Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

DVD receiver

MFR # VR-7HB

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

DVD receiver

MFR # VR-7HB

69 reviews
View this product

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

William from GLEN ROCK, PA on 1/5/2022

1997 Acura Integra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touch screen and very easy to use and understand. Bluetooth is great. Sound quality is clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream A++ in my book.

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/3/2022

2009 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio was a replacement for the factory unit in my Hyundai. Radio has a lot of power. Way better then the Factory unit.

Pros: More power then factory unit.

Cons: Very small volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 12/21/2021

1999 Subaru Legacy Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

gave it 4 stars because screen does not tilt like my pioneer did that it replaced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garbage

Kyle from Nolensville, TN on 12/20/2021

2013 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Insanely difficult to get to connect to phone via Bluetooth. Volume often changes on its own. Randomly loses power (was professionally installed using wiring kit and I've checked power and ground wiring multiple times myself). Clock randomly resets and somehow ends up back to the correct time later. Now purchasing a different radio for my gf's Christmas gift after blowing it with this radio last year.

Pros: Occasionally works as a radio

Cons: Almost everything

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

09 CRV - I want to like this unit, but..

Crutchfield customer from Eustis, FL on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was my choice after 2 boss units had issues. I'm really trying to like this unit for many reasons: -interface,screen design and layout is nice -Volume knob actually changes volume while spinning (instead of just the opposite of other boss units) -EQ is temperamental as I'm still trying to dial in the right sound with 4 Fosgate 6.75 spkrs and sub. But it is nice to have a 10way EQ. Only 1 single RCA for sub which had me buying a Y RCA cable. Volume is distorted at halfway even with speakers matching the units RMS. IDK if this is the unit or the speakers.. I blame the unit as the oem speakers broke up near the halfway point as well. No subwoofer control. If you want bass, it goes thru the EQ and puts bass in your spkrs. Havent used the phone feature, but BT audio works great. I might have to just open up the wallet for a better name brand. This is for my daily CRV which I drive 10hrs a week and just wanted something cheap that sounds better than oem. Cheap, reliable, good. Pick 2 and the 3rd is what its not.

Pros: Great layout and user interface EQ is nice, but you need to goto set up mode to access it 20w channel is good and bad (see cons) Video resolution isnt bad, it's not a bluray.

Cons: Adjusting EQ is a pain as you need to go thru the set up menu instead of on the volume screen. Volume goes to #40, but cracks up after #17 with loudness off. With loudness on, it's just a mess of distortion. 40w rms Paired with 40w rms fosgate 6.75 speakers should have some great clarity at higher volumes. But no. At a 3rd of the way you get clarity. After that, just distortion. No subwoofer control. If you want bass to your sub, your speakers will have bass as well. Single RCA for sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Unit. Would recommend

Crutchfield customer from Kailua, HI on 12/13/2021

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great deal to replace my stock head unit for my 05 Silverado. Installation was quick and relatively painless with the purchased wiring harness, antenna adapter, and mounting bracket. The unit works great. The only con is the volume nob is a little small and is difficult with my fat fingers. I would still recommend it.

Pros: Easy Install Sounds Better

Cons: Small Volume Knob

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Napanoch, NY on 12/13/2021

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, what I was looking for with CD player, also received discounted price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Hydaburg, AK on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loud pops during cd&dvd play back. After reading my store bought DVDs it wouldn't Play the movie! When trying to adjust audio or video settings, the screen shuts off what your trying to do way too fast!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/13/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace an impossible to use Furrion unit in my 5th wheel camper. Have not installed yet, but tested on bench and I am impressed. Much easier to use than the Furrion, sound is crisp and clear with radio, CD and DVD. Like the ability to pair tablet and phone to play songs stored in each. Will probably not use the phone options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Car audio

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 11/25/2021

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit ,DVD,CD,USB,ADX,BLUETOOTH. Touch screen, sub output , camera rear,and front, remote control 3FM.1AM , good output.

Pros: High output ,camera front and rrar

Cons: The installation guide don't tell you what each wire is for or not clear that is . There is 2 wiring that needs to be plugged in I still haven't done it for the DVD player

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Palmdale, CA on 10/24/2021

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Get what you pay for...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/26/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year Soundstream warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 9/30/2021

2007 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great...I luv all the special features, easy to operate....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

GREAT UNIT

Jeff from Atkins, AR on 9/29/2021

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful. Sounds great. There's a slight delay when Bluetoothing to my phone playing music. You miss the first half second or so of some songs. The only real problem is DO NOT TRY TO CLEAN OFF THE SCREEN. I used a microfiber cloth you use to clean eye glasses and it scratched the total crap out of the screen. Crutchfield is awesome though. Still in my 60 days , so theyre sending me another unit. Other than that, no problems. This thing really ROCKS. Makes the stock speakers in my 2012 Ram sound 100 times better than the factory radio that died. Very much recommend this unit.

Pros: Great sound Powerful Easy install Does everything it should NICE graphic eq Works great screen mirroring my Android phone

Cons: Screen is VERY easy to scratch. Recommend a good screen protector. Also, you have to get used to the pressure you apply to the screen. It dont take long to get used to it though. Every now and then it drops Bluetooth connection. Its not this unit, its my phone, but i have to restart the receiver to un-confuse my phone. Not this unit's fault, uts my stupid so called smart phone.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nacogdoches

Robert from Nacogdoches, TX on 9/29/2021

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Id rate this a 0. This radio flat out sucks. I've had nothing but trouble with this piece of junk. This thing has a mind of its own. It will change volume on its own, turn on and off on its own and now it will change from Bluetooth to radio and DVD player. Have factory reset numerous times and always goes back to the same issues. Factory support is a joke. They want $$ to send it back under warranty. This thing isn't worth another penny. Lastly the monitor looks cheap. Stay away from this product and buy something else.

Pros: None

Cons: Junk

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Irmo, SC on 9/16/2021

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little difficult to navigate the menus, that's why 4 stars. once you figure it out its fine. Trust the power rating , it rocks. Like not having to run a seperate mic for the phone. Can't attest to video quality, I'll never use it for that purpose. Overall it may seem somewhat dated to some people but so am I so not an issue for me, way better than the Kenwood it replaced. Don't think it can be touched for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit with lots of features.

Crutchfield customer from JACKSON, MO on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this head unit. It's good value for the price. Decent radio reception, large selection of EQ settings along with BT and DVD player. There's many options and I like that it just works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, TN on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome for the price. Nice features and sounds great.

Pros: Not many

Cons: Only thing I can pick, is the equalizer, you can pick from preset settings or Bass and treble adjustments only

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Guest from Taylor, MS on 8/30/2021

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not order this radio. The volume goes up and down when you hit a bump. This radio has a weak frequency and stations require resetting all the time. The clock won't stay set on the correct time when the motor is turned on/off, and the GPS does not load. It displays a bunch of folders. I have had this defective radio for 8 months. This is a warranty issue. Soundstream says I can't get a refund, but I can send it in for repair. According to Soundstream, I need to pay to have it shipped to them and enclose $25 to cover their shipping and handling when they mail it back to me. I declined. If it is under warranty, a return label should have been sent to me to mail it to them. I decided to keep the radio and lose almost $300. I guess Soundstream wins-or do they? Don't buy this radio. It's a piece of junk. Soundstream's customer service is absolutely terrible! I am not satisfied at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Works good

Crutchfield customer from Bean Station, TN on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good still trying to learn the different stuff on it

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Wiring for steering wheel controls but was told would not work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 7/27/2021

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should have listened to reviews and not bought this model. For a new car stereo to not link up with newer phone software...not good by any means. I shouldn't have to debug, restart or dumify my phone to work with a car stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Diamond in The Ruff

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/26/2021

2013 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is this stereo is actually very decent! Touch screen controls aren't perfect but do work in a similar fashion to OEM stereo touch screens. Plays media very well and the amp outputs are top notch! Sound with this deck is much better than ur typical stock stereo without a doubt! Makes driving my GTI that much more fun!

Pros: Amp outputs, quality of sound, touch interface actually fairly decent!

Cons: Absolutely none, for the cost of this deck around 180 the quality u get is very good!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Vassar, MI on 7/21/2021

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, fit perfect with the double din in my 2011 GMC Sierra 1500. 10/10

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 7/18/2021

1998 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Blue Tooth Issue

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As of right now im not happy with this unit. It constantly disconnects bluetooth. Every time I start my car it requires manual connection. I did check the auto connect is ON but still has the same issue.

Pros: Price

Cons: Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Dededo, GU on 7/4/2021

2015 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Suprised with the way this plauer operates..... good job soundstream

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Purdys, NY on 6/28/2021

2005 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio doesn't fit into the back box of the car, so I think I need a whole new housing. There should have been warnings about the modifications necessary to my car if I wanted to install this radio. I will need to cut my console cover, which makes me nervous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/12/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garbage Brand

Ryan from KENOSHA, WI on 3/16/2021

2009 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not buy this radio. It has been nothing but problems. I have had it for 5 months and I have had to factory reset it multiple times due to it randomly turning on/off and losing all control of power/volume knob. Don't waste your time or money with this piece of junk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

New Hampton

Lesly from New Hampton on 3/13/2021

2014 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe Crutchfield carries this garbage in their line up, that is so disappointing. This thing would be outdated even in the 90's, what a piece JUNK! Nothing works as it should. Bad display, not very intuitive at all.

Pros: Exciting about placing the order

Cons: Receiving the order and discovered I ordered a piece of garbage. nothing works right.

Crutchfield response on 3/31/2021
Lesly contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Meriden, CT on 2/5/2021

2008 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Powerful unit, but could be better.

Brandon from Bridgewater, VA on 1/30/2021

2003 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The thing that caught my attention with this stereo was the high power rating. I didn't want the hastle of wiring up an amp, so the high power was appealing. The power is nice and it sounds good, but there are a few things I'm not impressed with. There is a long delay when the unit is turned on, when you switch from radio to cd, and switching tracks on a cd. My ancient Pioneer unit is instant. This is probably my biggest issue with this unit. Probably not a big deal for some people, but it's pretty annoying to me. The volume knob is tiny and it adjusts in steps. At lower volume the steps are fairly large. Finer adjustment would be better. As mentioned in other reviews I think the menus could be arranged in a better way. I suppose this will be less of an issue as time goes by, but initially it's kind of awkward. I waited a while after getting this unit before installing it, so I was past the 60 day trial period. Had I installed it sooner I would probably have considered trading. I live near a Crutchfield store, but because of Covid I shopped online. Had I shopped in person I think I would have made a different choice. As far as Crutchfield goes, they're hard to beat. The sales advisor was great and the technical help person was extremely helpful. Shipping was-crazy fast too. I've dealt with them for years and will for years to come.

Pros: Powerful. Great price.

Cons: Long delay when unit is turned on, switched from radio to cd and when switching tracks on a cd. Volume knob is tiny and adjusts in steps, which are fairly large at lower volume.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Clatskanie, OR on 1/26/2021

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great, powerful and clear!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

VR7HB

Crutchfield customer from Lead Hill, AR on 1/24/2021

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The VR 7HB was a great choice for my vehicle. Set up was easy and the look is hard to beat. The dash unit came with all accessories for a snug and original look very satisfied.

Pros: Tv,DVD, and mirror cast.

Cons: No screen protector sold with unit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/18/2021

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for the price. The features this head unit offers is unmatched at this price point. Only down side is the screen sensitivity as noted by other reviews. Personally, I do not mind this as my truck is lifted and rides rough. With the decreased sensitivity, your selections have to be very deliberate.

Pros: Tons of features

Cons: Screen sensitivity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 1/17/2021

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit to replace my Jeep's OEM unit. Bluetooth works great, calls are clear. Controls Pandora and music apps from my iPhone. Still adjusting the EQ to get the sound right before I add an amp and sub.

Pros: Easy to use Very loud compared to my OEM unit Lots of deck power 10 band eq

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Mc Kenzie, TN on 1/15/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio for the price. Very powerful. So far it works great. Only complaint is that it could have more fine tuning options besides just bass and treble.

Pros: Plenty of power Looks and sounds great

Cons: Needs more tuning options besides bass and treble

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont quite get what is described

Steven from Montgomery, AL on 1/15/2021

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound streams own description is severely over inflated on the audio tuning side, the subwoofer crossover does basically nothing and only comes in single port, and the UI is clunky. Bluetooth is slightly slow and glitchy from phones calls to playing music. USB does not want to stay on it switches itself to six instead, and touch features are very slow and not very sensitive. Other than that , the Unit seems to be Ok on power for running factory speakers in a vehicle. Decent Basic double din features aside from previous complaints

Pros: Affordable Easy to install Decent power Easy to read screen

Cons: Get what you pay for Misleading on certain advertised features Only 1 subwoofer output Crossover is not much of a crossover Clunky UI Touch not sensitive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Gaffney, SC on 1/10/2021

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceed my expectations, this is a true quality head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound stream

Crutchfield customer from Springville, CA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice head unit but it looks like the screen might scratch easy. The EQ on this thing is great. It was well worth the price.

Pros: Great sound and adjustments. Nice display.

Cons: May scratch easy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Ya get what ya pay for.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 1/6/2021

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is ok. Screens are poor. Can't turn off the little "disco lights" that serve no purpose except to irritate. Shoulda' ponyed up for a higher quality unit, but that's on me.

Pros: Relatively cheap, and, if you're having a dance party in your truck, it comes with irritating disco lights.

Cons: Cheap, disco lights, poor screens, tiny dials.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Malad, ID on 1/4/2021

2004 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be great especially for the price! So far everything is working flawless. Radio, DVD, CD, Bluetooth, and all. The touch screen has no issues even at 10 deg F

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 1/4/2021

2012 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok radio for my daughter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't overlook this one

Crutchfield customer from Loami, IL on 1/1/2021

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great value overall. Plenty of features to satisfy anyone. Easy to install with included accessories. Reasonable price and features combo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Kingsland, GA on 12/30/2020

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a decent head unit. The touch screen needs to be a little more sensitivity and crutchfield was not lying about having to modify my dash to get this radio to fit in the Chrysler 200. The saws all and a file were my best friends but got it to fit perfectly. The metra dash kit is plastic garbage. They used to be metal with plastic surrounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

Bernard from Middletown, PA on 12/30/2020

2001 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio reception a little weak at times but other than that it's a great head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Alex from WINSTON-SALEM, NC on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quirky menu system

Jordon from Ft Morgan, CO on 12/27/2020

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is decent for the price but the menu system is idiotic. It has the main eq change function with the custom EQ option, but you can not access the 10 band equalizer there. You have to go into the "system" audio menu to adjust it. This is the case for many settings that should be in the easiest accessible main menu rather than deep in the system menu. Haven't tried mirror link. Doubt i'll use it. Much more power than the old Sony aftermarket stereo it replaced. Sound quality seems very good to me, and I haven't even changed the speakers yet. Touchscreen is fine. Overall its a decent unit for the price especially with the 10 band EQ even though getting to it is annoying.

Pros: Good power

Cons: Menu system

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 12/27/2020

2003 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice head unit for the Money and very user friendly. I didnt have to refer to the users manual to figure anything out .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from West Fargo, ND on 12/10/2020

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, had to recalibrate screen to improve the touch screen response. Took a star off because it's supposed to be able to mirror phones with an app but the app doesn't work

Pros: Price Output power Multiple choices for media

Cons: Mirror app doesn't work Touch screen a little sluggish

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 12/8/2020

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a lot of bells and whistles but very easy to navigate with front/rear cameras, dvd, usb, and Bluetooth. Only thing missing is an adjustable sub out.

Pros: Cost DVD Cameras USB Bluetooth Easy to use

Cons: Lack of audio adjustments

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 12/7/2020

2008 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great company and service this stereo sucks big time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 7 found this helpful

Sweet car stereo

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 12/5/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice car stereo for the price I've only had it in my truck for a week and so far I am very happy with my purchase

Pros: None so far

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for price

Trent from Janesville WI on 12/3/2020

2009 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with the dash kit for a 2009 honda fit. The instructions from crutchfield left out some small details that I had to figure out to make the dash kit mount right. The radio itself sounds good and will screen mirror for me. That means I can put my google maps navagtion on screen for a higher end feel from a low price point. I wish the touch screen was a bit more sensitive. Most of the icons on screen are big enough to be pushed without having to be to precise. Overall at the price it's hard to find anything better.

Pros: Easy install, lots of features, easy to use

Cons: Touch screen lacks sensitivity

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Riverbank, CA on 11/23/2020

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Somerset

Richard from Somerset on 11/15/2020

2014 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my factory speakers with some Kickers and couldn't tell much difference so wanted a more powerful head unit. This one advertised the highest RMS and was a good price so decided to try. It brought them to life. They sound 10x better.

Pros:

Cons: Phone mirroring does not work with iPhone. But I mainly wanted Bluetooth to play music which it does fine.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck

Heath from Oswego, NY on 11/11/2020

2008 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my wife's van to replace a glitchy GM factory head unit. Install was simple, mostly because I paid extra for the wiring harness work. That option is worth it. It made installation a breeze. The radio sounds good with plenty of power to drive the replacement Kicker speakers in the doors. The touchscreen sensitivity is somewhat lacking and the controls are not intuitive, but Soundstream does include a actual printed owner's manual - not a downloadable PDF. That is pretty awesome. The bottom line is that this is a great head unit made even better at this price. I would definitely buy again.

Pros: Easy install( pay for the wiring harness to be done, it is totally worth it);more power than most aftermarket HU; lots of features for the price

Cons: Touchscreen sensitivity; some controls are not intuitive; no CarPlay or Android Auto ( but not really expected at this price)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Gleason, TN on 11/10/2020

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product very easy to work and nice picture. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/10/2020

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and called the 1800 number for help and they were extremely helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 11/9/2020

1999 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Afirst the radio just cut off on it's own and that happened twice so far, then time to time the volume just goes up for no reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/9/2020

2019 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A GREAT buy. This unit has a lot of features for the price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent price for what you get

Crutchfield customer from Port Matilda, PA on 11/1/2020

2007 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price per performance is superb. This unit dims with my headlights, has automatic switchover for the backup camera, and the buttons can be set to any color. It sounds great and actually has too much power for my needs with lots of equalizer settings to choose from, including a custom setting. The hands free telephone feature (via blue-tooth) is fantastic. The display can be turned off with one touch while still in use to eliminate distracting active graphics while driving. The only detriment was with the mechanical mounting kit (the wiring adapter is spot on). I had to scavenge original mounting parts from my car's factory radio in order to mount this one properly in a 2007 Honda CRV. The face of the stock kit is almost 1/4 inch too high vertically. I used only the bezel from the mounting kit.

Pros: Has a lot of great features for the price.

Cons: Mechanical mounting kit is not a good fit for Honda CRV 2007, but there is a simple workaround.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

garbage

Crutchfield customer from Lovington, IL on 10/29/2020

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

modified fit ... translates to knock a big hole in the supports of my dash. Not impressed in the least. How do I get a refund? would give zero stars but not an option. Keep looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Meh...

Crutchfield customer from Canandaigua, NY on 10/27/2020

2011 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is ok very basic. Seems kind of glitchy. Mic sounds a little faint to people on the other end of a phone call. I would buy this again for a very barebones setup with handsfree calling. Anything else I would pass and buy something more feature rich.

Pros: Easy straight forward install, spend the extra money and have Crutchfield do the wiring harness (really a nice option)

Cons: Mic sounds a little faint. Glitchy color changing option for buttons works well if you pick green. Won't change to any other color. No android auto or apple car play.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/26/2020

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has a cheap sound quality. I really purchased it because of the Phone link feature but it doesn't work with Android system after Android 6. My phone is an Android 10.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Jonesville, NC on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit and works great it does everything it listed. Works great recommendations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Capital Heights, MD on 10/19/2020

2002 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio easy to install

Pros: DVD playing works perfectly

Cons: No car play

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from MILILANI, HI on 10/19/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great aftermarket receiver, easy use, remote control.

Pros: Good power, cheap price.

Cons: DVD screen clarity not so high.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 10/17/2020

2008 Buick Lucerne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Getting it installed today

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 10/4/2020

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not perfect but works

danny from FOSTORIA, OH on 9/28/2020

2008 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon arrival the box was definitely a box that made me feel a little better about the purchase. So far its a great unit for the price. The biggest issue has been the touchscreen sensitivity. Otherwise connecting devices is easy and customizable so just not anyone can connect to it. The quality of video is also kind of low but for DVD receiver at this price cannot complain plus the ability to use Android on this unit is nice. No Apple support that I know of. Honest review 3.8.

Pros: Affordable Android compatible

Cons: Picture Quality Touch sensitivity

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP