Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Audio/video cabinet for TVs up to 40" (Cherry with satin aluminum posts)

MFR # SB402C/A

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Audio/video cabinet for TVs up to 40" (Cherry with satin aluminum posts)

MFR # SB402C/A

18 reviews
View this product

The Perfect Cabinet !

Richard from Prague, OK on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SO glad I made this purchase from Crutchfield ! This Stereo Cabinet is just gorgeous, heavy, and the perfect compliment to sit our Technics 1200GLD (#0075) on Top, without worry whatsoever ! ! ! Our Crutchfield NAD C375BEE sits inside, along with CD Recorder, & about 150 albums.... The perfect compliment ! Only wish, had done this 20 years ago ! AND... Noticed that the Sound actually improved some, from the Turntable, as the unit is so much heavier than what had before ! ! ! The response/Bass much better, and all hum & distortion is GONE ! THANKS, Crutchfield !~ ( And Salamander Design, for the perfect cabinet ) *** If you do not have this, you NEED it ! ! ! ...( DJ, since 1972

Pros: Weight ! Easy Build... Great Looking... Glass Door open/close exceptional, great Balance ... Plenty of inside shelf room... Total Quality... AND...Great Help/Service from Crutchfield ! ! !

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Chris from Pottsville, PA on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Looking, Sturdy & easy to put together. This cabinet finished off our home theater in style!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Product

Steve from Moorpark, CA on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great product. I gave it 4 stars because I feel the finish should be closer to furniture grade for the price. In regards to assembly, don't be scared off by the other reviews. Yes there could be more detail in the instructions. But pictures are provided and it is a very simple build.

Pros: Great build quality and very functional

Cons: Finish should be closer to furniture quality for the price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dissapointed

Crutchfield customer from CATONSVILLE, MD on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately, I can not recommend this product! I've built all types of furniture in my lifetime included a large Ikea kitchen with dozens of cabinets. The Synergy build sheet was vague, the build was rather time consuming. The end product is not attractive and has a strong obnoxious odor. The Door is flimsy, the overpriced Saturn wheels I had to buy separately, do not operate smoothly. The rear panel is not designed with air vents or cable management. If you are not mechanically inclined, I highly recommend you look elsewhere. I rate 2 stars given the issues mentioned and the high price for what it is, an extra star is added due the the great packaging and shipping. The boxes arrived on time safely plastic wrapped on a pallet.

Pros: It does hold media Components .

Cons: Strong odor. Poorly written build instructions. Overly expensive for build quality, fit and finish.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already have two of these, Great product,

Pros: Well built

Cons: Takes a while for the MDF smell goes away.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Heavy and well-engineered

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit definitely weighs a ton, but that is just it doing a great job of good design and minimizing vibration. I wanted a cabinet that would house my system in a tower and also have a really solid top for my turntable, mission accomplished. The add-on wheels make it very easy to maneuver. Everything fit together perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instructions are Incomplete and Needs Improvement

Guest from Santa Clara, CA on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality after you finally get it built. It ships flat with inadequate instructions, Instructions leave out a step which is unacceptable at the price point for this audio cabinet. You will spent 4+ hours building it which is ridiculous. Pegs are changed from instruction figures. 12 pegs are included instead of the 16 stated in the instructions. There are not left and right versions of the pegs as stated in the instructions. Instructions leave out installation of the shelf rail which is unacceptable and time consuming when you guess wrong on the direction to attach it. The manufacturer did not correct instructions on their website either which is disappointing.

Pros: Quality and look of cabinet are very good.

Cons: Instructions skip a step which is the installation of the slide out shelf rail. If you install it in the wrong direction, it is impossible to get the slides and top installed. It really is unacceptable that they haven't corrected the instructions for an audio cabinet at this price. For the price, it really should come with castors and holes to funnel power cables and speaker wire. Not deep enough for a high-end Denon receiver, without leaving the back off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Cordova, CA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really needs wheel casters to come standard. Tried to order casters from Crutchfield, but out of stock. Instruction were slightly vague on some parts for shelve with rails. On a good note all components fit in and has plenty of space for air circulation around them. Well, it actually should be 1/2" deeper to accommodate the Onkyo CD player cables. Putting this together, is like backing an RV into a campsite with your spouse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Product - Looking Forward to Using It

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, MN on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the quality if the component pieces and how it turned out once I got it together. However, the instruction pages need updating, a couple of the operations to assemble the unit are not shown or described. Also, the pieces used to hold the selves up have been updated and do not look like they do in the drawing, creating a little confusion.

Pros: Nice looking, solid unit.

Cons: Instructions a little out of date... could be improved.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the look, but a bit of a pain to get there

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid construction, appears it will last quite awhile. Slightly difficult process to change around shelves, and directions could use a few extra steps/labeling/corrections but was able to figure it out over a few hours.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Randy from Plano, TX on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The good news is that the delivery packaging is robust and so the unit arrived with no damage. There were no installation instructions in the box and so I downloaded from the website. Installation instructions are very poorly written and do not detail the steps to complete what the pictures show. I am very handy and it took me almost 3 hours to assembly. As a result assembly would very challenging for the most people. The quality of the product is okay but I feel it is overpriced as compared to other audio cabinet options.

Pros: Packaging

Cons: Poor installation instructions Average quality Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander - Quality, Function & Style

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Salamander continues to be the leader in home A/V furniture. Solid, high-quality, fantastic fit & finish on every piece. Yes, it's spendy, but in this case, you get what you pay for. This our 5th piece in our home, and not likely our last!

Pros: Rock solid, beautiful finish, wide selection, designed and built to last a very long time. Crutchfields 3-Day Shipping is incredible!

Cons: H-e-a-v-y! (Con?) Make sure units are where you want them. Not easy to move - especially loaded with gear! Take your time assembling! Follow instructions. Be very careful when assembling metal posts onto wood shelves - easy to scratch surface if you rush. Recommend wrapping bottom of metal posts with clear tape during install, then trimming excess tape with hobby knife when done.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best I've found ever!!!

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and sturdy. Shelves will support my 60+lbs. amps. Looks good for a piece of box furniture. I put wheels on it to make it easy to move around. Wheels are a great idea if you intend to put more than 250lbs on this monster. Easy to assemble too. Don't let the instructions confuse you though. Just take your time and think it through. I assembled it in about 3 1/2 hrs. I made mistakes and corrections, but it's really an easy project. Even for an old retired jet mechanic. I put my Turn Table on top. Pro-Ject Carbon "Red". Nice touch!!!

Pros: Looks great. Easy to assemble. Sturdy enough to hold your equipment.

Cons: Should come with wheels, or an option at least. This babe can get heavy...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Salamander Designs Synergy Model 402

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This arrives in a flat box as an Ikea sort of do it yourself assembly. The instructions are imperfect but fortunately the construction is faily self explanatory and easy. The result is sturdy, functional and attractive. A good purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great audio cabinet

gary from Reinholds, PA on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A really beautiful audio cabinet, furniture grade finish and very sturdy after built.

Pros: looks, the finish, and quality

Cons: a little tricky to assemble and a little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Synergy - Great intentions

Jason from Brooklyn, NY on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Synergy system is the only customizable modular audio rack products on the market. There's a lot of accessories and options, which really stand apart. I also purchased the slide out shelf for my record player. Unfortunately, I was disappointed on several factors when my 402 arrived. This is a beast, extremely heavy, over 100 lbs. MDF is used throughout and it's cheaper to produce I suppose, but it weighs a ton. The instructions were vague, confusing, and outdated. It took me over two days to assemble, think your worst Ikea nightmare x 4. The top panel came damaged, which they replaced within a week. The door comes pre-drilled with hinges that attach directly into those holes to one of the aluminum posts, so assembly error is near impossible. The door ended up being noticeably crooked, and it left a half inch gap on the handle side. Consequently the after market lock from Salamander didn't reach the other post when locked due to the gap. They didn't replace the door unfortunately. Now I'm stuck with a crooked door that won't lock, which was the main reason I went with the Synergy. The sliding shelf works well, and the adjustable feet are great for my uneven floor. Overall I feel like Salamander's intentions here are good, and they've really got a unique vision with the Synergy system. Where they could improve is making the materials lighter (bamboo or wood option), instructions more clear and updated,

Pros: Options Flexibility Accessories

Cons: Unnecessarily Heavy Extremely complicated assembly Confusing instructions Ill-fitting door and innacurare lock template/instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EXCELLENT Product and OUTSTANDING company.

BB from Scottsdale, AZ on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! Well made. Easy assembly although, the shelf spacing could be made easier with periodic markings placed on the inside of the cabinet. Both Crutchfield and Salamander are impressive companies with outstanding customer service. We called the tech support at both companies and they were both incredible to work with. Both companies resolved our questions and made sure we were 100% satisfied.

Pros: Excellent product and service

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Very solid rack, minor nits.

Chuck from Ashburn, VA on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Salamander 402 is well made and attractive (my wife says it looks nice, so that's high praise given he disdain for my audio furniture in general). The basis of the rack is the use of 80/20 extrusions that form the 4 corner pillars. If you're not familiar with it, it's got t-slots on each of its 4 sides - so using t-slot nuts makes attaching things (like the shelf brackets) easy. The tops and bottoms appear to be high density MDF with high quality wood veneer. Sides are ~1/4 inch thick fiber board with (I think) vinyl veneer. Shelves are stout and covered with textured, grippy vinyl (I think) veneer.It all looks very nice. Door is solid wood framed with a perforated metal "grill" and metal hinges. Door dampener is cheap plastic and I didn't use it. So far so good (though I would like to see plywood on the sides with veneer). The negatives are around setup. I'm an engineer and can put anything together. The difficulty here is setting up shelf spacing. Even using a tape measure to set heights is troublesome. It would be a great add to have index marks on the 80/20 pillars to aid in adjusting shelves. Assembly can take 1-2 hours. Think out your spacing carefully - pain to change it once together. I bought, from Salamander, the small 19-inch rack mount ears and the cable management rods for the back (you cannot install the plastic back cover with those in place). For the price, these pieces should have come with it. Overall, highly recommended even at the price.

Pros: Nicely finished, solid, flexible, good capacity.

Cons: Pricey even at Crutchfield's discounted price, some small cheap bits, can't use back with cable management bars in place.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound