Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amplifier in select 1995-2002 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles

MFR # ROEM-FRD2

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amplifier in select 1995-2002 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles

MFR # ROEM-FRD2

22 reviews
View this product

Almost plug and play

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 12/13/2021

1997 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installing the new radio almost plug and play. Used solderless connectors. Be sure to follow the wiring diagram provided. Was a little confusing because all of the wires has been prestripped except for the blue wire. Things don't work if the blue wires aren't connected. A second issue I ran into was the pin configuration on the black connector. Included with the device was some instructions for moving the pins if the rear speakers did not work. There were no illustrations with the instructions so I had to call Crutchfield and they sent me some photos to go with the instructions. These helped immensely and after about 5 minutes, I was back in business.

Pros: Easy almost plug and play

Cons: Would have helped of the blue wire had been prestripped and illustrations included with the additional instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 12/7/2021

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product works perfect super easy to instal. Just had to move two wires and i was able to keep all the factory amps and subwoofer

Pros: Keeps all stock amps and sub while using aftermarket radio

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Owasso, OK on 9/29/2021

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great but did have to repin the connector only reason not getting a 5

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 9/4/2021

1996 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Need for a separate amp. It integrated to my uncut original wiring, and powered the speakers with 25w per channel from my new 10" double DIN head unit. I didn't have to disconnect the old premium amp.('96 XLT 4.0L 4 door Explorer)

Pros: Premium connectors, great insulation on wires. A wonderful option for this difficult to integrate vehicle.

Cons: No Con's.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 8/15/2021

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, WI on 6/23/2021

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were worthless and misleading, I wound up bypassing the factory amp and throwing this in the garbage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, WA on 6/22/2021

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wakarusa, KS on 3/15/2021

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to change a couple of pins around for it to work with my 1997 F 150 with factory amp. The interface came with an instruction sheet but spoke with Crutchfield tech and got everything working. Their tech was patient and knowledgeable.

Pros: works well

Cons: had to move pins but was not difficult

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, works great with my new stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 11/8/2020

1996 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four stars instead of five, but ONLY because its instructions were lacking. Getting this unit to work in my 1996 Ford Ranger necessitated reorganizing the pins in the black connector. Instructions said pins could be released with a paper clip. Nope. After fighting with it a bit, I used a very small screwdriver and that worked perfectly. Illustrations would have been very helpful. Other than that, the interface works great with my stock amplifier and aftermarket deck (Alpine CDE-172BT).

Pros: Does what it was designed to do, but you may need to alter pin location in the connector.

Cons: instructions could be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 9/22/2020

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

adapter was what I needed, I had to take away one star because my rear speakers was not playing at first, but I was able to get them going by following you all instruction on how to get them playing. Should the need arise I would gladly purchase your product again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome support

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, RI on 9/14/2020

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, the support at Crutchfield was awesome. I needed call twice with questions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Smithfield, VA on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The interface was easy to install and works perfectly. The team at Crutchield was helpful in helping get the correct item and customer service was excellent ??.

Pros: Easy to install and if needed they can prewire the connections for you to make the installation as simple possible.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Making life simple

Crutchfield customer from Wallins Creek, KY on 4/26/2020

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy! If my factory Amp was not a serious issue, then this would have worked perfectly. 30 min and your done. Don't forget to adjust the level pots, on the new patch cable, to match the new head unit levels. Check the Head Unit to see if the remote amp requires the Blu/wht or the Blue remote amp turn on wire. Do not listen to the posts the tell you to wire the red, main 12v, wire to any blue wire. If this particular harness does not work when wired correctly via instructions and you still do not have sound, something else is wrong.

Pros: All pros If you have issues you can call Crutchfield tech support and they will HELP YOU. They will not make you feel stupid, they will take you through steps to resolve problem sound systems issues. I would buy their products over any cheaper online store just to have the benefits of thier Tech support team.

Cons: Will not help you if you have a factory amp that is blown.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug & Play with Preminum Sound Systems

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 3/15/2020

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the replacement of the head unit and CD Changer in my Ford Expedition with MACH sound plug and Play

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from N Martinsvlle, WV on 2/18/2020

1998 Lincoln Mark VIII

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Great instructions. Fast shipping. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Happy Shopper..

Crutchfield customer from Haverhill, MA on 10/21/2019

1997 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried 2 different harnesses that were nightmares. The harness you sold me was Perfect. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 10/20/2019

1998 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was eventually able to get this adapter working. The instructions are not the greatest, especially if you are one of the unlucky few who have to move the pins around to get the rear speakers to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC ROEM-FRD2 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Chester, NE on 6/5/2019

1995 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to install the stereo. Works great and a reasonable price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Life made simple

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 4/17/2019

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What else can make life any easier. Plug in, secure in place and rock out!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incorrect pinout for my application. Wasted my time troubleshooting it

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 3/31/2019

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was wired incorrectly, which caused me a lot of time troubleshooting. The output pins were reversed of what they should be. I ended up having to re-pin it or cutting it off and using my old connector, which is what I did.

Pros: Zero pros.

Cons: Wrong pinout for output wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this Instead of Wiring It Yourself, Saves Alot of Time!

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 2/15/2019

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have every confidence that this wiring interface would have worked perfectly in my 1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bouwer 4x4, however, after I had already ordered this interface I found out that some previous owner had cut all the factory wiring behind the stereo during some half hazard attempt to put in their own aftermarket audio system. Thus, I was never able to use it, but it did hook up perfectly to the factory plugs in the dash and would have worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP