Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

DVD receiver

MFR # VR-7HB

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

DVD receiver

MFR # VR-7HB

33 reviews
View this product

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Gaffney, SC on 1/10/2021

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceed my expectations, this is a true quality head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound stream

Crutchfield customer from Springville, CA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice head unit but it looks like the screen might scratch easy. The EQ on this thing is great. It was well worth the price.

Pros: Great sound and adjustments. Nice display.

Cons: May scratch easy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ya get what ya pay for.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 1/6/2021

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is ok. Screens are poor. Can't turn off the little "disco lights" that serve no purpose except to irritate. Shoulda' ponyed up for a higher quality unit, but that's on me.

Pros: Relatively cheap, and, if you're having a dance party in your truck, it comes with irritating disco lights.

Cons: Cheap, disco lights, poor screens, tiny dials.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Malad, ID on 1/4/2021

2004 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be great especially for the price! So far everything is working flawless. Radio, DVD, CD, Bluetooth, and all. The touch screen has no issues even at 10 deg F

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 1/4/2021

2012 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok radio for my daughter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't overlook this one

Crutchfield customer from Loami, IL on 1/1/2021

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great value overall. Plenty of features to satisfy anyone. Easy to install with included accessories. Reasonable price and features combo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Kingsland, GA on 12/30/2020

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a decent head unit. The touch screen needs to be a little more sensitivity and crutchfield was not lying about having to modify my dash to get this radio to fit in the Chrysler 200. The saws all and a file were my best friends but got it to fit perfectly. The metra dash kit is plastic garbage. They used to be metal with plastic surrounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

Bernard from Middletown, PA on 12/30/2020

2001 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio reception a little weak at times but other than that it's a great head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Alex from WINSTON-SALEM, NC on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quirky menu system

Jordon from Ft Morgan, CO on 12/27/2020

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is decent for the price but the menu system is idiotic. It has the main eq change function with the custom EQ option, but you can not access the 10 band equalizer there. You have to go into the "system" audio menu to adjust it. This is the case for many settings that should be in the easiest accessible main menu rather than deep in the system menu. Haven't tried mirror link. Doubt i'll use it. Much more power than the old Sony aftermarket stereo it replaced. Sound quality seems very good to me, and I haven't even changed the speakers yet. Touchscreen is fine. Overall its a decent unit for the price especially with the 10 band EQ even though getting to it is annoying.

Pros: Good power

Cons: Menu system

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 12/27/2020

2003 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice head unit for the Money and very user friendly. I didnt have to refer to the users manual to figure anything out .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from West Fargo, ND on 12/10/2020

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, had to recalibrate screen to improve the touch screen response. Took a star off because it's supposed to be able to mirror phones with an app but the app doesn't work

Pros: Price Output power Multiple choices for media

Cons: Mirror app doesn't work Touch screen a little sluggish

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 12/8/2020

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a lot of bells and whistles but very easy to navigate with front/rear cameras, dvd, usb, and Bluetooth. Only thing missing is an adjustable sub out.

Pros: Cost DVD Cameras USB Bluetooth Easy to use

Cons: Lack of audio adjustments

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 12/7/2020

2008 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great company and service this stereo sucks big time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 6 found this helpful

Sweet car stereo

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 12/5/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice car stereo for the price I've only had it in my truck for a week and so far I am very happy with my purchase

Pros: None so far

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for price

Trent from Janesville WI on 12/3/2020

2009 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with the dash kit for a 2009 honda fit. The instructions from crutchfield left out some small details that I had to figure out to make the dash kit mount right. The radio itself sounds good and will screen mirror for me. That means I can put my google maps navagtion on screen for a higher end feel from a low price point. I wish the touch screen was a bit more sensitive. Most of the icons on screen are big enough to be pushed without having to be to precise. Overall at the price it's hard to find anything better.

Pros: Easy install, lots of features, easy to use

Cons: Touch screen lacks sensitivity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Riverbank, CA on 11/23/2020

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Somerset

Richard from Somerset on 11/15/2020

2014 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my factory speakers with some Kickers and couldn't tell much difference so wanted a more powerful head unit. This one advertised the highest RMS and was a good price so decided to try. It brought them to life. They sound 10x better.

Pros:

Cons: Phone mirroring does not work with iPhone. But I mainly wanted Bluetooth to play music which it does fine.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck

Heath from Oswego, NY on 11/11/2020

2008 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my wife's van to replace a glitchy GM factory head unit. Install was simple, mostly because I paid extra for the wiring harness work. That option is worth it. It made installation a breeze. The radio sounds good with plenty of power to drive the replacement Kicker speakers in the doors. The touchscreen sensitivity is somewhat lacking and the controls are not intuitive, but Soundstream does include a actual printed owner's manual - not a downloadable PDF. That is pretty awesome. The bottom line is that this is a great head unit made even better at this price. I would definitely buy again.

Pros: Easy install( pay for the wiring harness to be done, it is totally worth it);more power than most aftermarket HU; lots of features for the price

Cons: Touchscreen sensitivity; some controls are not intuitive; no CarPlay or Android Auto ( but not really expected at this price)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Gleason, TN on 11/10/2020

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product very easy to work and nice picture. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/10/2020

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and called the 1800 number for help and they were extremely helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 11/9/2020

1999 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Afirst the radio just cut off on it's own and that happened twice so far, then time to time the volume just goes up for no reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/9/2020

2019 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A GREAT buy. This unit has a lot of features for the price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent price for what you get

Crutchfield customer from Port Matilda, PA on 11/1/2020

2007 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price per performance is superb. This unit dims with my headlights, has automatic switchover for the backup camera, and the buttons can be set to any color. It sounds great and actually has too much power for my needs with lots of equalizer settings to choose from, including a custom setting. The hands free telephone feature (via blue-tooth) is fantastic. The display can be turned off with one touch while still in use to eliminate distracting active graphics while driving. The only detriment was with the mechanical mounting kit (the wiring adapter is spot on). I had to scavenge original mounting parts from my car's factory radio in order to mount this one properly in a 2007 Honda CRV. The face of the stock kit is almost 1/4 inch too high vertically. I used only the bezel from the mounting kit.

Pros: Has a lot of great features for the price.

Cons: Mechanical mounting kit is not a good fit for Honda CRV 2007, but there is a simple workaround.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

garbage

Crutchfield customer from Lovington, IL on 10/29/2020

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

modified fit ... translates to knock a big hole in the supports of my dash. Not impressed in the least. How do I get a refund? would give zero stars but not an option. Keep looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Meh...

Crutchfield customer from Canandaigua, NY on 10/27/2020

2011 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is ok very basic. Seems kind of glitchy. Mic sounds a little faint to people on the other end of a phone call. I would buy this again for a very barebones setup with handsfree calling. Anything else I would pass and buy something more feature rich.

Pros: Easy straight forward install, spend the extra money and have Crutchfield do the wiring harness (really a nice option)

Cons: Mic sounds a little faint. Glitchy color changing option for buttons works well if you pick green. Won't change to any other color. No android auto or apple car play.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/26/2020

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has a cheap sound quality. I really purchased it because of the Phone link feature but it doesn't work with Android system after Android 6. My phone is an Android 10.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Jonesville, NC on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit and works great it does everything it listed. Works great recommendations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Capital Heights, MD on 10/19/2020

2002 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio easy to install

Pros: DVD playing works perfectly

Cons: No car play

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from MILILANI, HI on 10/19/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great aftermarket receiver, easy use, remote control.

Pros: Good power, cheap price.

Cons: DVD screen clarity not so high.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 10/17/2020

2008 Buick Lucerne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Getting it installed today

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 10/4/2020

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not perfect but works

danny from FOSTORIA, OH on 9/28/2020

2008 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon arrival the box was definitely a box that made me feel a little better about the purchase. So far its a great unit for the price. The biggest issue has been the touchscreen sensitivity. Otherwise connecting devices is easy and customizable so just not anyone can connect to it. The quality of video is also kind of low but for DVD receiver at this price cannot complain plus the ability to use Android on this unit is nice. No Apple support that I know of. Honest review 3.8.

Pros: Affordable Android compatible

Cons: Picture Quality Touch sensitivity

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP