Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
932 951 451 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
932 951 451 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

CD receiver

MFR # JHD36AB

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

CD receiver

MFR # JHD36AB

17 reviews
View this product

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Jim from Lynnwood, WA on 2/16/2020

1997 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 1997 Ford F350. This is perfect, all the necessary features without unnecessary graphics and such. Easy to see and use buttons and display. Looks good in an older stroller dash. Doesn't look out of place. Android app was useful for setting up features. I opted for SiriusXM and microphone. Nice upgrade from OEM unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you like music

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has much better fidelity and when used with the app stands head and shoulders above the heavy duty unit it replaced.

Pros: Took about 2 minutes to install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Liked it so much, had to get another!

Jim from Hacienda Height, CA on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picked this unit because of the combination modern features (Bluetooth, etc.) and retro features like CD. Critical was the retro 80's look and large clear buttons and lack of worthless glittery lights and graphic worthlessness. This is my second purchase of the JHD36A. I liked the first so much, I am putting one in a second car. Unit works very well. Be sure you get the optional JMICHFP microphone if you want to route phone calls through this stereo. Also, the Jensen description mentions a "PA" (Public Address) capability, but there's no provision for an "external" speaker. I think PA in this case may mean "Passenger Address", like when used in a bus where the driver or tour guide wants to address the passengers inside the bus. Otis was a great help in getting this ordered! :-) Can't wait to get this second unit installed and listen to some vintage CDs!

Pros: 80's retro styling Large buttons with clear functions No blinky, glittery, useless little lights Great blend of old tech (like CD) with new like Bluetooth audio and Bluetooth phone calls

Cons: Manual could be better

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Crutchfield customer from Bethany Beach, DE on 7/18/2019

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed it in a 1999 Ford F150. With the kit it was a clean looking installation. It's handy to have the USB and Aux plug. Unfortunately, it was unclear when I ordered it that it needed an "optional" microphone for the bluetooth to be fully functional. I would have ordered it had I known, but now that it is in, I don't want to take it out again. Otherwise the radio works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, NY on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has lots of features; works well. Nice large clock display when stereo is off. Fits well; looks good in 2018 John Deere 3033R.

Pros:

Cons: Vague online user manual

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Crutchfield customer from Brooklandville, MD on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit and tina was super helpfull

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fit for John Deere 3r series

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WY on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived quickly and fit perfectly in my 3046r John Deere. This is basically what the factory puts in so the unit plugged right n to the factory harness (which is present, along with speakers installed, even if the tractor didn't some with a stereo from the factory). I've only used it a few hours so far, but it works great. One side note, if you plan to use the Bluetooth for phone calls, you also need the mic, which is sold as an accessory.

Pros: Fits factory harness

Cons: Need to purchase microphone separately

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed.

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, MA on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a replacement radio for my motor home. Told customer service what I wanted for options and this unit was suggested. Has everything I wanted. Most important feature was the weather band for road travel. Very easy install. Very pleased with this unit.

Pros: Easy install, input options, weather band for on the road travel, easily programmed.

Cons: Install options didn't explain why you don't need a live hot wire to retain memory, only key on battery voltage. Has some kind of backup or flash memory to retain time and settings. And it works as designed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

cliff from Chromo, CO on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easily and hopefully will last ! The unit lacks some simple features like bering able to rename screens for other connections from iPhone iPad or external XM accessories . The manual does not explain some of the features so I had to rely on trial and error method to figure them out, but that being said I purchased the unit for the easy to read screen, sturdy build and enough features to run items I use such as music form iPhone. I like the NOAA weather stations and use this feature often. I am happy with the unit and am getting use to navigating thru the menu and controls. Probably needs four stars but will stick with what I initially put ? The phone connection to blue tooth works good after some early on trial and error before figuring out how it works with my iPhone, once that was done it works good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio for a Work Truck

Loren from Kansas City, MO on 1/4/2019

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio so far, the FM reception seems to be equivalent to the factory unit. The app is certainly worth downloading, it's far easier to use when setting up the radio than trying to navigate through the receiver's menus. I installed this radio in my 2001 Dodge Ram when I upgraded the speakers from the Infinity units that had built-in amplifiers. I have not yet tried to use my phone with head unit, but I have played YouTube sound over the speakers and it was great! There are two things I don't like much. First, it couldn't have been too tough to add a wire for the dimmer instead of having to navigate the settings. This isn't too bad, though, as I just the brightness for night time and deal with it during the day. The biggest gripe I have is actually very typical of aftermarket radios: having to hold the button for a couple of seconds for it to seek versus manual tuning. I absolutely despise that, and it's one reason I was reluctant to replace the factory radio.

Pros: The phone app is great. Good power for aftermarket speakers.

Cons: push-and-hold seek button no dimming when headlights are on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect radio for older German car restoration

joey from Alhambra, CA on 9/17/2018

1995 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the old car radio look with all new built in blue tooth. Perfect for my Porsche 993

Pros: Looks great powerful as if it's not the latest tech built into it

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Takes the Abuse!!!!

Christopher from Rupert, ID on 8/25/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500 Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I came on line to leave a review and order one of these stereos for my personal pickup. The only reason I gave it 4 Stars is because it doesn't support steering wheel controls. The Vehicle I currently have this stereo in is an AG CHEM Terra-Gator 8204, a fertilizer spreader. This machine takes a beating. I drive this machine across rough farm fields at 20 plus miles an hour. I do this in a filthy nasty environment. This machine killed two lesser stereos in less than a month, by lesser I mean 200 dollar ones that would last 20 years in a pickup or car. The CD player doesn't even skip when the ride is so rough that I can't even sit in the seat. The Bluetooth works well too. This stereo is pricey but worth every penny for an over the road truck, I own two, or any nasty environment.

Pros:

Cons: No steering wheel controls

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

everlasting durability

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 5/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I work as a sweeper operator & you couldn't imagine the areas we have to go & what we have to do, creates a lot of dust. for the first year the truck already had one of those cheapo, type of head units. well which-in a year all the dust got the best of it. bobcat has these jensen hd radios in their machines & they take a beating so i figured id look into jensen radios. yeah the price of the radio is a little expensive but you get what you pay for. a year and the same dusty environment later this radio is still holding up strong. will definitely buy another again.

Pros:

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good solid unit.

Chris from Northeast Georgia on 4/20/2018

1990 GMC G Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 04 Freightliner Century. Works great. Seems like a good quality radio that's going to be able to take a beating. Fairly simple to operate. You have to buy an adapter for the XM to work. But it plays Mp3 disks which is a must have for a semi truck. Complete audio books on one cd. :) The tuner was pretty impressive as well. It picks up a lot more stations than the old JVC did. And the FM audio sounds a lot better. And it's a lot heavier than the JVC, Alpine, and a Kenwood that a friend had. This thing is a beast.

Pros: Good heavy duty radio. Simple to operate. Quality unit.

Cons: Price :(

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Waste of Money

David from NC on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth phone does not disconnect after using making or receiving a phone call. After ending the call, the bluetooth display shows the call as continuing. This prevents you from listening to the radio or trying to use any other function. You have to go into the menu and "un-pair" the phone and radio in order use any radio function.

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth doesn't disconnect after phone calls and prevents user from using any radio functions.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Gayle from Gloucester, VA on 7/3/2017

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio wasn't for me, but for my weather obsessed spouse. I bought this for the NOAA stations. He can only get one of the stations, but i know it will come in handy for hurricane season.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen Heavy Duty JHD36A

Charlie from California on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works like a charm, all features are useful. Looks good and functions well

Pros: Fit and functions

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP