Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
199 187 741 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
199 187 741 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Compact 5-channel car amplifier — 60 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 350 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # PN5-640D

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Compact 5-channel car amplifier — 60 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 350 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # PN5-640D

76 reviews
View this product

Small but powerful

Kenneth from FISHERS, IN on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp as an affordable way to boost the sound in my car. I was pleasantly surprised when i wired it up and tuned it in. This amps sound fantastic.

Pros: Small Foot Print. Great Price.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp - with a few issues

Crutchfield customer from Prattville, AL on 8/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This compact amp packs a punch. It is a good product and Crutchfield customer support is world-class. I had an issue with this amp, and Crutchfield replaced it for free, with free return shipping. I installed this in a 2019 Hyundai Elantra GT. I believe the speaker level inputs blew out the switch on/off feature of the high level input. It would stay on constantly. I don't know what the amp high level input is rated for, but my factory stereo must have too much power. I had to purchase a relay to install on the main power cable to the amp to kill the amps power feed when the car is turned off. The instructions provided by Soundstream is not very good, with the tiny illustrations very hard to read. But with all of those issues that I had installing the amp, it is still a very good amp. I am running the factory speakers with a Kicker CompRT 10" sub with the passive radiator. The amp can push that speaker easily. Also on a side note - the speaker output terminals are a small issue. For channels 1-4, I was using 18 gauge wires, and the terminal screws were chewing up the wire ends. I ended up putting ring connections on the ends of the wires and mounting them above the normal terminal location. I removed the screws and put the rings under the screw heads.

Pros: Compact Powerful

Cons: Instructions, High Level inputs shorted switch on/off feature

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

needs a better instruction manual

Joe from BERLIN on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4/5 stars due to the instruction manual. I used the high-level/speaker-level inputs in lieu of the low-level/RCA inputs except for the 5th channel (subwoofer). The connectors for the high-level inputs have a "signal ground" wire in between the two sets of -/+ left/right connections. The instructions say to ground these wires, so I connected the two signal ground wires together and connected the wire to the same chassis ground connection as the amplifier ground. When I switched on the system, there was a terrible ground loop noise. It took me some searching on the internet to find out the purpose of this wire in the connector; I disconnected the wires and the ground loop noise went away. I'm so glad I didn't rip out out all of the wiring I had installed and spent more money on low-level converters and RCA cables. Other than that, I am impressed with this amplifier's sound quality and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Neat Amp

Crutchfield Guy from PEACHTREE CITY, GA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this amp for about 5 years now, it hasn't given me any real trouble. I initially bought it as a temporary set up and was going to upgrade when money allowed but I was very impressed with the power packed in this little amp. The only trouble I've gotten out of it was trying to crank it to 11 for extended periods of time, it would overheat and shutoff. I had it in an area that wasn't well ventilated so that was my own fault. I added a few computer fans to cool it down and it kept kicking. I've toned it down some but it's still kicking strong 5 years later.

Pros: Compact design, powerful punch

Cons: Nothing that personally stood out to me

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Dillon, MT on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing sounds very good!!! Small compact design fits in compact areas. I will however have to agree with some of the other reviews that connecting this unit with the instructions is very confusing at best. To try and save some others from the headache here is what i learned, there are 3 inputs for the unit and if its going to be used in 5 channel mode all 3 will need a signal. If your head unit has only dual rca preouts then a "y" adaptor will be needed. in my case i decided to run the amp in 3 channel mode running 4 speakers on 1 input and the sub channel 5. again it sounds amazing!!!

Pros: great sound compact size

Cons: install instructions are very vague

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet little amp. Fits perfectly under passenger seat. Many pre-amp options to tweak

Pros: Thumps JL speakers

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Parachute, CO on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this device, nice value and easy to work with... thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lotta boom for the buck

Mark from Gainesville, VA on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp by Soundstream. Give alot of power and punch to my 4- 6.5 inch Alpine speakers as well as my 10 inch sub. It makes my 300zx literally sound like a concert hall with some nice base. It tucked right under my passengers seat and was easy to install. Great , great 5 channel amp and a whole lotta power for the price. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Packs alot of punch for the size Affordable Looks great and not too heavy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My commute Rocks

Chris from Homeland on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this with a JVC double din, Focal front and rear speakers for my 2009 Honda Fit. The radio and four speakers were installed months but do to time and procrastinating the soundstream amp wasn't installed until about a week ago. I will agree with some you on the weird rca's they are definitely a little strange. But after my buddy and I put the amp in we hooked up a light weight Image Dynamic 12. Holy cow I tuned it and played some EDM type music and this thing cranked. That woofer moves. I'm definitely glad I purchased this amp because it makes my commute much easier to deal.

Pros: Takes up very little space

Cons: The rca's are a little weird

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small package, good power.

Chad from Dexter, OR on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of power and 5 channels in a small package! Connected a 10" sub and 4 speakers to this amp, great power! The input connections limit you to wire size, so make sure you have correct power/grd wire. Connections for speaker/power inputs strip out easy, so do not over tighten.

Pros: Small size allows install in a lot of places. 5 channels allows 1 amp to power a 4 speaker system plus a sub. Plenty of power as long as speakers are rated correctly.

Cons: Speaker/power input connections are easy to strip (very careful tightening screws). Directions for wiring are generic (several models included) so for a semi-beginner, they are a little hard to follow.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impresses

Jim from Fort Worth, TX on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed. Drives 4 coaxials and a single ported 2 ohm 10" very well.

Pros: Size, Price, Performance

Cons: Remote turn on lead is a little cheap.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Oceana, WV on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small amp, but packs a punch. Very simple setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Grant from Bismarck, ND on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent compact unit. Couldn't be happier and will be buying another.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Lecanto Fl on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp fit my install perfect. Sound is clean all the way through the range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp with plenty enough power. The size of the amp wasn't large and easy to find a place to mount.

Pros: Sound, size and easy installation.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amplifier

Mike from Springfield, IL on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this to the stock radio in my 2015 Silverado. The amp is powering 4 Infinity 6.5" and an 8" kicker sub. This thing really brought the system to life. The difference between the amp and the stock head unit is night and day. This amp fit in my center console and is completely hidden. Don't be fooled by the size it package a pretty good punch. Only down sides, the remote volume knob seems to go from off to full power on the first half of the turn, the second half doesn't seem to do anything. Also not a huge fan of the power connections, doubt they would hold a 4ga wire.

Pros: Great power for the size Comes with bass knob fits about any where

Cons: Bass knob (see review)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Green River, WY on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was easy to install and all channels worked perfectly. It was a great by for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic amp for the money

Dani from Aliquippa, PA on 6/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super compact, easy wiring set up, no extra noise or whine. Replacing other amps with this one. Nice option for a 5 ch at a great price.

Pros: Small, compact size, no extra noises, can run a full higher end system

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, TX on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No real complaints on this small but capable amp! The power and ground connector are pretty small, wish they were able to easily connect to bigger gauge wire, but I made it work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Packs a serious punch at a great price and size

Captain Dipship from Sparks, NV on 2/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been running this amp for about a week now and I've been impressed with its power. I needed a 5-channel solution as I'm running four Kicker 6" in the doors, but wanted a 10" JL in a sealed box for the access cab. The Soundstream is more than up to the task, and delivers nice smooth power to the sub. It is slim enough to fit beneath the driver's seat, although the required connectors are a bit of a hassle. I can excuse this design choice, since it was largely made to keep the slim profile. Definitely recommended.

Pros: Small, powerful, seems to run cool

Cons: Connectors required, adding to the wiring mess and genuine need to properly manage it

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Look no more

rico from Pflugerville, TX on 10/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!...wow!. I just finished installing this amp in my 2010 Tundra along with front and rear speakers and a sub inclosure all of which where purchased from Crutchfield. The Picasso Nano was actually recommended while I was on the phone with Crutchfield customer service trying to determine which amp to buy. After tuning the amp I can literally turn my stereo full volume (briefly) with zero distortion. The bass is crisp and the mids are strong. Installation was a breeze. What an outstanding amp.

Pros: Size, quality and sound.

Cons: The RCA connections are Hideous.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

The little amp that could

Keller from Louisville, KY on 10/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little guy is a beast. My door speakers sound amazing and there is tons of power to my "12 Alpine sub. Would absolutely recommend. It's so small but packs a huge punch.

Pros: Small Powerful Well-built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic Little Amp!

Mike from Strasburg, VA on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a 2017 Traverse LT1 (non-Bose) and quickly found the factory sound system to be very inadequate. After doing much research on amplifiers, I found the Nano to be the best fit to add the dynamic range the system lacked as well as allowing to me add the factory sub, center and 3rd row speakers that would have been included with the premium sound system. After a little integration work (harness adapters, cabling, etc.), I was able to get this amp to work seamlessly with the factory head unit. Its small size allowed for a non-obtrusive installation in a rear side compartment. The auto-turn on feature was a nice feature that allowed the factory chimes to continue to function even while the head unit is off. Sonically, the amp produced truly impressive results. I highly recommend this amp to anyone looking to power a small to medium system.

Pros: Compact, powerful and fantastic price!

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Sean from VA on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this about 8 months ago and wow it was such a difference. I normally don't write reviews but this amp deserves it. I put a 12 inch 200 watt sub in the trunk of my hatchback with this amp and dam does it shake the car.

Pros: Great value for price Small

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Exceptional power amp for the price

Fred from Cincinnati, Ohio on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This power amp was purchsed to replace a burned out 15 year old Memphis Bell 600 amp unit in a 2002 Nissan 350Z with upgraded front woofer-tweeter combi with crossovers, upgraded rear woofers, and a custom sub installed. The Picasso Nano came with very easy to understand instructions for installation and all the connectors necessary to adapt right in to the existing input, remote on-off, and speaker wiring in the car. It was also easy to adjust the gain for channels 1-2 (front), 3-4 (rear), and 5 (sub). Great sounding system so far and expect many years of great performance. The nano was about 1/3 the size of the old Memphis Belle (but same power rating) so much easier to access the wiring connections when installing it inside the cramped cockpit of the Z. Seems like a great power amp and for the price, how can you beat it? I am very pleased wit this product highly recommend this power amp, especially if you are on a budget.

Pros: Compact size, very good instructions, easy hook up, easy gain adjustments, great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Option!

Enrique from Denver, CO on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will give the amplifier a 5 star rating based solely on the sound I heard come out of this amp. A Sony head unit sends the signal to the amp pushing 4 Kicker DS Series 6 3/4" door speakers and 1 12" Fusion Subwoofer in a ported box. The sound is clean and crisp on the mids and highs. The 5th channel packs plenty of power for the sub, rated at about 150 watts rms. The included bass knob is convenient. The amplifier is small in size. I will update my rating after testing this amplifier's performance in the next few months.

Pros: Clean sound Compact

Cons: None found yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from california on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good power, good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Frank from Atlanta, GA on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only complaint I have, is that the large monster Power Cable and monster Ground cables, do not fit in the amp. There isn't a reducer connector that fits a monster cable and reduces it to the very small opening provided at the back of the amp. Therefore, you have to "McGuiver" a solution, which is not a good fit or look.

Pros: Small and great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 13 found this helpful

Big sound in a small package!

Michael from Westfield, IN on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp to power Kicker front 4x6 / Kicker rear 6.5" / RF 10" sub in my 2001 Jeep Wrangler. It really woke up the sound from the Kicker 2-way speakers that were previously running off my radio amp and the single 10" 2ohm RF gets plenty of powers. Great amp with plenty of power in a small package and price!

Pros: Small size, great power, and good price.

Cons: Would prefer built in RCA connections versus wire transition leads.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Long Island, NY on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound, nice and loud. Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Jeff from Coopersburg, PA on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price. Sound is fantastic. Amp crosses the lefts and rights, making the stereo controls backwards. Takes some fussing with the speaker connections to get that right. Instructions are abysmal! You'll need to know what you're doing mostly in your own. Tiniest font I've ever seen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Oh yea!!!

Carlos from Teaneck, NJ on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing hits hard. It's powering a set of 5x7 Memphis audio up front and same for the rear doors. The sub is a 10alpine type S dual 4ohm wired as a 2ohm. This thing is doing more than justice to this setup. I installed this for a friend and he is more than pleased. The best part the foot print is so compact I installed it under the passenger seat.

Pros: Compact, easy hook up, easy to tune.

Cons: Nothing at all.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great buy for a midrange system.

Dustin from Zephyrhills, FL on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing exceptionally complicated here. Fantastic bang for the buck, for just the money, this amp has plenty of power to push my four door speakers and ample power in the 5th channel to push a modest sub. It's compact and produces a clean sound. Unless you are trying to build a high powered system, this amp would serve you well.

Pros: plenty of power for a reasonably priced amp. fairly compact

Cons: Gain is a bit fiddly not free

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great compact 5ch amp

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amp for upgrading a daily driving car or truck. It has good gain settings and sounds great at normal volumes and even up to what normal people would consider loud. Took one star because the left and rights are crossed for the front and rear. Simply fixed by swapping the RCA connectors around. This fits under the passenger seat of a 2005 Xterra with room to spare. The speaker terminals are large enough for 14 AWG wire. If you're using thicker than that, you are planning deafen the people on the street 2 blocks away.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Channels swapped

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice compact amp

Crutchfield customer from Kansas on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice compact amp with decent adjustment options. The connections are too small for large gauge wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Colonial Beach Va on 4/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the little amp that could. I have this amp installed in my 2015 GMC Sierra and it's running 4 JL Audio 6.5" speakers and 2 JL Audio 10" subs. I was skeptical about the size and price that this amp was going to be adequate but it handles the load and then some. I would recommend this amp to anyone looking for a 5 channel amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Lititz, PA on 4/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great all in one product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Bang for your Buck

Brad from Tallahassee, FL on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this amp just a couple days ago and I love it. I am running two 6.5"silverflutes in the front doors along two dayton audio tweeters, two rockford fosgate p165 2-ways in the rear doors and a 10 inch clarion sub. This amp powers everything with ease and it sounds amazing. Very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: compact size affordability ease of install

Cons: could use a little more power on the sub channel, but that could just be my personal preference

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

David from Saline, MI on 3/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for the price! Highly recommend if you want quality at an affordable price. I gave the guys at Crutchfield my budget and this was part of their recommendation. They matched this AMP up with a Kicker 401TCWS102 Sub. I couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

All in one and does it all.

Dmitry from Virginia on 2/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, no non-sense amplifier to power your entire system. Very compact, easy to fit just about anywhere. Remote bass knob is nice to have. Quality, easy to use terminals, built in x-over, what's not to like? In my car, it is supplying power to 3-way components set 7" woofers, 3" midranges and 1" tweeter (front) along with 2-way component set 3" midranges and 1" tweeters (rear fill) and a bass module fed by 5V head unit. I've been using Soudnstream 5 and 6 channels amplifiers since early 90's and this one is another thumbs up for what it can deliver.

Pros: Compact, adjustments available, remote bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money, but be aware...

Jacob from Los Angeles, CA on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First let me say it's a great amp. Very powerful for what you're getting in size. But very poor in materials they chose for wiring harnesses.

Pros: Sound, adjustment, easy enough to figure out.

Cons: Poor wiring harnesses, and poor connections with small wires on harnesses.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

N/A

Vince from COLORADO Springs,Colorado on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my amp within the time frame they gave me,I really like the size of it it fits nisely in my truck behinde the back seats. I just wish I would of had more money to spend on a more powerful amp. This one does what it is supposed to do,but I like my music a tad bit louder.But for the prise it is awsume.

Pros: It really is a space saver and easy to instaull.

Cons: not enough power for me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. I bought this for my daughters car. having only general knowledge of audio visual, i installed it with no problems. It sounds great. Very compact.5 channel is the way to go!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never used car audio Soundstream amps, let alone a 5-channel amp. I've always used one four channel amp and one mono for my systems. The PN5.640D really simplified my 'old way'. It delivers great power to my 5 speaker set-up and fits really well under my rear seat of my Cherokee XJ.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Lots of power in small package

joe from Tamuning,Guam on 10/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier in a small package! I was skeptical at first but after putting it through its paces,I would recommend this amp to anyone looking for an amplifier that doesn't take up a lot of space but has plenty of power. Would have got 5 stars but the power connection threads couldn't handle too much tightening so be careful when installing..

Pros: Small size,easy to install

Cons: be careful not to over torque the power connections. I tightened mine and the threads gave in :(

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Vi from Lancaster, PA on 9/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 5 channel amp is pretty powerful in my cousin's Jeep linked to 2 12" Sound Ordanance subs. Hooked everything up, started the car and had horrible back way noise relative to motor rpms. Keep in mind we're using high level inputs. The one ground wire on the high level input that says "ground to chassis" in the booklet was causing the noise. Once we removed that ground the noise went away. Something to keep in mind for people who run into issues installing this amp and getting noise in their speakers. Overall, great amp with many adjustments.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Crutchfield customer from Grand Island, NE on 9/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Great bang for my buck. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tiny but Powerful

Ben from Omaha, NE on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't be fooled by the size, this little sucker packs quite a punch! The form factor was perfect for me, as I was able to (easily!) fit it under the passenger seat (I didn't have much room to mount it anywhere else). Right now it's powering two 6" door speakers, two 4" door speakers, and 2 x 10" sub in the trunk. Those door speakers are all my car was originally outfitted with, so I needed an amp to get the most out of the (relatively) small sizes, and this one didn't disappoint. The sound quality is great, and I can hear my music clearly even when flying down the interstate with the windows down. Once I added in the sub (Rockford Fosgate Punch P1-2X10) and adjusted the built-in crossovers, my system sounded fantastic (making my friends jealous). The sub presents a 2 ohm load, and the 350 watts from this amp is plenty of power; if I crank it up it can still get "uncomfortably loud". It's not going to be shaking the vehicle across the intersection or the houses 2 blocks down your street, but that's not really what I was looking for in the first place. Installation was pretty easy (again, especially thanks to the small size). There are screw terminals for the power, ground, and outputs, but the RCA inputs have to connect to these funny little wiring harnesses first. I've read some reviews complaining about heat, but after several months in the hot Nebraska summer I haven't had any issues with it overheating. If you need an all-in-one amp with a slim

Pros: -Small size -Affordable -Built-in crossovers -Comes with remote knob for sub level

Cons: -Remote sub level knob is much more sensitive at lower levels than higher levels -Wiring harnesses for the inputs are a little strange, maybe necessary because of the small size?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

roy from Port Richey, FL on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nicel little amp sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

Mike from Duncan, OK on 8/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amp is impressive. I was expecting to have good clean sound quality and it surpassed my expectations. Also has a lot of power to run 6 front and rear speakers and 2-12" subs. I would recommend this amplifier to anybody.

Pros: Awesome power for a small amp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amplifier

Dwayne from Odessa, TX on 4/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Amp. Has plenty of power and sounds nice and clean. Very compact package - fit easily under the passenger seat.

Pros: Plenty of power

Cons: Dont like the RCA inputs

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great Little Amp

Ryan S from Bakersfield, CA on 4/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp! It was just what was needed to power my 4 component speakers and 12" Sub. The amp was small enough to fit into my glove box! Powerful and clean!

Pros: Powerful, HPF, LPF and small. Clean Sound.

Cons: Odd little speaker connectors for input.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Picasso nano

Kris from Valpo,IN on 3/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with product and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality Matters

M81 from Carver, MN on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You are considering this amp because it is a low cost solution, small size- or both. I did too. Unfortunately the high level inputs were a real problem with a significant amount of distortion. It took several hours of troubleshooting to realize the amp was the issue. No distortion with low level RCA inputs. Poor installation instructions- has several other amp models except this one pictured for the input diagram. Fortunately Crutchfield support came to the rescue. In the end- I decided to replace with a more competent amp.

Pros: Low cost 5 channel amp to add power to your 4 channel system, plus a sub. Probably ok for low level input.

Cons: Not a good choice for upgrading your factory system using high level/ speaker input into the amp.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 22 found this helpful

ROCKING THE WHOLE TACOMA

HP from ventnor city, NJ on 2/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed one of these into my Tacoma to power from components, rear coaxials, and a dual voice coil 10" sub in bridged mode. Looking at the diminutive size of the amp I wasn't quite sure that it would get the job done. Being an audiophile from the car stereo era of the 90's I was a bit skeptical. Boy did it prove me wrong, Soundstream is still a strong competitor in the car audio market. This thing sounds great and can be hidden anywhere. Built in crossovers give you the flexibility to make it work in any system. Just but it, you wont be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Does the job

LAW from North Carolina on 12/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with and powers the 2 JL Audio subs, 4 Kicker door speakers and head unit purchased.

Pros: Compact and does the job well

Cons: limited warranty on self-install and manual has flaws

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Big sound small package

Mike from California on 10/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With such limited space in my convertible Z I thought I would try this amp out. I was very skeptical when I unboxed the amplifier but after getting it installed I was amazed at the sound it put out. It's driving my front components, rear 2 way and my 10 inch sub and it sounds great. I wanted crisp audio with the top down I was not looking for or expecting a crazy over the top system like in my 20's but I think I would have been ok with my current system when I was younger which is saying something.

Pros: Clean, efficient sound with a tiny footprint

Cons: Sensitive gain control, plan on putting some time into tuning

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Good sound for the price

Chris H from Florida on 8/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good for the price. The 1/2 and 3/4 channels are reversed, but not a big deal. I have it powering 4 kicker ds door speakers and a kicker 10" sub and it sounds pretty good for the $$.

Pros: Cost

Cons: Channels are reversed

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

How can someone review something that has no instructions on how it's

Crutchfield customer from Utah on 8/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed!

Pros: Haven't installed it cause the installation instructions does not support this model. I'll have to do a trial and error type deal and hope I don't blow it up. The Crutchfield techs,who recommended this unit, have been No help!

Cons: Same as the pros.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 82 found this helpful

Great Compact Amp

John B from Folsom, CA on 7/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a compact amp that would drive 4 channels and a sub for a BMW Z3 and this unit did the job, barely. Even with this small amp it was a close fit replacing one of the existing trunk amps. Paired this with a Clarion CZ505, Polk Component Speakers and a Kicker 6 3/4" sub woofer. Provides much better sound than the old stock system. Very impressed. Too bad they, like many car electronic vendors it seems, only provide a 90 day warranty if not professionally installed.

Pros: Compact, easy to install, external sub woofer gain control a plus.

Cons: Level sensitivity is 12v max not 6v as stated in the manual. Warranty only 90 days if not installed by approved dealer.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Very good amp at a great price

Bob f from New Jersey on 7/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great small amp with a lot of power. Used it to upgrade my factory stereo in my 2012 Ram 1500 Quad cab, easily fit under passenger seat. Powers 3 1/2" dash speakers and 6 1/2" front door speaker off of channels 1 and 2 , 6"x 9" rear door speakers off of channels 3 and 4, and one kicker 10" sub off of the 5th channel. Sounds great.

Pros: Small and compact with plenty of power at a great price !!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Some trouble

Nateb from Illinois on 7/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I am happy with the amp. The 3 star rating is because of the installation issues i encountered along the way and the shear lack of documentation that came with the product. I decided I was going to use the factory deck because I didn't want to lose any built in features. So My plan of attack was to run 2 speaker cables to each door. 1 would tie into the speaker level inputs. The other from the amp output to the speakers themselves. I only wired up the drivers side door so I could test the setup first before wiring up the rest if the vehicle. I tied the speaker level input to the channel 1 Input on the amp using the propriety speaker level wire harness that came with it. I then wired the speaker to the channel 1 output of the amp. When I turned on the radio, nothing came out. Soooo, to make a long story short, after a bunch of troubleshooting, calls to Crutchfield, and 2 amps later it was discovered that the channel 1 speaker level input outputs on channel 2 of the amp. So for all of you who are beating your head against the wall in rightfully assuming that channel 1 input would output on channel 1, please just simply move your output wires to channel 2 and you will have sound.... Now, had I wired up all 4 doors at the same time, I would have never had this problem. But because I did 1 at a time, it ended up costing me a week in installation delays and migrain headaches.

Pros: Small. Light. Accepts high and low voltage inputs. Price.

Cons: Channel 1 speaker lvl input outputs on channel 2. Channel 2 speaker lvl input outputs on channel 1. Channel 3 speaker lvl input outputs on channel 4. And channel 4 speaker lvl input outputs on channel 3. You can see how this would cause problems if you were testing 1 door at a time.........

Crutchfield response on

37 of 39 found this helpful

Clean and grunt

Ted from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance and value.why spend more when this does such a great job.

Pros: Crisp clear with plenty punch nice and small

Cons: Cons are in prison

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Blown away

Shackman from North Carolina on 6/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound production and clarity exceeded expectaion, especially considering I'm still driving factory speakers and a 10" Kicker sub. Has enough adjustments to tailor output to what you have, small enough to get almost anywhere. Runs very cool for such robust output. The only caveat is the owner's manual; it doesn't address how to connect the 5 channel version to power the sub. Otherwise great "sound per pound."

Pros: Seems to have more power than rated. Compact size, runs cool, speaker level inputs. Great price.

Cons: Owners manual doesn't include diagrams or explanation on connecting the PN5 version to the sub.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Little Amp with a Big Punch

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore MD on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp- provides plenty of power! Have in Jeep Wrangler driving 4 6.5 and 4 2 inch tweeters via cross overs...and a 6 inch bazooka sub...sounds amazing

Pros: Size Power Price Clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Small size, big quality

Bobby E from Murfreesboro, TN on 3/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just about all of us has purchased an amplifier and realized that the rated power on the amp did not reflect its true output. I will have to say that this thing has blown my expectations out of the water. I am running this after an AudionControl LC6i and pushing 4 Polk DXI6501 components with a JL 10" sub using my factory head unit. The clarity and power was very unexpected. I am currently running low gains and it gives high volume with clear; precise audio. I might purchase this same AMP for my Titan. Very compact size with solid; easy to get to speaker connections. I am not that fond of the pigtail style RCA input adapters it uses as it made it a little difficult to get a nice clean amp display in the hatch of our Note. Although I can understand why this method was used because of the compact size of the amp.

Pros: Size Unexpected power output Solid speaker connections Easy access of hi/low pass filter and gain settings

Cons: Pigtail syle inputs

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Amp

J. Live from St. Thomas Virgin Islands on 2/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp for tight space. Love it

Pros: Small and powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good quality

Eddie from Pembroke Pines, FL on 11/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job. Installed to run my 4 Polk Audio db651s & Bazooka BT8024DVC 8" Sub. Happy as can be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Powerful little amp

Christina H from Florida on 11/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amp in a very small size. Powers front/rear Kicker speakers and 10" Infinity sub. Make sure your engine is running if playing music because this amp will drain your battery if engine is off.

Pros: Powerful, small size, clean sound

Cons: May drain car battery is playing music when engine not turned on. Make sure engine is running.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing Little Amp

BigggD88Fan from Pasco, Wa. on 10/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from such a small package. Sub woofer sound and control is beautiful. Clarity of the 4 channels is super. Size made hiding a non issue.

Pros: Great sound in a small size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Amp in a Small Chassis

RalphC from Franklin, TN on 8/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this AMP in a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, I used the factory head unit and tapped into the signal after the factory amplifier. Did not even use a low pass adapter and it sounds extremely clean. I am running Polk 6.5 components model is (db 6501) in the front and 6.5 coaxials, model is (db 651) in the sound bar with a Memphis Audio 8" MClass sub in a ported box. The amp is very small for the amount of power it produces. I could not ask for more and have run JL audio amps along with Kenwood and Alpine and do not think I would consider anything else but the soundstream. It is top quality with the sound to match

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

nice and small

JoeC from Ridgefield, CT on 8/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

powering my four MTX thunder dome speakers and an MTX 10'' sub just fine, and it fits great under my passenger seat, had a little problem with the wires causing some feedback, but that's because I really don't have it secure

Pros: size and power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good little amp

Crutchfield customer from Middletown ny on 7/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amp for it size

Pros: Very small for a 5 channel amp

Cons: No remote wire

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D

R from Jerseyville, IL on 6/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powers my 4 speakers and my 10" sub perfectly. Makes great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great amp

Crutchfield customer from Evans ga on 6/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome size. Mounted under my rear seat. Controls are awesome. Amp has ran for 2 months now with no issues.

Pros: Great controls. Awesome filter. Good power.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP