Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine SWR-8D4

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D4

Alpine SWR-8D4

Alpine SWR-8D4

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D4

16 reviews
View this product

All you need

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, KY on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two of these with two 500 watt alpine mono amp in a hatchback killlls!

Pros: Does not sound small

Cons: Small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, TN on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker! Clean and loud! Definitely recommend for anyone looking for an *" Sub!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

WOW

Crutchfield customer from Granbury, TX on 7/15/2019

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow best 8 on the market. I had a JL before this and it was very nice but this one has a cleaner bass than the JL. Actually broke a brand new box already need a pro box for sure

Pros: Small but powerful Price Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Type R for Ridiculous

Joe from Aliso Viejo, CA on 3/26/2019

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought two of these and put them on a jl 600.1 in a ported box tuned to 37hz and was I shocked. Tight, accurate, low bass even for a speaker this size. Don't take up much space either. Recommend these for someone who wants compact set up with massive sound!

Pros: Size, deep bass, low power, accurate, look nice

Cons: None buy them lol

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Love it. Sounds great. Perfect amount of sound for my extended cab truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Muhannah from Louisiana on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things rock.

Pros: Quality subwoofers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Unbelievable

William from Virginia on 10/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had many subs in.my years. Never top end, just value based. 10s, 12s, 15s etc. I.picked up two of these Alpine type R 8s, thought one day I'd find a use for them. I wanted bass in my trunk, but didn't want something gaudy or huge. I built the box sealed, maybe 1.5 cu.ft. subtracting sub space. Absolutely blown away. No way a pair of 8s sound this good. Highly recommended. Wish I could add a pic.

Pros: Big sound in small package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thoroughly impressed by this 8" sub. It sounds great for all types of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Type r 8 sub

Erckster from Sacramento Ca. on 7/1/2016

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Wildcatfan from Paducah, KY on 6/28/2016

2003 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best 8" speakers I have ever heard. I swapped 2 12" kickers for these and I am blown away. The sound quality is second to non. I hear better bass, and get such a better response a lower volumes than I did with the kickers. I can listen to music and hear it as it was Intended rather than just boom boom boom... I wish I would have found these sooner. They will not move the air around at sub 35 hrtz lime 12s will, but the sound quality more than make up for that. I placed them in a ported labrynth box running 600 watts to them. I love them.

Pros: Sound quality, ease of use, look nice

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Small but big kick

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, Ma on 5/2/2016

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works better then i thought awsome sound

Pros: Loud

Cons: Na

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Little subs big bass

Liftme97 from Bucks county Pennsylvania on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never go by reviews because I know there is companies that pay people to do them.. I will tell you this, the review o will give is not fake.. These subs bring ridiculous bass to my 08 corvette.. Definitely recommend these subs.. Thanks to Crutchfield professionals recommending these to me..

Pros: Little space big bass

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Small for Big Sound

Cartunes Unlimited from Texas on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little subwoofer packs a BIG punch. I built the smallest enclosure possible for the speaker and it works great. People can't believe it's an eight inch woofer, they think it's a twelve.

Pros: Small enclosure!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Alpine woofer

Bob from Pasadena M.D. on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it in 20 minutes and sounds great

Pros: Awesome sounds

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Sub

John H. from Norton Ohio on 12/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality easy hook up

Pros: Good for the price

Cons: No face plate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine 8" Type R sub

DBooya from Vancouver Island, BC on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm guessing these haven't broken in yet as they don't give the sound I was expecting for a top quality sub, as far as Alpine sells it. Mind you, I'm running these along with a pair SWS15D4. The 15s make sound like the 8s are along for the ride, even though I've got them crossed to play different ranges. Overall, not bad, but can't say that any extra cash for Type R is money well spent.

Pros: Easy install, cast basket

Cons: FInish shows evidence of 'assembly line' finish quality.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 33 found this helpful

TOP