Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine S-S65C

S-Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # S-S65C

Alpine S-S65C

Alpine S-S65C

S-Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # S-S65C

118 reviews
View this product

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 6/7/2021

2002 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a set of 5 1/4 two ways, and the sound is MUCH fuller. Just coming in at about 40-50 Hz, now we can hear bass in this car.

Pros: These are pretty good woofers.

Cons: The tweeters were hole mount only. Would have preferred an damage free surface mounting option.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional !

Crutchfield customer from Stone Mountain, GA on 6/7/2021

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very economical middle line up speaker that just happens to be very musical as well ! Makes me curious as to what Alpine's R and X series have to offer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, IL on 6/3/2021

2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great as they are nice and clean sound. As with all components not a lot of bass but mids and highs are perfect. Added alpine Ktp-445 and sounds really good and has a lot better detail and volume.

Pros: Price and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 6/3/2021

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a worthwhile upgrade to original 20 year old speakers and long overdue. Clean sound & good lows even with factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/30/2021

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound AMAZING in my 2018 Accord Sport. I would highly recommend them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Reynoldsburg, OH on 5/10/2021

2009 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds great especially with an amp I also got the alpine kta450

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 5/3/2021

2016 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing great quality and sounds so clear can't complain about these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/18/2021

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from aftermarket head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Hills, CA on 4/17/2021

2018 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great budget upgrade to stock system. The car sounds great. Now... time to change the rear ones

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Build Quality and Sound

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, KY on 4/11/2021

2017 Honda Civic EX-T

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These improved the sound soo much over my stock system. The quality and build of these is amazing especially for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

2014 Subar Impreza

Crutchfield customer from Moreno Valley, CA on 4/8/2021

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moderate to install, no plug and play came to make the tweeter install easy. Had to run the tweeter wire thru the door rubber boot/sleeve to make a connection. Quality of the set is nice and sound very clean.

Pros: Clean, clear sound.

Cons: Without a plug & play adapter for the tweeters, install could take a good while.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Palatine, IL on 4/1/2021

1994 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such excellent sound from these speakers. Definitely worth twice the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clean sound for your Bose

Crutchfield customer from Evanston, IL on 3/30/2021

2014 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I fretted over trying to "fix" a Bose system for days. I did so much research on the 2ohm / 4 ohm thing. People are really crazy about the 2 ohms. I still don't understand how half the power results in only -3db, but whatever. I figured if nothing else the tweeter would be a marginal improvement. I was wrong. These speakers are amazing. The sound is so clean I didn't even think they were working. This box comes with different adapters and parts. The tweeters do come out of all the various trims and you can pop the grill off. When removed they were only slightly larger dia than the factory speakers. I trimmed the a-pillar plastics and used some hot glue for a pro stealth install. Of course, Crutchfield provides everything else you need. The +/- connectors are foolproof with the harness clips. I did have to splice some wires for the tweeters to use the factory crossovers, but nobody will see the electrical tape. If you or your loved ones suffer from the Bose mid mud - make the swap, it's 100% worth it.

Pros: Silk Dome Complete Kit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

02 Chevy Silverado

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound compared to stock speakers. Exceptional upgrade especially if you still using the stock radio.

Pros: Clean look. Inline crossover is simple to install.

Cons: Mounting holes don't match the after maker bracket holes that are made for this specific vehicle. I had to drill. Metra 82-3002

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Component Speakers!

Jacob S. from Cape Girardeau, MO on 3/23/2021

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Component Speakers! Power my amp at 50 watts per channel and they turn my compact car into a live concert.

Pros: Amazing Sound Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crossover not built into speaker

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 3/16/2021

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. No instruction manual other than the back of the box. According to the description the tweeter has the crossover inside it. After fully mounting one and running my own wire, I found out that the crossover/capacitor is built into their wiring!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Newalla, OK on 3/14/2021

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. I'm still breaking them in but already I can hear the clarity. Power handling is very sufiencent. I've liked the sound of silk dome tweeters the best. Used to be a polk audio guy but these are changing my mind. Bought 2 pairs one pair up front and one in the rear doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Reseda, CA on 3/10/2021

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, crisp and clear, no distortion

Pros: Lots of predrilled mounting holes

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Cambria Heights, NY on 3/7/2021

2012 Honda Accord SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 3/6/2021

2011 Dodge Nitro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is very solid and the quality of the speaker is quite nice. The kit provided all the components needed to make the speakers fit in an oversized hole in the door. The mounting height was also very low and did not interfere with installation.

Pros: Tweeter came with the correct high pass filter with long leads. This enabled many options for placing them inside the crowded dash.

Cons: Mounting the tweeter was a little more difficult as it did protrude more than expected. However, once the corner panel was installed and secured the fit was tight and there were no rattles

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the detail!

Pedro from Modesto, CA on 3/5/2021

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for some speakers that would add more clarity to my songs. With help from Crutchfield's compare tool, I chose these for their sound and their price. If you're in the market for speakers that will bring crunchy guitars to life, these are it!

Pros: I can pick out little details in all my favorite songs.

Cons: I waited too long to buy these. I could have been enjoying them much sooner!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Middleboro, MA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Major improvement over OEM . I did not have to fabricate any special bracket for the tweeter installation. Just a little round filing the mounting hole and sanding off the flats on the new threaded retaining ring is all that is needed. Spend some extra time routing the tweeter crossover wires and ty wrap to the existing wiring harness on side of doors. Called Crutchfield for a quick question on the tweeter wiring and technician did a great job explaining connections to me. Location front doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 2/24/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had older alpine speakers from 2011, decided to use my xmass bonus on inexpensive speakers but new material on the woofer and turned out to be the best $129 I've spent in a while

Pros: Great sound tight bass

Cons: I'm burning to much gas cause I keep on going for rides to enjoy my music

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good speakers! Highly recommend!

David from Garner, NC on 2/22/2021

2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2012 Camaro Coupe w/o Boston acoustics & w/ factory stereo - The difference from factory speakers to these Alpine S Series components is insane, "night-and-day" difference. The speakers themselves feel high quality, the chassis are solid and there is some weight to the speakers due to the larger magnet than what comes on the factory speaker. Once installed, even with the factory stereo, the Clarity of music is absolutely noticeable. The highs are not sharp, just clear and precise. The bass is very clean, and vibrates my arm rest (factory speakers did not). These speakers seem like they cannot get loud enough, just keep turning the dial and you never lose the clarity and precision - simply put, they're very good! Highly recommend to anyone wanting to upgrade the factory speakers - will be adding Alpine Type R 6"x9"s to the rear deck along with a new Alpine stereo & amp....cannot wait to hear the improvement!

Pros: Solid design, easy to install w/ in-line crossovers. Sound clarity is amazing, and Bass is very clean - a massive upgrade over factory speakers even w/o a new stereo or amp. Crutchfield provides mounting brackets & wiring harness adapters to make the install as easy as possible. NOTE: save yourself some time and use hot glue, or some other method, to mount the tweeter to the factory housing....universal back straps are not the way to go, trust me haha

Cons: None. Couldn't be happier with my purchase

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice speakers

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 2/19/2021

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son and I replaced all the speakers in his truck with Alpine and we are very pleased with how it turned out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, TX on 2/9/2021

2020 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Fit the 2020 F150 perfectly. The sound is terrific. The highs are not too high and the bass response is awesome. These are great replacements for the stock speakers. Add a little power from an amp and they really come alive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Sierra

Crutchfield customer from Branford, CT on 1/31/2021

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with how they sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 1/21/2021

2009 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Lihue, HI on 1/10/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear. Huge difference compared to my stock speakers. Although I wish my trucks model made wire harnesses for the tweeter, I believe they would sound even more immaculate.

Pros: Clear and loud

Cons: Absolutely no issues

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great stock upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Fontana , CA on 12/28/2020

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the stock speakers in a 2019 Honda Civic. The sound really came to life...especially the highs.

Pros: Easy replacement In-line caps and coil

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Crawfordsville, IN on 12/12/2020

2007 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

50 watts. And. Plenty of bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Replacement for 15 year old factory speakers

Peter from CUMMING, GA on 12/10/2020

2005 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a fine addition to my 2005 Subaru Outback XT. Mounting in the front doors with the included adapter went very smooth. Sound quality from Alpine is something I have counted on for the last 30 years. These are a significant upgrade to 15 year old factory speakers. The midbass is firm and tight without being boomy. The tweeter delivers crisp highs that are a bit sharp, but I like that sound. These speakers are connected to two channels of a 4.100W Amp and sound amazing. This is the second pair the family has bought, first in my son's car and now mine. Alpine quality construction and sound.

Pros: Good Sound, Ease of installation, Great instructions(Thanks Crutchfield), Price point

Cons: Should have bought them sooner.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Caneyville, KY on 12/1/2020

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Woofers in the door sound great but could not believe how much difference the 1" tweeters make. So much better than the factory speakers even without using an amp.

Pros: Woofers fit in stock door openings with no problems.

Cons: Tweeters would not fit into factory tweeter location so had to cut a hole in the door panel to mount the tweeters but that was not a problem as just used a hole saw and mounted the speakers in a better location than the stock factory tweeters.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Devils Lake, ND on 11/21/2020

1999 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These may not be top of the line speakers but they are leaps and bounds ahead of the stock speakers that were in my 99 Dodge Dakota. I paired them with the matching Alpine coaxial speakers and am very pleased with my decision to do so. Sound quality is much better than stock.

Pros: Great sound over the stock system

Cons: Had to cut holes in my door panels to flush mount the tweeters but the end results were worth the minimal modifications

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 11/15/2020

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, clean sound. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Terrible, but not outstanding

Jonathan from Kinsman, OH on 11/8/2020

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For this price, my expectations were pretty much met. I was very happy with the metro mounts but they did not come with any hardware. The sound quality is good but not exceptional. Manual is non existent & the schematics on the box do about nothing. Left feeling like Alpines are overrated.

Pros: - clear - good highs

Cons: - very poor bass response without bass boosting via equalizer - coaxials sound better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

white Hall

Jonathan from white Hall on 11/5/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor quality! Tweeter cuts in and out. Not worthy of the Alpine name

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Repeat Alpine customer

Crutchfield customer from Worland , WY on 10/21/2020

2012 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked perfectly with an Alpine S-A32F amp to upgrade the front speakers in my 2012 Chevy Cruze. Very happy with the sound quality and the tweeters fit right into the existing A-pillar mounts with no additional hardware or modification. Be careful not to break the glue holding the stock plastic mount ring to the back of the pillar or you will have to re glue it to keep it firm. No a big deal, just a slight delay in completion.

Pros: Fit in the stock tweeter mounts with no mods!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

07 Ridgeline

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 10/18/2020

2007 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the speakers so far. Install was a little more involved then your typical plug and play but that mostly had to do with the cutout dimensions for a ridgeline. The woofers had to he rotated a few times to prevent the wiring terminals from contacting the sheet metal causing shorts. Now that they're in, the upgrade in sound quality, even running off the stock headunit for the moment, is exceptional.

Pros: Build quality Sound quality Bass response

Cons: Highs are a little sharp, once the new headunit and amp are in ill work on tuning

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Utica, OH on 10/14/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are average speakers could find better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/14/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Penngrove, CA on 9/7/2020

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good to me! Much better than my stock 2006 equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from North Conway, NH on 9/2/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have these in a 2007 Tahoe running off a KTP-445u and stock radio. They sound great.

Pros: Great for the price point

Cons: You're 100% gonna need a sub if you want any bass at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major Sound Upgrade

Nicholas from CLEARWATER, FL on 8/20/2020

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this in my 2017 Chevy Malibu. I have the stock 7" screen and these speakers sound good. I am very pleased with the quality of the sound of these speakers. Complimented with Alpine SPE-6000 6-1/2" 2-way Speakers in the back door. The install was quite easy. Strongly suggest these Alpine speakers!!!!

Pros: Quality of sound, Easy install Instructions, plenty loud with the stock head unit

Cons: Didn't come with a free amplifier. :)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 8/16/2020

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first it only seemed like a slight upgrade over my factory speakers. Then I swapped out the head unit for a Sony Carplay one with more power. These things shine. I can finally get them louder than I feel comfortable and there is 0 distortion doing so. I'm about to install a sub, but for most songs these carry enough bass to think I already have one. (play Piece Of Your Heart by Meduza and I can feel it in my chest) They are much louder and bassier than the cheap MB's that I have in the rear and I'm extremely happy with them.

Pros: loud clear and bassy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Gentry, AR on 8/5/2020

2010 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound.

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 8/4/2020

2011 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound quality, felt the improvement instantly.

Pros: Good sound quality.

Cons: A little expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 7/23/2020

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this and also the two-way model to replace the factory speakers in my 03 Highlander. Installation was a bit tricky on the front doors, but with the included hardware you won't miss! They sound great with my Pioneer unit and a Kappa 5ch amplifier!!

Pros: Excellent sound and clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Nashport, OH on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Pardeeville, WI on 7/16/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 7/4/2020

2007 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly in my truck and the sound is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Lindstrom, MN on 7/1/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lacking in low end.

Shoua from CONNELLY SPG, NC on 6/29/2020

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers struggle playing frequencies lower than 100hz vs the other competitors. The speakers also lack volume. I felt like I always have to turn the volume up to get these speakers to shine. By lacking the low end, these sound hollow by itself. Of course, these are components so these speakers will only benefit if you have a good subwoofer that will make up for the non-existent bottom frequencies. In other words, make sure to pair these speakers with an amp and a subwoofer to balance the frequency ranges.

Pros: Clear.

Cons: Have to turn volume up to hear the speakers. Need to pair with an amp. Need a supporting bass source due to to these being component and it's more midrange nature. Mixed feelings about these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Fort Bragg, NC on 6/27/2020

2017 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great door speakers they provide great sound and quality

Pros: Great speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Tundra audio system upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 6/24/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Currently I am running these off the head unit, and they sound good. Once I add an amp, I think they will shine. The highs from the tweeters are crisp, I like the highs. The woofers sound good and deliver good bass, I am going to add a sub to round out the sound.

Pros: I am really happy with Crutchfield supplying the woofer adapters for the doors and the wiring harness adapters. I also like the way Crutchfield offers installation instructions as well as phone tech support. Great company service.

Cons: I wish they would have included the tweeter adapters, I ordered them from another retailer, made install very easy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 6/15/2020

2020 Jeep Gladiator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the JL/JT adapters these fit, look and sound good. I already had the Alpine system in my JT. This makes it better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 6/10/2020

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Alpine speakers sound nice...better than the Bose original speakers. But, my 5 star rating is for Crutchfield more so than the speakers. I had several "challenges" doing the change over. Crutchfield helped me with their tech support 4 or 5 times with the utmost patience, guidance, and care. I've never had such great service in my life; and I'm not exaggerating. I would recommend them to anyone interested in their products; and/or trying to take on a project themselves. If Crutchfield got me through this, they can probably get anyone through their project. My deepest thanks for the speakers...and more so, your great help!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Check the mounting depth of the woofer before buying.

Lance from FOUNTAIN, CO on 5/15/2020

1999 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Woofer does not fit the front door of a 2000 4-door Honda Civic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/20/2020
Lance, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 5/14/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Good quality sound.

Pros: Perfect size.

Cons: Had to drill holes in order to mount.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Prairie Du Sac, WI on 5/14/2020

2016 Chevrolet Trax

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are easy to install and sound much better than factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Peru, IL on 5/13/2020

2001 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed front door truck speakers. Nice crisp sound. Great buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great and I haven't even changed the head unit yet. Fit like a glove

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound for not a lot of money, exceptional value!

Crutchfield customer from Dickinson, ND on 5/6/2020

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great for the money. I've purchased 4 sets!

Pros: Sound great, not super expensive.

Cons: Teeter can be a challenge to mount for novices.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Hobe Sound, FL on 5/5/2020

1995 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with sound

Pros: What I expected

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Yulee, FL on 5/5/2020

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These fit perfectly in my vehicle. So far they are working as I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Saluda, VA on 4/28/2020

2005 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great paired up with the iXL-W650 receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2013 Chevrolet G5-Camaro

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality for mid-range and clear highs. Nice upgrade from the Boston Acoustic OEM component speakers.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speakers

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work well with the Alpine head unit I put in my 2010 Malibu.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I don't recommend this product.

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 3/27/2020

2017 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No mid bass, not of good enough sound quality. Not suitable for cars without a high power amplifier. The tweeters are not of good quality either. Simply over priced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 11 found this helpful

Great speakers

Will from Jacksonville, FL on 3/4/2020

2004 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! I installed them on 2 cars of mine so far and getting another ones for my current car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine for the WIN !!!!

Craig from Olympia, WA on 2/11/2020

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased a 2009 Scion Xb and the stock speakers just weren't cutting it. Once I installed these Alpine S-S65C's it was a night and day difference. The highs are very clean and the mids sound amazing. And you can never go wrong with Crutchfields amazing customer service. They think ahead and not only send you everything you need to install, but also give you detailed instructions customized for your vehicle !!! And if you ever run into an issue they love to help over the phone... don't think twice about buying these speakers or getting them from Crutchfield !

Pros: sound amazing easy to install

Cons: nada

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best Sound Quality HANDS DOWN

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 1/22/2020

2019 Mazda CX-3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound! Clear Highs Great Mids It also helps that Crutchfield supplies EVERYTHING you need to hook these bad boys up (brackets, wire connectors, detailed instructions).

Pros: well built and exceptional quality

Cons: NOTHING

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MI on 12/31/2019

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great! Huge upgrade over factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good speakers great price

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are some great speakers and have a ton of good base. I would highly recommend them.

Pros: Good base and clear highs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crispier Sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Lemoore, CA on 12/22/2019

1995 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

crispier than OEM! thanks for recommending this speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Skyler from GOESSEL, KS on 11/25/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great! Component speakers are great and alpine does a great job. I've got mine amplified with the 75×4 sound ordnance amp and perform perfect

Pros: Fit perfect with crutch field kit. Has great mids and highs and paired with the alpine sub the whole system comes together!

Cons: Low end punch isn't too impressive. But overall performance is great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Milner, GA on 11/22/2019

2001 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure if it's my set up but not real impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Crutchfield is the best.

Crutchfield customer from Chana, IL on 9/5/2019

2002 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 8/28/2019

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine has always been great. Does the Job on deck power wonderfully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Newton, KS on 8/28/2019

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There needs to be more insulation hardware that would make it easier to install them. They sound really good and work for my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Crutchfield customer from Paterson, NJ on 8/25/2019

1997 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing, way better than factory and most other component set out there around the price. With a little bit of tuning, these speakers will sound even more AMAZING.

Pros: Easy to install sound great.

Cons: Needs a little bit of tuning.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Sierra Madre, CA on 8/18/2019

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference ! Look forward to drive places so I can here music on my new speakers. Also bought the Dynamat and baffles along with the tool that helps take the door panel off. The harness which was included free just plugged right in with no wire splicing needed. Crutchfield is a great company ! Also let's you know what will fit in your vehicle along with install instructions. Very happy customer !

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for the price

Crutchfield customer from Unadilla, NY on 8/14/2019

2014 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These have really good sound but not a lot of bass definitely need subs with

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CARTHAGE

Vernon from CARTHAGE on 8/3/2019

2010 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great components for the price. I installed them in my 2010 honda civic. Warm sounding midrange. Smooth and crisp highs. I'm running them off my kenwood headunit.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good buy.

Crutchfield customer from Johnstown, CO on 6/23/2019

2009 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound. Great sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2018 Civic SI

Mario from Los Angeles, CA on 6/13/2019

2006 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the front door speakers in my 2018 Civic SI. The stock speakers were just awful. When I replaced them with these the sound greatly improved and my ears thanked me. Everything is clear and the bass is clean.

Pros: Mids and highs are exceptional Bass is clean

Cons: They're not free

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Baker, LA on 6/7/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit, easy install and superior sound over my stock speakers. Included hardware made it plug and play great sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing Lower Mid-Range Performance

Chris from Long Island, NY on 6/4/2019

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not what I expected from Alpine... Initially ran these with an Alpine 4x45 power pack amp (connected to a Kenwood DVD/NAV Rcvr line out) was a bit of a disappointment. Upper Mids and Highs are super clear & sound imaging excellent but as others have pointed out - the lack of response below 70hz is something that is immediately noticeable as the complete lack of any bass response (regardless of music choices from hip-hop to edm to jazz to heavy metal to classic rock) really detracts from the listening experience... There was minimal bass to be had anywhere in any of my reference tracks... These require a sharp 18db/oct roll off right at 70hz or distortion will come earlier than most would like... I'm currently considering replacing these with Polk's db6502 offering as i've heard good things about them - just not looking forward to dealing with the external crossovers and running new lines from the doors to the dash tweeters (kill-mat was installed in the doors & fast rings used as well ended up upgrading to JL audio amp putting out close to 70w p/ch made slight improvement in bass response but still not full range enough for me - slight distortion heard closer to max rms rating in the highs even with filters tightened and eq backed off)

Pros: Beautiful Design Well Constructed & Solid Loved the integrated cross-over approach (avoiding the need to install a separate cross over and allowing me to use the factory wiring) Excellent sound field and imaging in upper midrange and high frequency response

Cons: Highs screech near max input No Bass Response to speak of Low Sensitivity Must drive these with close to rated RMS for ANY upper mid-range bass

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, MT on 5/19/2019

1999 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound. Quality wiring & in-line crossovers. The mounting hardware that comes with give you tons of options. The adapters that came in the box were higher quality than aftermarket adapters. And the tweeters rotate in a socket like eyeballs, so you can point them exactly where you want. Great component system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, CT on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do what they are supposed to, grills would have been nice though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 5/8/2019

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great value for price!

Crutchfield customer from Baldwinsville, NY on 4/28/2019

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounding speaker, separation of tweeter from woofer cleans up sound and brings stage up higher. My tweeters are dash mounted in factory locations. The 1" tweeters are in an 'eyeball' mount and have a small adjustment in any direction, making installation easier. Frequency response is accurate on the low end (70Hz). Far better than factory, tight midrange. Some people will want a sub to fill in lower registers.

Pros: Drop-in fit, adjustable tweeters, tight, accurate sound

Cons: Limited bass is expected for a 6 1/2" speaker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Serious high, and mid level kick for your buck

Austin from Schertz, TX on 4/22/2019

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the record, this was my first time installing any sort of speaker into a vehicle, other than a simple subwoofer install. That being said, Alpine seriously went above and beyond my expectations, especially with all of the different mounting hardware/ mounting options that these components came with. I installed a single pair of these in my personal 2009 Scion xB work vehicle, as I spend more time in it than my own truck. I can't say the installation was easy, simply because there was a huge learning curve to it all the first time around. If you're someone who's looking to do it yourself, you'll be pleased with the simplicity of these components during install. The sound... oh my god, words cannot explain just how much more clarity there is up front in the Scion. This caught me by surprise because the scions come with somewhat DECENT tweeters, and mid range door speakers from the factory. I've seen people saying that they're powering these Alpines via the head unit... and after hearing them with the gain set at its minimum, I can say that they are a waste of time if you aren't going to be giving them any sort of power from a separate amp. I haven't had time to mess with the gain, and crossover on the amp side, but I've heard enough of them (still in the break in period) to say that they offer some serious mid and high level frequencies when fed true power. Don't feed them power just from the head unit, you won't be doing the components or yourself any favors.

Pros: - unreal clarity from the tweeters - housing for the tweeter allows it to be angled and rotated towards the desired listening position - door speakers came with an adaptor from alpine that can be easily modified to fit numerous manufactures (I still bought metra brackets) - despite the lack of instructions, install is straight forward from the diagram provided on the product's box - numerous options to mount the tweeter (trust me, there will be an option for your vehicle)

Cons: - the terminal on the speaker itself where you make your connections may have been a little weak on the one that was placed on the driver side, that or I just gave it a bit too much of a push - the set of brackets that allow for various mounting options are a bit flimsy, but they serve their purpose. In my case I didn't use them, but would recommend picking up some sort of other bracket / mount for your vehicle from Crutchfield. -

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Install

Crutchfield customer from Garner, NC on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No amp and they hit better than I expected! Quick install with no problems. Only hiccup I had was when I got to the second door I broke the tab on the window switch bezel while taking the door panel off. Thought it was smooth sailing after the first. Tweeters were challenging on the install until I found a company online that made pvc cut out brackets that fit the original housing. Very pleased with speakers for the amount of money I paid for them. When I change the factory HU and add an amp I know it will take it up a notch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 4/11/2019

2010 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine speakers are exactly what I had hoped for. Great bass and smooth mid and highs. The big secret is... Fat Mat on every surface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Great Sound for the Middle class Price

Crutchfield customer from Dorado, PR on 4/8/2019

2008 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of component speakers this an full upgrade for my 2008 Lancer great sound for the front speakers in my car. Also, adding a set of 2 way Kickers in rear a Perfect mix for this setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 3/27/2019

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sounding speakers for a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine might be slow on the draw-but they always deliver the quality.

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing entry/mid-level speakers. They deserve all 80 of those RMS watts-so make sure you power them appropriately. Excellent highs and phenomenal mid-base, particularly after sound treating and sealing my doors.

Pros: -Major bang for the buck. Higher RMS than most entry level replacements, sound like 100 watt+ premium speakers. -Inline crossovers included. Only appropriate frequencies make it to the door speakers and tweaters. -Alpine experience: packaged well with TONS of supporting hardware.

Cons: -A little bit more expensive than other entry level speakers. But you get you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 2/20/2019

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from factory. Kenwood deck powers them nicely.

Pros: Surprisingly good bass without an amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 2/17/2019

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive sound

G from Pittsville, Md on 11/17/2018

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my work car, a 2001 Camry LE with the factory high powered 3 in one head unit. Wasn't really expecting much, and the factory speakers were simply horrible, and sounded awful. Installing the medium sized woofer in the factory location was cake. Finding a proper tweeter location...not so much. Used the trim covers in the door where the factory tweeters in the XLE would go.(front corner of door where mirrors are mounted) Cut the hole easily, but had to modify the mirror studs for fit. Once that was done, buttoned everything up, aimed the tweeters, and put in a great rocking Stevie Ray Vaughn CD...I was overwhelmed by the Alpine's speaker performance. Highly Recommended. Can't wait to add a modern head unit (looking at the Pioneer wireless Android Auto unit) By the way, the 6X9 Alpine coax I put in the rear deck are amazing too!

Pros: Great sound from their location. Hoping the sound is even more impressive when I finally install a proper modern head unit.

Cons: Having to search and modify a spot for the tweeters

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Clay from Pipe Creek, TX on 10/28/2018

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

God, clean, crisp sound, fit great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing sound, extremely clean, tight bass response, even at low power

Stephen from Lutz, FL on 10/6/2018

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing, let me just start with that. I have been listening to them for about 2 weeks now, so I could get a good feel for them before writing this review. These replaced my factory door speakers in my 2006 Corolla. The sound quality is nothing short of amazing. Toyota does not making installation super easy, but with the speaker brackets included by Crutchfield they fit perfectly. Getting a proper fit for the tweeters is not very easy due to how the factory ones are installed by Toyota, but these are just the right size so with some hot glue they adhere to the factory bracket just fine and installing them in the factory location was a breeze. The in-line crossovers are very slim, making fitting them into any tight door space easy. I can't rave enough about the sound, especially the bass response; bass is super tight and clean, with absolutely no distortion, even at mid-to-high volumes. Compared to the factory speakers, these produce so much more bass, and the tight punches and clean sustained bass is mind-blowing considering I do not even have these amped. They are powered by 22 watts RMS from my Kenwood Excelon receiver. I'm sure that when powered to their full potential it will be even another level of amazing. Granted without a sub I am not getting a lot of bass on extremely low frequencies, but everything above the extremely low sounds is amazing even at 22 watts. BUY THESE!

Pros: Range of tweeter installation brackets supplied, top-quality sound, extremely clean bass, excellent power handling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Alpine love

Crutchfield customer from Fairburn, GA on 8/20/2018

2008 Chrysler Aspen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound amazing!!! Nuff said

Pros: Great sound filters...strong cones...tweeters have great bolens with sound coming from cone..not screaming!

Cons: Respect the 3ohm...must stay with in frequency and hertz or it will have your amp on fire and send in protect mode

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great Upgrade!

Kaleb from Marlow, OK on 8/19/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers themselves sound great! I am a musician, so I am a sound snob and I am impressed with these speakers. If you are looking for a lot of low-end you won't find it in these, as that is the nature of mid-range speakers, but the clarity in them is unreal.

Pros: Easy to install and is a great upgrade to factory speakers

Cons: Instructions are vague and there is little to no bass in the speakers

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Alpine Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 8/12/2018

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers good price Cruthfield Tech support Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Jack from Rosemount, MN on 7/22/2018

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for cost

Pros: Cost, mids and highs

Cons: Could hit harder but don't have them amped

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Vieques, PR on 6/24/2018

2011 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound And Quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

GMC Sierra 2500

Duane from Santa Maria, CA on 6/21/2018

2007 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality speaker. Good installation options and accessories. Separate tweeters come with several mounting options. Crutchfield advisors a very knowledgeable and offered great advice.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Need more power to drive speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Can't Go Wrong With Alpine

Pete from Salinas, CA on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tight mid bass, amazing vocal reproduction, smooth highs that are not harsh or overwhelming. Good construction quality, and simple straightforward installation.

Pros: Good quality Easy installation Price is on point And it just sounds really good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks good, sounds better

Hunter from Brownsville TN on 6/2/2018

2003 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Larger than any other 6.5" speaker I've put in my door cone diameter and basket. I was able to retain the factory clamp with other 6.5s but I needed adapters for these because the clamps would crush the surround. The speakers are well worth the extra work, they've outworked and outperformed pioneer and kenwoods. Crystal clear sound and great bass without an amp, they'd probably sound amazing with one. You can't go wrong with alpine

Pros: Clean sound Amp not needed but would help Plenty of wire for tweeters Comes with many tweeter mounting brackets Tweeters sound great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent component set, give them some power!

Ken from Bluffdale, UT on 5/13/2018

2016 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit and easy to install, I appreciated the extra pieces to help mount the tweeters. I was able to mount the woofers with no issues, and the tweeters fit inside the factory sail panels of my Hyundai Santa Fe Sport with no problems. I had to literally carve up the tweeter of my previous set (JBL Stage) to get them to fit in the sail panels - these fit under the factory foam just fine. The sound is excellent, I am sending 50 watts CEA rated power to each side and they handle the load like a a champ. I am not building a competition vehicle, but these are great for a daily driver or a road warrior who enjoys good music during the trip.

Pros: Ease/Flexibility of installation Balanced highs No bulky crossover box Bi-ampable if you want to have active crossovers

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 5/7/2018

2000 GMC Sierra Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and everything i needed was included

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Mike from Carrollton, TX on 5/1/2018

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Product. Running 4 of these with an JL Audio Amp with 70 RMS per channel. Even with the AMP turned up a little more than 1/2 of the potential these speakers are clean. The mid bass is tight and the tweeters are super crisp. Can't go wrong with these.

Pros: Great clean sound.

Cons: Nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

David from Forest, VA on 4/5/2018

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great all around speaker. Nice tight mid bass and very clear highs. Not harsh high, more like silky smooth highs. Pushing them with the Alpine KTP-445A Power Pack. More than happy with the set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine S-S65C

Casey from Union, SC on 3/21/2018

2013 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound for a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP