Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine S-S69C

S-Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # S-S69C

Alpine S-S69C

Alpine S-S69C

S-Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # S-S69C

34 reviews
View this product

Kearney

John from Kearney on 8/21/2022

2019 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I didn't purchase Crutchfield & I kind of did that out of spite a bit (although I did purchase other equipment for this vehicle from Crutchfield) but their auto-configurator has ruled out a LOT of 6x9s for the 2014-2022 Cherokee for years & THIS was one of them. Let me tell you, while I have these mounted in my front doors they dropped right into both the rear AND front doors with plenty of clearance. I'd mentioned this to multiple customer service reps back in 2015 when I had my previous Cherokee & again when I made purchases for this one. Every time I got the same canned response. Frankly, I feel like the Crutchfield customer service experience on that part really missed the mark seeing as I have mentioned this to 5 different reps in 7 years. Considering that the Cherokee hasn't changed their 6x9 fitment in all that time & the configurator ruled these out Crutchfield would have missed out on that sale anyway since they say it doesn't fit . Plenty of time has gone by to address that issue so I feel like it's time that they get called out for that. The sound out of these was a night a day difference from the cheap Mexican-made paper speakers that it replaced in m y 2019 Cherokee. I was actually surprised at how well they were able to be powered off of the stock head unit. While I will be having these amped in the near future, if you're wanting a drop-in upgrade that still sits at about the same volume level of your stock speakers these will fit the bill nic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value Beyond Belief

Jeremy M. from Franklin, TN on 6/22/2022

2018 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I drive a company vehicle which is replaced every 3 years on average. So budget and ease of install are big factors when choosing replacement door speakers. I've always been really happy with the warm sound of Alpine's tweeters. I went back and forth for quite some time between the Type R and the Type S. But at almost $300 in savings I'm glad I went with the Type S. I have these paired with the S-S65 6.5" in the rear doors of my 2018 F150 Crew Cab and the Soundstream Reserve RSM4.1200D 4 channel amplifier, but kept my factory 8" head unit. These components will provide a slightly warmer sound with a little more depth if you run them from your stock head unit. But, as with most aftermarket speakers, you really need to amplify these guys. I know sound is very subjective, but I can't imagine NOT using an amp on a nice set of components. You simply won't get the undistorted volume you're likely craving if you don't add an amp. Take your time and tune your amp properly with these guys. I was able to get the highs to scream (silk tweeters keep things from being too harsh) and the bass response is a little more impressive than I imagined it would be. You may want to add a sub for those low frequencies, but you can still move some air with these 6X9's when pushed accordingly. Alpine has always and continues to provide quality at reasonable prices. As far as Crutchfield customer service, absolutely second to none. They're the real pioneers of the DIY audio industry, hands down.

Pros: Included brackets make install easy. Pro tip: Hanger strap from your local hardware store makes tweeter install a breeze in the pillar. Simply bend it accordingly and the hole spacing will work great for the screws to install in the original mount location.

Cons: Only 85 Watts RMS as opposed to 100 with the Type R.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers at a great price!

Stephen from Grand Chute, WI on 6/15/2022

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put in my 2016 Ford F150 XLT - really helped over the stock sound

Pros: Better Sound quality!

Cons: Tweeters didnt fit in my pillars. The tweeters were too large for my truck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers, poor tweeter Mounts

Russell from Mount Vernon, WA on 5/14/2022

2014 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To start off, these speakers sound great. Strong bass, crisp highs, robust build construction. Can't complain about the way they sound as I am picking more details in songs that I didn't hear before. They also pair great with the significantly cheaper Pioneer TS-A 6.5" speakers in the rear doors of my truck. In addition to this, the tweeters fit under the stock dash grilles of my Nissan Frontier, which is not an easy task. What I can complain about is the optional "stealth" tweeter mounts that come in the box. I tried using these first and had all sorts of issues. They're cheap, flimsy, and I ended up breaking one trying to mount the tweeters in them. Don't even bother with them and use the swivel mounts that the tweeters come pre-installed with in conjunction with an adapter plate (something that Crutchfield often includes for free with purchase!) Note: Crutchfield's fit checkers says they won't fit in a 2013-2021 Nissan Frontier. They will. They are .05" longer than the stock speakers and they mounted up with no issues.

Pros: Crisp highs Strong Bass

Cons: Included "Stealth" tweeter mounts are flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Corpus Christi

Jesus from TX on 5/13/2022

2022 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2022 Toyota Tacoma. Alpine S-S69C fits in the speaker location with aftermarket bracket. Speakers sound awesome!!!

Pros: easy install with 6x9 speakers

Cons: installing dash speakers with aftermarket brackets. Have to either remove tweeter grill or modfiy OEM dash cover to make the OEM cover sit properly.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Chris from Plano, TX on 2/19/2022

2020 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in my F150

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 10/16/2021

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clear highs and the bass is tight, these speakers sound great and a major improvement over stock in my 2015 f150

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Might need amp

Crutchfield customer from Delano, CA on 8/12/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2018 Ford F-150 reg cab and I would suggest just keeping the stock speakers these have less bass and won't sound good with the stock head unit.

Pros:

Cons: Tweeters are no good at high volume, stock 6x9s have more bass

Crutchfield response on 8/17/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Dedham, MA on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great highs and deep mids

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers super clean sounding. Replaced my factory Alpine speakers in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Doors drop right in. Tweeters needed some epoxy to put them in.

Pros: Crystal clear sound

Cons: Lost a bit of bass compared to the factory alpine.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, GA on 4/4/2021

2019 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great easy install with all the installation instructions only running off factory head unit getting ready to purchase a amp so they can come alive

Pros: Great build quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Problems with tweeter

Scott from Harrisburg, PA on 2/22/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The components sounds great, easy to install. The tweeters are not as good. Right tweeter is crackling and sounds terrible after the first day.

Pros: Components sounds amazing

Cons: Tweeters aren't good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

F-150 uprade.

Crutchfield customer from Astoria, OR on 2/19/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Major upgrade from factory. Good bass for the size, clear mids and highs. I'm running off the factory head unit in my F-150, so they would sound better with an aftermarket amp/head unit. I'd recommend these speakers to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 F150 Replaced Front Factory Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the 8" touchscreen with Nav and was happy with the factory head unit. The speakers needed a little help. This Alpine component set was recommended by crutchfield. The doors come apart pretty easy. I reused the factory brackets for a OEM like fit. The tweeters in the A pillar are also easy to get to. I soldered the new tweeters and crossovers to the old OEM plugs so I didn't need to cut into the factory wiring. Running wire through the door jams would have been the correct install but I didn't want to drill through the molex connectors. These speakers sound great with the stock stereo with no amp. Clearer sound with more bass.

Pros: Great factory upgrade. Easy to replace.

Cons: Door jambs have molex connectors I didn't want to mess with.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sold built speakers

Crutchfield customer from Spanish Fort, AL on 12/17/2020

2015 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to my factory system. Sounds much better.

Pros: With supplied mount brackets and wiring, they were a perfect fit in my F150 Lariat

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome set of speakers great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, sound is incredible.. hands down best bang for the buck out there

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Destrehan, LA on 11/23/2020

2019 Ford F-250 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely an upgrade over the stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Deal

Crutchfield customer from New Oxford, PA on 11/1/2020

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you factor in the cost of the mounts and wiring harness Crutchfield prices are as good or better than other retailers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Lugoff, SC on 10/8/2020

1991 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound amazing and hooked right up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Front Stage for 2015 Non-JBL Toyota Prius

Crutchfield customer from Spartanburg, SC on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the stock front door/dash non-jbl speakers in a 2015 Toyota Prius with this setup and they sound amazing. I did a full sound deadening on all doors and I'm still using the factory head unit without an amp. The bass response with the DSP set to high is making me wonder if I really need a sub-woofer and the tweeters are dynamic and smooth. They are being complemented by S-S65's in the rear doors. I've had over 36 hours of playback including two 12 hour straight trips and they've proven to be reliable. Important to note that the tweeters DO NOT come with proper mounting brackets for the dash but I was able to modify (destroy) the factory dash speakers and use them as brackets with random parts but I would not suggest this method. Ask the rep you speak with for a better tweeter mounting method. I've seen some reviewers claim that the cones are made of paper which they absolutely are not. I also feel like these are severely under priced considering their performance. Good on Alpine for continuing to supply quality equipment to their customers.

Pros: Exceptional sound on factory radio. Good bass response. Tweeters are smooth and not shrill. Reliable. Well priced.

Cons: Tweeter mounting brackets were worthless for my car but I can't blame Alpine for that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/29/2020

2015 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound a lot better than factory. Installed into 2015 f150. Brackets for the speaker went in pretty easy. You will need to cut off the screws as they will be to long. Tweeter went right into pillar had to make a strap for the back and hot glued them in turned out nice. Going to add amp down the road will update then..

Pros: Much better than factory.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Walnut, CA on 8/23/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2019 Ram with these in front as components is the business!!!

Pros: Hook up each tweeter to a crossover and use them to replace both left / right 3.5 dash speakers (3.5 bracket needed). And put the 6x9s in the front left / right side doors. Amazing!!!!

Cons: The bass these speakers put out will convince you not to buy subs!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent purchase

Crutchfield customer from Conover, NC on 7/30/2020

2011 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and price

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Beefy

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, NH on 6/12/2020

2018 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem to be well built. I don't utilize them to their full range since I am running a sub as well, but fantastic mid's and highs. So far very impressed. Also utilizing a LPF blocker for the tweeters instead of a traditional crossover made install much less of a headache.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 4/17/2020

2007 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like its well made. Better than the OEM. Will recommend to friends who owns the 1st generation TSX.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/13/2020

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the speakers but the bass is not up to par. Will sound better once they are broken in and I tweak the amp a little

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Really great sound quality

Brendan from Atlanta, GA on 11/5/2019

2006 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. I upgraded from coax 3 way 6x9's and these are a huge sound upgrade. The crossovers are enormous and the there isn't any distortion.

Pros:

Cons: Crappy install instructions printed on box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doyle

Tim from Doyle on 8/10/2019

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Hearing details I never heard before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine S-S69C

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 7/21/2019

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply amazing sound and quality, easy to install in my 2018 f-150

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great budget upgrade!

CB from TN on 2/27/2019

2007 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On a Budget? These are tremendous upgrade over stock speakers Sound great with just after market headunit. I added 100 watt x 4 amp and they came to life. Integrated crossovers made install super easy. Tweeters are loud and will overpower low wattage sub set up. My system has room to grow with next sub upgrade. Only drawback to components is mid range bass needs a little help from the equalizer, but my crossover point is only set to 80 Hz. I recommend using crutchfield listen and compare and emailing customer support. It helped me narrow my choice.

Pros: Easy install, clear highs, good tone, price on point.

Cons: Mid bass needs a little help from EQ.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Orange Beach, AL on 1/5/2019

2017 Ford F-250 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great highs and mods, you really have to crank it up for the lows. I kept the stock radio(2017 f250) and replaced stock speakers. Everything sounds a lot cleaner.

Pros: Great mods and highs.

Cons: Low end could be a little better.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound great Price

Matthew from Wesley Chapel, FL on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound amazing and super easy to install with the included bracket with wiring adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpines/F150

Bill from Memphis, IN on 4/19/2018

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great in the front doors of my F150 with my 400 watt amp. They have the bass I am looking for. The tweeters are slightly too little loud.

Pros: Good clear bass and full range when adjusted right.

Cons: Tweeters are a little loud.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound