Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
552 421 081 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
552 421 081 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine PWE-S8

Compact 120-watt powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # PWE-S8

Alpine PWE-S8

Alpine PWE-S8

Compact 120-watt powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # PWE-S8

41 reviews
View this product

Alpine+Jeep :)

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Vly, NY on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such a small unit it really thumps in my 2 door Wrangler! Fit perfectly under the seat and was definately the one thing missing after upgrading everything else!!

Pros: High quality unit. Very easy install!!

Cons: None!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product in a compact box!

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect under the seat and not overwhelming bass while driving and sound at a moderate level. Very easy to install with very easy to understand instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, GA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits the space perfectly, does an awesome job. install was a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Thumpy

Dan from El Cajon, CA on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub rocks! The twenty year old Alpine head unit in my BMW E30 had seen better days so I replaced it with the ute-62b and the ktp445a 4channel amp, but only have mounting for four 5.25" speakers. Sounds great but with the small speakers it just didn't hit the lows. Then a friend told me about the pwe-s8¡ Installation was super easy. Doesn't quite fit under the seat, but right behind. It fills the sound spectrum and absolutely thumps my little bimmer. Seriously, I was cranking some Pantera on the freeway and thought I had developed a driveline vibration. Turned down the volume to listen and it went away! Seriously enough bass for my car!

Pros: Easy installation, sounds great, compact.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice simple compact product that performs well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not worth it

Eric from Laurel, DE on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can feel it with my hand on the unit and that's about it. I can turn the volume knob from all the way down to all the way up and it makes no difference. Used an 8 gauge wiring kit and I have a sony XAV-1000 head unit and I get more bass out of my 6.5" speakers than this sub.

Pros: Looks

Cons: No bass, from a sub...

Crutchfield response on 12/26/2018
Eric, we're sorry you're disappointed with your amp. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 17 found this helpful

Great box, clean bass

Max from Hawaii on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub not gonna rattle your car like a potted box. For the size it's insane

Pros: Small Punchy bass Looks great

Cons: Not high amount Of bass Mounting brackets make it bigger

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great value

Brian from Omaha, NE on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made, sounds great with my factory system, low enough and the boomy. Very easy to conceal

Pros: Easy to conceal Nice remote Low response is very good

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little sub

Chris from Metairie, LA on 9/9/2018

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is amazing. Easy to install and customize. It won't rattle the doors off of the hinges but it definitely does its job. Great addition to a modest system.

Pros: Ease of install Sound customization small footprint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

it's alpine need I say more

Ronnie from Tyner, KY on 6/15/2018

2018 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it doesn't take up much space, and made my factory stereo sound better, its alpine, need I say more

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Small Package Big Punch

Darin from Cape Coral, FL on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact sub, good punch in a small package. Crutchfield is awesome, got the amp and suggested "kit" to get it connected. EVERYTHING is in the power kit, the wire quality is top notch. Take my advice, buy the suggested installation packages offered, you will not be disappointed. Installed the sub woofer in a 1993 Honda Del Sol, behind drivers seat. Incredible sound for any 2 seat car with limited space.

Pros: Compact, easy set up, can use speaker level or RCA input.

Cons: Pricey, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Eric from Crookston, MN on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful for an under seat sub. Replaced Bose under Seat sub in 2014 Nissan Armada. Improved Factory Sound System Greatly! This Sub hits Hard Enough To be the Sub In A Good Aftermarket System. As Always.....Crutchfield Customer Service And Installation Advice Was Amazing!

Pros: Great Sub! Great customer service!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best Value

William from Pacifica, California on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was bummed about having to use a stock head unit. This little sub, however, when properly wired thumps. Its strong point if correctly installed is flexibility. It just works so well with a factory unit. Impressive tight bass. I listen to Classic Rock and Electronica/Dance (deadmau5-Hooverphonic-Kaskade) This sub and the four new 6x9s Crutchfield recommended simple kick. It hits the lows. It will dim your head lights (I might take that 4ga line power straight to the battery.) Thanks to Crutchfield for supplying me proper install guidance. Installation was easy. Tapped in from the head unit as they recommended and ran Main Power cable, Remote lvl control, speak outs into one bundle. Ran them to the amp located under driver's seat. When using the stock HU, this Alpine PWE-S8 absolutely deserves a Line Out Converter. Don't cheap out and use the high-level outs, just don't! The LOC makes a night and day difference. LOC Installation is just one more small step. Totally satisfied with this unit. Big bass. Use a LOC. It seriously lets this unit perform at another dimension. You'll think you're running way more than what you got. Great Value.

Pros: Clean, tight, focused bass. Hit's way above its class. Easy install

Cons: Power Hungry.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

More than expected

Ken from Douglasville, GA on 1/31/2018

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was really surprised by the quality of sound. I expected to add a little base and this thing sounds like a 10 sub in a built box. Installed in a 2003 Jeep Rubicon.

Pros: Great base, great sound

Cons: I haven't found any

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Dan from Canon City, CO on 1/13/2018

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub performs exactly as it says it does! I've got it in a 2013 F-150 Supercrew and it sounds great, it blends well with my Alpine door speakers. Very happy with my purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Crutchfield customer from Spring Park, MN on 12/7/2017

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of equipment. I was a little disappointed on how the wiring harness was set up as I mounted it in the open.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Plenty of thump for a Sierra 1500

Anthony L from Houston, TX on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for Sierra 1500 4dr. Fits perfect under the rear seat with plenty of room to spare. Just enough bass and separate volume control is a plus. I thought about getting the 10,but glad I didn't,this 8 has plenty of thump. 2 weeks jammin so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Not Pleases

Scott from Kansas on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved the sound I got out of this unit. For a week, that is. I wanted to test the sound a week after installing, so cranked up my volume. The unit cut out and never came back. Power lights are active, but no sound. Ordered a different brand to replace. Not pleased with Alpine, that's for sure.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Bad quality

Crutchfield response on

6 of 47 found this helpful

Nice Addition

Shayne from Louisville, KY on 2/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made housing. Install was a chore but that's car electronics. Happy with the output once I had it all installed. It's a compact sub, so that is what your expectation should be prepared for, but I paired with a Pioneer 8200NEX and Alpine S series 6-3/4" speakers and it fills my large volume area van with some rocking, full sound. Pretty well satisfied.

Pros: Solid feel, nice effect, really enhances the listening experience

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome under seat solution

Scott from Bay Area, CA on 1/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in a 2006 Tundra Access Cab. It fits under the front passenger seat - but I did have to reroute some of the factory power seat wiring. I removed both driver and passenger front seat, and console - it makes doing a clean install much easier, and you can plan your wire runs - my system has no engine noise issues. The factory system had an amp that was under the rear passenger side bench. I bypassed the factory amp using Crutchfield's awesome wiring diagram, eliminated need to re-wire all the door speakers. Helpful tip: use the all-in one wiring to do the bypass, so much easier and keeps it neat and clean. This sub is just what I wanted - some punch for Classic Rock, Grunge, 90's Rock, etc... not a "thumping system, but gives great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Good, solid under-seat Sub. Fits where others might not.

James from LaGrange, NY on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good solid under-seat sub. Won't rattle the windows, but its compact, well made and fleshes out the lower end quite well. I found adjusting the crossover to a roughly mid point setting seemed to work best in my application. Test different settings yourself. Better build quality and sound than a less expensive and bulkier Sound Ordnance, which never worked right using my speaker level inputs. Read the directions CAREFULLY. This unit prefers BOTH L and R signals for proper operation.

Pros: Good sound Compact fit Appears well made Good adjustments Independent remote volume control

Cons: Speaker input and power lines on the same multi-pin connector. Would have preferred the two be separate. Fuse a bit bulky

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Kenny from Audubon ia on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and set up but barely worth having shipped it back

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Not worth what it put out

Crutchfield response on

3 of 20 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to complete the sound in my Suburban however I did not want to shake the windows. When we first turned on the music without the bass and then kicked in the sub... WOW what a difference... This small SUB is really great... My Son has a monster SUB in his vehicle and is not considering downsizing because it takes up hardly no space and it does the job.... Great Choice...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Quality Sound & Construction With A Small Footprint

Douglas from Little Rock, AR on 8/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This powered subwoofer was EXACTLY what I was looking for; a compact option that easily fit under my passenger side front seat, built-in amplifier, and does an excellent job of filling in the lows that my 5.25" woofers cannot touch. As others have mentioned, if you are looking for annoying car shaking bass, this sub isn't for you. The first thing you notice about the Alpine is the weight and rugged construction. It delivers excellent, quality bass in a small package. It does an excellent job of filling in the low end I'm missing from my 5.25" woofers. It I like the Alpine has an in-line fuse, multiple connection options (RCA or tapping the speakers), and an inline volume remote. Admittedly, I didn't think I would use the remote much, but depending on the type of music (rock, R&B, etc) or my mood, I tinker with the volume much more than expected. I had no issues with this product but the only issue I could see for some would be the wiring harness. The wires for the power and ground are relatively short (around 8 inches), which is something you should consider when planning your installation.

Pros: Excellent Job Filling In Lows Compact Quality & Rugged Construction In-Line Fuse Multiple Connection Options (RCA or Speaker) Remote Volume Control

Cons: Wiring Harness (Wire Length ~8")

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8 review

David from Annandale NJ on 8/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I was looking for. Won't rattle the Windows but fills in the base I was missing before,even in my Tahoe. Installed under back seat.

Pros: Well made, quality enclosure.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8

Stephen from Canton, MS on 5/30/2016

1996 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome product. It produces surprisingly good bass for rounding out my sound. It's not "blow your windows out" bass, but it is excellent for what I was looking for. It went above and beyond my expectations. Alpine has done it once again.

Pros: Great sound, easy installation, reasonable price.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

I have a alpine 9425 &6×9 Rs nothing but awsome,Now its time to upgrad

David B from Inkster, MI on 3/17/2016

1991 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product, Nice compact size. And I know some time went into this product, I Bet It Rocks.

Pros: Quality, Compact And Solid.

Cons: I see no cons, The name stand's for it's self.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 19 found this helpful

Better than expected!

Mark L from Columbus, OH on 2/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was worried that I would not be happy with this purchase, but I was pleasantly surprised by how much of a difference this sub made in my system. My 2005 Accord Coupe has a CDE-124SXM receiver with the KPA-445 amplifier and upgraded Alpine 6x9's in the rear package shelf and the OEM component speakers for the fronts. I installed this sub under the driver's seat. The difference in bass response and depth is significant. This is my first sub and I couldn't be more pleased. I wasn't looking to wake the neighbors (but I am sure I could), so I didn't need any more than this sub delivers. I whole heartily recommend this powered subwoofer.

Pros: Great Sound. Easy Installation.

Cons: Did not completely fit under seat (I had some clearance issues that required that the sub needed to be installed with the long side front to back. Brackets for installation could have been thicker (mine bent/distorted when screwed in). Cable leads could have been longer.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Amazing sound

TomS from Missouri on 11/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I looked at a lot of powered subs, articles, reviews, and decided on this one based on some of the reviews and the Alpine reputation. What a great decision. I had it professionally installed in my 2013 Ford Supercrew and couldn't be happier. It fills the cab with clean bass and way more than enough volume. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Size, quality construction, sound

Cons: I would have liked to hear it before buying. It would have made my choice much easier.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Great Sub for Tight Spaces

Daniel from California on 9/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great high powered 8" unit. I installed one under the driver seat and one under the passenger seat in my '04 Double Cab Tacoma. They take up virtually no space and are complexly hidden under the seats. Two of these together makes for a solid sub combo.

Pros: Small. High powered. High quality unit enclosure.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Made a huge difference in my 2013 Audi S4

wohoho from Massachusetts on 8/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I bought my 2013 S4, it was at the end of the model year and I was unable to get one with the B&O sound system. Although the basic Concert system has 10 speakers, its deficiencies became clearer over time. The free air sub on the rear deck is by far the weakest link. I hate to add one with an enclosure in the trunk that would lose a good part of the luggage space. The PWE-S8 proves to be the perfect choice. The 8" sub may seem small, but the 120W amp and solid aluminum chassis are designed as an integrated unit. make it perform far better than what one might expect from an 8" driver. I can't see ever needing more for listening to music. I see some people who installed this sub and say that it's not doing much, but that could be a defective unit, improper adjustment or bad installation. There is simply no way that this sub would ever have little or no effect on the bass. There are other choices of compact powered subs. I chose this one because I decided on Alpine SPR-60C for the front and rear door replacement after listening and comparing to others under $500/pr. So it's an easy decision to get the Alpine sub. I placed it just behind the passenger's seat on the driver's side. Folding down the seat makes easy access to the adjustments and connections. Otherwise they are out of the way. The factory amp is 40Wx2 for the front pair and 20Wx2 for the rear. Having 120W for the sub is more than enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8 Reviews

Crutchfield customer from Virginia on 7/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is small enough to tuck it away in a small car and not very obvious

Pros: small enough, quality workmanship

Cons: not powerful enough

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent sub!

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 6/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great frequency response, plenty of punch for a "normal" system without being muddy. This is a much better package than the Sound Ordinance powered sub it replaces. Well worth the extra bucks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Powered Sub

Brian from Westchester, New York on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fit perfectly behind the waterfall in a C5 convertible. What a great improvement to audio systems in small interiors.

Pros: Built like a tank.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Things Come in Little Packages

Colton from Oklahoma City on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for a great subwoofer that takes up little space, then this is just the ticket. Fits perfect under the driver or passenger seat and delivers exceptional sound. It completed my sound system without adding boxes in the back of my SUV.

Pros: Small and powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Quality sound

CmG from Washington on 1/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed 2, 1 under drivers and 1 under passengers seat in my 2007 extended cab Nissan Frontier and I'm happy with them. Using an Alpine receiver that already had a nice sound quality to start with and these units were a nice compliment. Best feature in my opinion is the small footprint which allowed for a discreet installation location. Sound quality exceeded my expectations, not extremely powerful but thats not what i was after anyway. I like the build quality as well, heavy construction with nice fit and finish throughout. Installation maybe took half an hour at most.

Pros: Great sounding, heavy construction, extremely simple installation

Cons: Id prefer if the power and ground leads weren't built into the speaker wire harness just to eliminate some wire clutter but could always clip some unused wires to clean things up

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

more than pleased

Butch from Texas on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried multiple powered subs like this and this one is the best so far. I'm an Alpine guy since the early 80's and I'm glad that Alpine has finally joined the compact sub group. I put this behind the back seat in a 2013 F-150 SuperCrew. It fills out the music nicely. It's not the slam your head into a wall subwoofer but rounds it out and has enough thump to let you know it's there. The higher volume setting will make the mirrors and the seat vibrate but not to the point of it becoming mind numbing. I couldn't be happier.

Pros: size, hookup, Alpine

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Small subwoofer big sounds

Flys4u from Houston, TX on 11/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on my Porsche 944. Don't have much room so needed small sub without the big box. This creates so much better sounds than with just speakers.

Pros: Small size. Easy to install. Great sounds

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Doesn't make much difference

Julio L. from Elk Grove, CA. on 10/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't expect that this subwoofer would be loud, but I did expect that would improve the sound quality, but it didn't. I have a stock headunit connected to a 4-channel amp that feeds a pair of components and a pair of 2-ways, the adition of the sub didn't make much difference.

Pros: compact size and solid construction

Cons: doesn't kick enough.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 22 found this helpful

PWE-S8 Subwoffer

Rod L. from Wisconsin on 9/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would not buy this product again, nor recommend it, it lacks power output and clairity. There are a number of better quallity subs that pack more output.

Pros: Small in size, easy to mount

Cons: Poor amplification, way over priced! Lacks power

Crutchfield response on

6 of 19 found this helpful

Quality product

Darren from Folsom, CA on 9/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this powered sub. I purchased this for my 2010 Ford F-150. It fit perfectly under the rear seat on the passenger side. Build quality of this sub is exceptional. This sub is not cheap, but it also will not disappoint. Install time in my truck was approx 2.5hrs. Sound quality is exceptional if you are looking for fidelity and not to rattle your doors. The sub does include the wired remote. The Crutchfield Overview states the wired remote is an optional assessory... Not the case....Very happy with this purchase

Pros: High quality build, excellent sound/fidelity, fits under the seat of a Ford F-150 ??

Cons: High side of the price range

Crutchfield response on 9/22/2014
We looked into it and Darren is correct: the wired remote is included in the box with the powered sub. We've updated our records and website accordingly.

28 of 33 found this helpful

TOP