Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Russound ALT-126R

Stereo volume control with impedance matching

MFR # 6100-536281

Russound ALT-126R

Russound ALT-126R

Stereo volume control with impedance matching

MFR # 6100-536281

31 reviews
View this product

Good quality

Crutchfield customer from Daniels, WV on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good audio control, easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Mustang, OK on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and work as advertised. Service at Crutchfield is going to be hard to beat. Tech support is "Johnny on the Spot!"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, MN on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I now have 5 of these throughout the house. I continue to be amazed how changing the volume on one pair of speakers does not effect the volume of other speakers in the zone. Appears that having several pairs of speakers attached to 1 zone does not harm the amplifier when these are used. The first 3 of these were put into use over two years ago and the amplifier is doing fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Hanford, CA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built and very easy to install. The input and output connectors are removable which makes it very easy to connect the speaker wires. The volume control looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product that was easy to install

BK from Lenexa, KS on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got done installing these. They work as advertised and the installation instructions were simple and concise. I'm no audiophile but the sound quality is as expected and will definitely be buying additional units for other rooms in the house.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great purchase

Diana from Washington on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, customer service means a lot to me and this alone earns 5 stars. These volume controls were relatively easy to install. I'm a nurse, not an electrician, but given that the rough-in wiring was already done in my house and the I had the manual for installation I was able to install it myself. I had one question during the process to verify that I was doing it right and Crutchfield was very helpful. I recommend this company if you're looking for high-quality products backed my customer service.

Pros: Perfect for controlling multiple zones in my wired-in home audio system

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MI on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great! Have 8 in my house. Used these in the last house also. True quality from a brand I have become to trust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Woodland, CA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product meets my expectation and was easy to install

Pros: Easy Installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Remote speaker controls

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons, NC on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install for do it yourselfer due to easy to follow instructions. Works great!

Pros: Instructions.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Orange, CT on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Easy to install. Like the color options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice for local control and/or to parallel speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides local volume control plus impedance matching when paralleling speakers. Was easy to wire with the detachable terminal blocks. Like that two different wall plates and volume knob come with the package (white and almond). I had one room trimmed in black (including black wall plates) I drilled a hole in the existing blank cover and used the white provided knob. This gives the option to change (in the future) which speakers you want to parallel to save on Amp channels.

Pros: provides local control fast installation because of removable terminal blocks can change which speakers paralleled without additional costs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for our new home! Easy to install is a plus!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Treasure Valley Audio/Video from Garden City, ID on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Russound performance. There is room to increase the actual speaker wire termination port size. It would make it easier to secure no wires getting crossed up after installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced three existing wall-mounted volume controls with ALT-126R's and they all worked excellent. They were a little larger (internally) then the units they replaced so installation was a little tricky on one unit but all-in-all a great product. The volume range is good and allowed me to set my zone 2 volume at the a/v receiver to maximum and simply adjust the in-wall speakers volume from the ALT-126R's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Carefree, AZ on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product. Excellent customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding quality and performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Jim Thorpe, PA on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built very well. I have installed many in the past in combination with the EZB-8 Block. I highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST VOLUME CONTROLS ANYWHERE

Dan from Shreveport, LA on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWSOME! Purchased three ALT-126R volume controls to upgrade my home audio system from Crutchfield. The quality was excellent and I especially liked the feel of variable control defined by a "click". They work well with my new Russound 16 channel amp. I had purchased the Russound volume controls 15 years ago and they continue to operate flawlessly. I am considering replacing these with new ones because of the "click" and the old switch plate has faded.

Pros: Price and Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Mike from Waxhaw NC on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, it took care of my sound issue, don't waste your money at cheap volume controls.

Pros: Works perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ALT-126 is a really solid Volume Control. I used several along with an EZB-8 Block Connector for a recent multi-room installation using a xZone4 Streaming Amp. Make sure to set impedance settings properly when using multiple speakers in a zone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice product

Beau from Winchester, Virginia on 7/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned one of these knobs for about 10 years with no problems, and i just installed 4 more in a house I am building. It is a solid and reliable product.

Pros: Reliable, good quality and convenient for visitors to control volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R

kal from Mount Pleasant, SC on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought this control to replace one that I purchased from Monoprice that keep shorting out. This one is definitely built much better and to a high quality level. Works great and was very easy to install.

Pros: easy to install. Accepts 14 gauge speaker wires

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Steve from Louisville, KY on 5/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product worked as described and was easy to install. The removable speaker connection made the process a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound Controls

Clifton from Gilbert, AZ on 4/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality product

C.E. from Ashburn, VA on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and product works well. It's a solid component and looks good in the wall. I like that they give you two colors (white and cream) to match décor.

Pros: Clear installation. Quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound

Mark H from Madison, WI on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered 2 addition volume controls for an existing whole house Russound system we purchased from Crutchfield 3 years prior. Part #'s had changed in that time, but the tech help got back to immediately and gave me all the necessary info, he even told me how to meter the speakers and system to verify the correct 'ohm-age'. Very professional process!

Pros: Work as they should, and they are the correct ones! Order arrived quickly, safely packaged

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works fine

W Ledford from Georgia on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These volume controls made installing 3 sets of speakers for my Zone 2 a snap.

Pros: Installs in a snap

Cons: A little tricky to get 3 sets of 16 gauge conductors tied down to the output

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Multi-room audio

Southsound from Washington on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put three sets of speakers on remote channel of vintage Onkyo tx-906 amp. Does the job of handling load

Pros: Works as designed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Matt from Wisconsin on 9/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install as long as you tighten the screws on the input and output blocks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound ALT-126R Amplifer

TJW from Oxford, MI on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amplifier for Russound sound system. Worked well and powered the 6 speakers that are controlled by this amplifier.

Pros: Has a lot of power for the size and cost. Nice cover plate.

Cons: Large for a single conduit box. Had to make sure the wires were short.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP