Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Russound SDB-2.1

2-pair speaker and source selector with volume control

MFR # 3615-604010

Russound SDB-2.1

Russound SDB-2.1

2-pair speaker and source selector with volume control

MFR # 3615-604010

23 reviews
View this product

Great way to listen in multiple rooms

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very flexible speaker switch - we use it just for living room / kitchen switching, listening to the same music in each though I think it can handle multiple input & output zones. I particularly like that it is easy to turn the volume in the kitchen from food prep level to eating level. I really don't think we have even scratched the surface of what this switch can do.

Pros: Easy to set up and to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TDK

Crutchfield customer from Rushford, MN on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from West Sacramento, CA on 8/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit does exactly what i wanted it to do. Works great. solid feel to all the knobs and switches.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far...so good

Crutchfield customer from Chelmsford, MA on 7/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems good. Haven't had it long enough to really say. Seems well made. Easy to hook up. Labels that come with it suck...they don't stick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SDB-2.1

Crutchfield customer from Saratoga Spgs, NY on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Selector buttons couldn't be cheaper. Stuck on the first try. Can't believe there is not someone checking this before it leave the factory. Rest of it works well but if you buy a speaker selector and you can't select the speakers!?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your speaker selector. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works Fine

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukie, OR on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it is supposed to do. First thing I needed to do was glue a metal knob cover to the plastic insert because it wasn't tight and slipped. Set up is simple. Doesn't seem to color the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speaker Controller

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker control works well and shows quality construction!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker Switcher :)

Crutchfield customer from Titusville, FL on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, it's an Amazing little Speaker Selector ... It does Everything that I need it to do, and it's Nice Looking, and the Price was Right But, I Only give It 4 stars because mine arrived with a 'bad' push-button switch (it works, but sticks a lot), which I didn't discover until after getting It All Hooked-Up . I thought about returning It for exchange but that's not easy with my schedule, And I didn't want to have to put my Eyes or my Hands through dealing with those bare wire connectors again ! ... it requires the use of a Screwdriver (which They Graciously include) to secure the Cables ! I am NOT UnHappy with This Unit At All ! ... in fact, even with Its Shortcomings, I love It ! I'm sure You'll love Yours too !

Pros: Perfect for Adding another Set of Speakers to the System, and It Provides Level Pots on each Set to help balance the Pairs to each Other for BEST Sound ! It's Nice Looking ! The Price was GREAT ! I'm Quite Happy with mine ! :)

Cons: The Connections ! ... These are 'bare-wire into a screw to tighten (with a screwdriver) terminals' ... no quick connectors here !

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Used with OnkyoRZ720, DefTechBP9040, KlipschKG4.2

Scott from JOHNSON CITY, TN on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using with Onkyo TX-RZ720 receiver in mainly stereo mode with set of DefTech BP9040's in one room and 25+yo Klipsch KG 4.2's in another room. Can attenuate volume perfectly! Lack of banana plugs is minor annoyance, there's value in disconnect/reconnect without polarity concerns when dealing with multiple wire sets. If you're familiar with Onkyo receivers you know the limitations of multi-zone and control complexity. So, playing the same digital source (like Pandora, Apple Music) via AppleTV in multiple places with other existing AirPlay2 equipment, as well as these two sets of speakers, and all controlled from my iPhone was the goal. The Russound SDB 2.1 did the trick for relatively little $. Build is solid, functions as stated, sound is great! Out of the box, the #2 on/off switch was not smooth and would stick in the on position. That was corrected by removing the cover and spraying tiny bit of lithium grease on the slider/contact - now works perfectly. An odd thing, the sheet of labels it comes with. There's a name for everything and seems great until you try to peel them off. First they tear easily because attached to what seems like a giant sheet of masking tape, when you do get them off, there is no adhesive on the back - have to attach double-sided tape and cut to size. There are several blanks, so recommend some practice before ruining the one you want. If half stars, would be 4.5, but sound & function matter most; those are awesome!

Pros: Exceptional Sound, Solid Build

Cons: Quirky lables

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Sun City West, AZ on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product does not work as advertised. I have called Customer service twice to walk through the correct hook up always with the same results, poor sounds coming out of A &B speaker selections. I am returning the item this week. Disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good gear

Whit from Bellows Falls, VT on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Agree with another's comment that it would be a plus if this took banana plugs. But the connectors work well, especially compared to another, cheaper brand I got from elsewhere, and had to return because there was no way to use 14 gauge wire with it without risk of shorting. Also, the branding on this is refined. As for the fidelity, there's no compromise from the amplifier's output.

Pros: Good connectors. Transparent to the signal.

Cons: No banana plugs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound quality

Ed from Torrance, CA on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Russound SDB 2-1 was the perfect solution for my house. I had a Sonos amp that can only connect one pair is speakers. The SDB 2-1 allowed me to add a second pair of speakers without any loss of quality. The SDB 1-2 is saved me from having to purchase another Sonos amp, while maintaining sound quality.

Pros: Allows to add speakers to an amp Ability to have 2 speaker zones Quality construction

Cons: It was back ordered for 2+ Weeks

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works perfectly!

Sam from Apple Valley, CA on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Bose 4 speaker amp. I needed to be able to to control the speakers I have in front of the house separately than the speakers in the rear of the house. I was able to find a response from a Bose Tech stating that this item would work just fine. Installation was simple, and it does exactly what I purchased it for.

Pros: Great price from Crutchfield!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SDB-2.1

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, VT on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SDB-2.1

Crutchfield customer from Chino, CA on 2/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great after see my sons I had to get one, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Cartouche from San Diego, CA on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has been working for 3 months without any problems. My ear can't hear any difference using NAD 2200 AMP/1240 PreAmp to B&W speakers. Nice construction, except the connection blocks are a little difficult to use, but seem to get the job done.

Pros: Recommended by repair shop.

Cons: Perhaps a little pricey. Connection blocks. I don't see stepped volume control as much of a negative.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SDB-2.1

Crutchfield customer from San Diego on 4/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works just as described. I am able to switch between both receivers and both sets of speakers in the same room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Se ve bien

Enrique from San Juan, PR on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen producto, construcción sólida. Good product, solid construction.

Pros: Fuerte construcción. Strong construction.

Cons: Delay o atraso al reproduir audio. Delay, delays to produce audio.

Crutchfield response on 2/28/2017
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SDB-2.1

riverrunner from alabama on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great!! highly recommend if you need this application.

Pros: worked as advertised

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Service-Great Product

Dave S from Reno, NV on 8/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and as always great service had a problem after install and it was very easy to get someone on the phone. Product worked as adelveritsee and was a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

clean sound

Donald J from Santa Cruz, CA on 7/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works very well. It was not clear in the instructions how to set up the units impedance, but a call to Crutchfield support cleared it up. Sound quality is excellent and it gives me the volume control I was looking for.

Pros: Works nicely. I do not get static or pops while adjusting volume or turing speakers on or off. There is no apparent loss of quality of sound while using the unit.

Cons: Setting speaker impedance requires removing the cover and changing internal pins. A table is provided to tell you which pin setting to use, but it is not clear what you do when you get a different requirement while both speakers are playing verses one of the speakers. It would be nice if the unit accepted banana plugs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

very nice item

JoeP from New Jersey on 8/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very sturdy piece of equipment with an all-metal housing that would fit in well with any higher end components. The modular connectors accept multiple wire gauges and make diagnosing any wiring issues a snap. I would have preferred soft-touch infinitely adjustable volume knobs rather than the stepped detents, but that's a minor issue easily compensated for by fine-tuning the master amp volume. I'm using it for living room speakers and deck speakers, where the impedance and speaker wire gauges are different and it works great.

Pros: Sturdy design, modular connectors

Cons: A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gets the job done.

PManz from Abington, PA on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, it was a great product to synchronize the built-in speakers between our kitchen and outdoor speakers on our patio. Gives us seamless music at parties. I will agree with a previous review that the stepped volume is a bit odd. It's the only reason I gave it 4 stars. Also, very reasonable price considering your other options.

Pros: Gets the job done. Easy to install.

Cons: Stepped Volume

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound