Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
137 210 552 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
137 210 552 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Digital multimedia receiver — a 9" touchscreen that fits in a DIN dash opening (does not play CDs)

MFR # ILX-F259

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Digital multimedia receiver — a 9" touchscreen that fits in a DIN dash opening (does not play CDs)

MFR # ILX-F259

55 reviews
View this product

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Mendocino, CA on 7/4/2020

1997 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Wayzata, MN on 6/30/2020

2004 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably the best media unit I've had in a car to date. The large buttons and touchscreen are user friendly, menus are easy to navigate, and CarPlay is amazing. Unit will fit in a 2004 Lexus GX470 w/ Mark Levinson & Nav in the factory tape deck location without obstructing the climate controls or L-N-H shifter, but requires an aftermarket harness to interface with the existing system and retain functionality of the existing screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Matthew from MCMINNVILLE, OR on 6/21/2020

2011 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic huge screen that looks glorious and was easy to position perfectly in my MB Sprinter van. Has good CarPlay functionality and big screen makes CarPlay very easy to use. Installation was smooth and easy with Crutchfield's instructions and only took an afternoon. The only thing keeping this from 5 stars is the volume up/down buttons are small and not very sensitive so I often had to take my eyes off the road to turn it down. I wish there was a small knob I could grab without looking. I ended up using an aftermarket steering wheel button product as a result. I just updated the firmware so it's too soon to tell if it fixed it, but occasionally (about 1 in 5 car starts) the USB output with my real Apple iPhone lightning cable isn't recognized and I have to disconnect and reconnect it. The same thing happens sometimes on my newer car with a factory CarPlay unit so maybe it's Apple's problem. Another weird thing is my reverse camera and my subwoofer didn't work when both were first attached. Eventually after troubleshooting for an hour, I realized they were default set to OFF in Alpine's long settings screens. That's an odd choice-why not set every feature to ON by default and let people turn off what they don't need after? It's a great unit with a great fit and finish and it's almost perfect.

Pros: Huge, beautiful screen that looks great and functions well. A great CarPlay unit for any car.

Cons: Wish it had a volume knob instead of tiny buttons, setup could have been smoother.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Ken from MCKINNEY, TX on 6/3/2020

2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headunit, easy to install and Crutchfield provides an additional diagrams to make the install even easier. Highly recommendated!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 5/24/2020

2004 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality could be better

Pros: Big and easy

Cons: Pixel quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Doral, FL on 5/20/2020

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Madera, CA on 5/18/2020

2015 Chevrolet Suburban LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You'd be nice if you could adjust it left/right instead of just up and down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, MS on 5/12/2020

2011 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is everything I expected and more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio - bad mounting and usb options

Crutchfield customer from Demorest, GA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give it 5 stars but it does have a couple of setbacks that I really find annoying. 1st is the installation - Unless your car originally uses bolts/screws in the sides of the factory radio to hold your single din in place this radio will be a major pain to install. It is not like a normal single din where you bend the tabs on the sleeve to hold it in the dash. This one doesn't even come with a mounting sleeve it must be mounted using screws inside the dash. My 2000 BMW Z3 doesn't use screws to hold in the factory din so I had to do major modifications to the car dash to mount the radio. 2nd USB - Don't get me wrong I like the google drive but some places where we drive (mountains) you don't get real good phone reception so I like to play songs from a thumb drive. Because the radio only has one USB input I am constantly switching between my phone and thumb drive. and the USB is a cord from the back of the radio that has to be run from under the dash (not very aesthetically pleasing. Other than these couple of things the radio is good and lives up to the hype.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Halifax

William from Halifax on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this H/U works well with my galaxy s9 and is usually seamless only few problems are the android auto dosnt darken the map at night which leads to turning off the screen when needed the most and the last is the head unit seems to get confused when connected to the phone as to which source you want to use . For instance to get spotify to work after the phone is plugged in you will have to reconnect and usually it will work but not always. Still love the unit and would recommend it to others.

Pros: Bright clear screen. Sound is great

Cons: Sometimes a little glitchy and confused

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boise

Erin from Boise on 4/28/2020

2014 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this unit installed for about a week now. Here are my cons: - took 10 hrs to install in my Nissan xterra, and still couldnt get steering wheel controls to function properly. - bulky screen that sticks out. - android auto does not function unless phone is plugged into the back of the deck. - long start up times with android auto. - long initial start up. - all settings are not accessible unless parking break is engaged. (Including all sound settings). - bluetooth does not show song titles while using pandora. - deck does not seem like it will hold up on bumpy roads. Pros: - adjustable screen. Not impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/5/2020
Erin contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 10 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 4/23/2020

2013 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mount very firm better than expected!! So far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 4/12/2020

2019 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best radio I've ever owned. Very user friendly and love the big screen. The screen makes the Apple CarPlay seem less.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ALL THE HYPE, IT WAS JUST OK

RIell from Maryland on 4/4/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ALPINE IS SUPPOSED TO BE ALL OF THAT, I COULD NOT SEE WHY WITH THIS HEADUNIT. First of all the installation process and the way it was designed as far as securing the screen was so extra for no reason. The screen is large, but the graphic quality is not up to par with smaller screens on the market today. The volume buttons are annoying, you have to hit them multiple times before you get a response, they are flush to the screen. The menus options are so extensive it can be a little overwhelming when your trying to quickly get in to make minor adjustments. The worst issue I had with this unit is that the Bluetooth and the Apple CarPlay feature both stop after a few minutes of play and have to be started over again. If your going to spend this much for a radio that's the last thing you should have to worry about. And just think I was originally going to get the one that cost $1000 I would have been even more disappointed. The sound quality is not what you would expect for the price. Basically alpine took one of their basic units and made it large put a hefty price tag on it . Wanted a large screen ,Kenwood doesn't have a nine and Crutchfield doesn't carry the pioneer big screens @ this time, so I'm swapping it out for the Sony ax8000. Crutchfield Handled my problem very quickly

Pros: Big screen,it says alpine , a nice little soft light @ the bottom of screen.

Cons: Not worth the money @ all !

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great out of the box. The screen is great how it articulates up and down. As far as glare on the screen it's no different than any tablet. I seen lots of complaints on glare which is crap, just position the screen properly and have tinted windows and it's good to go. Sound quality is good and again I seen complaints on that too; the deck isn't your end results your speakers are. Quality amps and speakers like Focal or Hertz make the difference. So before you complain about something be sure your using quality products and don't expect your deck to do all the work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Prnc Frederck, MD on 3/14/2020

2015 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Alpine unit is just incredible!! Nice and big and very easy to use. And lots of power that made my speakers sound great. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Turtle Creek, PA on 3/11/2020

2004 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Had doubts it would fit at first. But it fits perfect. Only had doubts cause of the vehicle I have. Which is a 2004 Dodge Durango SLT with the infinity sound system. But worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 3/2/2020

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and also had an inconvenient with UPS but that didn't stop CRUTHFIELD to find a quick solution to the problem , great customer service and able to provide quick solution, very responsible and professional in the business, no other place for me to find electronic for my car ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Oxnard, CA on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy the radio and all the settings it's really nice and how big the screen is alpine made a really good head Unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield is awesome

Crutchfield customer from Homestead, FL on 2/22/2020

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is awesome. The best part is getting here. I had an issue with connecting with CarPlay. They took care of it easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More of Alpine perfection!

Crutchfield customer from Plumerville, AR on 2/22/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is this such a beautiful screen. Works perfect in my 2017 Tacoma. Love everything about it and crutchfield always meets expectations on install info and hardware!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh, but does the job

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, TX on 2/17/2020

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some of my disappointment is because it is NOT "(iDatalink) Maestro Compatible", a fact that's not revealed when you use iDatalink's Maestro search page. The full impact of this doesn't become apparent until well after installation. That's where Crutchfield's sales "advisers" failed me, IMHO (they didn't have the Maestro RR2 in stock but did sell me the T01 Toyota cable harness). What's missing is a data connection for the Maestro, which not only means you cannot display any info from the car's OBD2 (which I was willing to give up to avoid paying $400 more for the older-tech ILX-F309) but it also means you have no front/back fader or other fine control over the car's JBL amp. The result still sounds good but I consider that just dumb luck. The fidelity of Bluetooth audio with an iPhone 11 is not as good a USB connection, nor is the GUI, so Carplay via USB is the best way to go. But even with Carplay, the GUI lacks touch capabilities you might be accustomed from playing music or podcasts on an iPhone. The absence of swiping or multi-touch is a noticeable loss (and driving distraction). I wish there was a way to use an iPad Mini instead of this unit's rigid, heavy, relatively low-res display, plus that would allow for an articulating mount so you could point it towards the driver. And when will we get an audio buffer for replaying the last few minutes of a radio program or pausing a radio broadcast? The technology and capabilities in the car audio space crawls along, IMHO.

Pros:

Cons: The volume level of phone calls is low compared to music in Carplay or bluetooth audio mode, even with "phone" vol level set to max. At first Siri was almost inaudible, an issue neither Alpine support nor Crutchfield could explain, but I discovered that the Carplay Notification vol slider fixes that problem. There is no OFF button so the head unit turns on with the ignition and you get whatever was last playing whether you want it or not. Calibrating rear camera guidelines requires disassembly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the 9 inch screen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Ron from Kerrville, TX on 2/6/2020

2015 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not really impressed yet. The sound quality is poor in my opinion. EQ adjustments really don't do much of anything . Bass and treble seem muddled. I'm going to try a firmware update and see what happens then.

Pros: Screen size is nice. Apple CarPlay is always good.

Cons: Sound quality sub par for a head unit at this price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 2/5/2020

2006 Mitsubishi Raider

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine ILX-F259 is everything that you expect and more. I install this in my raider 2006 and work as a charm. you can see the quality in the product very sturdy. Adjustable height is very convenient. Features as advertising describe

Pros: Easy installation ( Always consider Crutchfield Prewire)

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing

Guest from Loveland, CO on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the coolness of the screen wears off the sound quality is not the best. A lot of noise especially in the vocal ranges. Even after spending $$$ for new Focal speakers, 4 ch amp, Sub Woofer. Beware!

Pros: Good size.

Cons: Screen is a glare magnet. Sound quality is not very good. Volume buttons are not well thought out. Graphics could be much better.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Big display, good support for Apple Car Play, poor support for Android

Crutchfield customer from Peculiar, MO on 1/19/2020

2009 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big display, good support for Apple Car Play. Can't get my Pixel 3 to connect to Android Auto, even though it works flawlessly in my Honda Accord's factory headunit. Fits pretty well in a 2009 Honda Pilot, but leaves barely enough room for your handle when moving the transmission shifter. I'd buy it again for the same vehicle, but that ONLY because the primary driver uses an iPhone.

Pros: Big display. Nice bluetooth support.

Cons: Poor support for Android Auto.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Improvements Needed

Guest from Loveland, CO on 1/15/2020

2020 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bigger is not necessarily better. The show room unit looked great indoors but in your car on a sunny day looks washed out. Resolution of the display could have been better, makes locating an item difficult when you barely see it. The angle of viewing is not good also. FM radio was very weak.

Pros: Better sound quality than my stock GM Delco for sure.

Cons: Poor quality graphics. Not sharp at all. FM reception not good. USB is 2.0 and not 3.0.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo but had it downsides

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/13/2020

2018 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This looks amazing in the car but on the first sunny day the sun glare from the screen was blinding and the car play volume adjustment is way to aggressive when turning it up would like to see a steady volume adjustment as like when using the normal fm tuner

Pros: Looks good

Cons: Sun glare from the screen and the car play volume adjustment

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Schriever, LA on 1/13/2020

2007 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible Display and very easy to use

Pros: Everything!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome head unit!

Joe from Rancho Cucamonga on 1/3/2020

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this unit a couple of days ago. All the necessary harnesses and dash kit were included and free shipping! Item and accessories were as described. I love this headunit! I'm a first time buyer with Crutchfield , and will do my ordering with them from now on. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Everything included for free to install. Great sound, beautiful look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, GA on 12/16/2019

2007 Mitsubishi Raider

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be more happier with this unit. Easily on par with anything that comes factory. Apple play is flawless!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Alpine

Jeremy from Cameron, NC on 12/15/2019

2002 GMC Yukon XL Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2002 Yukon Denali with a DIN and 1/2 opening. So the only way for me to install a rearview camera was to redo the radio bucket and bezel to install a double DIN. Its hard to find and if you do people want a mint for then. Next choice is the only single DIN radio Crutchfield offers....Some garbage looking Soundstream. I decided on the Alpine ILX-F259 even though Crutchfield didn't recommend. It looked like I could make it work. I set off to work on it. Got it!!!! So the only thing I have had to worry about is the gear shift. I had to put a little bumper on my dash bezel to keep it from leaning against the screen. (as seen in picture) Overall I am happy with this install. It was a little harder than I expected but not the worst ever. I am very pleased with the look of it and I feel that the huge screen will help with the rearview camera. It seems to run fast and I haven't seen a hiccup yet. I haven't had it in that long but I expect the best from Alpine.

Pros: Huge screen, smooth OS, easy to use, apple car play and android auto.

Cons: No aux input? Really? I cant believe that! That seems so easy to just put in.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's an Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do yourself a favor. Before mounting, decide on the best screen position for your dash: depth, height, and angle, in this order. If you have a double DIN opening, then you also have another decision of whether to mount in the top or bottom positions. Set the depth, mount the DIN unit, set the height, mount the screen, screw the top plastic piece with one screw needed for power, finally set the angle and snap the side plastic pieces on Screen: Beautiful and very responsive 9" capacitive. It is anti glare matte to reduce reflection during day time. Startup time is 10 seconds, although the backup camera is instant (after a 1 second delay to prevent the camera from coming on while shifting pass the reverse gear) Sound: Alpine perfect. Volume can be adjusted on the different input sources independently. The touch beep goes through the preamp outs unlike other head units. MediaXpander HD improves the sound a lot without reducing quality or adding noise. Equalizer presets and custom 5 band do a great job without being too complicated. And the crossover is great to have when using an amp Interface: 3 customizable screens to arrange the audio sources along with other different size widgets like analog and digital clocks. Plugging an Iphone disconnects bluetooth and brings up CarPlay perfectly. I've tried almost everything on CarPlay with no problems Expandability: Was able to use all essential functions from my steering wheel. SiriusXM sounds much better th

Pros:

Cons: I noticed that if you turn the car off while on a Bluetooth call, the unit stays on even though the car and amplifier turn off. This means I lose audio and have to transfer the call to my phone. Still the unit will not turn off until I hang up, or walk out of the unit's Bluetooth range. Does not allow for splash screen customization like the F309 of the 207

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buyer Beware

Crutchfield customer from Commack, NY on 12/3/2019

2011 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

iPhone issuers beware ... CarPlay phone calls do not work. You hear slow low octave voices, the other person hears Minnie Mouse. Bluetooth calls do work. The guidelines on the backup camera seem to hover too high to be of help. The hard buttons on the bottom of the screen are not always responsive. You have to work hard to find the right place to touch to have the button respond. Other than those issues, I do like the radio enough to wait for Alpine or Apple to fix the problems.

Pros: Screen size

Cons: CarPlay phone calls, adjustability of rear camera guidelines, hard buttons not very responsive

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Solid stereo

Crutchfield customer from Rosharon, TX on 12/1/2019

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo, I thought it would be more customizable but its a solid product. The screen looked better in videos, in person its a little dull and sort of pixelated. Might keep it fir a while and then sell it when something else catches my eye.

Pros: Fast, no lag. Sounds good Android auto Excellent sound controls

Cons: Not very customizable Dull screen Face is not detachable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing buy!

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 11/10/2019

2005 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Literally had my old alpine unit for 7 years that was single din.... this one just topped it off when it was time for a new one. Loaded with tones of neat features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 10/29/2019

2007 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really cool head unit, smooth interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from New Hartford, IA on 10/27/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is very adjustable. Very rigid once installed. Screen washout on bright days is well controlled.

Pros: Adjustability, screen size just right, very easy to navigate through widgets.

Cons: Screen resolution is not good in today's standards. Black border around edges of screen takes away from appearance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 9/28/2019

2019 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big beautiful screen, with an almost OEM look in the dash of my ridgeline. Features and sound are fantastic, Screen installs very securly, no shake or wobble to the screen over even the largest bumps. Worth it now that it is installed, I will say it wasn't an easy install - the metra harnesses Crutchfield sets you up with lose the pillar tweeters and factory subwoofer, so I ended up replacing all speakers and lots of rewiring. Also, some of the wiring adapters were wrong, so there was lots of waiting on harnesses, sort of a pain. Anyways, not the receivers fault, and now that its installed seems worth the headache

Pros: Sound, features, customizable menus, apple carplay/android auto, big view with the backup camera on this 9" screen.

Cons: You'll want to do the Alpine parking brake bypass or the unit locks you out of everything when the car is moving. For my Honda, the PAC-USB TY1 adapter allowed me to maintain the USB ports in the console - ignore Crutchfield on this - its way better to be able to plug your phone into the existing usb. Also, ignore Crutchfield and get the Metra dash kit 99-7811B which is matt black and matches newer honda dashes, the 7811HG is a cheesy quality high gloss version that doesn't match.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Not yet installed

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/26/2019

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I read and watch as far as the ILX-F259 is concerned is positive. I am giving it 4 stars at this time based on others opinions. I will reserve a fifth star as I have not installed it yet. It's a Christmas gift for my daughter who is turning 16 soon. I'll give a personal review after the install and set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 20 found this helpful

This is the receiver for Apple Car Play, Wonderful screen

Herbert from Westminster, MD on 9/23/2019

2008 Cadillac Escalade ESV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this Alpine ILX-F259 in my 2008 Cadillac Escalade. With the PAC adapter I got from crutchfield I was able to keep all functionality including my steering wheel controls. It sounds much better than my stock navigation radio and I was surprised considering it was a bose amplified system. I used the service through crutchfield for a ready harness. They connected everything except for the chime box and steering wheel controls. It took me about 2.5 hours to install and that was taking my time and going through everything before install. My backup camera works and I have guidelines from alpine where my backup camera was just the picture before. There is a 1000 dollar alpine the ILX-309 but I did not need all of the other options. If you would like a tablet style 9" touchscreen and are into Apple Car Play this receiver is the best at its price point of 600 dollars.

Pros: great screen Apple Car Play Great Sound

Cons: Check carefully for fitment before install. When I shift into drive my column shifter almost makes contact with the screen.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Perfect Deck for CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Springdale, AR on 9/16/2019

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a big Apple user and rely on CarPlay for navigation, traffic, music, text and phone while on the road. I was looking for the right deck as this is my second CarPlay deck and I was not satisfied with my previous CarPlay deck. The older one was a different model by a different manufacturer and it was plagued with a dim screen, a non responsive screen and was too tiny to fully use the features of CarPlay. Consider me satisfied with the new head unit from Alpine. This unit is a dream come true as the large bright screen shows up in even full sunlight. The touch screen is super responsive and works flawlessly. A big plus is the sound coming out of the unit and it makes my old car factory speakers sound like new. Also the build quality is excellent. Even though the screen is bigger than most units I was able to make it fit in the dash. This is possible because the screen can be tilted to almost any angle and it also adjusts up and down so you can move it to reduce where it blocks the air vents. It is pretty big and will obstruct the AC vents on most dashes, but that is a small price to pay for a better screen experience. For me this is the best unit for my car and to support the use of CarPlay. If you use CarPlay it's the best on this unit!

Pros: Big responsive screen, bright screen, great sound. Controls are very responsive.

Cons: May block AC vents in the central part of the dash, but it is adjustable to minimize the impact on airflow.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from St Helena Is, SC on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After seeing this unit in my friends Toyota Tundra, I decided it was time to upgrade the unit in my 2007 Ram 2500 mega cab. I called in and spoke with Brady, he was very helpful in answering my many questions and assisting me with the ordering of my new unit. As far as the unit goes, I am quite impressed with it's capabilities. I am a Sirius/Xm lifetime subscriber, and although they no longer offer that subscription, they honored my request to change to the new tuner I purchased with my package. All functions of the radio as well as Apple play work well. It took my a little while to master the touch screen and learn that there are 3 different main menu screens. I have had the unit in my truck for a couple of weeks now and I would definitely recommend this Alpine unit.

Pros: 9" touch screen, Apple Car Play, Back-up camera, Hands free phone capability,

Cons: I haven't found any

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Modern makeover

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a nice, well built unit. Sounds great, lots of settings etc. Downsides are: Apple AirPlay is not wireless, phone volume is too low to be useful. Those two items are very important for hands free usage and functionality. I think this gives an older vehicle a modern makeover and seems to work well aesthetically in my Land Rover. Installing was tricky.

Pros: Looks and sounds great

Cons: Wired CarPlay (not wireless) & phone volume too low to be useful.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 7/30/2019

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great wiring to a newer car is more complicated looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Spring Grove, VA on 5/24/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great CarPlay headunit for an RV. Definitely impresses

Dwight from Barrie, Ontario on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is absolutely outstanding. We were replacing a 10" headunit that came with our Thor Palazzo RV (which was also absolutely fine; however, it was missing CarPlay, a feature we have since deemed mandatory when driving). Our primary concern was that we wanted a big touch screen, and this one seemed to be the largest single-DIN available (since our previous 10" touch screen was also a single DIN, and that's all we had to work with). We also wanted it to work with the OEM camera switcher, so when we activated our turn signals, it would show the respective camera on the screen and this does just that. We also needed it to fit in a DIN sleeve, which took a bit of work, but we seemed to get a satisfactory result. It already had a firmware update out of the box, so it's nice to see the product getting improvements already. Installation was simple in our Palazzo. The unit is incredibly responsive, looks great, and has extremely good clarity on Apple Maps and other apps. CarPlay is where we'll likely be spending most of our time when using the unit, but the built-in interface is actually quite nice as well. Nice customization options, like the ability to mute the audio when the rear view camera gets activated (or in our case, when we're making a lane change). It's really an outstanding unit that has far exceeded our expectations and looks nicer than the OEM unit that came with our new RV. It would've been nice if the NA unit had come with a DIN sleeve like the Euro model

Pros: CarPlay, great screen, works with OEM camera switcher on RV, single-DIN installation with a large screen, easy to install, extremely responsive, blends in relatively well in an RV

Cons: No DIN sleeve like the European model, units lights stay on even with "Display Off" enabled (our unit is powered by our RV's house batteries, and not the engine battery, so it's always got power)-- This isn't a big deal though, since the house batteries can handle it, and it makes a pretty nice nightlight

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F259

Crutchfield customer from Paris, TX on 5/6/2019

2019 Polaris Slingshot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great unit, easy to install. Customizing the home screen is intuitive as well and I'm sure that I'll have more to learn with it. The only drawback I've found is that it only accepts one video input for a camera. I have both a front and rear camera, and had to add a 3rd party video switcher to it. I do not have Alpine cameras and didn't want to replace the ones I have. While not ideal, the pros of this head-unit far out-weigh this one annoyance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Recommend to everyone

Crutchfield customer from Willow Street, PA on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is based off of my use of this radio for about a month,in an installation performed by me in a 05 Chrysler Crossfire. Considering this isn't even supposed to fit, the installation was not more difficult than any other mechless install. I am driving 3 amplifiers so I can't comment on the headunit amp sound. The 4v output is clean and powerful (total wattage for my car is app. 2500). The unit Powers up quickly and is ready to use in about 5 seconds, the default icons are worthwhile but easily modified like one would on an android phone, Apple users may be confused. I don't use media stored on my phone and stream from mostly youtube music and google music. The controls are responsive and accurate. I really bought this radio for Android Auto and couldn't go double din and couldn't deal with the flip out screen anymore. AA loads up fast automatically when I plug in my phone(it clearly says in the radio description it's not a wireless connection), which is ok because it charges the phone too. Where I found this radio to be excellent where others have complained is in the crossover and time correction. Using equalization IMO ruins the sound. Use good speakers and you shouldn't need to cut and boost. Once I set the frequencies where needed and measure for time correction, this radio really came alive. The cons for me is the horrible owners manual and the absolutely painful method for importing custom wallapers (.bmp really? This is 2019) I'd write more but I'm out of spa

Pros: Excellent sounding Huge screen, good in sunlight Simple to operate Time correction feature Worth the money

Cons: Worthless owners manual Importing wallpaper is archaic

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Best single DIN upgrade

Jason from Corona, CA on 4/2/2019

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm well aware of the difference in functions between this and the ILX-F309. Since my car is a 2006 with no steering wheel controls,I opted for the this particular unit. With that said, this stereo is awesome! I don't miss my KIV-BT901 at all.

Pros: SiriusXM, CarPlay, Bluetooth streaming, capacitive touch screen

Cons: No HD radio. Said it wouldn't fit and it does.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Almost Great

Scott from Marseilles, IL on 3/25/2019

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice head unit and and the 9 inch capacitive touch screen is really nice for Android Auto and Apple Car play. Audio quality is also perfectly acceptable for music. It does have some draw backs though. Call volume is super low no matter what I do and no volume adjustment makes any difference at all. People say they can hear me fine, but I have to pull over and turn my car off to hear the very quiet phone calls. There is no aux input, but the description says it can control and play files from Android, that is not true, it will only interface with Android Auto. Because of this I can't access my FLAC collection on the phone, pretty major drawback. Lastly the Sirius XM radio implementation is super basic, no station or album art, can't get tunemix or weather now to work either. It's a shame to just look at a big grey default icon on that 9 inch screen instead of station or album art. This unit is close to greatness, but needs a little polish to get the rest of the way there. If all you want is the biggest screen implementation you can get for AA or Car Play, this will do the trick, but it's not the total package I had hoped it would be.

Pros: Big screen, good audio quality and audio adjustment settings. Good Android Auto and Car Play function.

Cons: Phone calls are to quiet to actually be heard while driving. Satellite radio implementation is lacking. Can't access files on Android.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Nice Alpine!!

Crutchfield customer from Natchez, MS on 3/21/2019

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the overall look and feel of this head unit. The controls are different and take bit of getting used to but definitely worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Truth

Aaron from Phoenix, AZ on 3/15/2019

2017 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my impression after installing myself and using for one day. The android auto works well with the cable, doesn't work at all wireless. There is no icon to launch android auto from the unit, so you have to scan through the sources to find it. The widgets are cheesey and generic looking, reminiscent of 2008-2010 era pioneer units. The screen itself is a bit lack luster and lacking in design effort. It's easy to navigate and works well for the basics, but being an Alpine and costing $600 it's disappointing. The equalizer is a major let down, I have a much cheaper head unit in my other vehicle that has a lot more options and capabilities. The auto dimming is pretty much a joke, I had to turn everything down all the way manually to be able to tolerate it at night. The installation was a major pain, setting it up took much longer than any other deck I've ever installed and looks a bit unfinished in the end with the screen sticking out. If I had it to do again I would have either gone with the f309 or a Standard dual din unit from another manufacturer. I'm on the fence about keeping this one at all.

Pros: Android Auto, Apple Car Play work well

Cons: Disappointed overall

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP