Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Allows seamless addition of an amplifier in select 2012-up Ford vehicles

MFR # AP4-FD21

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Allows seamless addition of an amplifier in select 2012-up Ford vehicles

MFR # AP4-FD21

10 reviews
View this product

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Dulce, NM on 8/2/2020

2017 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a must in my Focus RS as the factory sony system did not meet my audio needs PAC / Crutchfield did an amazing job with installation instructions was practically plug and play was able to bypass the sony amp for amazing clean signal to an aftermarket amp

Pros: Plug and play bypass sony amp for better sound with aftermarket amp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2019 F350

Chris from CARSON CITY, NV on 4/14/2020

2019 Ford F-350 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on a 2019 F350 with the B&O audio system and pushbutton start. Some 2019 F series have the optical cable, mine did not. If yours looks like picture 1, you can use the PAC AmpPro. Install requires removal of the factory radio which is simple enough. I stupidly bought a 6 channel RC line that was too short and had to run my cabling down the center of the truck which required removal of the center console. DON'T DO THIS! just but the right length patch cable. On my application I needed the remote wire also or my amp wouldn't completely turn off. (found this out the hard way so test first!) The PAC comes with a volume knob which I did not install but connected to make adjustments. It is initially set to minimum which defeats the signal to your amp so at least hook it up and test it first. Otherwise, do drama with this. All factory signals for the warnings, nav, and phone work exactly as they should and I got good signals to my amp.

Pros: Good signal from OEM head unit

Cons: A little bulky, labels for the RCAs are on the bottom so connect first, then mount.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Ed from Puyallup, WA on 2/26/2019

2014 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Critchfield has the best technology on the market and professional staff. Crutchfield knew exactly what I needed in my F-150 to install an after market Amp on my truck. Thank you and keep up the great work! Ed Tuccio

Pros: Up to date software and staff

Cons: ..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 12/30/2018

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great alternative to spending $1,000 to replace headunit!! I love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works w/ Ford Flex Sony system

Jordan from Eau Claire, WI on 12/17/2018

2013 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A wonderful product! Very happy to have found this. I can confirm that it does work in my 2013 For Flex w/ Sony system as well, despite not being listed. Made the install a breeze.

Pros: -Easy to install -Bass knob is handy -Literally plug and play -Plenty of excess wiring to make mounting easy

Cons: -Volume decrease when backup sensor starts going off very slightly delayed - only a fraction of a second

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Winnie, TX on 12/10/2018

2016 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Amp pro works perfectly in my 2016 F-150 with the Sony system. easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great integration solution

Chad from Kentucky on 9/4/2018

2016 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this in my 2016 Ford Taurus SHO. Crutchfield says it's not compatible, but they are wrong. It works perfectly, and I expect it would work in a lot more Sync3 equippped Fords with the Sony system that Crutchfield and Pac say are not compatible. I had a feeling it would work because the ACM is the same from 2013 to present, and the APIM has the same pinout whether it's Sync3 or MyFordTouch. This module just piggybacks on those two modules, so it should work the same in anything with a Sony ACM and a Sync APIM. This thing is awesome compared to the piece of garbage Rockford Fosgate DSR1 I just sent back. My stereo actually sounds like it should, not all muddy and artificial like before, and the amp turn on, steering wheel controls, Sync prompts, backup sensors, etc all work properly. I used the optional optical output with a dedicated dsp, and there is no noise, so I can't speak to how it works stand alone noise wise.

Pros: Sounds great, all original functions retained perfectly

Cons: Pain in the butt to install since the dash has to be ripped apart.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Noisy little bugger

Joshua from College Station, TX on 8/1/2018

2018 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for a way to easily integrate an after market amp into your Sony system, this will do that. It does keep all the dings and Nav voice. What it adds is why it got 3 stars. Whenever I change songs it makes a weird noise sometimes, and this thing introduces some noise! I mean very very noticeable noise. I'm running Mosconi Zero amps, Focal BE and Illusion Audio Carbon speakers, all going into a Mosconi 8to12 Aerospace DSP. So I've got some nice equipment, and I was running it all on the Forscan Sony hack, but it has some weird problems, it would power on the amp through the RCA's, and sometimes it would pop when shutting off. So I thought why not try this. Well I went from an almost zero noise floor to some crazy hiss coming through my speakers, at first I thought maybe I got a bad unit, so I swapped it out a different one, still the same thing. This is all running over Stinger 9000 series RCA's, which are very high quality RCA's. The only thing that solved it was buying a good optical add-on cable. (Spending a lot on an optical cable isn't necessary, but you will audibly hear the difference). I went with Audioquest Carbon. After doing all that it sounds much better. My problem with it is I shouldn't have to buy an additional add on module, an optical cable, and reconfigure my whole system (optical cables require adjustments of amp gains) just to make this thing work as it should.

Pros: -Easy to use -Harness is of nice thick gauge wire

Cons: -Audible hiss -Weird noise when changing songs.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PAC AmpPRO AP4-FD21 Aftermarket Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 6/19/2018

2013 Ford F-150 Platinum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recommend the Amppro. I used it in 2013 F-150 and it works great. I also got the optional optical connection. System sounds are the right volume and the amps receive a clean signal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just buy it!

Bryce H. from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/12/2017

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product. Installed 3 of them so far for my clients with F-150's. If you have the chance to get the Optical Toslink output add-on module, do it! Your DSP will thank you. Can't recommend this unit enough.

Pros: Sound Quality, Optical Output, no loss of NAV guidance, SYNC commands etc..., small form factor, prewired T-Harness with Tessa Tape!. Perfect!

Cons: Sony amplifier needs to stay in the vehicle (plugged in) in order for the OEM volume control on the head unit to continue working. PAC has told me they are working on a new firmware fix for that.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

TOP