Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Alpine R-W12D4

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D4

Alpine R-W12D4

Alpine R-W12D4

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D4

41 reviews
View this product

Evans

Adam from Evans on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Freaking amazing sub. Highly recommend. Spend the extra money and have clean deep bass.. the best ever love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, GA on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though this was an open box item, the item appears new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Pope, MS on 6/20/2021

2012 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Type-R NASTY!

Crutchfield customer from Douglassville, PA on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is nasty, but it definitely needs the recommended power output so don't chince out on the amp! Pairs perfectly with my Rockford Power 750Bd even in a sealed enclosure.

Pros: Quality, durability, design

Cons: Expensive, but it is what it is

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine does it again!

Crutchfield customer from Parma, OH on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These subs hit. Alpine has been and always will be the best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Landon from Corpus Christi, TX on 3/24/2021

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this (1) sub setup with a Alpine's A60M sub (Type S lol) at half gain w a ported 35hz box. It absolutely rocks any EDM/Rap music I play to it. Sometimes I turn it up to get it real loud and the SPL outweighs the SQ no problem. I turn it down for SQ when I'm riding with people but when I'm by myself it booms like 2 12's w my teeth rattling no problem.

Pros: Has both SQ and SPL depending on what you want.

Cons: Power hungry. If you want clean bass that continues to reflect SQ, give it its RMS. If you underpower it it'll fall off SQ wise near the top end but sounds beautiful all around.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

2 of these in 4cu ft+ prt box is insane

Jake from Marshfield, MA on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 of these in a custom 4.4cu ft ported box hooked up to a Rockford fosgate 1200rms amp at 1ohm in a crew cab Silverado and wow! Had them in a 3cu ft ported before and made a custom box tuned to 33hz 4.45cuft and 14.3port volume. I cannot give them enough credit for a sub at this price.. make sure you do a 4 cu ft+ ported box and you will be blown away with power and sq. The box is made to be down firing but a rounded bolt prevented me from removing the seat.

Pros: Sql and spl Great body punch Handling 600rms ea very well tuned correctly no clipping Great at low and high volume

Cons: Box size under rated ported size should be recommended 2-2.5cu ft each not 1.7

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

DONT BUY SCRATCH AND DENT

Daniel from Wesley Chapel, FL on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DO NOT BUY SCRATCH AND DENT. It came with the frame on the sub broken and bent so bad that it won't seal with the box by about an inch.

Pros: I will considering updating my review if they take care of it.

Cons: The speaker I received is useless

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2021
Daniel contacted our Customer Support specialist, TJ, and he got a replacement sub on the way. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.
Customer review photo

3 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing sub

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 3/8/2021

2012 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply put, it's worth it's price as built tough and heavy, just make sure you buy an amp strong enough to push this thing to its almost max.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Hoboken, NJ on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome great sound for that low Bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

SANTOS from Austin,TX on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall Good subs for the price, You can produce a big sound if you set up your subs accordingly. Happy with the subs, great subs to start off with.

Pros: Hold Power

Cons: Girlfriend is now deaf lol jk

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from White Heath, IL on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought two and have been really impressed so far. Also really grateful for how helpful customer service has been.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Everything you need

Crutchfield customer from East Lansing, MI on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I switched from the discontinued SWR-1242D model which had frequency response up to 500 Hz, so I was a bit nervous about losing the higher bass frequencies, but this sub hits hard and sounds great. As usual, it's built like a tank, and the response is super tight in a sealed enclosure. I would recommend the alpine grill to protect it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Covington, KY on 10/12/2020

2017 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired in parallel to an Infinity K1000 monoblock. Takes you to poundtown.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pond for pound bass monster

sEegii from San Fernando, CA on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean hard hitting Bass in a sealed enclosure I have it In my 329 BMW. Only need one with the right amp. (Using JBL AMP)

Pros: Solid hard hitting. Minimal space is acceptable. Don't need a huge box.

Cons: Should of bought it before.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom!!!

Luke from BROOKELAND, TX on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best subwoofer I have owned. Used an 800 watt Rms Pioneer and works great.

Pros: Very well built.

Cons: A pair would be good weight add for increased rear tire traction in your trunk if that is a con.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good quality subs

Alex from Florida on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing subs sounds good at every frequency

Pros: All above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing subs

Alex from Jacksonville fl on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased these about a month ago and wow have they been friken awesome they are tanks I have a sundown 1500 paired with 2 of these with 0 gauge wire and it will make the gas station visually shake would recommend to anyone

Pros: Sounds amazing at every frequency Very strong Very durable these have armor plating basically The design is awesome

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Mcfarland, WI on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best subwoofer for the price,excellent performance and reliability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beast!

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, LA on 8/5/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Sub. Great Sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very clean sounding sub.

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 7/29/2020

2003 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this alpine, to replace a pioneer premier spl sub that broke...didn't blow it, just broke. After breaking it in for about a week of so, decided to tune it in. Omg..this sub supersedes the pioneer by far!! Produces very nice deep, low end bass, with tight clean accurate bass. Powered by an alpine mono block 650. Very nice pair. It my amp would have been big enough to power 2 of these, I would have gotten the 2nd, however, if it is hooked up properly, all you need is 1.

Pros: Clean, deep bass. Accurate response, and good price.

Cons: Has to been in the right size box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, MN on 6/4/2020

2014 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bangers

Pros: loud clean bass

Cons: nada

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 6/1/2020

2015 Lexus GS350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the type R hits plenty hard but the quality for the price is unmatched. This sub hits all notes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Norwalk

Danny from Norwalk on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pair of subs . They kick hard .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Cooksville, IL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 2nd type r that I've had and it doesn't disappoint. It has a good clean sound to it. I mainly listen to classic rock and country but I've listened to all different genres of music and I'm very satisfied with the performance of this sub.

Pros: Great sound for the price. It's not cheap but it's also not real expensive compared to some others.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Love At First Sight ??

Ryan from FARMINGTON, NH on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean, crisp, and deep bass. I've owned Alpine Type E (2-10"), Type S (1-15"), and now a single Type R (12" 4ohm DVC). The Type R is no joke. A lot of BOOM for your buck. Currently running the Type R with a Kenwood KAC-9106D at 2ohms (1000w RMS), a T-Spec 1.5 farad cap and a Sound Ordinance 1.6 cu. ft prefab ported box. I'm currently building a sealed box to spec for even BETTER performance!

Pros: DEEP and LOUD bass. VERY accurate response.

Cons: Seems to bottom out easily in a ported box. Using a prefab box not 100% to spec and system not "professionally" tuned.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 12/12/2019

2004 Lexus IS300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Best Value on the Market

Wood from Ruther Glen on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a SQ sub that also gets loud. I've always bought other brands such as Sundown, CT Sounds, and Image Dynamics, just to name a few, and never really considered Alpine until I was looking for a SQ and the arrow was pointing at the Type-R. My initial impression of this sub was that it was just OK. The problem was the enclosure. I went from a prefab sealed, to a prefab ported, and ended up building a ported to spec (1.7cu ft, tuned to 35Hz). Anyone considering this sub, do yourself a favor and either make an enclosure or have one made to spec - DO NOT waste your money on a prefab. Also, go ported; this sub sounds best in a ported enclosure. It's just as good, if not better than JL Audio sound quality, at a much better price. The best value on the market.

Pros: Sound Quality Build Quality Works well in small enclosures Goes down to 24hz

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

17 of 17 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Saint Anne, IL on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine R-12D4

JR from Center Point, AL on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To me this sub sounds better than any subwoofer you'll find on this site with exception to the super high end subs that will run over $900 a piece. I've had JL, Rockford & kicker 12" subs & the R series Alpine subs are better in my opinion,l. They will take a hard beating & they sound & look really good. You can't go wrong with this sub.

Pros: Sounds awesome & looks great. They come with a rubber gasket that covers the mounting screws.

Cons: Only handles 750 watts. I guess if you want one that will handle more power you have to move up to the X series.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine R12D4

JD from Birmingham , AL on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's built exceptionally well & can handle a beating. You won't be disappointed with these subs. I've had Kicker, JL & Rockford subs & I would rather have Alpine R series over most all others.

Pros: The best sub you can buy in this price range.

Cons: 750 Watts RMS. If that's a con, I guess you have to move up to the X series if you need more wattage...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from Macksville, KS on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub for the money clean looking and hits like a hammer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as I expected. Awesome sound, still going easy on them but so far very impressed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great SQ/SPL Sub

Matt from Allentown pa on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a custom box 1.7cu ft. built to alpine recommended specs. It sounds fantastic and clean. This is a great SQ/SPL Sub when tunes correctly with your stereo system. I had to get a bigger amp. Powering it with an arc audio xdi1000.1 amp running at 2ohm 650w but actually putting 762w on dyno. When I had my kicker 600w amp pushing it with volume it would distort not enough power. More power corrected that. They do need the RMS 750w. Very happy with it.

Pros: Great clarity, good SQ with right box and amp. Hits very hard.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

casey from Elmore City, OK on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Worked perfect in my Dodge pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Jordan from Spokane, WA on 3/30/2018

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the perfect speaker to complete my alpine system in my subaru! hard hitter for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent range

Jason from Madison, IN on 3/18/2018

2007 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Still breaking it in, but it climbs much higher to meet my Focal PS165 V1's than my cheapo Fosgate did. I was actually shocked at how well it got into the 90 's without losing clarity at the low end. You get what you pay for, I guess. LOL

Pros: Hits harder than your drunken uncle Larry. Awesome setup to cover the screws, especially with the optional grill installed. With the grill it looks very professional.

Cons: None so far. Still breaking it in.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After my Alpine SWRD4's gave out on me I decided to go with these. Turned the gain down a hair and dropped them in the box I made for the gen 5's. Couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Absolutely amazing awesome sub!!!

Justin S from Arkansas City, KS on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing pounds... This beast truly takes 750 watts rms... From experience this is the best, cleanest, low and loud sub you can buy for the $! I have purchased 2 of these subs for my ram 1500 single cab... I run each of these BEAST @ 2 ohms with a Rockford Fosgate R500X1D... These amps truly run @ 635 watts rms... 635 Watts is perfect for these subs! This system is amazing, if you want an awesome reasonably priced sub and amp, go with this set up! You will not regret it, guaranteed...

Pros: Amazing lows, punch, pounds, loud, clean, sturdy, powerful, amazing!

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

The best of the best!

Dalton from Morganton, NC on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing in every way, was a perfect fit in the box, looks stunning and sounds better than everything ive had, and ive gone threw some sets up but these take the cake.

Pros: Everything, looks, sounds compatability, everything about these subs is amazing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D4

Crutchfield customer from El Mirage, AZ on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First Alpine sub ive owned nice deep sound very loud , may have to go to a dual sub in my car very clean sound ,love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP