Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine S-S40

S-Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # S-S40

Alpine S-S40

Alpine S-S40

S-Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # S-S40

45 reviews
View this product

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 9/29/2021

1994 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, CA on 9/5/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for Jeep jk dashboard tweeters. You will need to purchase the forward facing mounting pods as these are to wide to be a direct drop in

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Palmer, AK on 6/12/2021

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them, they sound so clear and hit so much cleaner over all a good choice for the price you pay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PITTSBURGH

roger from PITTSBURGH on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to put together a basic cheap aftermarket system that sounds good, found these on sale and bought them. Alpines have a smoother and cleaner sound then other brands, especially in this price range which I wanted. I replaced 4x6 speakers in the back of my single cab pickup with these 4" and added the foam pockets. They sound good for what they are and am happy with them. Well worth the price especially if you can find them on sale. You won't be disappointed unless you're expecting big$$$ performance.

Pros: Price, sound, quality, a much improved everything over stock without breaking the bank

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Quality and clarity

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 5/26/2021

1998 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Building my budget work truck and needed 4x6 speakers. Im a long time alpine fan and wanted to stay alpine. These come with a 4x6 adapter and made it a perfect fit. Sound quality and clarity is great. For the dollar amount I couldn't be more pleased

Pros: Adaptavibility

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Colfax, WA on 5/21/2021

1992 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica, VT on 5/2/2021

1995 Chevrolet G Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A+ speakers for their size and position (dash panel in my chevy g20). removing the entire dashboard to install the speakers was one of the worst auto repair/upgrade jobs of my entire life (second only to the infamous process of removing exhaust studs), but it really was worth it. I plan on buying another set of Alpine S-S40s to mount in my van's ceiling, where the conversion company had mounted some low quality speakers. thanks, Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Wray, GA on 4/26/2021

2003 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're awesome and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Bethalto, IL on 3/29/2021

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from factory dash speakers on our '04 Wrangler. Simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

02 Chevy Silverado

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound compared to stock speakers. Exceptional upgrade especially if you still using the stock radio.

Pros: Fits hole. Clean look.

Cons: They don't make these in 4x6.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation/fit great with mounting plate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just had them installed last week and so far I love them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 2/19/2021

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son and I replaced all the speakers in his truck with Alpine and we are very pleased with how it turned out.

Pros: Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 2/4/2021

1991 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put them on a 91 hardbody. The sound that comes from these little speakers is exceptional ??.

Pros: Everything comes out clear.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 12/27/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, easy intallation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear Tones with Bass

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo Grove, IL on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect from these 4" speakers. These went into my front door speakers in 1995 Corolla, fitment was good. These blew my old Pioneers TS-F1034R away. I could ACTUALLY hear my front speakers now over my rear 5x7 Alpines Type S Speakers. They catch higher tones in songs and have a respectable amount of kick for their size. Great deal for speakers for my application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/16/2020

2003 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement speakers for the price! Easy to use site and very fast shipping!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 11/15/2020

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Perfect fit

Pros: Sound,price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco , CA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers have clear high end and mids. As you would imagine there's not a lot of base kicking out. Way better than what came out of the door.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Reed from GREENWOOD, SC on 10/28/2020

1970 MG MGB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made my new Retrosound radio sound even better. I used the Alpine grills from a pair of Alpine speakers my brother bought for me 36 years ago. There have been other brand name speakers under those grills but none sounded as good as the new Alpine.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Haltom City, TX on 10/26/2020

1989 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced stock speakers in my 89 Volvo 240 (front only). They sound UH-MAZING and look great too! Love, Love, Love them! Huge crisp clear sound, especially for the size. Hubby will be ordering them next. These will not disappoint. Can't wait to install more in the back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 10/24/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these where great for my 2004 Chevy truck cant go wrong with alpine thanks Critchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pinball

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine S-S40 make an excellent replacement for the stock speakers found in most modern era Pinball Machines. Today's pinball machines feature a vast array of sound and speech. Both are heightened with a crispness and clarity that one comes to expect from the Alpine name.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

92 vette

Brian from Delphi on 9/10/2020

1992 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for 92 corvette bose front speaker, great sound but you will need to put some power to them so don't forget an amp with your head unit or you will be disappointed. Paired with Alpine ss65 in back with ils-650 and ktp-445U, all you need unless you want ear damage ??

Pros: Perfect fit for replacement of front bose speaker and sound quality

Cons: Needs a grill, the vette carpet cover muffle the sound coming out

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade for dash speakers

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rsa Bch, FL on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid speakers, great price. Big upgrade from the factory dash speakers in my older Mercedes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Penngrove, CA on 9/6/2020

1991 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good and fits under factory cover in my 91 wrangler sound bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers!!

Noel from Lancaster, PA on 8/19/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine will never disappoint you!! These speakers bring your music to life!!

Pros: Perfect sound!!

Cons: None!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic sound

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 8/15/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase. I bought these for the rear doors of my 2007 Chevy ext. Cab pickup. I bought these because they had silk dome tweeters and they match my Alpine 6.5's in my front doors. They made a huge improvement over the stock speakers mostly in midrange clarity and treble. I have 2 8" MTX subs so these are crossed over at 80hz., so I can't really say weather they have good bass. I really like the silk dome tweeters because they don't have the harshness that hard dome tweeters usually have. I like that they came with the 4x6 adapters so I didn't have to buy them. I'm using a Pioneer MVH 622 head unit, and they get plenty loud, but stay totally composed. Very happy so far, they seem to be made with great quality materials and are well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Schulenburg, TX on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to ditch my stock speakers and upgrade. What a difference, such great sound!

Pros: Performance and price.

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 7/19/2020

1996 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they sound pretty good with out amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NC on 7/6/2020

1999 GMC Sierra Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Andrew from ST PETERSBURG, FL on 6/17/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to make some bookshelf speakers, and they sound great, with full range the made up the difference, of the mid I used. And finished it with a full crisp sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speakers. I'm happy with them.

Crutchfield customer from Cookeville, TN on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used these in two jeeps and plan on putting them in a third that I am working on. They do a very good job and have decent sound for a system that is not amplified and super high end. They should probably get 5 stars. I might be grading them too hard since they are just 5" dash speakers.....but I have trouble giving that 5th star without being WOW'd. They are very good and much better than the factory speakers. I'm betting an amp, tweeter, and a sub would be the only thing that would be better than the more traditional setup I have now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from King, NC on 5/2/2020

1993 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound even with t tops out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, IL on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great, good price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers wasn't expecting them to be as loud as they are

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

She loves good gear.

Brian from Warren,Ohio on 10/16/2019

2007 GMC Sierra 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very, very nice little speaker for the money. Excellent construction, but, you definitely want a high quality amp, or you will miss the capability of this speaker. Again, we are talking about a $70 set of speakers, but for the money, and pushed right, you'll be shocked at clear, clean , loud sound you get. Crutchfield is great, they make the instal a breeze.

Pros: Sound real good, well built.

Cons: You need very clean power not a ton , just very clean.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Needs more cowbell

Crutchfield customer from Kalispell, MT on 9/10/2019

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't give these speakers a worthwhile rating yet as I haven't installed the new receiver yet. Looks like I won't be doing that for a while since I hit a deer after only 3 days of speaker use. Jeep is now totalled and it will take me a while to put it back together.

Pros: Easy install, great Crutchfield kit extras really help. Better sound than stock.

Cons: Probably would go with 3x5's instead of a 4" round for dash speakers on a Wrangler.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 6/16/2019

1987 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I ordered the stereo and speakers I talked to one of the sales person and they were very helpful to explain the best speakers for the install I was doing.

Pros: The sales people had good understanding of what I was doing, very helpful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/26/2019

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! They fit perfectly in my wrx wagon and they sound amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Highland, NY on 12/11/2018

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, the crutchfield staff helped me choose the speakers and they sound great. Had no problems...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Would do buy these again.

Steve from Harrisburg, PA on 11/23/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thoroughly enjoy the alpine family of products and these speakers don't disappoint. Easy to install and look great. They sound clean and have a nice sound range. Would buy these again.

Pros: Sound clean. Looks great.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 8/25/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound crisp clear awesome speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S40

Kevin from Springville, NY on 6/24/2018

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great song great price easy install

Pros: Price and easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound. Definitely worth the upgrade over previous model

Hunter from Brownsville TN on 6/2/2018

2003 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and great bass. Crystal clear and pretty loud

Pros: Small Great sound

Cons: None that I know of

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP