Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

5-shelf audio/video stand for TVs up to 40" (Natural Walnut)

MFR # A5/W

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

5-shelf audio/video stand for TVs up to 40" (Natural Walnut)

MFR # A5/W

33 reviews
View this product

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Salamander is very well made and it was exactly what I expected. The shelves are very sturdy and holds my 60 pound tube amp without issue. As you can see from my submitted photo it shows off my equipment and has great access. I will be working through some wire management, but for now it is a great addition. Clean lines, minimalistic design , infinite shelf adjustments and high functionality. It does take a bit of planning and time to get the shelves to their correct position however it was fun and that is what this hobby is about! The Crutchfield team always takes care of you.

Pros: Clean lines, minimalistic design , infinite shelf adjustments and high functionality. The shelves are very sturdy and holds my 60 pound tube amp without issue.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A bolt installation marathon

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holy moly, what a pain to put together. You will find yourself spinning bolts for hours. I got my son involved because running the metal washers down the bolts was entertaining. It is easy to mess up the edges of the holes putting on the shelves (be careful). It made the room smell like the lumber department at Home Depot for a few days. it was cool at first, but got old quickly. all of that said, it is doing its job. looks good and I am sure will serve me for years to come.

Pros: you can set the shelf gaps to what you need. it looks good and is sturdy

Cons: pain to put together. took a week for the wood smell to fade away.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good rack

Duane from Eugene, OR on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good solid rack. Being hardwood 2 of the shelves arrived with cracks. But the warranty requirements are impossible and it could take weeks for them to decide if they would exchange. So yes the rack is good the manufacturer sucks

Pros: Works

Cons: Cracks

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, infinite adjustability. Takes a while to set up. Not as stable as I would like.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Kurt from Grand Rapids, MI on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sturdy product a little pricey but easy to assemble and if you need something that can hold an 80 lb amplifier this is one of the cheaper options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Murrells Inlet, SC on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Purchased a scratch and dent unit and all parts looked new. Very sturdy and looks industrial but does take some time to assemble and level properly. Very happy with purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Robert from Olympia, WA on 5/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and solid. A little much $ for such a simple stand but not unreasonably priced; it is adjustable which is the reason I chose it. It is challenging to get together level. It isn't so stable on carpet compared to the Whalen audio tower it replaces. 5 stars for Crutchfield as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Lenexa, KS on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it. Bit pricey though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent, American made A/V rack!

E from Chicago, IL on 3/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This really is a great A/V rack. It's sturdy, well built, very adjustable, and really clean looking. Highly functional, and highly recommended. Assembly will take some time, and your hands will need to be washed once or twice (unless you wear gloves, which is probably better), but it's totally worth it. Being able to infinitely adjust all the shelves (except the top one of course) is really a huge bonus. Right now it's holding my turntable, dac/pre, oppp spinner, phono pre, ps3, some headphones, and an LED lamp. Looks and performs fantastic! If you're thinking about buying a rack like this, I think the price is completely justified. I'm really glad I didn't spend less for an inferior product. Oh - and all the parts were included in the box, with extras! One other thing, there is some out-gassing from the shelves. It took about a week or so to die down, but again I am extremely happy with this purchase. Just order it!

Pros: Construction Flexibility Looks American made Durability

Cons: assembly can take some time parts are oiled (as they should be) and either gloves or some handwashing is required slight out-gassing from shelves themselves, takes about a week or so to dissipate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very very nice

Bryan from Washington, DC on 3/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful minimalist design. Very easy to put together (but does take a while spinning each of the nuts into place), even comes w/ a small level to make sure you get each shelf level. Installation tip - build the unit in the spot you want to place it. This ensures that even if your floor is not level, your shelves will be!

Pros: Exactly as it looks. Materials and manufacturing attention to detail is impeccable.

Cons: Price....

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great audio rack. Some tips for assembly.

RC from Kenosha, WI on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sturdy, good build quality, excellent for high-end audio components. Flexible: you can customize the spacing between shelves to accommodate components of different heights. You can also customize with add-ons. I got the casters to make it easy to move the unit when I need to access the back, and the drawer. The drawer is great for keeping small loose items organized in one place, such as carbon fiber record brush, stylus brush, small level, 45 adapter, extra cable, microfiber cloths, headphone jack adapter, cleaning solution for a record cleaning machine, and storing the remote control when not in use. You can also get a black back that hides cables; it has holes to allow cables between components on different shelves and it attaches to the back of the unit with strong Velcro. Assembly is straight-forward but a bit tedious and requires careful planning. Before assembling, measure the height of each of your components and decide how much space should go between the top of the component and the bottom of the shelf above it. Decide which component should go on the top shelf (probably your turntable if you have one), which should go on the second shelf, the third, etc. Actually putting the unit together is straightforward, but screwing the nuts on the threaded poles is tedious. It took me a total of 2 hours to assemble, including double-checking my measurements for each shelf, plus 15 minutes to assemble the drawer.

Pros: Sturdy, looks great

Cons: Assembly requires careful planning, and patience. But is worth it!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean look, nice design. Holds weight well. Takes some time to build but worth the effort. The A5 has plenty of room to add a additional shelf with most components heights.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with them, I bought two. I have heavy audio equipment that puts out alot of heat so being able to adjust the shelves is great. They are very well made and they look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great item and very functional!

Michael from Yucaipa, CA on 4/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! Well-built, sturdy and looks great - very functional. It does take a bit of work to assemble, but it was not difficult. I particularly like how you can adjust the shelf height depending in your components.

Pros: Well built, easily adjustable

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Aledo, TX on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give this five stars. Very durable, minimalist design, and a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality, beautiful and sturdy

Guillermo from Redondo Beach, CA on 2/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made. Easy to set up and the wood is of great quality. This things looks awesome, allowing you to show off your audio equipment, and the simple design makes your audio setup be the center of attention. Would definitely recommend.

Pros: great quality, looks beautiful, simple design that doesn't draw attention away from your setup

Cons: none from my point of view

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent

Austin from vt on 2/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A5 is very fairly priced for what it is. I do not recommend it for use with turntables, though, as it is not exceptionally steady (everything is tight and leveled). Salamander's customer service is pretty bad, too. I have reached out to them with multiple questions and have only received one sentence yes/no replies, which were very unhelpful. Do not buy the Mega Spikes. The threads are very loose, which adds to the wobble of the A5.

Pros: Cheap, customizable

Cons: Unsteady

Crutchfield response on 2/21/2017
Austin, we're sorry you're having issues with your stand. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander

Brad from Clarkston, MI on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Nice Product and I love the infinite adjustable shelves.Shipping was only 2 Days to Michigan and I could not wait to get it assembled.That is why I deleted 1 star.The hardware did not include the much needed metal washers they were all rubber.I called Crutchfield and they gave me the option to go purchase the washers and they would credit me with a receipt when sent in.I went to a local big box hardware store and they do not stock Black washers.I was told that furniture companies typically customize their own hardware this was a real drag because my entire Family room was pulled apart.I bought a can of black spray paint and the metal washers which were different from the ones I should have received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Missing parts

Jeffreygus from Harwich, MA on 1/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks like it will be nice when I get my missing parts.

Pros: Will know when I get parts to build it.

Cons: Missing parts

Crutchfield response on 2/6/2017
Jeffrey, we're sorry you didn't receive all of the needed parts. If you need help once you receive everything, please just reach out to our tech support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

solid and sexy

Eric from Schenectady, NY on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

after reading some of the negatives on this rack I was a bit worried i'd have some issues...thankfully, I had none. all the materials were supplied as well as spare parts. this isn't a hard assembly but for certain some may have some issues. take full advantage of the supplied level because it is the most important thing to do when putting this together. it takes some time, for me a solid hour, mostly because it just takes time to get all the washers down. the wood is nice quality although it has a matte finish to it. I chose the walnut and was expecting the wood to be a bit darker. as it stands, it looks handsome. this is a solid unit and way better quality than the cheap stands you see made out of mdf with low weight limits. Fully assembled this is rock solid and i'm guessing weighs at least 40 lbs. Aside from the quality, the big selling point is the infinite adjustability of the shelves, and you don't even need to use all five. Two things to keep in mind: your hands will get dirty. the rods are pre oiled which is a good thing, but your hands will be black so get ready to wash them. a few times. also.....it's tricky putting on the top shelf. loosen all the nuts to free up the rods, than push in the top shelf so they sit flush with the top connectors. than go back and tighten all the nuts. 4 stars because a poly finish would have been nice, and the top shelf will definitely confuse some as the instructions make no mention of 'the trick' . 4.5 stars

Pros: Well Built Solid Infinite adjustability Supports a lot of weight Beautiful grain to the wood Useful accessories available

Cons: Lengthy, dirty assembly Will trip up those without much experience with assembling products A bit overpriced Not a bad idea to have a tape measure handy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CA on 12/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product has robust design but lack fine detailing on finish. One of the screw sent was without thread and I have to ask customer service from Salamander Design to ship new screw out. The Crutchfield customer support was not able to help me with the screw issue as they were unfamiliar with their product offerings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Shelves are worthless if you can't assemble them!

Henry from Ossining New York on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product when set up is great... how do I know? I've had two units before and lived with them for years... sorry that I didn't take them with me when I moved... But as good as the unit is, that's how bad the Quality Control has been from Salamander...I can't seem to get 4 of the archetype rods that have been properly machined to allow the nuts to do their job.... this is a known problem, so you would think that Salamander woutld QC the threading on each and every rod before shipping... at least until they get a handle on why this problem occurs so frequently. check the online comments... Poor Crutchfield... they've been terrific! They contacted Salamander, who promptly shipped me two new, and functioning rods... when I tried to assemble the unit, I encountered another rod that was only partially correctly threaded... called Crutchfield, who again promptly contacted Salamander, and I assume I'll get the rods... but in the meantime, it's the week before the holidays, my stereo is spread over the floor... and I've put 4 hours and counting into assembling an uncomplicated DIY unit that should be done in 30 minutes. Not a happy camper...For all the bad will this generates and all of the customer service attention, Crutchfield should discontinue selling the product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 12/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this equipment rack. It takes awhile to put together (threading the nuts takes the most time) but being able to space the shelves any way you want is a big plus. The rack is very sturdy too after the nuts are tightened down with the supplied wrench. I also have a Sanus Euro equipment rack and the Salamander A5 takes up less room.

Pros: Very sturdy. Can space shelves any way you want. Does not take up much room.

Cons: Takes some time to put together and your hands will get a little blackened from the threaded posts and the nuts that hold the shelves in place.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The absolute BEST audio stand for the money. I live in Colorado and every year I attend the RMAF (Rocky Mountain Audio Fest) and many of the audio manufacturers choose to use these flexy type audio racks to showcase their products. That's a huge endorsement, imho. :) Building goes quickly and Salamander support and warranty just can't be beat. Quality and construction are fantastic and the audio rack is extremely stable. Pick up the floor spikes while your at it. They work great on carpet. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Meets all my needs

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 11/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great rack! Really liked the infinite flexibility in shelf spacing. I also purchase spike feet and an additional shelf.

Pros: Great looking and sounding!

Cons: Initially there was some out gassing but that's gone after a week.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent build quality

Matthew from Garland,Tx. on 10/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid audio rack. It looks good in black and the shelves are adjustable. Not hard to assemble but takes a little time. This is my third Salamander product and the quality is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

missing parts 1 nut,1 steel washer and 1 rubber washer

oman from north branford ct. on 9/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. easy assembly would buy from Crutchfield again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Salamandar A5/B

Stan from Kentfield, CA on 8/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, as advertised. Black wood seems sturdy, without blemishes.

Pros: Sturdy. Easy to install components.

Cons: I really wish there was an option to screw a castor onto the bottom of the supports. Wheels would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent quality

Victor from Wheeling, Il. on 8/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beautiful piece of furniture to compliment my Mcintosh gear. Very easy to assemble well built and worth every penny. I think it was a great deal. I added four long bolts for legs and to raise it a bit. You won't be sorry!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Salamander Designs A5 Archetype

salamander user from Greenville, NC on 7/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get what you see in the picture: threaded rebar and wood panels. The wood panels are nicely made. The feet for the legs are rubber, which works well on hardwood, and would probably work as well on laminate; I'm not sure how it would be on carpet. The threaded rebar allows for custom adjustments, but the flip side to that is that getting the shelves just right can be very tedious. The small level which is included is handy, but leveling the shelves in a way which gets the spacing proportional (if you care about that) is challenging. I have not had a chance to set up my turntable yet to comment on stability, which was my top priority; but the unit does wiggle a little bit if it is bumped. I'd give it 3.5 stars if that were an option.

Pros: It does look very nice when it's completed. The cherry wood I was sent is fairly light in color, close to oak. Infinitely adjustable shelves are an advantage.

Cons: The metal parts are coated with an oil, which is deliberate and functional; but if you don't want to get the oil on the wood panels, you will need to wash your hands before handling them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Richard C from Orlando, FL on 5/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beautiful wood rack (I got the walnut version), plus, in the world of audio racks, it is a great value (affordability, quality/performance, expandability, and accessories). I would not hesitate to buy again!

Pros: Slim form factor, takes up very little space for how much it does. Excellent price for the value that it brings to the audio system. It looks beautiful.

Cons: It takes some time and thought to put together and to level each shelf. Also the black metal hardware is coated with an oil to help protect it, but this will get all over your hands while assembling. Take care to not let it touch carpet or components. Once it is all together it's not a big deal just be careful while assembling.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks better than I thought it would

SB from Houston, TX on 5/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a little time investment to get it put together - maybe an hour - but it totally pays off in the end. The walnut shelves are very attractive and it is very sturdy. The black hardware virtually disappears which is the only thing I was worried about pre-purchase. The greatest thing - besides the good looks - is the ability to make the shelves any height you need. I would buy again and highly recommend this rack.

Pros: Beautiful Infinite shelf locations Very hefty once tightened Can add spikes or wheels if desired

Cons: Nothing really - just make sure you follow the directions for the first two bottom shelves and do not tighten all the top nuts until the end or you may get it in a bind a bit and out of square.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP