4.5], is the Alpine installation instructions did not mention that you must connect the "Orange/White" wire to the parking brake. This allows you to get into the Alpine iLX "Settings" (change date/time, etc...). I had to pull down the full user guide (not provided) and search through to find this "little" detail...

Pros: Looks like it came from the factory

Cons: The provided install document comes up a little short. See above review for details.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 9/21/2021

2017 Ram Promaster City

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo work great the only thing I would of preferred is Bluetooth Apple Play like my KENWOOD in my truck

Pros: It's compatible with the compact alpine amp

Cons: I need to plugg into the USB to use Apple play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield/Alpine ROCK!

Crutchfield customer from Hebron, IN on 9/21/2021

2012 GMC Terrain

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My radio went out on my 2012 Terrain and I needed to replace. I have had this radio for two weeks now and it's what I expect out of Alpine, great quality. My friend and I installed it and it went together as laid out in the instructions. I would always tell you to consult a Crutchfield tech before you purchase any radio so you know what functions you will lose or keep with any after market radio so there are no surprises after installed. So far I am very happy with my new radio!

Pros: Apple/Android car play Bluetooth SiriusXM Compatible to vehicle Ease of putting it together Price

Cons: Only 6 preset channels in SiriusXM.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Subaru 2018 Forester

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 9/21/2021

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking unit, fit perfectly in my 2018 Subaru Forester with the install kit sold by Crutchfield. Went with the scosche dash kit which makes the install look factory. Great unit, easy purchase, fast delivery, and perfect install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln Univ, PA on 9/20/2021

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head-unit and very easy installation due to its size and crutchfields wiring guide. I Installed a flush mount usb port in the place of the 12V outlet to make using android auto even easier. Sounds great, the screen is responsive and an overall quality user interface . HD radio is a really great bonus.

Pros: Slim profile, Features, Sound Quality, User interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/20/2021

2013 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the money, no glitches or freezing! Apple car play has work flawlessly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Parking brake

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the head unit but hate the fact of having to be in park to be able to access settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Portland, IN on 9/20/2021

2010 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to install. And it looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great head unit

Crutchfield customer from Grover Beach, CA on 9/19/2021

2001 Lexus LX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

beautiful unit, well made. some settings are not terribly intuitive and i HATE the new feature that keeps the power antenna up whilst using CarPlay or another source.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Adam from Anaheim, CA on 9/19/2021

2007 Saturn Sky

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

User friendly, lots of great functionality, good visibility. Recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Who knows?

Adam from Pataskala, OH on 9/18/2021

2016 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2016 Kia Sorento. Looked like it might be a good unit, but never had a chance to use it. Had about 5 different idata link maestro's connected to it which was absolutely horrible to connect. Instructions were very lacking. The amount of modification that needed to be done was unbelievable. I consider myself a pretty handy guy but the spaces that needed to be gotten into were teeny tiny. I got all the way connected (somehow) and the settings wouldn't work. The icon was grayed out. Turns out it would only work if the parking brake was on. Insanely frustrating. Rear camera wouldn't work at all. I suppose most of my problems were with the idata links, but what good is the unit if those won't work? One star is for Crutchfield tech support, who were incredibly patient and tried to troubleshoot my problems. But they were simply insurmountable.

Pros: I'm sure there were some pros. No idea what they would have been.

Cons: Wiring was insane!

Crutchfield response on 9/20/2021
Adam contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Marlon from LAWNDALE, CA on 9/18/2021

2006 Kia Rio 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

do not buy this !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/20/2021
Marlon contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine phoned this one in.

Joseph from Staten Island, NY on 9/17/2021

2012 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this HU pretty disappointing and I ended up returning it. Firstly the screen, particularly in Carplay is extremely washed-out looking, bad enough to make it difficult to read maps. Almost like you're looking at an old LCD screen at an extreme angle. Secondly, it's buggy. Sound settings that won't save and zero themselves out, random crashes/glitchiness. The 5-band equalizer is needlessly cheap and I simply could not get my system to sound right. Some cars don't need much EQ'ing but mine does. No easy way to get to sound settings, especially from Carplay. You have to navigate the entire settings menu tree just to make minor adjustments. Also, it disables bluetooth when using Carplay, so if you frequently like to have a passenger DJ from their phone while you use Carplay for maps, you can forget about it. iDatalink allows you to use the vehicle's factory display screen to display artist/track info except it doesn't do it on Carplay. It just displays "Apple Carplay" on the screen until it doesn't and then it'll display random things like radio stations you're not even listening to. On a positive note I found the HD radio to be quite good, and the pre-amp doesn't clip even at max volume (verified with scope). I ended up replacing it with a Pioneer DMH-2660NEX and find it to be a much better value overall and I'm much happier with it. Doesn't have any of the shortcomings the ILX-407 has for less $$$.

Pros: -Good quality pre-amp -HD radio sounds great and nice UI. - Fast and responsive UI.

Cons: - 5 Band EQ is a joke - Software bugs - Poor quality display in Carplay. - Disables bluetooth when using Carplay.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio for the price

Crutchfield customer from Elk River, MN on 9/16/2021

2011 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always have had Alpine headunits. Love the features of this radio.

Pros: Easy to wire up with the datalink.

Cons: Need to wire to the park brake so that all features are available when it is depressed.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Lunenburg, MA on 9/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, Apple play works great, display is great and touch screen is nice. Install kit and instructions were helpful. Installed in about 1 hour including making up wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Hicksville, NY on 9/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed last night. So far so good. Seems to work well and is easy to control

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Top notch

Rusty from Campbellsville on 9/15/2021

2015 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, I really like the low profile back. A lot different receiver than back in the 90's, plus a big shout out to the Crutchfield team. I hate asking for help but I had to call twice for this install. These people know their stereos. Thank you

Pros: Low profile back

Cons: Only 1 usb port on back

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Sherrills Ford, NC on 9/15/2021

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A ton of value for your buck with this unit, with typical Alpine quality. Some may miss the 9 band EQ (this has an 'old school' 5 band option), but if are running a subwoofer and leverage the high and low pass crossovers properly, there is plenty of flexibility for tuning your system. The ability to customize the interface by moving around icons is very handy and an upgrade over the ILX-650 (which I also have, and really like). As always, fast delivery and solid support from Crutchfield.

Pros: Plug and play if you're replacing an alpine unit. Nice interface. Super easy installation (shallow).

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Madison

Kevin from Madison on 9/15/2021

2003 GMC Yukon XL Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best double DIN unit for those families that are split between Android and Apple phones. Car Play and Android Auto capable with all the features! Only reason why this review is 4 stars is that power-on system setup of the head unit required a call to Crutchfield's tech support line (Alpine's owner's manual provided doesn't cover enough about setup). But, after about twenty minutes of trouble shooting, they had me up and running in our 2003 GMC Yukon XL Denali. The performance of this Alpine unit is outstanding. The radio was able to pick up several HD stations in our vicinity, and the USB interface for the phones provides all the meta-data for your Amazon Music, Spotify, iTunes, and Waze content. The navigation uses your phone's GPS, but the displays are instantaneously updated on the screen, and the turn by turn directions also have no delay. My only complaint with this system is that the Bluetooth connection for music streaming has seriously lower volume capacity than what you get with the USB connection. This may be due to a different initial setup volume for Bluetooth than for the USB. I haven't researched it yet in the Alpine on-line manuals. There also is a little delay feedback when using Bluetooth for phone calls, but this may be due to the microphone placement rather than the head unit. All in all, I am happy though, with the price point of this system. It does exactly what it needs to do on our "grocery getter"!

Pros: Small depth form factor allows the GM harness adapter interface puck, chime, and ancillary wiring to be placed behind the unit.

Cons: Bluetooth microphone feedback on calls and lowered volume output for music compared to the USB connection. Initial factory setup directions on head unit not specific for connectivity or identification/use for back- up camera. Call to Crutchfield's tech support saved the day!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Small volume buttons.

Crutchfield customer from Pawtucket, RI on 9/15/2021

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome so far. I just wish the volume buttons were slightly bigger.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Touchscreen

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 3 of the ILX-650 for my other cars now I'm second guessing that and wish I would have waited. The iLX-407 is AWESOME. The styling, it's size, sound quality and overall ease of use. I custom fit it in my 1964 GTO dash bezel and because of it's size and weight it worked out perfect. I'm sure I won't use all of it's features but I'm going to try! Good job Alpine.

Pros: Features, size, weight, ease of use

Cons: Not at the moment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Kevin from Montgomery, AL on 9/15/2021

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As already mentioned, installed the ILX-407 and the sub settings don't save. I get decent output, but once I close the Fader/Balance/Bass/Treble/SubW Menu, all my sub level settings are lost. Hopefully a firmware release can fix this. Until then, I guess I'll just have to max the output on my Alpine subwoofer amp and use the attached volume controller. Frustrating....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Crutchfield customer from Mc Lean, VA on 9/15/2021

2007 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this head unit. Perfect for my 2007 XJ.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome product

Chris from Sunnyvale, CA on 9/14/2021

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was waiting about a year for the ILX-w650 to come back into stock and once I saw this unit I jumped on it. This is apparently a newer model than the W650 (maybe they had to redesign due to chip shortages?) I've had it working for a few days on my 2013 base Impreza and so far it's amazing. It's quick and responsive. Sounds great with the new speakers I installed 3 years ago from Crutchfield. I also installed a backup camera. 3 days in I see a lot of finger print smudges already so I'll need to figure out how to deal with that. I had problems initially; It needs to see a 0->12 V transition of the braking brake being applied. I thought I had a dud when I couldn't setup Android Auto or change any of the settings until I realized it needed the braking brake signal to be real. Even if the parking brake is applied then I turn the car on, I need to release the parking brake and reapply it in order to enter some of the settings/etc menus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value to get CarPlay, HD radio, SiriusXM, and camera

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want Apple CarPlay, HD radio, SiriusXM, and backup cam to an older car (or you are budget mindful), price & value are important. This new model fits the ticket perfectly. HD radio is the real value bonus. Most units with HD radio are either very low cost models (no screen), or very high cost. This model is "just right!" And if you want to add an amp, there is room behind it to add a compact Alpine Amp!

Pros: Short chassis leaves lots for extra room behind radio for wires, steering control box, cam power box, cables, or Alpine amp, if you want more power.

Cons: For Honda Element EX, you lose old built-in XM radio, but you can add SiriusXM if you want. And you keep the Honda Amp for power!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Robert from DACULA, GA on 9/13/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great install for a 15' Wrangler JK. Love the features. Eliminated my windshield mounted phone holder!

Pros: Easy install, great features,

Cons: Need to replace my factory speakers now

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Spokane

James from Spokane on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros: Alpine rocks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Patrick from Brighton, MI on 9/10/2021

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding radio. Little to no lag when using apple car play. Was easy to set up with the idatalink maestro as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice unit, would buy again

Brandon from Cincinnati, OH on 9/10/2021

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, sounds good. Fairly simple to install. Installed in 2017 Toyota Tacoma. One thing to note, if you are using iDatalink Maestro, when you enter the radio serial number, only enter the last 9 characters, with lowercase letters. I called Crutchfield who mentioned this, and they referred me to ADS (idatalink) support who confirmed it. Motion on screen is fluid and smooth. Very responsive. Sounds better than stock headunit (non-JBL). Carplay is fantastic and video playback is a huge plus.

Pros: smooth and responsive touch screen sounds good carplay/android auto video playback from USB drive Small size, good for vehicles where space is at a premium optional amp attaches directly to unit, simplifying install as you don't have to run wires to a remote location.

Cons: no wireless carplay/android auto no support for dimmer control through vehicle illumination circuit (if someone from crutchfield could confirm this? and tell me how auto dimming works on this unit I would appreciate that) Serial number issue is not documented (that I could find) although this only matters with Maestro module and won't matter after install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine iLX-407

Gregory from Woodbury, MN on 9/9/2021

2011 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace an older kenwood unit I had in my Jeep Wrangler. The sound quality of the Kenwood was "ok", but the UI was terrible, the startup was terribly slow, the display was very hard to read in the sunlight, the bluetooth connectivity was unreliable and sometimes didn't work and it didn't support apple carplay. I was hoping for a big upgrade by moving to an Alpine unit. What IS really nice: - startup performance - display/UI - very well laid out, customizable and responded well to user inputs - apple carplay works great - bluetooth works great Unfortunately...and this is big...the sound quality is bad... Flat and/or harsh high end (I'm using very nice JL audio amps and speakers), 5 band graphic eq that doesn't work intuitivily...when you try to boost low frequencies for example, it just lowers the overall volume, instead of boosting the low frequencies. Also, the "LOW" frequency in the EQ is 250 HZ....what? Common sense says it should be in the 80 or 100 hz range...not 250. No loudness control. The subwoofer control doesn't really make any difference and the sound of my sub changed significantly. No punch, lack of fullness and not as loud. Also the "sub level" control, when you change a setting, if you leave the screen and come back, it zeros out again. Does not save the settings. the worst part...apparently the sub issues are known, but alpine still sold it. Also...I emailed Alpine support and no response. UNACCEPTABLE.

Pros: * looks nice * fast startup * excellent configurable UI * carplay/bluetooth work great

Cons: * sound quality * EQ functionality * subwoofer control/sound quality * LACK OF RESPONSE FROM ALPINE SUPPORT * oh....and.....sound quality

Crutchfield response on 9/13/2021
Gregory, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Papillion

Gerald from Papillion on 9/9/2021

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2005 Mustang GT. Wayyyyy better sound the the factory unit. Love the sound and the Android Auto connection. The radio is easy to install, use and configure. The initial software build is a bit buggy but overall love the unit.

Pros: - Great sound - Android Auto (note: Via USB)

Cons: - New release so the initial software build has some bugs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An excellent stereo!! Great features and impressive sound!!

Brian from Southeastern, PA on 9/9/2021

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is Awesome! I ordered it a few months ago when I was figuring out what to do with my audio project, and it was worth the wait. It started with a simple speaker replacement project on my 2002 Silverado RC/Z71. I bought some Alpine component speakers for the doors and Kickers for the rear pillars. Things sort of snowballed from there to include the iLX-407 head unit, the KTA450 amp, a powered subwoofer, an XM receiver, and a BU camera. The HU and the amp together produce truly excellent sound with tons of adjustable features, a clean UI, and some nice customization features. Android Auto connectivity was iffy until I got the latest phone patch and replaced USB cable. All very good now. Due to the supply chain issues with actually getting any radio, I had plenty of time to install the speakers, wire the sub and a distribution block for the amp power, and also run the XM wire from the third light back to the dash. The wiring harnesses that came with the HU and AMP worked with the factory connector with no issues. This was my first radio install, but the effort is basically matching up wire colors and figuring out a few other connections, which is relatively intuitive. The 99-02 Chevy trucks require a new dash adapter to accommodate the 2 DIN screen, and the one I bought here at Crutchfield fit snugly with no issues. Big thanks to Jenny @Crutchfield for helping me order just the stuff I needed and calling me a few times to keep me informed on

Pros: Produces clear, loud, and clean sound Tons of audio adjustment features Customizable screens ( Place things you want on a drag and drop screen, so Time, Stereo, Apps, and "Turn Screen Off" button can be moved around as needed; I also updated my wallpaper to include the family) Android Auto HD Radio Compact size - Fit for my truck is tight for older big HUs, but the radio and amp fit nicely with no cutting or mods needed

Cons: I still wish I could buy a modern radio with a volume knob... HDMI connector in a tough, right angle adapter not included, but I really don't think I would ever use it, so not a big deal

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgraded from Factory Stereo... WORTH. IT.

Rob from Monterey, CA on 9/9/2021

2016 Toyota Prius V

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the factory stereo in my 2016 Toyota Prius V. Bought the upgraded integration package with the iDataLink Maestro RR, so retained all steering wheel controls and other factory features. Was a little bummed it doesn't have wireless CarPlay/Android Auto, but since I plug my phone in to charge it every time I'm in the car anyway it's not worth another $180 for the next head unit with that feature. May upgrade with the KTA-450 later on when I upgrade my speakers, so great that that amp integrates easily with this stereo. All in all, no complaints, and great pre and post sales support from Crutchfield. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great feature set, retained factory controls, slim install into dash space.

Cons: No wireless CarPlay, but expected at this price point

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP