Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Alpine SWR-12D4

Type-R 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-12D4

Alpine SWR-12D4

Alpine SWR-12D4

Type-R 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-12D4

34 reviews
View replacement product

Alpine SWR-12D4

dana from Meadville, PA on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought 2 of these. No doubt the hardest hitting subs !! And they can easily take all the power rated for and more!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST SUB YOU CAN BUY WITH THE PRICE

Jorge from Riverside, CA on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had a variety of subs, from kicker, audiobahn, pioneer, Infinity, and i have heard so much good stuff about the Type-R so i decided to try them out. Let me tell you, the whole way home i was playing it people were looking at me and I was smiling from the amount of bass these things push. Hands down the best sub i have had and I will forever buy these. I highly recommend purchasing them, they will be worth every single dime you spend on it.

Pros: Hard and deep bass! Clear sound, amazing shaking in your car.

Cons: None, this sub is worth every dime and performs perfect.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just buy it! Seriously a great sub.

Philip from Summerville, SC on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this sub so much. It has such a deep and strong bass. I've been running this sub coming up on 9 years now in the most makeshift tiny sealed box I could find to fit into my 2-door Jeep Wrangler JK. But I'm telling you, it doesn't phase this sub, it still sounds excellent. Very happy with this one and I would buy it again. And I'm definitely going to buy another one of these to put into my other vehicle.

Pros: Excellent bass, worth the money, it's lasted 9 years so far and it's still working hard.

Cons: Big, heavy, it needs lots of depth in the box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Over-rated subwoofer. True rating should be 750 watts

Nicholas from Los Angeles, CA on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Followed a bass package for my own build. On my third sub-woofer. A quick search on google will show a "new version" of this product, rated at 750 watts RMS - and that this product should be rated the same. I'm inclined to believe this since I've burned out two already. Probably should've stuck with JL Audio.

Pros: Looks good.

Cons: -Should be rated at 750w -Jumper terminals are confusing -Won't last long if you took Alpine's 1000w rating at face value

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointed

Leonard from Arlington, TX on 9/16/2017

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Broke them in for 1 full week, without the amp being fully turned up. Connected to an alpine amp that was designed for it (pdx) and the day I was told it was safe to turn it up by an alpine certified dealer, one 12 busted. Crutchfield was great about getting me a replacement right out, but just a bad experience and has me a little leery after having my kicker cvx12s for 3 years with heavy rap bass with no problems.

Pros: They look great.

Cons: Break in period obviously needs specification.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Satisfied

Gras from Wahiawa, HI on 5/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a loud bass that will wake up your neighborhood I highly recommend this bad boy right here will get the job done. I'm definitely getting another one again when I get paid haha

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-12D4

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, VA on 3/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am very happy with this sub. I have put about 25 hours on it and was just breaking it in for the first 12 or so. But not that I have put some real power to it, it hits super hard and clear in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-12D4

Seth from CO on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's an amazing sub that will shake your soul. I have 2 of them in a fox box (sealed) in my mega cab. They handled everything I threw at them. Make sure you get at least a 2k watt sub and bridge them at 2 ohms. You may be able to find these for less money elsewhere.

Pros: Will shatter your soul and are extremely hungry for power!

Cons: Can get it cheaper on other websites.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-12D4

DARIUS from Maryland on 10/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than expected, it performs awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-12D4

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte Hall MD on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, this is a great pick up. I just have one in the trunk of my car and it is plenty of bass. I used to have the kicker Cvx series and I personally think that this sounds better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-12D4

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 7/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously had a kicker comp that kept blowing, this alpine sub sounds great even with an amp only pushing about 700 watts. Great deep bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine type r 12 in sub

juan from Red Bluff, CA on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best subs for the money.

Pros: Well built Nice sound Loudest sub for the price

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine subwoofer

Marko from Lihue,HI on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality product

Pros: Solidly built,superior sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 17 found this helpful

Impressive

Nathan from Kentucky on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running on 500 watts rms @2 ohms in a sealed 3/4 cubic foot box. Hits as fast as my old 10's, louder and deeper as well.

Pros: Accurate, responsive, and deep

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome

BigTwelves from Wisconsin on 9/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would go with this 12d4 over a jlaudio 12w7 and I love jl...!!!!

Pros: Price quality power handling

Cons: I can't find any yet

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Ups and Downs

BrandonB from Ohio on 4/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a little disappointing with Alpine on this one. I have one of these in a ported box running 1100 watts @ 2-ohms and it sounds fantastic, when the voice coil isn't destroyed. I had one of these for only a week and the voice coil blew up on me. Alpine is highly regarded company and for that sub to quit in one week is very disappointing. The only reason I give it 4 stars overall is because the thing slams when it is working. Hopefully my replacement last awhile!

Pros: Overall performance and beautiful look

Cons: blew one up in only a week

Crutchfield response on

5 of 25 found this helpful

Not impressed

bc beatz from cleveland, ohio on 3/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this sub for a month now. At first i was impressed with the sound until i noticed it wasn't hitting low frequencies very well. I have it running at 2ohm at 900 watts rms to my precision power amp. I have compared this sub to an 8" sa sub and to my surprise the 8" out performed this sub in sq and spl. I was shocked how the 8" could blow this alpine out of the water. If you are looking for a great sub, this wouldnt be my first choice!!

Pros: Nice build, decent sound not great

Cons: Punchy, doesnt hit lows well, overpriced

Crutchfield response on

2 of 20 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations

Klipsch Fan from Texas on 2/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had several sets of subs from Kicker Solobarics to Diamond to Rockford Fosgate. I installed ONE Alpine SWR-12D4 in a ported box in my 2015 Camry XSE and am highly impressed with just how well this sub performs. I'm running 2 Diamond 12s in my truck and one of these aAlpines just outperforms both of them. Very pleased with the construction and quality as well. Finally I have the bass I've been looking for.

Pros: Great bass in a kported box, easy toi setup and configure and is ear candy!

Cons: None so far but I have sound dampining products (Second Skin) installed.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sensational Subwoofers!

Boyd K from Jefferson City, MO on 2/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned 3 different sets of subwoofers, along with all of my close friends having subs too. I pride myself on the high quality of the sound system in my car, and I always buy high quality subwoofers. I know what good bass sounds like, and without a doubt the Alpine SWR-12D4 is an incredible work of art. I have two of these in the back of my SUV in a double ported box. The bass produced by these doesn't compare to anything I've heard before! When they hit they make no cone noise at all, its pure bass! The bass is INCREDIBLE, and WILL shake and vibrate your whole car. I had to put a screw in my rear view mirror just to keep it from falling down. You will have to buy an amp for your door speakers if you want to able to hear the words. The range of bass that they hit is also epic, they hit about every note with deep and clean bass, or tight and punchy bass. When i am driving i have to turn down the music in order to read road signs because it blurs your vision. They are so powerful that i can feel my hair be moved, and it tickles to breathe out of my nose! Don't buy these if your not fully committed to pure and literally breathtaking bass. I push these subs way too hard sometimes but they take it like a champ. These subs are tanks and suck up every beating i give them. They still sounds ass god as the day i bought them, but my car is always needing to be silenced by rattles. I've already made plans to attend a sound system competition.

Pros: Insanely Powerful Bass - Extremely durable - CLEAN bass - Your friends will know your coming before u arrive

Cons: Will create rattles in your car - could possibly hurt your ears!

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

great subs

rigo from sacramento ca on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this subs 2 12 for my chevy avalanche they are better then anything i ever had there great for hard hitting bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine's the best sub!!!!

Dash from Eastpointe, Mi on 10/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you don't have them, better upgrade now!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

We have got another banger!

James from Horicon, Wisconsin on 6/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The alpine type R is a great speaker that is worth every penny. I myself have liked it so much iv boughten two of them.

Pros: The Alpine type R is easy to install and is very clean sounding and we can't forget how loud it is too.

Cons: With the alpine type are you may want to invest In a capacitor to prevent your battery from losing it's charge.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

10 years old and still pounding like new

Brad from Alliance, Ne. on 5/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe some of these reviews. I've had my R12 dual 4ohm voice coils, over 10 years and it still hits hard on all different types of music. I pump it hard daily and NEVER had any problems with it.I've had them, in a sealed box. Then went to a single ported box to give it double the watts, with just the one, friends can't believe that I'm only using one of my two, until I show them.Don't let the people that have had bad luck with there's, keep you from buying a quality sub. Would I buy another without worry, YES.

Pros: Great sounding and quality built.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing Bass!

RC from Albany, NY on 4/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really have no complaints. A lot of the reviewers who had bad complaints with this product didn't seem to have an amplifier to match the power of the sub. For optimal pairing, get the Alpine MRX-M110 and I doubt you will have problems with it burning out within minutes/days. Crutchfield advisors helped me out with this pairing since I wanted something with a bigger punch than the Kicker CVR 12 inch sub I had before. I swapped out the sub/amp and can't turn back now, my setup simply sounds amazing.

Pros: Durable, well-built product that delivers an astounding amount of bass to my car. I absolutely love this subwoofer and I haven't heard much better. A lot of my friends have dual sub setups, and I have just one of these (which is more than enough) providing more bass than I expected- which is never a bad thing ;)

Cons: Makes the car rattle (but seriously, what else did you expect?). You might need to invest in some Hush mat or dynomat to quiet the parts of your car that rattle from the sub.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very disappointed

Mr.Ruiz from Highland Park, California on 3/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I been doing installs for 15 years so i am very experienced. Connected this dual 4 ohm sub in 2 ohm load with a very well built alpine mrx-m55 amplifier and with in 20 minutes the sub woofer burned out while playing bass ballin. While the sub woofer worked, the bass response was phenomenal!!!! Incredible low frequency bass response. i had an alpine type E 12 inch sub in a bandpass box back in 2007. Paired it with a fosgate 600 watt amp and never had a problem with it. So I decided to try this more powerful type R but it just didn't work. Now I have to find another sub that can really handle low frequency bass at loud volume. By the way the amp gain was below 1/2 so again I don't understand what happened. Tried my friend's jl audio 12w7 sub with the mrx-m55 and it worked just fine so I know the amp was not the problem here.

Pros: Excellent bass response, very nice design, can use a grill to protect the sub which is very convenient.

Cons: Did not hhandle the 623 watts rms I threw at it with am alpine mrx-m55 amplifier. Only lasted 20 minutes. Very disappointed with alpine over the sub built quality.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 17 found this helpful

Freakin Awesome!

Brad from Denver, Colorado on 12/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing pounds HARD! I was gonna buy another one, but one is plenty!

Pros: Loud, Clean Bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

alpine swr-12d4

Kevin from Newport, Arkansas on 10/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounded great at start but didn't with hold

Pros: Looks good soind good

Cons: Blew it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine R Type

T. Ski from Amarillo, Texas on 10/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well not impressed at all these subwoofers lasted 3 days. I have been installing car audio for over 20 years and alpine has always put out good products(over priced) but real good stuff. these subs are just bad! I wish Boston still made the SPG-555 that is the best sub ever!

Pros:

Cons: weight, price, enclosure size, power handling

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Not Impressed

Ryan from Sacramento,CA on 9/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been dealing with car audio for over ten years. There's lots of hype over the type R so I thought I'd give it a try. I've had Polk db, MTX 8000, Audiobahn, and Rockford Fosgates all running from the same amp over the past 10 years. The type R is "loud" because you push lots of power to it but does that make it sound good.... no. The other subs especially the Polk and MTX are much cleaner sounding and produce much deeper bass more suited for rap music. The type R has more of a punchy sound to it like you would expect when comparing a ten to a twelve. Everybody likes a different flavor but I like deep, clean, accurate powerful low bass and this didn't do it. I love alpine headunits but not their speakers.

Pros: 1000 watts rms rating and looks good.

Cons: Doesn't produce deep bass as expected.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Junk!!!

Paul from Oklahoma on 8/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As far as a SQ sub, this sub is ok. I wouldn't recommend throwing over 800 watts to this subwoofer. I had this sub around 6 months before it finally gave out. First issue i had with this sub about 5 months into use, was the rubber surround glue failing and seperating from the cone. Ok, easy fix. Got some CA glue and fixed the issue. Held up nice. About 2 weeks later the sub started making noises again and finally completely malfunctioned. I thought other areas of the surround were giving way. That was partially true, but hadn't fully seperated so i removed the sub from the enclosure and noticed the tinsel leads had seperated from the voice coil. I thought ok, i'll just resolder the leads, no biggie. Upon further inspection i noticed the voice coil was cracked on the inside. I could've just ordered a new coil and repaired the subwoofer, but decided i wasn't throwing anymore good money at bad junk. All in all, if you want a mediocre SQ sub go for it. If you want a loud & low daily sub that beats your chest and rattles your eyes, this IS NOT the sub for you. My advice would be to get away from the mainstreet brands like Alpine, Kicker, Rockford Fosgate etc. and look into the underground brands. There are better subs to be had for just a few more bucks that will simply blow away the afore-mentioned mainstreets. I ran this sub on the Alpine MRX-M50 & later the MRX-M110. The M50 barely pushes and the M110 i ran on low levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Great sub best for the money

Mike from 33411 on 6/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub. Sounds great hits lows highs and almost everything I can throw at it. Built a custom ported box for it to alpine specs and its worth it. Sounds great with rock country and I can really get it going flexing my windshield and annoying the neighbors. Put it this way I've been asked if I have 15s in my trunk!! Running it on a Rockford p700 down at 1ohm

Pros: Great sound Well built

Cons: Pricey if not on sale

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super sub!

Justin from Chico CA on 1/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub in a 2012 double cab tacoma and running on the alpine m500 and let me tell u, with the gain set at nominal which is about half way up, this thing bangs! Clean sounding bass too. Mounted it even just in a pre made fabed box (ported) 1.3 cubic feet. Sounds amazing. Trust me get this sub and u will make heads turn when u drive down the street and that's just with one! Also I would recommend just running the m500 , even though it says it can handle 1000, because trust me it supplies plenty of power and you get no distortion :) I had the type s previously but this sub like I said is amazing!

Pros: Plan and simple. Ground shaker!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best sub for the price!

Derek from Minnesota on 8/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can't beat this, Alpine basically made this the type x for the price of the type r, I couldn't believe how good of a sub this is for the price!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressed

Brettward from Modesto, CA on 8/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You all might say oh great another audio noob, nah i been through my fair share. Anyways, ive been through last years model of the type R. easily underrated and they sounded very good. I had a disfunctional one and the surround came off but i had a warranty so i just got a replacement. Company said, oh we only have the new Type R and i said that was fine. I put it in, tweaked the amp settings and wow. I was really impressed just by 1 of these. I have the Rockford Fosgate t1000 bd cp and its only at 2 ohms going around ~1360 watts. The sound is super clean, and the bass is incredible for alpine. I feel bad for the type X hah. Anyways, amazing sub, a brand you know you can trust and really good quality thump. Get it and you wont be let down ;]

Pros: Looks, underrated power, fits small inclosers for those tiny cars, sound quality!

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP