Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Digital multimedia receiver — a 9" touchscreen that fits in a DIN dash opening (does not play CDs)

MFR # ILX-F309

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Digital multimedia receiver — a 9" touchscreen that fits in a DIN dash opening (does not play CDs)

MFR # ILX-F309

52 reviews
View this product

VERSATILE HEAD UNIT!

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 10/31/2019

2000 AMG Hummer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SIZE! BEAUTIFUL DISPLAY. ENDLESS FEATURES

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LAND ROVER DISCOVERY 2 COMPATABLE

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2003 LAND ROVER DISCOVERY II HSE It originally said that it doesn't fit my Land Rover Discovery II, but luckily Im a skeptic because I can tell you that it absolutely does fit perfectly and it absolutely looks and works GREAT!!! I had an Alpine unit installed a couple years ago so I could have bluetooth so when I installed the Halo 9, it was a simple plug and play installation, with exception to the USB connection for CarPlay, but that was very easy to wire through dash. Now I have CarPlay and the screen looks really nice. If you have an old Disco, GET THIS UNIT. It really looks great in the vehicle. Don't get me started about the Crutchfield Customer Service... They are flawless too! Colt & Zach are awesome and patient. I asked a million questions for clarification and they were happy to help. Thanks guys!

Pros: Looks and works perfectly in my Land Rover Disco 2. CarPlay is super handy, volume sounds great, bluetooth functions flawlessly, voice to text also flawless and Google Maps & Apple Maps look great, day or night. As good or better then any rental car I've ever had. Fits snug and solid, although i haven't tested it off road yet, Im sure it will be fine. Once installed, it looks similar to the unit in the modern C-Class Mercedes.

Cons: One small complaint. The volume buttons are a little annoying, but once I get the steering wheel controls set up, I won't have this issue any longer. Im can patiently make due until I get around to the steering wheel set up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

2009 Honda Accord coupe EXL

Collin from Garden City, KS on 8/15/2019

2009 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this radio for about 6 months now and I must say this thing is state of the art. It is rather expensive compared to other options but this radio works very well, I enjoy the Android audio and the sound system settings along with being able to control the setting with my phone via an app. Installation wasn't too hard at all and the staff here did an amazing job helping me out and always being available. I did a complete custom as opposed to the kit crutchield sent but money well spent. I'd highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons: Interphase isn't as advanced as Kenwood but still a great OS/interphase none the less

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo 9 in Dodge Ram

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, TX on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure where to begin, so lets start by saying AWESOME Head Unit. The sound is excellent and I am super pleased. Currently running AudioControl , Orion & Canton Speakers. My previous bouts with Alpine aren't great(CD skipping and eventually going out/Although great sound). I decided to go mechless and within the last 2 months have returned (2) Pioneer NEX units to Crutchfield with broken CD Players. Love the built in HD radio and love all the available features. Packaging for unit was 1st rate(packed well/felt expensive because it is) Will definately be adding the DVD player along with a dual camera setup by Christmas. Fingers X'd this unit holds up.

Pros: Excellent Sound, Looks great!

Cons: Installation can be cumbersome

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 7/14/2019

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic unit works great, screen is extremely responsive ,crutchfield said it wouldn't fit in my dash " I made that happen lol"

Pros: Awesome screen great product

Cons: Kac-001 accessories module requires a idatalink module to function , I datalink don't make software for my vehicle , so I can't get full functionality out of the radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, MA on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

UI is clean and pretty smooth. Where this head unit shines is the audio quality. The EQ and Crossover settings really make for extremely crisp and clear audio. Android Auto works well with my Pixel 3. I had Crutchfield solder/crimp my harness and have it ready to plug and play with the iDatalink Maestro, so it literally was as simple as programming the the Maestro, plugging it all in, and then setting up the EQ and Crossover. The screen is nice a large, although the resolution is not HD. It's not a big deal, as I'm not watching videos on it. It's more for install esthetics. I have a 2015 Highlander, and a 7" double din unit leaves a lot of dead space around it when replacing the factory system. So, the resolution on the screen isn't a deal breaker at all. Some app icons/buttons look bad with the poor resolution. It certainly would be nice to have at least 720p on a 9" screen, so maybe in the next iteration. It also would be nice to have wireless Android Auto, but again it's not a deal breaker. Lastly, the antenna is weak. I have the adapter to plug the factory amplified antenna, but reception is weaker on this compared to the factory HU. Factory look - 5 stars Audio quality - 5 stars UI - 4 stars Screen size - 5 stars Screen resolution - 3 stars Features/tech - 3 stars In summary, the Halo9 is a fantastic head unit that loses 1 star for being slightly behind the tech curve with regard to screen resolution and wireless AA.

Pros: Audio quality, esthetics/factory look, capacitive touchscreen

Cons: Cost, no wireless AA, screen resolution, weak radio antenna

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 7/1/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty awesome headunit, wasnt that difficult to install.. just need common sense I think.. I installed it myself along with an amp, a powered sub, and 8 speakers.. took about 5 hours because I wanted everything to be put on perfectly... all in all the headunit is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

David from Bowie, MD on 5/30/2019

2014 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the HU with Idatalink Maestro RR, which when I called Crutchfield I was told does not work with Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X (*You may want to update your information Conrad-thanks). The install was reasonably simple if you can follow instruction/simple wiring diagrams, still time consuming. I have been using the unit for a week now and really like it, Apple car play works well, all settings are easy to use, you should download the app to go with it. The gauges on screen seem to be reasonably accurate, speed and rpm are spot on, the rest I really have no way to gauge accuracy. Everything is clear, HU is being used in conjunction with Alpine KTP-445A small amplifier and Focal PC130/Access 130/AS, sound is crisp and clear, I really need add some bass to balance everything out but so far really only have good things to say about this HU.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't buy if its primary use is for maps on Android Auto/Carplay

Guest from Houston, TX on 3/20/2019

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An honest review of this product would show you how the navigation shows either from Carplay of Android Auto. I say honest because that is the only deficiency this product has. Yet, that's the only source of navigation you can use on this product. So, if you are considering this product mainly due to its navigation through either Android Auto or Carplay this is a product you need to stay away from. Simply put, DO NOT BUY if using maps on either platform. Since a picture says a million words, I'll attach a few so that you all can see what I mean (the contrast between the whites and dark colors makes it impossible to see the roads). Otherwise, the unit is full of features. Good luck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 49 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Vallejo, CA on 3/19/2019

2005 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head unit with all the bells and whistles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Bradley from Austin, TX on 3/1/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice head unit so don't let the stars fool you. The first and major point that warrants 3 stars is the terrible resolution. When you purchase an $900 device these days you expect a screen that has higher than 480p resolution! Other than that the other draw back is the lack of a built in microphone requiring you to install the clunky and oddly built Alpine mic. Beyond that there isn't much to complain about. I installed this in a 2016 Tundra and it fits perfectly! Also allows for the addition of a new storage pocket under the single din chassis - positive!.

Pros:

Cons: Screen resolution No built in mic

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Anthony from Deptford,Nj on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful radio. Does not come with a mounting sleeve it European version does. Can't figure that one out. With some help and idea from Tim from Crutchfield I fit this unit into a 2018 Kenworth W900.Everything was there for the install with the exception of a mounting sleeve of which would have made things easier .

Pros: All wiring and screws made install nice and easy.

Cons: No mounting sleeve.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW Amarok V6 TDi

Graciliano from São Paulo / Brazil on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is Great than I am waiting it. It has been Installed on 2018 VW Amarok V6 Turbo Diesel Truck. 2 kits Focal Utopia Be ( N7 and N6 ) were Install too. Alpine Slim Subwoofer. Alpine Processor PXA-H800 Alpine DVD DVE-5300 See pictures...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Graciliano from São Paulo - Brazil on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greater than I wait it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds great, a bit quirky getting into the settings

Crutchfield customer from North Olmsted, OH on 1/25/2019

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i installed this in my 2017 wrx. The sound is so much better than the stock head unit. I really love the android auto, something that i have not used before. i only have positive things to say. I really like the TPMS information that the unit puts out if using the iDatalink Maestro unit and the supplied OBD 2 cable. If installing into a Subaru, and have an access port make sure you get an OBD2 y cable to use both the rear camera functionality and retain the accessport. The only negative is that i had to tap into the parking brake wiring to get the setup of the unit to work (my car is a manual). Also, if the car is off and parking brake engaged when powering on the unit you will not be able to get into the setup, unless you disengage and reengage the parking brake.

Pros: great sound.

Cons: - a bit quirky about entering setup on manual cars - a bit slow to connect android auto - some connectivity issues with bluetooth sometimes.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Dianne from Jennings, FL on 1/20/2019

2016 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with it

Pros: Everything

Cons: Complicated installation not really for first timers

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

2001 Tacoma Revisited after 8 months - Now 4 instead of 5.

Scott from Riverside, CA on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

UPDATE: I reviewed new in May 2018. See pictures in that review. Now dropping from 5 to 4 stars after 8 months of constant use. I am still very happy with the Halo9, providing my 2001 Tacoma with Apple Car Play and a good back up camera view. Maps from iPhone also work great and the voice is loud. iPhone music can play while maps are on the screen and easily switch back and forth with a tap. Map voice is loud and clear over music even while driving a loud old truck with noisy tires. Also happy with the ability to use a USB device loaded with music rather than iPhone. Why four stars now: Volume controls and on/off control. Driving in a truck and trying to change volume is a pain. The touch points are so small I feel like a drunk doing the nose touch sobriety test. Finding the on touch point in the dark is impossible, and turning the unit off requires holding that tiny touch point for six seconds. If you can ride a bull for eight seconds then you can hold off for six. Mute and display off at night are good. Also like the HD radio functions for good over air sound.

Pros: Apple Car Play, Maps, Map Voice, Camera View, Large on screen buttons, Mute, Display off at night, Sound (with upgraded speakers), USB and Line In options, HD FM stations (works well in So Cal anyway).

Cons: Volume Up/Down too small, No remote for volume, Off too small and takes forever, On too hard to find in the dark

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Neil from Fortuna, CA on 1/13/2019

2006 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as impressive as I had hoped. While angles and depth are adjustable they are in fixed positions.

Pros: Screen size.

Cons: Only one usb.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Great fit and large screen

Crutchfield customer from Estero, FL on 11/23/2018

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installation went fairly well. Had to make a few minor mods to the install kit as well as the monitor kit in order to make it fit well in my 2018 RAM 1500. Major issues with getting OBDII wiring set up correctly. Took five calls to crutchfield tech support and Maestro tech support to get it done. Also, the RAM USB kit for the center console was a major fail. The USB Board in the kit did not fit. Came to find out, Maestro doesn't even make one. Regardless, the Alpine deck fit well and has many great features. Sound quality is so so. EQ not the best to set up.

Pros: NIce large screen Easy install Lots of features

Cons: Sound quality so so

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 11/18/2018

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. I get so many compliments

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Creek, CA on 11/13/2018

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing looks great in my 2015 VW Passat Limited. There were a lot of wires for my first time installing a car stereo but Crutchfield made it a breeze. Now I feel like I could install any stereo!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from PA on 10/23/2018

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is really nice. Fits great in my Ram1500 with a little modification to the metal bracket thats on the truck. Perfect size screen for bigger vehicles!

Pros: bigger screen easy set up works well with maestro

Cons: none so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 10/12/2018

2006 Porsche Cayenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth it! Works like a tablet/iPad!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Gary from Carlsbad, CA on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros: Apple car play Back up camera on big screen Installed in 06 tundra and fits well

Cons: A little pricey but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

David from Redondo Beach, CA on 9/18/2018

2008 Saab 9-3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was desperate to like this unit, but it's easily the worst head unit I've ever purchased or seen, ever. I will leave the fact that it looks very cheap and aftermarket sticking out of the dash out of it, because you know that going into it. So I won't blame Alpine for that. But, this screen is the same resolution as the smaller screens. So now blow that up into 9" and it's by far the absolute worst quality I've ever seen in a modern screen. It was like I was wearing someone else's glasses while looking at the head unit. The quality is so bad, when I had the "Apple Car Play" up and had a message, there's that little red circle in the corner of the green message icon (everyone with an iphone knows what I mean) indicating you have a message. On this screen, that's not a circle. You can actually see all the little squares that are put together to make the circle, it's like you're looking at an old dot matrix picture. It gave me a headache. Then the ease of use was junk. The stereo was constantly confused trying to figure out how to go from Car Play to radio and so on. The icons would disappear showing what function you pressed and you needed to just press buttons for the icons to pop up again. And don't get me started with the sound quality. It's beyond confusing to work and the sound is atrocious. I even went to Al & Eds to have one of those guys play with it, and he even said it's just a bad stereo. With that said, Crutchfield rocks. I will only buy from them.

Pros: Crutchfield. What a great company. Very friendly and took this unit back no questions asked. Sent out my Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S replacement in just a fews days and it's outstanding.

Cons: Terrible screen quality, bad sound, confusing EQ, slow, just bad all around. The picture of the band playing in the corner of the screen is mostly a blur. Not sharp at all.

Crutchfield response on

34 of 47 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 8/30/2018

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible! It made my stock speakers in my 2018 Rav4 sound amazing. Touch screen is very intuitive and CarPlay works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great unit, Even better Service!

Brian from Kansas City, MO on 8/14/2018

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic unit, And with Crutchfield's Ready Harness service, it made installing an absolute breeze! Had to make a few minor modifications to the dash with a Dremel to make it fit, but in the end was well worth it! Had an issue with one of the wires, and a quick phone conversation with Crutchfield had it instantly cleared up.

Pros: Huge screen, responsive touch, awesome looking!

Cons: Testing before install is somewhat cumbersome with screen. Had a grounding issue.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Tundra 2014

Rick from Dallas, TX on 8/5/2018

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in my Tundra! Doesn't block any air vents. Great deck

Pros: Doesn't block any air vents and sounds great with stock speakers, sounded even better after I replaced the stock speakers!

Cons: Maps Display could be better. When in reverse or viewing cameras it has a warning box that is super imposed on the screen limiting how much you can see. Wish I could turn that off. "Never rely solely on the camera"

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Camilo from Hollywood FL on 8/3/2018

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one heck of an amazing "tablet". Alpine has really been keeping up with the current design of high end luxury vehicles and to bring this to us peons to enjoy it well its awesome. A ton of sounds customization has took me almost 1 week to get it tuned just right. The only issue I found is that when you install this in a 2018 vehicle YOU NEED idatalink maestro RR unit and the required wired harness. As an example I purchased this for a 2018 Subaru Forester and it needed a Maestro RR and SU2 so I can take advantages of vehicle communications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic head unit

James from Reston, VA on 7/16/2018

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2018 Jeep Wrangler JKU. There will be a relatively decent amount of customization required by the installer but it can be done. The finished product looks terrific so it's well worth the effort. My only complaint is with the required Maestro unit. You will need the Maestro if you want to retain your steering wheel controls and vehicle info--it works great but it requires a computer running Windows 7 using Internet Explorer to program it (WHAT?!?!) and their tech support was completely unhelpful. The guy told me to go to my local big box electronics retailer and have them program it. Anyway, the ILX-F309 is a great head unit. Tons of features, incredible display that does very well in sunlight or if you're wearing sunglasses. And the capacitive display is exactly like using an iPad. As always Crutchfield was fast with the shipping and has great customer service. I had to call them for a minor issue (caused by me) and they were very friendly and helpful (thanks Lefty!) I will definitely be coming back to Crutchfield to complete my system! Complete transformation in sound and presentation compared with the factory unit. The junk stock speakers actually sound decent at a medium volume now whereas before it was intolerable if you're into quality sound.....and if you're reading this you probably are ??

Pros: -Great sound -Features -Anti glare screen -iPad like display (except for the resolution) -9 adjustable band EQ -Built-in crossover

Cons: Screen resolution could be a bit better

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Massive screen makes Double DIN look puny!

Michael from Annapolis, MD on 7/14/2018

2000 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I love this unit as it allows me to get a large oversized screen (makes a double DIN look puny!) in my BMW where are double DIN is really not possible. It looks amazing in my car and fits like it was a factory option. Using Apple Car Play through the voice or touch screen works well. It's great to be able to use my phones powerful processing capability conveniently in my car.

Pros: Great Look for single DIN cars that cannot install a Double DIN unit Apple Car Play allows great use of the power of the iPhone Screen easily readable even in my convertible in full sunlight Good sound quality with 4 volt pre-outs Flexible mounting to fit many single DIN cars Can customize icons for your personal needs

Cons: No iPod Classic controls Screen is only Standard Definition - No HD Must use USB connection to use Apple Car Play (Cannot use Bluetooth only connection for Apple Car Play)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great radio, bad camera interface

Neil from Rome GA on 7/12/2018

2017 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is great however, the back up camera worked for one day then nothing.... replaced the camera and replaced the alpine wiring harness for the camera input. Still nothing. I've had dozens of Alpines over the years and am really disappointed I am having issue with this unit .

Pros: Love the huge touch screen

Cons: Back up camera stopped displaying after one day

Crutchfield response on 7/16/2018
Neil, we're sorry you're having issues with your camera. We forwarded your review to our Tech Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Will fit gen2 tacoma

Scott from California on 7/11/2018

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits in a 2008 tacoma I don't care what Crutchfield says, you have to buy the single din kit with the pocket on top(kit sold elsewhere). No cutting went rite in. Great headunit. But Crutchfield tech missed the mark on this will not fit your vehicle in bold red .......

Pros: I like everything about this headunit.

Cons: Crutchfield telling me it wouldn't fit in my truck

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Homerun by Alpine

James from Detroit, MI on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio love all the features and the screen size. Apple car play works flawlessly and even looks great if you play your music in iPod mode. I would recommend buying definitely worth the money to me.

Pros: #Everything about it

Cons: needs a wireless remote

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Its a tablet in your car

Fletch from Seaside, Oregon on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine hit this one out of the park! Asthetically, it is beautiful! Functionality is unlimited and the installation is pretty straight forward. In my particular application, I purchased the single din conversion and combined it with idatalink maestro and it does everything as expected. They give you plenty of screws for the installation, except the most important screw of all, the one they warn you about that retains the power plate. I had to go locally to obtain one. I can't remember the last time I had to utilize a single din kit, but its actually quite nice. You get the large screen on top of the extra storage compartment that comes with it. Gotta give a shout out to Crutchfield, as we all know how awesome they are! Thanks

Pros: It protrudes from the dash and is very obvious!

Cons: No navigation.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Kevin from Olive Branch, MS on 5/13/2018

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Head Unit from Alpine. I wish it had a cable to go from head unit to the screen. If it did it would be a lot better for a custom install. Or at least have that option. Anyway you look at it this unit is great if you need a custom install. I wish apple didn't lock out so many apps for car play. Mounted in a 2011 GMC 2500HD.

Pros: It's an Alpine. Nice big display.

Cons: Needs a cable option for the Display to the head unit. So the head unit can be mounted remotely.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Halo9 installed: 2001 Double DIN Toyota Tacoma

Scotty from Riverside, CA on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this stereo! Two things you'll need - Patience and magnetic Phillips head screwdrivers. Although sites like Crutchfield say this doesn't fit 98-04 Tacomas, they are wrong. My 2001 has a Double DIN opening and Automatic Transmission, both deterrents to installation. My stock Double DIN slid right out, and the two side brackets are easily removed from the stock stereo and screwed on to the new Halo9 for a perfect fit when sliding it back in. I did it so when slid into the dash the Halo9 is in the LOWER half of the Double DIN. The upper half remains open, but is barely visible with the screen tilted back (refer to pix). The open upper half allows three cables to be available: USB extension, Aux extension, GPS antenna. It took me several installations to get the screen location perfect (imho); bracket pushed all the way in, screen up two screws, tilt loose at near 20 degrees. The truck has to be put in neutral briefly during install or removal, hence patience needed. The screen screws (5 of them) are done last from above when install is complete, hence magnetic Phillips head so screws don't drop with gravity. All screens look good and swipe or press easily. You must install the GPS antenna or the clock will not work, it just says updating forever. USB to firewire to my iPhone opens ApplePlay in about five seconds with full access to phone and music and maps and more. I could not take a picture of maps on screen because it goes off when switching to camera

Pros: HD Radio, Apple Play, Installation options let it fit vehicles even when Crutchfield says it won't, So many configuration screens, options, data, and more...

Cons: Clock requires GPS antenna be plugged into the back even if not using GPS

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great user interface

Tim from Knoxville, TN on 5/1/2018

2017 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this is been a very good unit the user interface is very easy to use and understand the only downside I would give this unit is that you might require an additional amplifier if you're pushing high quality speakers.

Pros: Easy to use Easy to install Easy to add additional amplifier part# KTP-445A

Cons: Low on power for high quality speakers

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Solid interface

Randy from Lexington, SC on 4/29/2018

2016 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this stereo! It's my first Alpine and it does not disappoint. The sound quality is excellent. The install was smooth and the floating interface looks great in my 2016 Altima. I'd recommend it to anyone with enough room in dash.

Pros: Awesome screen Responsive touch interface Great sound

Cons: Smudges on screen but I don't care!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

looks good, sounds good, big screen

wayne from Redondo Beach, CA on 4/16/2018

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Looks good, Sounds good, Big Display nice for Android Auto. Fitted in a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, which for some reason Crutchfield claims is not a fit. Photo below shows fitment in stock location. I may have had to drill a new hole in the mounting angle bracket during the fitment of the previous head unit, but otherwise the fitment is stock. Android Auto is a learning experience, nice to have for navigation, but I prefer the straight bluetooth phone interface for calls. Sound is very good. FM reception seems very good, seems more powerful than previous Alpine ida-x305 headunit. To do: Check for Spotify support over Android Auto and test out Tuneit app Wish list: Option to use track forward/track backward to step through favorites and/or presets. Could be added to radio using another entry on the dx or local tuner menu. Option for preamp in to use something like the Dirac MiniDSP for room correction option to use bluetooth dialer screen when phone is USB connected. Bluetooth dialer screen is more informative than android auto dialer screen. Quick release for theft protection. Precut screen protector - have to buy material and trace outline

Pros: big screen in any car android auto

Cons: lacks a quick release for theft protection cannot step through presets with track forward button

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

2000 Jeep XJ

Andell from Center Moriches, NY on 4/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine out did them self this time, I have waited for years for the perfect CarPlay unit. I'm happy with this purchase.

Pros: Great touch screen, works flawlessly alpine has always makes great product easy to install the gps antenna makes the iPhone maps more accurate voice call is a clear on the other end.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Extremely Flexible Installation options, Awesome Alpine Sound

Paul from Columbus, IN on 4/7/2018

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit. The installation took a little longer since it was so different from most head units, but all in all was easy and the install adjustments are extremely flexible. It would be hard to find a dash this would not fit in. The build quality is very solid. The responsiveness of the capacitive touchscreen is really good. Of course this has the excellent sound quality that Alpine is known for and can be shaped with a crazy number of options. Lots of input options.

Pros: Great Alpine Sound Number of Sound Shaping options Build Quality Screen responsiveness Input Options

Cons: Screen's resolution could stand to be higher.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Very disappointed

Saood from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 4/6/2018

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed by this head unit. I mainly listen to music stored on an Apple iPod Touch (6th Gen. iOS 11.3). It is connected to the unit via an Apple lightning to USB cable. I am unable to perform any type of search on the iPod or navigate any playlists from the head unit. It may be hard to notice from the attached photo, however, the two "search" icons are grayed out and if I tap on either of them, I get a notification which says "Searching...". Then nothing happens. The only way I can navigate through playlists is manually via the iPod itself, which defeats the entire purpose of this head unit. I tried resetting the head unit, deleting all content on the iPod and I even tried a different cable. However there is no change. It's a shame I can't rate it anything less than one star. money wasted, should have kept my old Alpine w555bt which worked fine. Crutchfield tried to assist by giving me a number to contact Alpine directly, however since April 03, 2018 I am unable to connect to that number. Perhaps someone reading this can offer some assistance and/or a solution.

Pros: None.

Cons: Seems to be incompatible with iPod Touch 6th Gen (iOS 11.3)

Crutchfield response on 4/10/2018
Once we saw this review, Clint, with our Tech Support team, reached out to Saood to help him further. We'll get him in touch with Alpine to fix the problem, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.
Customer review photo

10 of 24 found this helpful

Flexible chassis and versatile display makes for easy installation

M. Schneider from Vail, CO on 4/2/2018

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took delivery of the Halo9 iLX-F309 unit from Crutchfield's initial wave of deliverables. The placed-an-order timeline time was less than a month. . The F309 was purchased with a MY05 Subi Outback XT LTD, the USA Outback model trim with the screwball-unified chassis of the HVAC controls and Radio/CD units. (dual zone climate controls & Radio CD-changer in a unified chassis.) Subaru Japan has the dual climate controls as a single unit. Once fitted the open space from the OEM radio/CD removed is a solid 2-DIN arrangement. .. The F309 fits like it was OEM and with an available Plug-N-Play wiring harness makes for a simplified installation. The Subi MY05 thru '09 Outback XT LTD wiring harness is made available through a fellow Subi owner at www.legacyGT.com . The custom wiring harness is an out growth from OB XT owners wanting a 2-DIN dashboard enhancement. . Additionally, tried a mockup fitment of the F309 in the 1-DIN space in my MY98 Carrera 911 (993). It's the old sckool dashboard architecture of the former air cooled 911s. The F309 screen fit like a champ. Pictures will be posted shortly of both the '05 Outback XT installation and the '98 911C2S (993) mockup fitment. .. Cheers M/S

Pros: All of them

Cons: None of them

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

CURTIS from Everett, WA on 3/30/2018

2008 BMW X3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit is good, the screen is great, and the features are even greater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Daniel from Algonquin, IL on 3/30/2018

1989 Buick LeSabre

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the Halo9. Love the large 9 inch screen and the tuning capabilities. The Android Auto feature is great as well. Best of all I was able to put a large screen into my 1989 Buick Lesabre T-type being that a double din unit was not an option (dash would have required cutting)

Pros:

Cons: My RUE-4190 remote doesn't work with this unit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Bremerton, WA on 3/24/2018

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this unit. I need more time to learn all the features. Back up camera image seems like a downgrade rom the original unit but will not break the deal.

Pros: Loaded with features. Nice screen.

Cons: Back up camera image

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Crutchfield customer from Mission, TX on 3/19/2018

2018 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed it in Highlander 2018. Great product, Great touchscreen , sound improved amazing. I'll highly recommend it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Alpine NAILED it with this one!

Andy from Arroyo Grande, CA on 3/16/2018

2008 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I saw this unit at CES, I couldn't wait for it to be released. I own a 2008 Suburban, which is listed as not compatible. I called and spoke with Lane and we both googled for videos and pics and we both thought it should be able to fit with the Metra 99-3305 kit and it fit perfect! Install was a bit lengthy as I also installed the equipment I had been waiting to put in. The unit is powering an Alpine PDX-V9 amp which provides the juice to two pair of Alpine SPX-17PRO component speakers and a JL Audio Stealthbox in the center console. The Alpine does NOT disappoint and handily converted me back from a long run with Pioneer. The 9" touchscreen is massive and is SUPER responsive and looks AMAZING! It does pick up fingerprints somewhat, but cleans easily. You will definitely want to have more than the factory car alarm to cover glass breakage as the only negative is - this thing stands out and will be obvious to hoodlums out there. Once again Crutchfield was amazing to deal with and no one can touch their customer service! Thank you Lane on your help with this one!

Pros: Amazing CarPlay integration, super easy to use, great execution by Alpine!

Cons: Call it a con if you want, but WOW there isn't ANYTHING this head unit WON'T do! STILL trying to go through and learn all the menu's.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309

Noe from Porter, TX on 3/13/2018

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 17 found this helpful

The Best Stereo Ever

Gavin from Brightwood, VA on 3/3/2018

2011 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this car stereo, it was easy to install, sounds great with the KT-445, and is easy to operate. I absolutely love it. You will too, you can by it without worry and enjoy it for years to come.

Pros: Easy Install, Great Sound, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Great Quality, Great Features and well it's just awesome!

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

23 of 25 found this helpful

AWESOME UNIT!!

Kevin from Syracuse, NY on 2/28/2018

2007 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got done putting this unit in my Mercury Mountaineer and all I can say is WOW! First off this said "doesn't fit" my vehicle but I found a Metra dash kit (Crutchfield didn't have it) that worked PERFECTLY. This is basically a single din ISO unit so it will pretty much fwork with any aftermarket dash kit. I already had a Alpine unit in my truck so i didn't have to change ANY wiring all the wire harnesses were exactly the same. The unit looks AMAZING in my vehicle it's HUGE! I'm using a Android phone (Galaxy S8 plus) and the Andoid Auto works phenomenal! The screen is absolutely beautiful. I just downloaded the owners manual from the Crutchfield website (it comes with just a basic manual to get you started). I still have a lot to learn and do to get the most out of this unit. I will post some pics and more information once I get more time to play with it. I have had MANY Alpine units over MANY years and this has to be the best looking one I have ever installed. It looks like I have a Android tablet in my truck. If your on the "fence" about buying one DON'T it's a AMAZING unit just watch some You Tube video's and you will understand why I jumped on it the day Crutchfield got one in. Kevin

Pros: EVERYTHING!

Cons: Haven't found any yet will report back after I have more time to play with it.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

TOP