Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Russound D1650

16-channel multi-room power amplifier

MFR # 2800-536229

Russound D1650

Russound D1650

16-channel multi-room power amplifier

MFR # 2800-536229

37 reviews
View this product

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit would not produce any sound when first installed according to instructions. After several discussions with Crutchfield they advised to turn up gain. Unit produced sound. However, it would intermittently cut in and out no matter which channel was operating. After speaking to Crutchfield twice I was referred to a Russound tech who advised to place the 1 &3 Timer switch in the up position and the 2 in the bottom position. It worked but it took a week of effort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Works really well and has plenty of power. Runs really cool also, which is nice if in a closet.

Pros: Runs cool, plenty of power, good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Troy from Alpena SD on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This AMP is awesome! I had one issue with it over heating on me though. I mounted two 4 inch fans under it and I have not had it over heat since. I am pushing 8 Bose 251 series speakers

Pros: pushes enough power to the speakers I have.

Cons: Gets very hot, Very spendy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent All around

Crutchfield customer from Oakton, VA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I moved into a new house in August, already pre-wired for whole house audio (very excellent). After consulting with the a Crutchfield consultant. Sent them my wiring diagram, she recommended a number of items, but what I quickly ordered was the Russound D1650 16 channel amplifier. Was surprised how easy it is to set up and it works fantastic. The manual is very helpful with just enough detail. I've fine tuned each channel with their gain setting. Had the whole house audio up and running in less than an hour. Shout out to Quinn my consultant. She made great recommendations. Still plan on ordering more equipment from Crutchfield as their included 2 day shipping was great. Thanks....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from SALT LAKE CITY, UT on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to power 8 in-ceiling speaker zones in my home, connected to a Sonos Port. Great sound quality at all volumes. Highly recommended

Pros: Easy to install, great sound and power

Cons: Needs additional controllers (e.g. preamp) for selecting zones

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Totowa, NJ on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made, extremely powerful true to watt rating, extremely reliable. this is the second in my house and I couldn't bee happier.

Pros: Perfect multispeaker whole house amp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Ramya from LAKE FOREST, CA on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to power up my whole house audio system using Acoustic Audio by Goldwood CS-IC83 in Ceiling 8" Home Theater 5 Speaker Set 3 Way 1750 Watt New CS-IC83-5S. The sound is crystal clear and crisp. The set up is easy. I hooked up with Sonos Port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MI on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for 8 zones in our house. Powers Klipsch ceiling speakers throughout and sounds great. Russound is a brand I have come to trust. Quality and performance are hard to beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I expect the unit is a quality product, but my experience attempting to utilize it for just over a week has not been favorable. My issues, are for the most part, resolved.

Pros: It will provide the required amplification which is required in the decentralized configuration.

Cons: It lacks the ability to turn off one or more zones, and does not have the ability to select different "programs" in different zones - both of which were avaiable with the speaker selector in the previous configuration. Additionally, though we have extended the duration it is active, we have not achieved half the time desired. It simply turns itself off after a few hours of operation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Mableton, GA on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact size, quiet operation, clear sound

Pros: Compact size, quiet operation, clear sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Customer service rocks.....unit SUCKS!

Crutchfield customer from Towaco, NJ on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the customer service....but this unit is terrible for wanting to enjoy a low volume comfortable setting using a SONOS connect! If you have a SONOS connect and want to use this unit....DO NOT DO IT! PERIOD!

Pros: Customer service

Cons: Useless unit if using it with the very popular SONOS connect at a low enjoyable volume....this unit cuts off because it's not picking up a low volume signal from the SONOS. (At least that's what I was told is the reason it keeps shutting down at a low volume)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Owned amp over one year now

Carlos from Arlington, TX on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this 16 channel amp to power my homes audio system which has two speakers in every room plus four more in the patio. I have now on the unit a little over one year and have been very impressed by the sound quality and how cool the unit runs. Cool however does not mean that it does not require adequate ventilation. The cabinet installation required the addition of a cooling fan. But for this much power it is not to be unexpected. The downside to the units design is the plugs for the speakers do not snap in firmly, the volume control is difficult to see when adjusting for every room, and recently the unit needed to be unplugged and then re-plugged in to reset The internal protection circuitry following a power outage. This was not due to a surge, just lost power. Overall a good unit that is quality made.

Pros: Power, cool running, flexibility

Cons: Difficult to adjust individual volume controls, speaker plug retention

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent product - Pesky Feature

CM from East Greenwich, RI on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Runs cooler than most and has plenty of power for most residential applications. The "no hum" feature is basically a low input sensing cut off. The issue is that this creates a lot of nuisance tripping between songs and in lulls within tracks. Can be very frustrating out of the box.

Pros: Power- Control - Lower Temp - Bridged Channel - Zone Control

Cons: "No Hum" Nuisance tripping out of the box.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound!!!

Nancy from Lancaster, SC on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh my gosh!!! I'm so excited to have music throughout my house!!

Pros: Everything I hoped it would be.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Montpelier, VA on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is simple to use and is part of my hybrid SONOS system. The amplifier is used to drive in wall/ceiling speakers and is feed by one SONOS connect for each zone that I setup. I particularly like the type of connector that is used for connecting the speakers and that the unit comes ready for rack mounting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Charles from Douglasville, GA on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Great sound!

Pros: Easy to install. Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem solved!

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely solved my problem just as the Crutchfield rep suggested it would. My system used to shutdown because I was trying to drive too many pairs of speakers. This amp has solved that issue.

Pros: It works perfectly and has some good configuration options should my system change in the future.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier sounds great and was relatively easy to set up. I am using it to power 16 high end Polk in-ceiling speakers and they sound amazing. I've had my speakers for almost 5 years now and they have never sounded this good. I am using it with a Sonos Connect, which is also a great product. The fact that this is a class D amplifier means it will run much cooler and it does. I have mine in the entertainment center under my TV and heat is not an issue (with that being said it still puts off some heat, but that heat's nothing when compared to a similar class AB amp). It arrived quickly and undamaged. I have and always will use Crutchfield when purchasing A/V equipment.

Pros: Great sound Cool running Lots of power

Cons: Large

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

tying my system together.....

mike from Magnolia, TX on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hook-up to my 25 year old whole house system proved to be simple....the only thing I missed is a second "line" input that I had to add via a 3 way switch.

Pros: ...most all the options are covered for audio needs

Cons: could use a little more simplistic included manual....

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value for the price

Larry from Wexford, PA on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality/value for the price. I'm using the product in a "bridged" mode to power 8 outdoor speakers servicing 4 separate zones. Surrounds our pool and deck area wonderfully.

Pros: Great value

Cons: I could always use a "bit" more power.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for Multi Room Needs

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have bought a few of these now - they are perfect for my needs. Super simple to setup and plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound throughout the volume range. I am no expert. Volume trim on individual channels helps. easy to figure out with no experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Maui, HI on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick install. Replaced an old Russound 1250. Great sound and controllability for multi room installation. Great packaging for shipping. Highly recommend this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

distributed audio

Bob from Eagle Creek, OR on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought a home that had in-wall speakers in 6 zones in addition to the family room and needed a distributed amplifier to play music in those zones. I discussed my options with Ozzy and chose the Russound 1650 for its ability to control the output to every speaker individually. My wife and I love the results! Christmas music throughout the house, priceless.

Pros: Individual speaker control Good power

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Port Jefferson, NY on 10/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used this amplifier at several customers houses to power both indoor and/or outdoor speakers. Always a reliable product and easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound design

Dan from Cincinnati, Ohio on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for multi room application. Sounds great. I am thinking of integrating the other rooms into a second device for more Control.

Pros: Simplicity on set up and great functionality. I looked at many amplifiers for our home system and the System integrated in to our existing system perfectly.

Cons: Had to turn volume controls up to max to acquire desired output. My other amps do not have a volume control and they have the same volume level.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Stephen from Stone Mountain, GA on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this thing pushing 5 pairs of Klipsch AW-525s. The combination is great. The speakers sound awesome with this thing. I would like the some AW-650s in Bridge mode of this thing.

Pros:

Cons: I wish you could Line In or Bus In from the front of the amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Jeffrey from Carmel, IN on 7/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, only wish I'd read the specs a bit more closely before purchase. I had thought the bus input on this amp could AUTOMATICALLY override the line inputs. In fact, you need to manual switch each line to the bus input. That small issue does not override how well it works to distribute audio throughout my new home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Piscataway, NJ on 7/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

stable and excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't buy this from other online sites - expensive mistake

Michael from Washington on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Failed after 40-60 hours!! Made in China. Used it to power Yamaha ceiling speakers. Input was SONUS Connect units. Sound and features are GREAT!!!! The power started cutting out intermittently. Sometimes power would come back on. Sometimes not. I played consistently loud music so the input signal was steady. It wasn't going to sleep. Maybe wifi connection too slow? Boosting up the wifi speed didn't help. Sketchy WiFi ruled out. Maybe Sonus system was faulty. I hooked up two SONUS Play 1 self powered speakers + SONUS Bridge to send input to the Play 1 speakers. The Russound powered speakers (fed by three Sonus Connects) all cut out at the same time and the blue lights all turned off but the Play 1 speakers played on... so the SONUS wasn't the problem. I contacted AMAZON where I bought it for $930 on Aug 16, 2016 (about 10 months earlier). AMAZON website replies: "No Product Support Available." WTHeck?!?! Initiated direct chat with AMAZON customer service. They directed me to Russound. Russound stated that AMAZON was not an authorized reseller and that they would not honor the warranty. True enough, their website has a cautionary page (bottom left of webpage titled: "Before you buy online...") that calls out Crutchfield and one other retailer as the ONLY authorized reseller. Russound offered to repair the unit for ~$250 + shipping both ways. So about $350 Lesson learned. Buy from Crutchfield. Pay $70 more... get a warranty. Use a good VISA/AMEX and

Pros: Runs cooler than old fashioned amps Input sensing so shut down and turns on automatically Light weight Easy install and wiring

Cons: Poor build quality Mediocre customer service

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Solid, reliable...but still room for improvement.

Tekguild from Oakland, CA on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these units, along with Sonos Connect's, for installs where we may not have adequate heat dissipation, as they run very cool - at least compared to Class A and AB amps. They're much lighter weight, too, so save your back. They'll get that additional 1 star when 1. The volume control has an arrow indicator and are the detent type, for precise volume matching and being able to see it's setting in dark areas. 2. The switch for the Time Delay is either turned into a variable dial or, at the very least, a 3 position switch or dial with detent. The current method is too difficult to manipulate and too easy to set incorrectly. 3. Add another input bus or two, or offer a model that does. 4 would be ideal, as I've never had to use more than that and it would be so much easier than having to split outputs or run extra outputs (via digital->analog converters) from the Sonos Connect units.

Pros: Lightweight, quiet, efficient, runs comparatively cool, sound quality is great.

Cons: Needs more bus inputs, detent volume controls, Time Delay switches frustrating if having to work in tight spaces or by 'feel'.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Crutchfield customer from Norcross, GA on 5/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding multi channel amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome 8 zone amplifier

Alex from Redmond, WA on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, sounds better than the speaker craft it replaces and works brilliantly with the 8 zone casatunes music streamer I bought to use with it. A couple of notes, if using the 12v trigger out make sure to use mono cables. Even better was Crutchfield's stellar support it helping me figure everything out.

Pros: Drop dead simple. Great sound. 12v triggers OR source sensing

Cons: Source sending poor at low volumes.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sweet Sound

JPAT from Greenwich, CT on 6/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ton of power, Sweeet sound. Highly recco.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound D1650

Megan from akron, OH on 4/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up after discussion with Tony who helped alot, wokrs great. Have all indoor and outdoor speakers powered and linked to sonos for music apps

Pros: easy set up and power is great to all speakers

Cons: screws for speaker wire need small screw driver to get done right

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pretty solid product

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 11/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this whole house amp a few weeks ago and have been playing with it since then. It seems like a pretty good product. Sound fidelity is fairly good at this price point. The installer-friendly speaker wire connections work well. I've tried bridging channels, and that also worked well for outdoor speakers that needed a little extra punch. Gain is configurable via screw adjustment on back panel. I particularly like the input auto-sensing. I haven't yet run my Kill-A-Watt meter to measure actual power usage, but I'm hopeful the power efficiency should be high. My Russound is part of a whole house Control4 system with a various devices feeding a Control4 audio matrix switch, which then feeds the amp. The amp works well in this environment.

Pros: Efficiency, sound quality, connections, small size

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP