Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine SWR-8D2

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D2

Alpine SWR-8D2

Alpine SWR-8D2

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D2

21 reviews
View this product

Alpine SWR-8D2

Crutchfield customer from Dwight, NE on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good for a clear rounded base sound. Deep base isn't as good compared to another brand i used but also could depend on box style. Mine is in a ported truck box. Overall I think its a good speaker for the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Mighty Alpine 8" Type R

Crutchfield customer from Cornwall Hdsn, NY on 9/6/2020

2019 Honda Passport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many subs over the years and must say that the Alpine Type R's are one of the absolute best without question. These can handle significant amplification and they reach low into the frequency range as well coupled with great excursion. You'll be amazed at how an 8" subwoofer can completely transform your system.

Pros: Power Handling; Mounting Depth; Sound Quality; Close Proximity DVC Terminals; Screw Hole Cover Gasket

Cons: None whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

8" Sub

E from Puyallup, WA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! Solid bass for an 8 inch sub. I purchased this after my P3SD2-8 had failed. Shipping was fast also!

Pros: Solid bass that pounds much better than shallow mount subs

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

Crutchfield customer from Kiln, MS on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these Alpines on an old school Rockford Fosgate 650 and they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hits hard for its size. Well balanced with other amp and speakers.

Pros: Great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Dual Voice Coil 8's Rocks!

Joe from Newberg, OR on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powered by Rockford Fosgate 750 watts, best 8 inch subs I ever had and this kicks! I knew it first time I saw it I know what cabinet I'm gonna use. My cabinet is ported almost installed like free-air. If I have my car in the driveway, I can hear the speakers thumping pretty much anywhere in my house. When I go inside my car, its not even loud. Its a combination of a good installation and dialing /balancing the amp the right way. I installed mine 2014 and its 2019 now still the same! Thanks, If your listening to rap music you may need at least like a 12 inch. That's probably what happen to this guy. Even if you have a Ferrari and you don't know how to take care of it nor drive, its not gonna last!

Pros: There's too much speaker quality in this!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sound great until they fall apart

Preston from Eugene, OR on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and have deep bass, until they start to give out. I've had two sets of these subwoofers and both times they have failed in less than 3 months. My current pair have begun to tear. This box I currently have is a sealed box and the last was a ported box. I know on my ported box the amount of air was in spec. This box I'm not 100% on spec. I never distort my subs. I play them within their potential but never over the top. However each time the rubber has torn or the cone begins separating from the rubber. The last pair was within Warranty and Crutchfield came through with a new pair, however this new pair with a more powerful amp and sealed box have again began to deteriorate within 3 months. I don't recommend them. I don't even want to RMA them through Alpine to receive another set. Rather just buy another brand. Like I said, they sound great but noticeably begin to fade out until they physically break down. If you listen to music with any distorted or heavy bass, I don't recommend them.

Pros: Hefty weight Bulletproof chassis Great connections Great magnet

Cons: Weak rubber surround Can't take hours of use Quick degredation

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Solid, distortion-free bass

Keith from Los Angeles, CA on 10/1/2018

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Alpine hits very hard for an 8 inch. I've got it installed in a Sound Ordinance sealed enclosure, and powered with an Alpine MRV-M500 mono amp, and wired up with a 2 ohm resistance. There is no distortion in the bass, and it definitely makes the rear view mirror shake! Of course, it doesn't hit like a 12 inch, but since I'm older, I really don't need that anymore...

Pros: Clean bass, Does not take up a lot of space in the hatchback area, and a good looking sub!

Cons: This really is not a legitimate con, but I wish Alpine and other companies would include a speaker grill with the sub. I also bought the Alpine grill cover, which is a bit expensive for a piece of wire mesh.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pounding Bass

Guest from Marlborough, MA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this sub in my Tacoma. Had a Kicker Comp 8 which sounded fine but this sub KICKS!!! For an 8 inch sub it sounds like a 12 inch!! Great sub for those with limited space and want super punchy bass!!

Pros: Fits in a small sub enclosure.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You didn't blow it, ditch the factory jumper wire.

Jim from Central TX on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hits HARD for the size. The only downside is the factory external jumper wire between voice coils- the banana plug can fall out and make you think you blew the speaker. Just cut off the banana plugs, strip the ends, and use the spring terminal that's already there.

Pros: Sounds great, hits hard, hits low for an 8

Cons: jumper wire falls out, easy fix

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent product, very happy with performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

josue from california on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

its awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

Andrea from Evansville, IN on 2/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this as a gift for my boyfriend. He loves it and it sounds so much better than what he had before. Would definitely recommend this!!

Pros: Sounds great in a small space

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

great little sub

jack from Bloomington, IN on 2/15/2018

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair in a 1.2 net cf common chamber with 2 3" flared aero ports I made out of PVC pipe tuned @ 35hz. Have them powered by a Rockford fosgate t1000 5 channel amp. I'm very happy with the sound of theses. For 8s they are impressive. They go lower than I ever thought they would. I would put them more in the sq category then spl. I listen to everything from metal to rap, country to rock. They sound good on everything I listen to. I also have a pair of s15s in another vehicle. Of course there's no comparison against 2 15s but these are just as fun just in a different way.

Pros: don't require a lot of space.

Cons: no complaints

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

J.J. from Reno, NV on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These subs are the best Bang for the Buck! I have two in a ported box in the back of my access cab Tacoma. If you put these in a trunk of a car they would sound even better! These subs are awesome!

Pros: Good looking sub, good looking grill, great sounding bass! Deep & low!

Cons: there are no cons to this sub!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pleasently Suprised

EAI from Massillon, OH on 7/6/2016

2013 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i have had many types of subs in this car, and too many to even list with other cars, i am so impressed with what this little sub can do in my car, Wish i had two, it gets pretty deep, very punchy and great sound quality, i think i an going to build my own box, and put two in my edge

Pros: small with clean sound

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Subwoofer!!

Alex from Long Beach, CA on 3/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recommend this product if you want clean bass in your car or truck. It provides deep bass in your vehicle even with only one of them! I installed it in my car and man that thing bumps really good!!! I installed the Alpine mrv-f300 and i bridged the sub to channel 3 and 4 pulling in around 150 watts rms and i an very satisfied with how it sounds. The box i used for the amp is an 8 in groundshaker. I personally recommend to use this box because its tunned for subwoofers with high power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D2

Dan from Wichita, KS on 12/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound quality. Nice tight response, great range for an 8. Not boomy or sloppy. Running two in a ported box built to Alpine's specs powered by an Alpine MRX-M110 @ 2ohms (1100 watts RMS)

Pros: Size, range, quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

So far amazing

Stealth1546 from Alice, Texas on 9/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought two of these. They are perfect for my truck. Glad I invested in these

Pros: Subs give clean loud bass, quality is quite noticeable, can fit about anywhere.

Cons: The jumper cables tips that come with it were too small and can come off the subs. Easy fix, just use speaker cable instead.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Audiophile bass,

Chuck from Texas USA on 8/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Depp tuneful bass in a small box size, use 2 for best results I replaced 2 jl 8w3v2 with these in a very small box that fits under the passenger side rear seat of my Titan. The jl's played pretty low, but I was missing the definition that, as an 'mature' audiophile, i like in a sub. This sub has great delineation of individual bass notes. It plays low and tight. Its also surprisingly loud. One thing I would recommend, break it in on the bench before using it if you can. I ran test tones out of my ipod to it, free air, for about 3 days, starting around 60hz and then moving on down each day 10hz to 40hz. That noticeably loosened the suspension, could feel it with pushing on the cone. Its a great value in a sub. I liked it so much I bought a 10 for my car, replaced a ID max sub. Again, this alpine bettered in in the areas that matter to me, definition and accuracy. Only downside, the alpine grills for it are expensive. Get one and try it, I think you will find it's a keeper

Pros: Fast and articulate, inexpensive

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

14 of 19 found this helpful

Great, punchy sub!

I from Leominster, MA on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay, picked up a couple of these because I was looking for something with more SQ than SPL. I went with two of them since I have an amp that can drive them (alpine mrp-m500), These things are unbelievably punchy with a sealed box. Don't expect them to push much below 60hz due to the lack of size, but if you are like me and listen to more rock and metal, then you will be pleasantly surprised. I am using a 0.30 cubic foot box, with each sub in its own box. No idea how these would sound in a ported box. The one downside is that you really need two of them. The enclosures are small enough so that two of them don't take up a lot of space. Just one of these is kinda, Meh, but they really shine with two of them

Pros: Good solid punchy thump your chest bass. small sealed enclosure requirement

Cons: Not all that great for music with lots of tones sustained below 60hz. Need 2 to really see them shine

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP