Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Russound SS-4.2

4-pair speaker selector

MFR # 3630-520679

Russound SS-4.2

Russound SS-4.2

4-pair speaker selector

MFR # 3630-520679

44 reviews
View this product

Great little speaker selector

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now we can play music in the front and/or back of the house. This speaker selector is effective and compact.

Pros: Compact. Comes with labels to identify which room speakers are in.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth it

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good l had a niles which was like microsurgery wiring it. This was very easy so far works great and my wife loves the labels

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surround SS 4.2

Crutchfield customer from Antelope, CA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The russound SS4.2 works fantastically. I am able to power different sets of speakers without having to make any changes in my amplifier settings. The Vienna Acoustic Mozart Grand speaker's that I have sound absolutely perfect As always your staff was very helpful

Pros: Easy set up Works flawlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to hook up 2 pairs of speakers to my amp. The amp itself did not handle all 4 very well. Created some distortion. Bought this selector switch and it equalized all 4 speakers and improved the sound noticably. Good product. Works!

Pros: Sound improvement. Easy to hook up.

Cons: Stranded 16ga wire was a little tight getting them in to the speaker jacks.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight-forward installation and set-up. Russound keeps it simple and sounds great in all my rooms

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Travelers Rest, SC on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I have connected three sets of speakers and can now direct our music to multiple places. I plan to add another set of speakers in the future to utilize the fourth channel.

Pros: Good price, performs as expected.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, CT on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to expand zone 2 on my receiver to four speakers instead of two. It worked perfectly, was easy to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Mark from PERU, IL on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very basic but solid. Stylish appearance with fantastic labels. Just what I needed! Perfect in my opinion for what it does...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Green Bay, WI on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hookup. Works perfectly. Looks nice.

Pros: Looks, small footprint

Cons: I have heavy gauge speaker wire, and it barely fits in to the connectors. Not a problem, just took a bit of work to get braided wires in without them fraying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Recommendation

Crutchfield customer from Vadnais Hts, MN on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to get this on the recommendation of a Crutchfield rep. It could not have been easier to hook up and does everything I was looking for.

Pros: Ease of setup and to operate.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Heath, TX on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from Polson, MT on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made, does the job. As mentioned in other reviews, #14 wire is a tight fit into the connectors, but with care it can be inserted cleanly. I'm switching only two pairs of speakers. With both in use the impedance is within my amplifier's tolerance, so I've not used the switch's impedance match/protection feature.

Pros: Small, solidly built, nice switch action

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for splitting stereo receiver speaker line into different home stereo speakers located in different parts of the house. Simple and effective.

Pros:

Cons: Nonek

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Couldn't be happier

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 5/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this to control two sets of speakers connected to my Sonos:Connect amp/receiver (is it still a receiver when it's pulling from a WiFi connection). It was incredibly easy to set up - disconnect all speakers from Sonos; connect to Russound; done. It took longer to read the instructions. The hardest part was pulling the "Living Room" and "Family Room" labels off the sheet (leaving dozens behind).

Pros: Trivially easy setup. No muss, no fuss.

Cons: None from my point of view. It handles 4 pairs of speakers, but I only have 2.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Brian from Glen Burnie, MD on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great item. Never knew it existed. Does exactly as it's supposed to.

Pros: Allows for use of multiple speakers. Adds to my HiFi experience.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solidly built, superior support

Peter from Windham, NH on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this 5 stars because this is a tremendous value for the money, and very easy to setup. I paired this with a new Marantz SR6012 receiver to power two pairs of speakers in the rooms adjacent to my living room. This unit allows me to control these with a simple push of a button, and I use the receiver remote to control the volume. I didn't think it was worth the extra $200 to upgrade to a model that includes volume control on speaker selector, but I can see that this would be useful. As with all Crutchfield purchases that I've made, the value of having on-demand technical support is immeasurable. I thought I understood the configuration between the receiver and the selector, but a quick call to support gave me exactly what I needed to know. You can't put a price on this.

Pros: Great price Small form factor Solid construction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Carol Stream, IL on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker switch works simply and provides very clear and accurate sound quality to our warehouse speakers. The delivery was prompt and arrived just in time for our Christmas Offering to keep our hundreds of volunteers entertained and motivated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Venice, FL on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great switched

Dan from Ltl Egg Hbr, NJ on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent units, a great way to play or shut down different rooms without walking through the house and turning down volume controls.

Pros: Easy to use and hook up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from New Milford, CT on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the money. Love being able to select any combination of 4 speakers. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SS-4.2 Russound

Dave from Richmond, VA on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did exactly as I needed. Crutchfield was very helpful.

Pros: All good!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Selector

Gerald from Traverse City, MI on 5/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Russound SS-4.2 speaker selector is a cost-effective and easy to install/use product. It worked correctly after installation and continues to work correctly.

Pros: Low price, Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Norristown, PA on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exciting flexibility!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Technician/customer service steered me right

Lee from Medina, OH on 4/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small - no signal fade to speakers turned off

Pros: Small no signal fade to speakers turned off

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works welll and saved me a lot of money

Mark from Beaver, PA on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this unit with my Sonos connect AMP to distribute music on 4 pairs of speakers. I have triied other similar units that did not provide the proper impedance to the Sonos AMP this unit works great and saved me from buying more connect amps. I only listen to music in one room at a time and I control the volume from my phone.

Pros: works well with the Sonos connect AMP

Cons: At full volume with all 4 locations on it will overdrive the Sonos unit but no problems with up to two locations at a time.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 11/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and works as expected. As always crutchfield customer service is beyond anything else in the world. Made my back yard shed system work just like I wanted it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from Keene, NH on 10/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All is well

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Delivers as-promised

Andy B. from Zionsville, IN on 6/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit arrived as scheduled and in good condition. The instructions were clear and complete, and I had it up and running within minutes. I have two sets of 8-ohm speakers running off of a 65-watt/channel amp, and I can run both sets at moderate volumes without the protection enabled without issues. This isn't recommended but if you enable the protection you get a bit less volume. The only negative I have is that the manufacturer claims that the speaker jacks can handle up to 12-gauge wire. I bought 12-ga. wire based on this, but it is very hard to get 12-ga. wire into the jacks without some of the strands peeling off. I would not recommend using 12-ga. with this even though they say it can handle it.

Pros: Easy to setup and use, clean looking, works as promised.

Cons: Can't effectively handle 12-gauge speaker wire despite manufacturer's claims.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker selector

Matanzas from Katonah , ny on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a niles unit because of upgrade of wire size. Buttons have a good feel. It's doing what I wanted .

Pros: Sturdy build

Cons: Speaker wire connection could be a little larger. Had to struggle to get 14 gauge wire fully in

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product!

Joe from Attleboro, MA on 5/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as advertised. I'm using it with my Sonos connect amp and two speakers in each the bathroom and gym room. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Pros: Buttons feel good and strong, Channel switching is smooth.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great way to spread sound

Wayne from Massachusetts on 12/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product was easy to use and easy to set up. The online information helped me to understand which switch I needed based on the speakers I'd purchased. I didn't want to spend a lot and have individual volume controls in each speaker location, so this switch was perfect for letting me have speakers in multiple rooms, but without having to worry about speaker conflicts.

Pros: Price, ease of use, simple set up

Cons: Doesn't allow volume control of each room separately, but I knew that upfront and was my decision based on price.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Created three zones

Southsound from Washington on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can select any/all the zones created. Works as advertised

Pros: Attractive, functional

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Aaron from St George, Utah on 10/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fit the multi zone needed in our house to power garage, patio, and bedroom speakers. Love the labels as it gives the unit a customizable professional look.

Pros: Professional looking, custom labels

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

AudioFreak from Ohio on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a simple clean looking device to push audio to my garage and patio from receiver located in living room. Found what I was looking for at Crutchfield along with details on switch operation and how it functions. It is easy to install and functions exactly like it should. It allows you to choose all four zones or allows you to single in on a specific area to push music to. The built in protection is a plus as well!!

Pros: Clean appearance, Easy to set up, Functions exactly as advertised, Price for it's purpose.

Cons: Russound push in terminals are close in tolerance in back. I used 14 Gauge wire in the push in terminals and it was tight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to setup

Wayne from Massachusetts on 5/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace a 10+year old RadioShack unit. Affordable. I have 4 rooms setup to run off the unit.

Pros: Intuitive to setup. Nice palette of labels to label each button. Instruction book diagrams easy to reference for installation options.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Crutchfield customer from New York on 1/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

it works

BJ from Saratoga Springs on 12/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fits my need perfectly. Connected speakers in four rooms to the unit and connected it to my receiver and now have sound in all rooms. I was worried I might have problem getting enough volume in all the speakers, but I could not tell the difference between connecting them directly and through the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2 Review

Anthony from Phoenix, AZ on 7/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I combined this with the Onkyo TX-NR727. Works as advertized!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RUSSOUND SS_4.2

TPC from New York, NY on 1/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a MUST HAVE for driving a combination of multiple sets of speakers (in this case, four sets, a total of eight speakers) with differing impedances. The unit is attractive, easy to set up and use.....the labels for each switch are a nice added bonus.

Pros: Easy set up.

Cons: No remote controller is available.......it would be a major plus.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

DonS from Boston, MA on 10/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works as advertised. Who could ask for more?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Russound SS-4.2

Godo1960 from Pittsburgh, PA on 7/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and worked well. I zoned my outdoor speakers. Worked just as advertised/

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does the job

Don K from Ohio on 6/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using the Russound SS-4.2 with a Russound X75 amp to push sound to 3 sets of speakers with excellent results. Set up is simple and straightforward.

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Product

Ed from MIami, FL on 2/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Works as advertised. Great looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP