Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine INE-W970HD

Navigation receiver

MFR # INE-W970HD

Alpine INE-W970HD

Alpine INE-W970HD

Navigation receiver

MFR # INE-W970HD

28 reviews
View this product

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Nacogdoches, TX on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the graphics quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great option!

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 4/21/2021

2016 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this head unit, it gives me control of my phone with out the distraction of having to hold it. It make my stock speakers sound a lot better as well

Pros: Customizable Great look Good output options Super easy install

Cons: Not as powerful as some other units

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NJ on 3/26/2021

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Looks as good if it better than stock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garbage all around

Brad from BELLEVUE on 3/25/2021

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds horrible (via carplay). Screen looks like it was taken from an old toy from the 90s. Its dim and the touch barely works. How in the world is this product sold?!?

Pros: Fills the hole, makes some noise

Cons: Sound quality, screen quality, interface makes no sense, menu is fugly, touch barely works.

Crutchfield response on 4/7/2021
Brad contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Zellwood, FL on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what I wanted. Works great . Their double din size was a little larger than tho opening in my Motorhome, so I had to do a little modification

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't have internet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 3/8/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, I was able to install this fairly easy and i love the layout on this head unit.

Pros: Great instructions and manual

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 2/6/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this system!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Novelty, OH on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BEST SUPPORT I HAVE EVER RECIEVED. THESE GUYS KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 1/17/2021

2013 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased unit and installed it found the rear view camera input was defective however, the customer service was very helpful and got a replacement on its way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine has almost figured it out

Crutchfield customer from Saint Leonard, MD on 12/25/2020

2008 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation instructions are missing a few steps, but a couple of phone calls to Crutchfield support straightened me out. This Alpine is a great improvement over my stock, no touch screen unit, but I was very disappointed that it does not use my existing 7 speaker sound system. It connects to front left and rear right only. Yes, really. Alpine couldn't figure out how to connect to all of my speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

great Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Mission, TX on 11/23/2020

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great replacement nav receiver

Pros: great touch screen and options available

Cons: screen takes up to 10 seconds to start from when vehicle is turned on

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Quality name, quality product

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, SC on 11/21/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great head unit. Graphics are very pleasing and sharp. Has a lot of customizable colors and menu options. GPS works well, I like its search function and has a lot of interest points. I like that it still has some buttons, in retrospect I wish I had gone with a dial. I chose it because it still has a CD player and a few physical buttons. Bluetooth works well. I ran the HDMI line but have not tried it yet. Really sad about the installation kit though, it doesn't lineup very well at all with my dash. I had to do a lot of Dremeling and there's an obscene gap at the top that I'll have to deal with later. Would have been perfect if the whole thing sat about a quarter inch lower. I still can't get the steering wheel controls to work with the new unit either, though I followed the instructions to the letter. Brake line was a little tricky too, but I'm sure they all are on these new units. Long story short, their installation kit failed me. This unit has it unusually long boot up/start up time too, didn't see that mentioned in the description. I like that it has 20 presets and the HD radio function searches well. Have not tried the satellite radio. Overall I really like it for the price I got it.

Pros: Cd player, buttons, good amp, lots of menu options, lots of audio options, Sharp graphics, GPS tracks well, Subwoofer connections and controls built-in

Cons: Long start up time, can be tricky finding right menu, dial would be much easier for volume, installation can be difficult/kit may not align properly.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

From Excitement to Disappointment

Crutchfield customer from ORLANDO, FL on 10/23/2020

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where do I start? Growing up Alpine was synonymous with great sounding car stereo equipment. Today, unfortunately Alpine (at least this unit) is too much focused on navigation and sound quality has gone out the window. I purchased this unit becuase it had a CD player, with the added bonus of DVD player touchscreen and blue tooth technology. I was told that it would sound at least as good as my old school Alpine 9886, but I found out quickly great sound is in the eye of the beholder. As far as sound quality, the unit is just loud, with very poor range of highs, lows, and mids. My subwoofers are just much, tweeters are non existent. It sounds like an overpriced fancy factory car stereo. Only later did I learn (after an expensive install and removal) that this unit only has a 3-band equalizer. And it takes forever to load. The sound quality of playing music on the phone, USB and DVD drops off DRAMATICALLY from store bought CD. Even if you are able to get past the sound quality issues, you still have to deal with an overpowering navigation system that ducks the and tells you "YOU ARE EXCEEDING THE SPEED LIMIT" and beeps every time you do a rolling stop sign in your own neighborhood. , but figuring out how to use the function (eject) are difficult. If you want a navigation system with all the bells and whistles, this unit is for you. If you want high fidelity quality sound, I would not recommend this unit. I expected more from Alpine.

Pros: The layout and the touchscreen are very nice. Very nice aesthetics and looks really cool.

Cons: Very poor sound quality (in my opinion) and little room for adjustment! Overpowering Navigation system.

Crutchfield response on 10/27/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

16 of 17 found this helpful

Great Buy.

Crutchfield customer from Mendota, IL on 10/3/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the look of this radio, Looks like it came with the vehicle and very easy to use. Makes my vehicle look newer than it is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Tom from Morro Bay, CA on 9/29/2020

2005 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as a replacement for Pioneer that stopped working after 3 months. Stay away from this Alpine unit.Bluetooth never worked. I expected better from Alpine.

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth doesn't work

Crutchfield response on 10/6/2020
Tom, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

10 of 10 found this helpful

RX8 Install

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 9/19/2020

2009 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality that I would expect from Alpine! Also customizable to adjust even your back lit controls to match your vehicles dash running color.

Pros: An Excellent upgrade from the factory head unit. The Alpine INE-W970HD joined excellent with the existing amplified Bose speaker system, while using the PAC radio replacement interface that managed the steering wheel controls. All new features that my Mazda RX8 was in need of. The rear view camera was a great new added feature, since there was no previously camera with the vehicle.

Cons: Difficult to locate the vehicle speed signal to feed to the Alpine, but not a head unit issue.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Brentwood

Brian from Brentwood on 8/26/2020

2011 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inaccurate description, paid nearly a thousand dollars for a head unit that is advertised with a 9 band equalizer when it only has 3 bass mid and treble. That is a huge problem I would not have bought this unit if I known it did not have a proper equalizer so now I'm out $375 for an install if they'll let me exchange it.

Pros:

Cons: Does not have a 9 band equalizer as advertised.

Crutchfield response on 8/31/2020
Brian contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.
Customer review photo

14 of 15 found this helpful

Alpine comes through again!!

Noel from Lancaster, PA on 8/26/2020

2013 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine is my favorite when it comes to head units and this one does not disappoint!! Pretty much does everything and I can still play my cds which makes it even better!!

Pros: Pretty much does everything!!

Cons: None!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Crutchfield #1

Steven from NORTH PORT, FL on 8/13/2020

2007 Dodge Magnum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has pretty much every option and adjustment you can think of. Works Great, looks great and sounds good with my Infinity speakers. Also added the lil amp Alpine has and it's a nice addition. Had an issue with bluetooth on the initial unit but Crutchfield handled it with a replacement in no time at all and Heather @ support was Great to deal with! Alpine support was abysmal compared to Crutchfield BTW... Your customer service and competitive pricing keeps you on top guys! Keep up the good work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Just as expected from Alpine

SABR from Hawaii on 8/8/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and easy to setup. Install was easy especially with Crutchfield ready harness. A lot of features and tuning capabilities. A lot of plugins for extra inputs like front and rear cameras. Will buy another for second vehicle!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Unit.

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio head unit. Just make sure that if you want to have Sirius XM that you also drop an extra $60 + beans and buy the tuner. Did not know this at the time of purchase nor was I told of this tid bit, but after installation had to open up the space to place the tuner in again. Pain in da butt. Would have been nice to know this upfront.

Pros: Great sound. Lots of good options.

Cons: More $$$ for the XM Sirius tuner.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MA on 6/22/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine really need to make the instructions more user friendly. had to call to and have some one explain how to get all the menus to work. i read the book twice and did not see the part you must apply the parking break 3 time and leave it on the 3ed time, then the cam settings will come on.

Pros: lots of in puts and out puts.

Cons: manual hard to follow...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 6/16/2020

2008 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great radio. NAV built in and sound is clear. I'm happy I bought this one.

Pros: Everything is there. Bluetooth, NAV, clear screen.

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Stone Mountain, GA on 5/23/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is great. I'm still learning all the features. I really like that you can have a small gps viewing area on the left and music control on the right. I also really like the MY Menu section. My Main Con: When you turn on my Jeep, it take 24 SECONDS to load before you can use any of the features like music, navigation... As of right now, I am researching to see if I can do a software or firewall so the load time is hopefully only a few seconds.

Pros:

Cons: The initial load time. 24 seconds

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Crutchfield customer from Flagtown, NJ on 1/19/2020

1998 Mitsubishi 3000GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality of craftsmanship is outstanding Installation was easy Customer service was great answered my question and was very knowledgeable about my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine INE-W970HD

Josh from Las Vegas, NV on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine W970HD was a great upgrade for my 2014 Toyota Tacoma. I had already replaced the unit once, but had a lot of problems with the first aftermarket unit I purchased 6 years ago. Crutchfield made it easy (relative as to how things go when you're ripping parts out of your dash) to upgrade, and I'm initially VERY happy with the results. Things I like: Awesome out-of-the-box sound - I didn't have to fiddle with the EQ settings a bunch - even "flat" the unit sounds good - only minimal adjustments to get the sound that I wanted. Quick boot, especially if you're in radio mode: The unit boots up pretty quickly, much quicker than the former aftermarket unit did. Backup camera: I love that the unit treats you like an adult, and doesn't have the "warning: check all surroundings" displayed across the screen that blocks parts of the view where you are backing - just simple guidelines that you can turn on or off - also has "hitch guide" as a setting. Supports Apple CarPlay seamlessly, so you can just tell Siri where you want to go. I haven't played much with the built-in GPS yet, probably not something I'll use a lot, but good to have for sure because in remote areas of the desert you do not have cell service, and this also has an "off road" and 4WD trails mode - looking forward to checking that out.

Pros: Good out-of-the-box sound. Fast boot up. Apple CarPlay. Clean backup screen.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Misrepresented

James from North Hills, CA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio has everything I wanted only the screen is not changeable also there no navigation manual available at this time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/19/2020
We're sorry about our mistake on the screen images, James. Because of this review, our Mobile Electronics Buyer, Stephen, contacted Alpine to acquire accurate images of this stereo's display. They're now in place on our site.
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

See easier

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff, AZ on 12/1/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It serves it's purpose. It gives me a large clear screen that is better than my phone for GPS and great audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

TOP