Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
315 131 742 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
315 131 742 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Ported enclosure with one 8" Type-R subwoofer

MFR # SBR-S8-4

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Ported enclosure with one 8" Type-R subwoofer

MFR # SBR-S8-4

13 reviews
View this product

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Crutchfield customer from Jacobus, PA on 6/11/2020

2000 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 5/10/2018

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this lil guy, made a huge difference in the overall system, I was missing my mid range for sure with two 12"s and door speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Buyer Beware!

Tom from Orange Park, FL on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I need to share with the community my journey with this sub. I have been a life long JL Audio customer when it comes to subs but decided to jump ship as this product was from their "R" line - must be good?! Had it for a year now and have blown a third sub? I had it paired with the 300 rms Alpine mono amp for the 1st two subs and moved it to my daughters car that using an Alpine MRV-V500 which has 250 rms. Blew the 3rd 8 inch Alpine woofer last week. Crutchfield replaced the 1st 2 under warranty but I would not even pursue a 4th woofer. This product may work for some but not for me. I have been putting in car stereos for myself and friends for 25 years and never blew a sub. I have now blown 3 in the same year. I'm sorry JL Audio...I am coming back!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 26 found this helpful

Oh, no!

Eddie K. from Sandown, NH on 4/7/2016

2007 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a follow up review of a product that I thought was great, however, not even a year in use and the sub stopped working. I had to replace the sub in the unit. Luckily it was still under warranty and didn't cost anything. According to the recommended power I was 25 watts under the max rms power rating so it wasn't over powered and the amp is clean, never distorted. I also have the JL Audio microsub 8 inch which is similar to this sub and haven't had any issues with that one. I will be sticking with JL for subs in the future.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Didn't last...

Crutchfield response on

15 of 24 found this helpful

Perfect sub if you want bass and keep your space!

Chris from Portage, indiana on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub! Barely takes up any room, coming from a single IDMAX 12 in a 1.5' box. These things are so small I fit TWO of them and a PDX-V9 in the spare tire well! Granted, they don't quite have the depth or overall volume of the IDMAX, but make no mistake, these puppies bang out the bass! You won't be disappointed!

Pros: TINY! Loud, articulate, good musicality, did I mention they're tiny for the amount of output you get?

Cons: Doesn't make you breakfast in the morning? Seriously, other than initially seeming expensive, they will make you wonder why you waited so long to say, 'YES! YES! YESSSSSS!'

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Alpine SBR-S8-4

Jason from Florida on 6/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome sub

Eddie K from New Hampshire on 5/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this sub to replace the factory sub in my 07 CRV, which was a joke. I picked it up at a local car audio place and pulled out the 4 ohm sub that came in the enclosure and swapped it for a dual 4 ohm voice coil Alpine Type R sub so I would be running 2 ohms. My Alpine amp runs 300x1 in 4 ohms or 500x1 in 2 ohms. What a perfect match, the Alpine DV4 sub running at 500 watts. Sounds incredible. The vehicle shakes like I'm running 10's. Highly recommend.

Pros: Great bass response, clean bass.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Quality Speakers with Quality Sound

Crutchfield customer from HI on 3/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just Perfect! I got Two, and they ROCK!!

Pros: Slim design to fit under back seat. Deep quality sound. They sound like 10"s.

Cons: As always..... The Price! But for a TypeR speaker in its own enclosed box, this is a steal

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sounds great!

j_park3r from Wayne, MI on 2/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was having a hard time finding a sub for my 05 Dakota Quad Cab...although I'd prefer something completely out of the way this fits perfectly in the rear floorboard and takes up minimal space. I have 2 younger kids and they just rest their feet on either side of the speaker so it's like it's almost not even there. I was looking for something to fill in the lows of my current setup and this sub does the job even better than I had expected. I ended up running it off the rear channel of my Alpine MRP-F300 and moving my rear speakers to the head unit for the time being so I'm sure it would probably sound even better with more power to it.

Pros: Sounds great, takes up very little room

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome

Clos from Albq, NM on 11/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a smaller sub. works great under the passenger seat of my truck, takes up no cab space.

Pros: Sounds lots bigger than it is and is fairly small and compact. Great clean bass

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice surprise

Don from San Diego, CA on 7/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub to replace my beloved JL Microsub that I've used since 2000. I bought locally for about $250. I have this powered by an Alpine 5 channel amp producing a stated 150w to the sub. All in my 06 Mini Cooper. The rest of the system consists of MB Quartz components up front and Polks in the rear. I am running the stock HU through a line out converter. This subs kicks butt! I have to say I didn't expect much, so I was pleasantly surprised. For rock and metal it accurately produces tight, clean bass drum with no muddling. Pop and rap sound good and the bass hits hard enough to vibrate the mirrors and your chest. More than deep enough for anything you can throw at it. Size wise, it's small enough that it doesn't take up much space in the boot. Construction is solid and feels of good quality as you would expect from Alpine, and it is substantial enough that it won't slide around even if its not secured. I've seen reviews around the net bashing this sub as too small or it's just an 8, but I think those people haven't heard this sub properly set up or were expecting it to be like 2 12's. It's not. So if that's what you want, look elsewhere. But if you want good quality bass from a quality built unit for not a lot of money, this should definitely be on your list.

Pros: Tight, clean bass Quality construction Small in size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Excellent addition to my Sienna

rheteric from Philadelphia, PA on 7/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't find a single flaw with this subwoofer. The bass is excellent. I have it paired with a Rockford Punch T-400-4 so with 2 channels bridged it is getting about 265 watts. I do not play it overly loud but for a vehicle the size of mine, a 2012 Toyota Sienna, it is impressive how solidly it fills in the low end. I have it nicely secured in the 8th seat well in the trunk by using the existing retention strap... it fits perfectly with some space behind to tuck away some extra gear. I don't lose any trunk space or the ability to fold the rear seats, the 8th seat just stays in the garage until I need it. I have had a sealed box JL10W3 in a previous SUV that was great. I was between this sub and the 8" JL CP108LG-W3v3. I went with the Alpine since it was less money and the corners are angled, so I thought it might help with my placement. I have no regrets. For a ported 8" it has good extension down to 35Hz and does not sound sloppy.

Pros: Good bass, small package, solid construction.

Cons: Wish that the grille could be easily rotated so the logo was turned 90º

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

2011 Jetta TDI

starrjohn03 from Grand Blanc, MI on 6/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this sub installed in my lady's TDI pushed by an Alpine PDX-V9 amp along with ARC AUDIO XDi 6.2 components front and rear with a signal processor and OEM head unit. You will not be disappointed with this sub! Great bass that is tight. Pay the extra $20-30 for the Alpine remote bass adjust if using the same amp for when the kids are the car. We now have rich lows, tight highs, and full precise sound no matter what type or genre music you prefer!

Pros: Fills the car nicely, compact, do not need to drop the seats to hear it.

Cons: Price is always a little steep in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP