Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Alpine MRV-M500

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # MRV-M500

Alpine MRV-M500

Alpine MRV-M500

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # MRV-M500

138 reviews
View replacement product

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Sand Springs, OK on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of Clean Power Packaged with Excellent Tun-Ability!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Compact, nice amp

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rico, AZ on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super- easy to install. It powers my kicker sub with no problems

Pros: Easy to install, good power handling

Cons: Power terminals could be better designed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Amps

Crutchfield customer from Angleton, TX on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased an Alpine PDX-V9 for my wife's jeep a couple years back and was blown away by the quality, power and as it turns out, the reliability therefore when it was time to power the 2-10" Rockford Fosgate Subs in my daughters jeep, Alpine was the only choice. I can not say enough about how good Alpine's amps are but I can tell ya the smiles it brings to my wife and daughter's face when that bass hits is simply priceless. I realize the two amps I have are very different in regards to the power and price but both have fulfilled my expectations. Next year I plan on building another sound system in my truck and Alpine will be my only choice.

Pros: Power, Simplicity, Reliability - Simply put, Alpine makes good AMPS!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Duffield, VA on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Big Lake, MN on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp for powering 2 12" SVC subs. Sounds great!

Pros: Small space requirement

Cons: As with most amps. Adjustment is out of reach when installed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AWESOME

Crutchfield customer from Granbury, TX on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp pushes more RMS than advertised just for giggles we hooked up to a 2 12 inch type r and they bumped so hard it was crazy what power you can get out of this tiny thing

Pros: Small Affordable Powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Subwoofer amp alpine

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size for small location with limited room. Works perfect with the set up I have and easy set up. Alpine always a good product and quality and price. Thanks again crutchfield my go to place for everything.

Pros: Easy of use with just enough features for subwoofer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'd buy it again and again.

Crutchfield customer from Woburn, MA on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Alpine 500w mono amp, replacing one that was stolen. I use it to drive a 10" sub in a pickup truck box and it sounds great.

Pros: Great sound, doesn't get super hot.

Cons: Hmmm...its not free?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

We Bumpin Now!!!

Kenneth from Herrin, IL on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an upgrade to power my RF 10" shallow mount in sealed box for my Pontiac Vibe. The refurbished Kicker 300.1 I was using wasn't doing it for me. I explained to Ziggy that I wanted an amp that could handle a bigger full size sub if the new amp didn't get the 10" RF SM bumping to my satisfaction. He pointed me at the Alpine MRV-M500 and gave me some suggestions on bigger subs if need be. By the time I got around to pulling the trigger, low and behold it went on sale. Made buying the 4 gauge wire kit & (must have IMHO) RUX knob much easier on my wallet. I still can't wrap my head around how Crutchfield can receive an order from me in So IL at 6pm on a Wed and I can have my gear in my hands by that Fri morning. As much as I tried to talk myself into needing a bigger sub I couldn't, at least not yet. If I ever do, the Alpine will be up for the task according to the testimony of other reviewers. The Alpine is pushing the RF where the Kicker never did. Both have about the same footprint so swapping out was a breeze. I'm super happy with it. I'd buy a 2nd one in a heart beat if I could make up a good enough reason to need it. Can't go wrong with this amp.

Pros: Clean power, size, Wire terminals hold wire nicely, options, killer sale price.

Cons: Always feel they should throw in the RUX knob but that would be greedy with this deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Perkasie, PA on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price and easy to install. I would buy this amplifier again if I needed another.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Altus, OK on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the money, very easy to install

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this amp pushing kicker 10' subs. Sounds very good. Awsome sound system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp!

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, AL on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Can be hooked up without pulling factory radio. It has lots of power and sounds great. I have it paired with a pioneer ts-swx2502 , that is a single 10inch sub in an enclosed box.

Pros: Can be hooked up without pulling factory radio. You do not need a line out converter.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little amp

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant View, TN on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong clear power. Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Big Lake, TX on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Scotts Valley, CA on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp, especially for the price. My small 10" sub sounds great in my small car! Looks clean too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, small package

Crutchfield customer from Annandale, VA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding amp in a small package! Using it with a custom sub enclosure in my 4Runner and it sounds great. Has much more power than I need. Adjustability is pretty basic but it's doing the job. Not a bad amp for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine is the BEST

Crutchfield customer from Roseboro, NC on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super small, but packs a huge punch. I have it running a Solo Baric @4 ohms and it sounds great. It makes me wish that I had a 2 ohm woofer. I would love to get that extra 200 watts, but my trunk and rear view mirror rattles enough. Thank you Oakley for your help with hunting down the wires behind my dash. It works really well with high level inputs. Keep up the great work for another 30 years guys. Thanks.

Pros: Small size Great power

Cons: I wish I had a 2 ohm woofer! LOL

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Medina, TN on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my sons F150 to push 2 RF 10's, perfect for a starter set.

Pros: Price, performance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Amp

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with a JL 10TW3 in a GMC Sierra Crew Cab and it sounds amazing. Wiring to speaker level inputs from the stock stereo was simple and not having to run a separate remote power-on line was nice

Pros: No power-on line needed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

william from Tampa, FL on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such Power in a small package! Went from having some O.K bass response from my 2 Cerwin Vega 12" SVC 4 Ohms to obnoxious like I am in high school again with the block hearing me at "half gain." I am more than OK with this but had my wife running into the garage reminding me we don't live in that type of neighborhood anymore lol. Wired at 2 Ohm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds like mud

Eric from Grand Junction, CO on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp sounds like mud. I realize its entry level and it shows. Running a jl 10w3v3-2 and it just would not put out good sound to this woofer. Tried this amp for a month and just never liked it from the moment i hooked it up. Ended up replacing it with a morel mps 1.550 and the difference is night and day and cant believe the super clean sound im getting out of this amp. Save your money and get the morel.

Pros: Price

Cons: Everything but price. It puts out distorted sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Best amp pound for pound!

Tony from Robertsdale, AL on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is awesome! I have it pushing a Polk Db 12 wired at 2 ohms. I'm shaking the neighbors pictures on the walls and that's with the gain at only 25%

Pros: Compact, powerful, effecient

Cons: Nothing!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic little amp!

Crutchfield customer from Angleton, TX on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The compact size of this amp made it easy to find a place to install it. I'm running it at a four ohm impedance and it definitely provides the promised 300 watts. It looks and sounds terrific.

Pros: Small size with a solid punch.

Cons: None that I can see or hear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Heart felt BASS

Kenneth from Allentown, PA on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome BASS!!! I paired this with Kicker 44DCWC122 sub box...Holy Jesus!!! My car shakes...what an upgrade to my 2016 Kia Sorento...only downside is the loss of truck space...oh well

Pros: Great upgrade

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp the price love it an two of the on 2 alpine type R's sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp!

Jason from DULUTH, MN on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this (myself) in a 2007 GMC Yukon and it fits perfectly under the passenger side middle row bucket seat. I took a sawzall to the piece under the seat that snaps off (the carpeted piece that hides the seat bolts) and cut an opening a little larger than the amp and it looks great there! You can't see the amp or wiring at all with the seat down and the amp still breathes well and runs cool! I paired this amp with a 4 ohm 10" kicker comp sub in a ported box and sounds great! Will be adding another 4 ohm 10" Kicker soon. The optional remote volume control was well worth it! My wife hates bass (even at the slightest bass she tells me it's too much bass. I ran the remote up with the RCA's on the driver side and up next to the steering wheel where I can completely turn the volume down on the sub so easily. Next time I drive alone all I have to do is turn the remote volume up and I'm back with the bass.

Pros: Perfect size! Perfect amount of power! Love the remote volume control!

Cons: I don't think that it has a subsonic filter and I'm running a ported box sub. Not sure if that makes a difference or not on how the sub performs. I'm interested to see how well it will perform when I add a second 4 ohm sub.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Fenton, MO on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp. Good power for smaller applications

Pros: Small footprint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Calera, AL on 4/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp. 2nd one I have owned. Compact size makes funding the perfect mounting location easier. Lots of power from this amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It Quakes!!!

Leo from West Palm Beach, FL on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of power in this little thing. Pushing a punch P1S2 15" sounds great!!!!

Pros: Small, compact, plenty of power, and does not make my lights dimm ??????

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Camano Island, WA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I hooked up a 10"sub and it has no problem. Lots of bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros: Affordable

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amp for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Hickory Hills, IL on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp has been performing very good. I have it running one JL Audio 12TW3-D4 @ 2ohms. I'm amazed at the size of this amp. The bass is incredible. After running the amp for 1 hour, it was only slightly warm, I was very surprised by that. Technology has come a long ways since my last amp purchase which was a Soundstream REF 500 which is actually still running strong. But that one gets a lot hotter.

Pros: Small footprint Plenty of power output. Mine had a certificate card, and was tested at 518 Watts.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Alliance, OH on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a modest install you can't do much better than this amp. Its only downfall that keeps it out of contention for high end is a lack of a subsonic filter. If you intend to run a ported box be mindful. That said, it's a very nice budget friendly, powerful amp. Easy on the electrical system in your car, and doesn't put out much heat. I have mine running a kicker CompR 12 and it definitely does the job. The sub was a holdover and is the dual 2ohm configuration so I'm not even seeing the amp's true potential. From what I've heard and felt, it'll be plenty. This amp does not do 1 ohm. If it doesn't go into protect, the circuitry will throttle output to keep it safe. Setup is easy and it's a nice looking amp with the endcaps installed hiding the wiring. No turn on thump using the remote wire from my HU. Doing rough math with a multimeter it was dead on with room to spare with the gain at the factory nominal. I say room to spare because the meter can't show clipping. The rough math at my impedances had the voltage at 34 volts and at nominal I was seeing 33. If it's at risk of clipping, shouldn't happen. Size is very nice. This amp could be easily hidden in a console, behind trunk liners, or under a seat. It doesn't run hot enough to need a whole lot of air. Overall, five stars for power and price. If your goal is a bass heavy system with multiple subs or a solid sub in a ported box, you should look higher end alpine or elsewhere.

Pros: Size, price for power, ease of configuration. Clean power that won't strain factory electrical too much.

Cons: No subsonic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didnt give up muck for its size

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful for its size. Not much room in my truck. This amp made my audio system complete.

Pros: Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 3/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommended this amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IA on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this amp to replace a cheaper quality AB amp that kept getting hot due to the mounting location. This amp fit the bill perfectly, it's small size and simple design was perfect for me. I'm using it to push a slim Pioneer 10" sub in a small sealed box and it seems to push it with no problem at all. Would recommend!

Pros: Simple design, easy to access controls and hookups.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Jerry from Shreve, OH on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp. Plenty of power and runs cool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Patchogue, NY on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Runs cool pushing my JL 10w3, no complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid little amp

David from Owasso, OK on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Solid trouble free amp. Won't blow your doors off, but added some punch to my music.

Pros: Solid unit. Easy to install. Trouble free operation. Like the pass through RCA connections.

Cons: Terminal block screws light weight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Lonnie from Green River, WY on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small enough to fit under a seat and very easy to set up. Love it.

Pros: Nice and compact to fit any where

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great power

Mike from Antigo, WI on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp. Plenty of power to run my Alpine 12" subs. Nice and compact.

Pros: Compact, sleek, great power

Cons: No concerns

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Karl from New Braunfels, TX on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this amp has lived up to expectations. We are driving a single dual voice coils Rockford Fosgate 12" (P3SD4-12 Punch). In our system, this amp is actually our strongest link. It'll drive the sub as far as the rest of the system will go. Configuration tip for those that have low-pass filters in the head unit: for optimal sound, we ended up setting the internal low-pass filter on this amp to its maximum frequency (thereby defeating it) and using the low-pass filter in the head unit.

Pros: Excellent power. Clean, elegant design.

Cons: No concerns or complaints...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great!

Dylan from Lake Havasu City, Arizona on 10/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my two Sony Xplod (1100 way) subs. Super compact amplifier also which makes it easy to store. I have had this amplifier for approx. 3 weeks now and would reccomend to others.

Pros: Small, lightweight, works great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great performance for the $$

JAMES C DENNY DC from Southern Illinois on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Pleased with the easy install and performance of the Amp. Fit under front passenger seat of our Jeep JK. Powering 2x 8" Bazookas with no problem.

Pros: Great performance for the Price. Easy Install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great amp to drive a sub!!

John from Austin, TX on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp to drive my sub. I paired it with the Kicker CompRT 43TCWRT102 10" sub in my 2016 Tundra Crewmax. The sub easily fit behind the rear seat and this amp fit easily under the rear seat on the floor board. I highly recommend using the remote control (buy it separately) so you can control the amount of base depending on the music you're listening to.

Pros: Small, compact size Easy install Love the remote

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Chri from Crawfordville, FL on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid 500 watts in a small package

Pros: Small package, big power

Cons: No subsonic filter

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds Beautiful

Ethan from Westerly, RI on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works beautifully with my sub, looks beautiful, just great all around

Pros: Great sound, Looks mean

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

no

joe from kalamazoo , MI on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ran for about 30 mins. at most and it was very warm/hot. think i'm going to return it. I was using it on a single jl 10w6 wired at 2ohms. may have been pushing it too hard for what it is. either way its not enough amp for my sub and my old jl xd600/1 never gets hot and powers the sub very well. i like alpine they make quality products so maybe this amp would be fine in less demanding applications.

Pros: none

Cons: hot

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, KY on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp along with knob seem to have issues providing bass from a GM factory stereo. Bass is very faint and non existant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 11 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

matthew e from Commerce, OK on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality, price point is reasonable and compact size fits almost anywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible Amplifier

Seth from Colorado Springs, CO on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an extremely good amplifier and I highly recommend it. I moved my sound system inside and spliced two battery charger devices into some 8 guage wire that I attached to a new car battery for a constant charge although it's not perfect 100% of the time. I had an Alpine Type S 12" (Dual Coil 4 Ohm) in a single subwoofer box but I accidentally cracked the cone so I replaced the unit and box. Sometime later, I used E6000 to fix the cone and mounted the sub back in it's box. I wired it into two ohm mode just like the undamaged replacement I have. I know I shouldn't be doing this, but I am currently running the amp at 1 ohm to power two 2 ohm (DVC 4x4) subs (Alpine SWS-12D4). The amp is located on a self inside a TV stand BUT I have a fan that is sucking the hot air out of the shelf area. The amp only gets warm when I'm pushing it hard but has never shown any signs of overheating. I would really appreciate it if someone could give me a better explanation of why this amplifier can do this when on paper it shouldn't. I would like to mention that the subwoofer I managed to repair cannot get as loud as my undamaged sub.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Brandon from Charleston, MS on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little thing has plenty of power to pump out awesome bass for the average person. I use it with a sundown audio 12 in a ported enclosure and it pushes it really well. My only problem with it, and the reason I can't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't have a built-in subsonic filter. On certain songs, when the bass goes below a certain frequency the sub will bottom out and makes a popping noise. It's a big deal honestly if you're running a ported enclosure. I'm currently looking for an external subsonic filter to solve this problem. Other than that, it's an awesome and reliable little amp. Just a shame that they didn't include this filter.

Pros: Plenty of power, solid and reliable.

Cons: No subsonic filter.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from West Jordan, UT on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp, works awesome & it's compact

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Joe from Washington State on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It rocks..........

Pros: Quality, Quality, Quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Brady from San Diego, CA on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is as amazing as it's predecessor! I've owned 2 MRP-M500's and they did me well. This new model hit the mark perfectly! It gets warm but I have it under a seat so that's understandable. The ability to add the control knob is extremely useful in quickly quieting the system.

Pros: Size Power Output

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp

terry from Oakland City, IN on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipping easy install and seemingly more capable than the jl amp it replaced

Pros: Everything

Cons: The blue light glows in the back of the trailblazer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Scott from New Lenox, IL on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceeded my expectations! Compact in size with sufficient power to power up 2 12" subs in my 2002 Yukon! Thanks Crutchfield!!"

Pros: Small foot print Quality unit Plenty of punch for the price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Bret from WI on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp! Small and fits great under the seat. Plenty of power for the JL wedgebox! Very happy so far!

Pros: Small size, plenty of power, doesn't dim the lights like my cheaper amp did.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Amp

Justin from Philadelphia PA on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a really good speaker setup using lc2i factory headunit and s s65c components this amp powers my 2 10inch bassline subwoofers and i still hear my music plenty of bass . . . wont need to add a amp for my highs cause this amp does its job

Pros: Affordable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Timothy from York, PA on 3/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these alpine Monos. Amp powers a JL W3 easily in a sealed box. Bass is tight and punchy but doesn't overpower the highs and mids.

Pros: Quality

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Calvin from Bradenton, Fl on 3/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good amp for the money. I have it in my wife's Lexus ES350, powering 2 kicker 10 comp c. Man they sound perfect . And the amp is barley turned on.!! Insane.

Pros: One of the best for the price no lies with this amp

Cons: None at all

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't let the size fool you... she bangs!

Mark from Chelsea, MA on 1/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is truly remarkable. I've been outta the car audio game since the late 90s/early 2000s. So when I bought this amp I had little exp ectations for such a small device. But when I hooked it up to my 2 12" 4ohm dvc kickers I was amazed at the power. I actually had to turn the gain way down. Amp technology has come a long way. And alpine makes a great product. Small size. Tons of power. And NOT A HINT of overheating whatsoever. I'm in the process of picking up a 2nd mrv-m500 to power my 12s individually and maximize efficiency and sq. I can only IMAGINE what the higher end alpine amp models can do!

Pros: Very compact, powerful, runs cool, incredible value

Cons: Not a thing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great amp, lots of bass

Roberto from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp. I'm pushing a 10" Pioneer sub with it. Lots of bass. Amp never become warm or hot. Small size is a big plus too.

Pros: Size and never become warm or hot

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine

William from Kentucky on 10/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This alpine mrv500 is the best amp I've ever owned sence the 90s very powerful. I've had amps as long as my back seat that couldn't push my alpine type r (first series) like the mrv500 shoves my type r very hard!!!! Lo ve this amp its all alpine in my car from now on!!!!!

Pros: All pros Size color style power etc

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Calexico, CA on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always what I Expext!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Guest from Mission, BC on 7/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to have this amp years ago. Finally got another one. Best BOOM for your buck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp

Rjs from Fl on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing power in a small Package and a perfect addition to a factory system with high level inputs.

Pros: High level inputs small size !!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome amp

Dean from Minneapolis, MN on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's alpine. I have two of these powering two JL audio w3 12s. They match perfectly. They will send you the test results with it. Both of mine tested out at 526 watts rms. Stays cool and power draw isn't bad at all. I am adding a capacitor just to be safe but with two of these amp I have no headlight dimming.

Pros: Powerful Small Stays cool Low power draw

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

great amp

Crutchfield customer from reidsville, NC on 4/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to power my alpine type R and it puts out way better power than i thought it would. very sleek and doesn't overheat. looks great as well.

Pros: good power small so it's convienient great quality easy to use and set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size, simple design, and powerful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BOOM

Ryan from Fargo, ND on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

big sound coming out of a small package!!

Pros: Great power. Powers my 10" alpine sws-d4 way more than I thought it would. I did a lot of research, and I got way more than I thought I would out of this amp.

Cons: nodda

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Austin from Marion, IN on 1/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm finally able buy another one of these after my old one was stolen. The specs say it all in terms of power but, there is no better quality at this price point. I love Alpine's dedication to fidelity. Well worth the money.

Pros: Untouchable value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Its okay

Singh from Tanzania on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad but could be better. The reason i didnt give it 5 stars is because the build quality could be better, specifically the terminals. They dont seem to screw/ unscrew freely and you have to use some force to get them to move which is annoying! Other than that its all good. I have it powering a single 10'' JL W0 @4ohm (300w rms) and it drives it with no issues with plenty of bass. It's a tiny amp, doesn't get hot and also looks good. For the price is alright.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed yet. Did all the research prior to purchasing this amp and I am 100 % positive I made the right choice. i have the Alpine mrv f300 4 channel and love it

Pros: Quality product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great quality and value

Chris from Nor-Cal on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch compact monoblock! I have it pushing 2 12inch rocford fosgate P1's wired at 2 ohms the amp is a lil bit under powerd for what my P1's can handel at 2 ohms but it slams non the less! Im prolly going to pick up another alpine amp on with a lil more juice for my subs! And i bet it will sound even better

Pros: Quality value and proformance alpine nailed it again

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Gets the job done

Rick from California on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful mono block amp it's just right for my 10" sub.

Pros: Small footprint, straight forward installation. Fuse protected at the amp. Powerful for my 10" sub

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Bass!

Mike from Orange, TX on 11/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amp, easy to install, easy to adjust. Has more bass output than the 8" Rockford Fosgate speaker can handle, so I have it turned down quite a bit.

Pros: powerful unit in a small package

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome, and loving it

mr_toe_knee from Mountain View , CA on 9/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a clean sounding amp. I had 2 subs hooked up before with a different amp that sounded as good as this with 1 sub. Easy to install too

Pros: Power, price, compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ALPINE AMP PUSHES GREAT POWER

Matt from Lehigh Acres, FL on 9/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp pushes 500 rms and does it without breaking a sweat. So many great features and so small and powerful

Pros: Great power Doesn't cut off Easy install

Cons: None at all

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow. It packs a heck of a punch

Edmond from Detroit, MI on 8/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp hooked to a 2X10 JL Audio box in my large SUV. Wow. The bass is fast, deep and tight. It never seems to run out of power, too. Absolutely love it and would buy again. In general, I really like Alpine amplifiers. Started buying them in the late 80s.

Pros: Power to spare and high sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amp from Heaven

Tim from Georgetown, TX on 7/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp does not disappoint. Plenty of power to spare.

Pros: Small footprint, easy setup, tons of power.

Cons: Can get a tad warm- but all amps experience this dilemma.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

works great

James from Cary, NC on 7/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, puts out 521 W, and doesnt overheat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Compact with mad power

Katy from Nevada on 7/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always had my equipment installed by a professional. I've never picked an amp myself; I've picked the subs and the associate paired the correct size amp. So it's more than fair to say I had no clue what I was doing with this amp. It was suggested by my product advisor, a Crutchfield employee and my personal lifesaver. He assured me that this amp would be simple to install with the correct install kit. He was right! The hardest part was finding the correct place to feed the power wire through to get into the interior of the car but an online video search and help from Crutchfield tech support quickly solved that. The amp powers my subs with the charisma of a player. Barely even breaks a sweat.

Pros: Small, fits almost everywhere. Clearly labeled connections

Cons: Directions in box lacking.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Troy, NY on 6/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm in love! It feels so amazing to finally have the boom back!! Now I get to listen to music the way it should be listened to ??

Pros: Everything!! Duh

Cons: Nothing at all!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Thomas from Buena Vista on 4/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great with my 10 inch Rockford sub more power than I need

Pros: It fits great on the back of my box, plus the blue illumination is pretty cool at night

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Jaimie from Georgia on 3/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good, great amp so far

Pros: Nice and small, packs the punch I need

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect power

Ryan from koloa, HI on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I researched every subwoofer amplifier Crutchfield carries. I read all the reviews. For a sub amp, class D is the only way to go since anything else might overheat and turn off automatically. What really caught my attention was the THD of .2% on this. It is the lowest of every amplifier Crutchfield sells (within a reasonable price). It comes with an Actual Test Measurement (mine was 514 Watts) so you know that each one has been tested. After installation (paired with a couple of JBL S2-1024 subwoofers), the power is perfect, clear, and loud. It was so loud that I had to lower the level on the amp quite a bit so the subwoofers wouldn't completely overpower the other speakers. I had read that some people said it would get hot. I was worried that it would overheat with the hot temperatures all year long here in Hawaii. What I did was purchase 4 rubber risers/footings from the hardware store and mounted those under the amp. That way there is no rattling and room for the air to flow both over and under it. So far no problems. I also love the screw-in connections. You don't have to do any crimping with this unit.

Pros: clean, clear sound, screw-in connections.

Cons: make sure the air flows around it to keep it cool

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine Quality

Brian C from st petersburg, FL on 2/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already installed the MRV-F300 and new speakers in my '15 Corolla and decided to beef up the sound more with the MRV-M500 and subwoofer. The combination created fantastic overall sound. Don't go cheap on your speakers...be sure to match quality with quality.

Pros: Looks good....sounds good.....Alpine Quality.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine amp

Chuck from Colorado on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, ez install, lots of power.

Pros: Looks, ease of install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A compact powerhouse

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent power and compact size made installation a breeze.

Pros: Power Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small but mighty!

Chuck B from Georgia on 12/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picked up this little guy to drive my JL 12W3. Sub is rated at 500 rms, and that's what this amp runs at. Nice match! Been breaking everything in for about a month now and have not had any amp cutouts. Not even once! Great product from alpine.

Pros: Size,price, quality, fit my specific needs perfectly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Mono Amp

Amp from Pennsylvania on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Amp seems to be doing what its made to do. Really enhances the sub woofer its connected to.

Pros: Small and compact Takes up minimal room in the rear of the car and does not produce alot of heat.

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Brandon from North Carolina on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small compact size could put almost anywhere. Sounds great puts out plenty of power

Pros: Built in line-in so no need for extra parts

Cons: Only con I see it the remote bass knob isn't included. Other than that, none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Alpine Amp!!

SouthernMDBassHead from Maryland on 8/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp pushing 2 JL's 8 inch subs (CP208LG-W3v3) and it does an amazing job at it. The amp and subs are installed in the rear seat of my 96 F350 and fits perfectly. You can not go wrong with this amp or crutchfield's customer service. Highly recommend!!

Pros: Amazing Amp. I love how the amp can sense that it is getting too hot and will drop some of the current so that it does not overheat and still continues to power the subs (awesome technology).

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good amp

Crutchfield customer from Kansas on 8/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gets pretty warm, but puts out good power. Mine was tested for 516 actual rms.

Pros: Looks good. Small size. Puts out good power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Amp

Brandon from Virginia on 7/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a bazooka EL1500 and the improvement is astonishing. I have it paired with an Alpine SWS - 12D4. The Sound quality is amazing and the power is incredible. Audio gives a crisp clear lead in and out. Everything is mounted in a Honda s2000 and on multiple occasions I've had to reduce the power. The compact size is the best feature. It can be mounted anywhere and out off sight which is exactly what I wanted. Small enough to easily sit flat in a spare donut with room to spare. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

Pros: Compact Size Powerful Crisp Clear audio Easy installation and manual instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Bobby B from Pennsylvania on 7/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid Product, easy hookup, was rated for 512 watts at 2 ohms. Only gave it 4 stars because I only had it for a few months. Will see how long it lasts. It won't be abused. Crutchfield has be great with any return and advice on hookup problems. I can't think of any other online authorized dealer that stands behind there products like they do. Very satisfied.

Pros: 4 ga hookup,no bells or whistles, just what you need. Clean!

Cons: Slightly overpriced, wiring works loose after its hooked up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine

Winston from queens, New York on 7/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

little but Talawa

Pros: wicked amplifier

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 6/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am replacing an older unit with this one. So far it performs better than expected. Gives me the boost I was looking for.

Pros: This product is smaller than its father. Much easier to fit under seat.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp!

danny from bronx New York on 5/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Does what it needs to do, super compact. I thought it be bigger but the size is amazing. Being small you have many options in placement. Did a 10-11 hour drive from NC to NY and amp didnt over heat or shut off once. Alpine makes amazing amps! Deff recommend! 2009 suba wrx sti Hatch

Pros: Small compact, great price! Solid build quality. Didnt notice any overheating even after a 10hour drive from NC to NY. ** i never exceeded 75% of amp/sub volume on this drive or ever in that matter. How you push your amp and where you place it is the factor in overheating.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Love this amp

Eddie K. from New Hampshire on 5/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an older version of this amp that I've been using since 2008. It sounds great no matter the configuration I use. I've had it running 2-10's in 2 ohms, I've run a dual 4ohm voice coil 8 inch type r in 2 ohms, and am now running a JL 8 inch 4 ohm sub and this amp delivers. It has always delivered powerful sound without distorting. One of the best sub amps out there, especially for the money. Can't go wrong.

Pros: Powerful sound in either 2 or 4 ohms, reliable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ALPINE!!!

Crutchfield customer from wichita, ks on 4/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This apline 500w amp is in my opinion the best bang for your buck, alpine are the best amplifiers they never disappoint....i have this amp pushing a JL audio w3 and it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Waukegan il on 3/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great all around amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good amp

99 max from Bessemer,al on 3/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good power for such a small amp. Running one ten inch alpine and gives a very nice blend to the polk components and coaxial.

Pros: Small and powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine mrv500

DA from Detroit on 3/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hitting

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding amp

Joe from Florida on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp with plenty of power in a small compact body. Nice no frills value

Pros: Small size, big power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Amp

Rob from Tennessee on 1/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is awesome......does'nt overheat and has plenty of power

Pros: very nice high power amp that is small

Cons: it wasnt free

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

the alpine 8" sub ,filled all the base I needed and saved on my limite

Rick from H.Of Glory from woods of Virginia on 1/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1400

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

MRV-500 Kicks

TB from Maryland on 11/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this amp to a Subthump box holding (2) Alpine SWS-10D2's in my '03 Silverado & it really kicks

Pros: Great price & small size for tight installation area

Cons: Notta...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 7/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best amp for the money. Had the MTX Road thunder Rt500d before it was garbage. Ive had it for 2 days and it hits wicked hard and sounds amazing.Running two Alpine 10 S4s. Runs very cool doesnt over heat and its tiny and is no more than 5 pounds. I read alot of the reviews people had and couldnt agree more i would recommend this to anyone who wants a good kick but doesnt want to spend a ton of money.

Pros: Small size, Hits hard, Sounds great

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little amp

Josh from Commifornia on 7/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has done a great job for me so far. Nothing unexpected when installing, it has never shut off, and the terminal covers really clean up the looks.

Pros: Compact size, puts out more than it's claimed power, and it looks clean.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Amp

Jeff S from Pigeon, MI on 7/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp. Powering a JL Audio 8" MicroSub, and the package rocks!!!

Pros: Small size, good performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Chris from Granite Falls on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp matched up to my Alpine 10 inch sub run 2 ohm is incredibly loud and very clear. I am very impressed as I always am with Alpine products. I listen to a wide variety of music and this amp doesn't fail me on any of them.

Pros: easy hook up, adjustable crossover, small foot print. LOUD!!!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice amp

FMS from Houston, Tx on 6/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, used to power four kicker speakers in doors and rear deck of honda civic. Great power and clarity.

Pros: Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MRV-M500

Caleb M from Greenfield, IN on 5/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been running this amp for almost six months now and its holding up perfectly. It is really efficient even compared to other class D amplifiers. I was originally powering a pioneer tsw-304r with it at 4 ohms but switched over to an Obsidian Audio 12v3 at 2 ohms. Works great with the new subwoofer as well.

Pros: Small Light Plenty of power for its size

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Capt dogtooth

Brian from Grand Isle, La on 5/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just added the MRV-M500 to drive one 10"sub in our 50' Viking yacht, nice add-on the a shipshape sound upgrade!

Pros: Liked the new wire mounting system, makes for a fast and secure connection.

Cons: none as of now.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Amp

Reese from Waller Texas on 5/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp really drives JL audio twin 10" subs in my Jeep JK. Loud and clean. Love the sound adjustments that you could make. Due to its small size it fit great under front seat. Runs a lot cooler than other amps ive owned. Has never cut out due to heat

Pros: Small size, runs cool, sound adjustibility

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine

C.Delapaz from Gary,IN on 4/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just hooked up my new MRV-M500 and it rocks no doubt about it, if your looking for serious pound in your Bass Alpine is what you want in your trunk. put it with some 15" subwoofers and feel the vibe!

Pros: Alpine really handles its own.

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Amp for the $

xpgdeadone from Portland OR. on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far The best amp I have ever owned. I had to add my review after reading the 2 reviews that only gave this 4 stars. For one if your digital Alpine amp is getting hot you need to learn how to install an amp as its digital it doesn't draw much heat to begin with. Then to the guy that says its just ok. You sir need to learn how to adjust an amp and realize its pure watts not the garbage you get in most amps.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Sub for the Money

Jaybatt from Philadelphia, PA on 2/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sub for the money and small enough to fit in my 350z nice without taking up a lot of room or adding too much weight on the back end.

Pros: Compact, nice sound

Cons: wish it kicked at a lower level

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

The MRV-M500

Heat from Cap City VA on 2/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice piece of work the (MRV-M500 by Alpine). You can install this just about anywhere & it will deliver thequality of bass that your looking for.its pushing (2) 10" Bass Line Subs in my GMC Sierra Ext.Cab & they sound great. If you're looking for a good quality Mono Sub Amp this is the one,I've even got my eyes on the 4 Channel version to install to my highs & miss. I highly recommend the MRV-M500......by the way its Alpine!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 1/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Dont let it fool you

Rafael g jr from Brownsville, TX on 11/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dont let the size of this amp fool you, its compact but powerful, im pushing a 12" orion sub and at first i was hesitant but wow can this amp sound good, very awesome little amp, the speaker is running efficiently and sound is amazing, i personally like alpine and memphis audio products they have never failed me, this is just another example of Alpines commitment to build quality, feels sturdy, i highly recommend

Pros: Size of the amp and amount of power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Product!

Kevin from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent power and excellent quality!

Pros: Everything

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice amp

Dustin from Pontiac, MI on 9/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Runs great no need for a capacitor. Doesn't move my voltmeter at max rms volume.

Pros: Small and powerful.

Cons: Couldn't afford two.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful Compact Affordable Amp

B from South Florida on 8/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this amp to power a compact kicker 10" speaker rated for 600 watts. Alpine always rates their amps below actual output so although rated at 500w the actual test page that comes with the amp shows an output of almost 570w. The amp more than produces. Sounds great. Has enough adjustments on it to refine the sound without breaking the bank. Love the remote bass knob as well, it's a must as you can control the level from the front seat.

Pros: Great price, Compact, Puts out ample power, Accepts Alpine Rux Knob.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine impresses again

Dylan J from Lihue, Hawaii on 8/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpines amps are amazing and this model is no exception. It produces clean power to the subwoofer right when it needs it most. I installed this amp right under my seat in my 2008 tacoma and it still has plenty of room to breathe. This little amp packs a big punch! I recommend this to anyone looking for lots of efficient power in as little space as possible.

Pros: Size. Response. Efficiency. Ease of installation

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp

EricB from Arlington Hieghts, IL on 8/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the MRV-M500 with the RUX knob. I'd argue the Rux knob is a must for instant gain control of the sub. It's powering two Polk DXI104's in parallel . Sounds tight and clean.

Pros: RUX knob gain control works great to instantly control gain. Small form factor

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Dcline15 from Edwardsburg, MI on 8/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp can deliver. Each amp that alpine sells comes with a little card that tells you when it was made and how much RMS or power it was putting out at the time of testing. I have had this amp for awhile and I am not suprised by the results. Alpine is a true brand you can trust and has and hopefully always will be. This amp is only rated for 500 RMS but the sheet that came with it said it was putting out 566 RMS. And i was surprised that they said it could really put so much out foe being so small. So i went and had it tested, the amp really put out almost 600 RMS. Which is just amazing. This is just one amazing amp I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a cheap but reliable system in any vehicle. This amp is small and can be put just about anywhere you need it to go, under your seat or behid a bench seat or even right on the box. Where I have mine at is right on the side of my sealed box. This amp is small enough to were it will fit right in the wedge part of it. I give this Amp all 5 Stars!!!

Pros: Small Powerfull Sleek Futuristic Clean Easy to hook up and tune Solled its heavy but not to heavy but it still feels like you can toss it around and will hold up to wear and tear for years

Cons: NONE!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Smaller with more power!

Thntx from GA on 7/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, Alpine has delivered once again. A little history first. In my previous car, I had an Alpine MRP-M450(rated at 400w @ 2ohm) and was attached to two 10" subwoofers. The sound was awesome, it fit nicely under the driver seat and the power was great. After many years of service I had to say goodbye when the car sold. Fast forward to the new car and the new Alpine MRV-M500. Space was even a bigger issue as I did not have as much room under the seat as I had in the old car. The MRV is almost 40% smaller. So, it fits! It's also rated at 500w, nice increase for sure. Also, the price was the same as the old one was 4 years ago. Are you kidding? It is powering two Polk DXi 104s and it hasn't broken a sweat. 140+ dB at the windshield. Sound quality is what you would expect from Alpine: nice and warm. UPDATED 11/30/18: This is an update to my review from five years ago(7/19/2013). The amp has died. It has a malfunctioning MOSFET. This seems to be a problem that sometimes will effect this series of Alpine amps(a quick search online reveals others with this issue). It only seems to happen to a very small number of them and repairs are easy if you want to put in a little testing and time though. The BIG problem is when this type of failure happens the amp can send a HUGE amount of DC voltage to the speaker output. There was no indication that anything was wrong when it happened. With no volume(simply started the car one morning with the radio turned down) this amp burned up the subwoofer attached to it before the fuses blew on the amp. No noise, no warning. The only signs were smoke and the subwoofer was pushed outward to its physical limit. By then, the deed was done. I can understand the amp going bad. Heck, it was five years old. It happens. It's repairable for cheep! But don't take out more equipment down stream. That's just ridiculous. Other than this, the amp had always performed spectacularly. Would I still recommend this amp, probably. I just want it know that this can and does happen. Maybe inline fuses on the speaker could have prevented the kind of speaker burnout. Time to start the hunt for a new sub and amp now.

Pros: Plenty of power, great sound and good looks. UPDATED 11/30/18: Price, power, size, sound.

Cons: None! UPDATED 11/30/18: If it fails, it can ruin all speakers connected to it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

great amp!

Travis from Arizona on 7/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this powering a pioneer 10" shallow sub in a hidden .65cf box in my VW GTI. Rated at 500w RMS @2ohms, but mine came with a certificate certifying it at 576w RMS, not bad! Running at 4 ohms it should be a bit over 300 RMS, and its more than enough good, clean power to keep a smile on my face with all types of music. Oh, and its tiny too!

Pros: Price, size, looks, rux knob compatible, but most importantly, sound!

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine MRV-M500

58Driver from Greenville, SC on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect amp to supplement speakers powered by a head unit only. Running it at 2ohms driving 2 SWE-10S4's this thing isn't breaking a sweat. It doesn't even get warm. The compact size made it easy to mount, and it easily accepted my 4 ga. power and ground wires. The blue light is pretty cool visually. Bottom line, this is a great amp to balance out the bass.

Pros: Compact, powerful, attractive package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

decent amp

todd from Logan, OH on 6/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought it would make my alpine 12" type s pound harder than it did but still hits pretty good.

Pros: Great price

Cons: Gets hot and its only turned up half way.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great, efficient amp!

DLW from Mansfield, TX on 4/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine continues to impress! This amp's footprint is so small that it allowed me to mount it on the side of my under-seat enclosure in my truck, making for a very attractive install. Also, this small amp packs a PUNCH! I've got it running at 2ohms, pushing two 10" Tobys (www.tobyspeakers.com). It sounds AMAZING! The blue square that lights up is neat-looking at night. When driven hard, this amp barely warms up. I anticipate this amp will give me years of phenomenal music.

Pros: Size Simplistic design Power Brand Price per watt

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Plenty of Power

Jason S. from Jena, LA on 4/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this amp a couple of weeks ago in my 2010 Honda Insight. Hooked it up to a JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3 and it pushes this speaker to the max. Had to wait a while for the subwoofer to properly break in, but now it slams the bass. A must have for this amp is the RUX-KNOB that goes along with it. So easy to give different bass levels for different types of music or just different songs in the same genre. Each of the amps comes with it's own certificate showing how many watts it actually made at the factory before it was shipped. My certificate showed 572 watts and I have no reason to doubt this. I have the gain turned up on the amp and the RUX-KNOB has to keep most of the songs in check so there is no distortion. You would need to buy a subwoofer that could handle more than 500 watts before you start to dial up the bass boost. Even after listening at max levels for about one hour, the amp is warm, not hot. Never had it go into safe mode either. It was very easy to set up, connect and get running. Small size makes it easy to find a place to mount. This amp definitely is worth every bit of it's price. It's power makes me consider the fact that I could hook up a W6v3 and it would be able to push that speaker to the max also. Don't hesitate to get this amp and the RUX-KNOB to go with it. Can't be beat.

Pros: POWER!!!, RUX-KNOB, small size

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Apline, " A+ "

MattS from Richmond,VA on 4/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight to it, using this "little" amp, w/ 4g power, to push a JL 12w3v2 in a sealed sub enclosure. It rocks out tight crisp bass. Possibly it's my alternator, however, w/ it's 'd' class rating I do NOT need a capacitor. It fits fine under the front seat of my Mazda3i next to the Alpine PDX4.150 pushing my 4 high pass speakers ( JL's C5-5x7's ) By the way, I am using my OEM HD unit w/ the ' Audio Control LCQ-1' line converter w/ EQ , from Crutchfield, and I have no noticeable whine and great sound.

Pros: cost, efficiency, size, line bass control ( optional )

Cons: have none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

100% !!!

SamS from Maryland on 4/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Alpine 500 watt mono amp is 100% GREAT!! 1st, it is Alpine which is a great company and has been making leading amps and subwoofers since day 1 so you know it will perform well. This amp replaces the Alpine mrp-m500 which is pretty much the same amp, same specs except as far as specs go this one can go up in Hz ( up to 400 Hz ). I dont know why you would need to go that high, but its there if you want to.This new version also has a beautiful sleek design and look to it, but best of it is SMALLER than the Alpine mrp-m500 and LESS WEIGHT so you can insatll and fit this almost anywhere you want. The old version Alpine mrp-m500 is a great amp and i would still buy and use it now. ( it is a little bit cheaper and you get same specs, performance and results ) but if you are tight on space or want to be able to mount your amp anywhere you want, go with this Alpine mrv-m500 as i did.( to me it was worth the little extra money ) You will not be dissappointed! I hooked up this amp to just a single 10" Alpine SWS D4 subwoofer in a 4 dr Honda Accord and it sounds incredible for just a single 10" sub. ( better than my 2 12" Alpine type E subwoofers powered by an 600 watt mono amp in my Audi A6 ) I would recommend this to anyone and I would buy this amp again and again!

Pros: SUPER LIGHT EXTRA SMALL PERFORMS GREAT BEAUTIFUL SLEEK LOOK CAN BE MOUNTED ANYWHERE, EVEN IN TIGHT PLACES ITS ALPINE GREAT PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET

Cons: NONE WHAT SO EVER

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP