Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine S-S65

S-Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # S-S65

Alpine S-S65

Alpine S-S65

S-Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # S-S65

44 reviews
View this product

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 12/31/2019

2019 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers, definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Brandon from Flint, MI on 12/27/2019

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very good speakers, quite happy with the sound clarity and range, I would like them to be a little louder but I have no idea how to wire them to my amp lol, I'm pretty happy with them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow!!

Tommy from Yucaipa, CA on 12/22/2019

2016 Nissan Versa SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great!!! Highs are nice and crisp and the bass is way better than expected. I'd recommend putting an amp on em to get the full potential out of these!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Jesse from SANTA BARBARA, CA on 11/6/2019

2006 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read reviews saying that these where bass heavy but you can make them sound good by changing up the equalizer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Alpine products

Crutchfield customer from League City, TX on 10/11/2019

2002 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers for my mk4 Golf. always stick with Alpine products when it fones to the stereo and speaker in my car. Installed them the other day and absolutely love them!

Pros: Superior sound over stick stereo components

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lacks mid frequency

Joseph from SANTA CLARA, CA on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are bass heavy. They severely lack the midrange that I expected out of a mind bass speaker. Some of the mid frequencies are missing.

Pros: Good Bass

Cons: Lacks some of the mid frequencies and highs

Crutchfield response on 10/8/2019
Joseph contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

ALPINE IN GEO TRACKER

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 10/6/2019

1995 Geo Tracker

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the other day in my Geo Tracker. Instead of replacing with 4 1/2. I simply added these in the rear side panels. Theres actually room for another set right beside theses. After removing the side panel, observing the cavity I decided to insult it to create a tighter bass and man what a beautiful tight sound. The highs, Mids and lows sound amazing. I just purchased the JVC KWV250BT I'm certain it will sound way better than OEM radio. I'm just waiting for the kit to get started on the JVC install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Dewitt, MI on 10/4/2019

2006 Buick Lucerne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are great. Directions to get the door panel off were great. Directions to install were TERRIBLE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from West Monroe, LA on 8/29/2019

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 8/28/2019

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine has always been great. Does the Job on deck power wonderfully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 8/12/2019

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! I've always been a fan of Alpine, especially since it was the first car radio I bought 20 years ago. I will say I was pretty disappointed when I first turned the radio on but then I realized I needed to adjust settings. Great speakers!

Pros: Crystal clear sound and quality brand.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing value!

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 8/6/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great, I am running this off an aftermarket head unit and I love the way they sound! The Tweeters are not too bright like you find on a lot of cheaper speakers, and the bass is adequate. You won't be getting booming bass, but you should really get a sub if that's what you are looking for.

Pros: Great Value, solid build quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Quality

Crutchfield customer from Kokomo, IN on 8/3/2019

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good, but not quite a much bass as the factory speakers in a 2010 GMC Sierra

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Bay City, MI on 7/28/2019

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed.

Pros: Sounds clean at higher volumes

Cons: Bass is worse than OEM speakers

Crutchfield response on 7/30/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect over-sized speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Schuykl Havn, PA on 7/19/2019

1994 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these in the rear pillar on my 1994 Jeep Cherokee, while they wouldn't fit the standard factory space, I did buy some 1/2" spacers and mounted them to the pillar just fine. I bought these knowing in advance I'd need to do some slight modification to allow the speakers to fit. They sound amazing now, loving it!

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Required a little mounting modification, but I knew that before buying them. If you have the correct mounting size already, this will not be an issue for you.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Niagara Falls, NY on 7/14/2019

2009 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and sound.

Pros: The sound quality, as opposed to the original factory equipment, is far superior in quality.

Cons: The installation for a 2009 Malibu LT3 required drilling new holes for the mounting brackets.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Broxton, GA on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am enjoying the speakers and they sound good

Pros: Clear sound and good bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Christopher from Long Island, NY on 6/4/2019

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok - so I have been a long time fan of Alpine but frankly these speakers, while designed very well - simply do not provide good sound quality. Running these with an Alpine 4x45 power pack amp (connected to a Kenwood DVD/NAV Rcvr line out) was an utter disappointment. Sound was "muddy" at best and as others have pointed out - the lack of response below 70hz is something that is immediately noticeable as the complete lack of any bass response (regardless of music choices from hip-hop to edm to jazz to heavy metal to classic rock) there was no bass to be had anywhere in any of my reference tracks... They require a sharp 18db/oct roll off right at 70 or distortion will come earlier - but even the highs were lack-luster - especially compared to the s65c which was most surprising. I'd stay clear of these and look to Polk instead... (kill-mat installed in the doors & fast rings used as well - upgraded to JL audio amp putting out close to 70w p/ch made slight improvement in bass response but still no imaging or depth of sound)

Pros: Beautifully Designed Solid construction

Cons: no bass response low sensitivity requires near max RMS for any performance at all zero mid-high imaging from lower rear door - sounds "muddy"

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, MT on 5/19/2019

1999 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. And the mounting adapters that came in the box were higher quality than aftermarket adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Gray, ME on 5/11/2019

2015 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price, great sound, install was a little tricky, but overall great purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Southington, CT on 5/10/2019

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers they fit perfect in the GMC sierra

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 5/8/2019

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 4/29/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great , with no amp, but amp ordered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value and performance

Crutchfield customer from Baldwinsville, NY on 4/28/2019

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and performance, perfect for with Metra adapter for my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine s-s65. 6in a half inch. Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Rice, VA on 4/1/2019

2001 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These. Spekers. Are. Totally. Awesome. For. Small. As. They. Are. What. A. Crystal. Sound. They. Have. A. Must. Get to. Live. Band. Sound. ??

Pros: Can. Handle. Lots. Of. Power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit and function for a perfect price.

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson City, MO on 3/31/2019

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Alpine speakers deliver great sound . Besides excellent quality, they are packaged securely to protect your investment. Perfect fit and function

Pros: Tweeter is directional

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Brian from Homewood, AL on 2/6/2019

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sounds great. Great service from Crutchfield and Hunter.

Pros: Easy to install & sound is great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Dave from Irving, TX on 12/15/2018

1992 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All went well throughout the purchase, shipping and my installation. I was lucky and got help from Maverick in the Sales Department. He was very friendly and ultimately helpful with all of my questions. I am a believer in Alpine products and Crutchfieds ability to stock and get the right product to my doorstep. I have bought from Crutchfield through the years and will continue to do so. Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: The speakers are of good quality and sound reproduction. They are priced very competitively. The kit came with everything I needed to change thae back speakers in my 1992 Civic CX. All was great!!

Cons: I haven't found anything negative about these speakers. Buy with complete confidence.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly impressive sound

william from Albany, GA on 12/10/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are one of the products that you can definitely say that you pay for what you get. They are worth the little bit of extra money. Quality built, nice clean, crisp highs, clear mids and deep lows. I was highly impressed. Pair these with a high quality amplifier with about 50-80 watts per channel and you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Quality build, amazing sound. Great buy.

Cons: Not really a con, but they are somewhat deep with a decent sized magnet, so I would make sure they fit depth-wise in your vehicle. Some vehicles may have a window that may hit, when let down. Just check the mounting depth specs to your vehicle and you should be good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Clay from Pipe Creek, TX on 10/28/2018

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, clean, crisp sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Larry from Skellytown, TX on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy to install

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Didn't come with covers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great sounds at a great price

Matthew from Wesley Chapel, FL on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound amazing and super easy to install with the included bracket with wiring adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good price, better speaker

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 8/17/2018

2005 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super helpful customer service and easy installation. Overall great speaker.

Pros: Clarity, easy install

Cons: Does best with amp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Fort Loudon, PA on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big improvement over factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 7/18/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers. Installed without any hiccups.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade from stock

G from SF Bay Area, CA on 6/18/2018

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very middle of the road speakers. For the price, you can find much better as your only source of sound. Bass handling, definition and punch definitely lack, so if you do not have subs, these will leave you wanting more. I bought them with the intention of hooking up my sub shortly after. Was hoping for a bit more out of these to tide me over. I'll be wiring my sub very soon. With that said, to run these with a high pass filter and a sub, they'll do the job. Definitely a bit thin sounding, but nowhere near as bad as some other speakers. I'm running them off my aftermarket head unit, so I'm sure with an amp they'd sound much better. For the price, I'd recommend to keep looking, unless you love the way these speakers sound.

Pros: Brand

Cons: Price. Thin sounding.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

2001 GMC Sierra crew cab

Chris from Placerville, CA on 6/3/2018

2001 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great instructions make it a no brainer. Sounds great, very pleased.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Small connector on speaker wimpy. Broke one had to solder wire to speaker. Opened wire connector with small ice pick for other speakers, ok

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Review title

Jonathan from Ovid, NY on 5/30/2018

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker itself is awesome I only had an issue with the clips on the back they are a little flimsy

Pros: Sound is good!

Cons: Clips on back of speaker flimsy one broke of and I had to solder it back on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Walnut, CA on 4/19/2018

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, clear sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Kevin from Conway, AR on 4/19/2018

2009 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 4/3/2018

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds really good just can't handle heavy bass. Songs that have good beats is descent bass on these speakers anything else not so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Eagle, WI on 4/1/2018

2005 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good upgrade over factory speakers. Crisp highs, decent mids, but not much punch down low. Not that I expect that from a 6.5" coaxial speaker, but it is only a slight improvement over the factory speaker in this regard. Still happy with them as a rear set of speakers, as they are mostly to ' fill' the rear of the vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 3/24/2018

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound as always from Alpine. Little modification for component speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65

Casey from Union, SC on 3/21/2018

2013 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awsome sound for a great price replaced my factory honda 6.5 with a JL400 and they are great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP