Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Compact 4-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # PBR400X4D

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Compact 4-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # PBR400X4D

43 reviews
View this product

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Gurnee, IL on 5/29/2021

2019 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Special

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small size but packs a big punch! Perfect fit in '19 Road Glide fairing, mounts underneath the factory BOOM GTS radio. Instructions detail connections, switch settings and input level adjustments for 2 or 4 channels. NICELY MADE!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but impressive

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 5/17/2021

2005 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to give my speakers a little boost and this did the trick. I have a Jensen Media head unit and the amp was small enough to put behind it in the dash.

Pros: Nice power for it's size. Able to fit in a verity of locations. Able to adjust gains for front and rear separately.

Cons: Low hiss, but barely noticeable. I do have it connected to high level inputs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a temporary set up, very impressed with the upgrade of sound and enhancement in my '53 GMC. Thanks Crutchfield for the awesome products. Don W

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Indialantic, FL on 4/15/2021

2012 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great small amp ! Very clean sound to push a little more power. With the small package, it made installation a breeze

Pros: Small size easy tuning simple install/hookup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Fpo, AE on 4/12/2021

2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service, product is as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, OK on 4/11/2021

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact. Great sound.

Pros: Compact for easy mounting.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amp!

Sterling from Lavon, TX on 4/11/2021

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp has the power I needed, tunable, in a small size. Worked great to have tucked away, leaving the truck looking clean and simple.

Pros: Small size, easily tuned via app or cd and has great rms.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 4/6/2021

2019 Polaris Ranger XP1000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't get to install on the project I wanted , but was able to hook up to a different unit. Sounds great and small enough to put almost anywhere. I will be reinstalling on my Polaris as soon as my new head unit comes in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/6/2021

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact and easy to install with an impressive amount of power. Just what I needed to upgrade the sound in my double cab Tacoma without any cutting/modification. Fit right in the glove box no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Missing manual?

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, MA on 4/6/2021

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised no detailed instruction manual came with this amp. I was expecting something to help explain how to set the crossover, and what the different crossover settings meant, but I couldn't find anything in the packaging. I expected a bit more from a reputable brand like Rockford Fosgate. I was also surprised since this provided both high level ins and outs, they only provided one set of high-level connectors, and one set of low-level connectors. I was able to convert the RCA connectors to high level, but I had to cut the RCA ends from the leads which didn't feel too good at the time. It was an unexpected hiccup and when you have your car all ripped apart to do an install these little gotchas can cause a big headache. The power seems to be pretty good, I'm not pushing this amp too hard though so I can't really comment too much on that.

Pros: Very compact. Seems high quality.

Cons: Missing instruction manual. Should have provided additional connectors.

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2021
We're sorry you had issues with your installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great little amps

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 4/4/2021

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these little guys, pack a lot of punch and fit in tight spaces, I now have two this and a 300x1 and system sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Natrona Heights, PA on 2/14/2021

1970 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size, fast shipping!

Pros: Size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from La Vergne, TN on 1/18/2021

2010 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of punch in this small package. Fit perfect in my HD fairing. Easy install and worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RF PBR400X4D

Johnny Pen from Siler City, NC on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very small amp that produces lots of power!!! Works Great for Me!!! Crutchfield is always the BEST!!!

Pros: Small & Powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Underseat Amp for Mini!

Travis from Salem, OR on 1/5/2021

2015 MINI Countryman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Underseat amplifer installation in a 2015 Mini Countryman was a success! It fit perfectly in factory cutout underneath the seat. Just enough clearance all around with this little guy! Sounds fantastic compared to the dreadful factory installation. The amp wiring was a breeze once the manual was found online.

Pros: Compact 400 watt 4 channel Multiple input options

Cons: No included manual or quick start guide Must cut included connector to connect speaker level

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgrades

Crutchfield customer from Larned, KS on 1/3/2021

2015 Polaris Ranger XP900

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 5 year old PBR300x4 on my Polaris ranger definitely a great upgrade with new features and easy to set up for anyone who don't do audio for a living only thing I had trouble with was finding the setup tracks wish there was a link or disc included with the amp but other then that back to rocking out

Pros: Great upgrade easy to install

Cons: No link or disc included for the setup tones

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They lined up just right thinking about adding two more pair

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid amp for this size class

Jeffrey from FAIRBANKS, AK on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The size/power ratio is really good with this amp. It's not gonna blow the doors off a full-size truck, but you can put it anywhere. Its basically one noticeable step up from head unit power. Installation and setup is really easy (if you have a CD player. Not sure about the setup if you don't). The first one of these I received had a bad channel. Tech support worked with me to diagnose it and replaced it really fast.

Pros: Size, seems solidly built, ease of set-up

Cons: None, unless you want more power.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Motorcycle Fairing

Crutchfield customer from Waupun, WI on 10/26/2020

2008 Hyundai Azera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a powerful amp in a small package. I was able to easily mount this in my motorcycle fairing. It drives two 6.5" speakers and two 3.5" speakers. Setup was easy. I have no engine whine or issues. Multiple crossover settings. No need for anything else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 Tacoma Double Cab

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 7/27/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier produces incredible sound to the front RF 6x9s and rear RF 6.5! I have two issues that are most likely more related to the install process than the amp itself. I cut the factory speaker harness to connect wires Head unit to Amp: I Connected positive and negative speaker cables to four Moborest RCA screw terminals. I then connected these male RCAs to a female-female RCA adapter to connect the RCA lines to the amp Amp to Speakers: Butt connectors from AMP harness to 20' "CarWires SW900-0 18-Aqg 9-Conductor OWM car speaker wire". Speaker cable to head unit speaker harness. 1) I had tapped into the grey ignition wire from the factory harness to connect the blue remote amp wire. This connection caused the vehicle to not be able to get out of accessory mode when the engine turned off. I read on Tacoma World that one user found that the amp was back powering the ignition wire causing everything to stay on, but fixed it by wiring the blue wire to the cigarette outlet. I attempted this fix, but it did not work. After testing a series of accessory wires, I tapped into the front speaker positive wire and everything worked shut down as normal. I mounted the amp under the driver seat and connected the ground to the metal "hump" near the seat adjustment lever. 2) There is a slight hissing noise when there is no music coming from the head unit. It's not noticeable when music is playing, but I can hear it when the truck powers on

Pros: Small unit is easily stored underseat Strong sound when paired with RF component speakers

Cons: Requires RCA from stock head unit Possible issue with backpowering ignition wire resulting in vehicle staying in accessory mode after engine turns off

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

best amp

Crutchfield customer from Belton, TX on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product great sound with a ton of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best for its price and compact size

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 7/9/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing amp! Bought one then went on on buying 2 more! Can't go wrong with the power and frame size of the amp

Pros: No flaws

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Power Small Package

Crutchfield customer from Rosharon, TX on 6/17/2020

2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier in a small package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 6/15/2020

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp. Good pwr for an amp this small. I have concerns about the plastic connectors. I believe they will get hot and melt leaving the amp useless.

Pros: Good pwr Small case

Cons: Plastic connectors Crossover has switches only no variable controls

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, NY on 6/2/2020

2019 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp choice

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power for a little amp

Pros: Nice size, easy install, great power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Madera, CA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Runs great with my speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Griffin, GA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. Fit perfectly under my drivers seat and provides plenty of performance for a small package!

Pros: Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Crescent City, CA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful little amp Fast shipping as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I am very glad that I chose this amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Visalia, CA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first quality sound system that I have had in a car. Adding the Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D 4-channel amplifier was definity the right choice,

Pros: Easy installation, I was able to install it neatly behinf the headset in the dash.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it with in a few short days ,and its everything they said it was,,thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it

BRANDON from WILLOUGHBY, OH on 3/14/2020

2010 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Size and tuning ability make this a no brainer to run your speakers. Have this paired to some RF 6x8 that I purchased the car with and made a night and day difference.

Pros: Compact size, Easy clip tuning

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

more than enough power to push the polk speakers I bought for my Spyder. I am very happy with the sound

Pros: all good

Cons: all good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great size and easy to hide and install

Pros: Size Ease of install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Clark, NJ on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performance in a small platform! Great value too.

Pros: Multiple mounting options due to size. Excellent performance. Easy to set up!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

High Quality Tile Head Unit Ride

Jerry from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect amp for the thump i wanted on my drives to and from. With the size of this beast being more than convenient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Amp

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, NC on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp! Pushing all 4 of my 6 1/2 infinity kappas on my 2012 Ultra Classic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect for compact installs

Bobby from New Orleans, LA on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact amp. I have it buried behind my headunit in my Kia Soul. I have a set of components in the front and a 3 way in the rear doors and they sound amazing. Perfect pairing for Rockford Fosgate punch door speakers. The "clean" setup let's you set the gains then forget about it. I added a powered sub to complete my system and I'm parking lot pimping.

Pros: Small. Large amounts of power.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Mark from Scottsburg, IN on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a full size pickup with a standard cab so I didn't need a mega size amp. This compact amp packs a punch in a small package. I'm very happy with the performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

matthew from Schertz, TX on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this P400 running my 3 way Fosgate door speakers. It handles itself very nicely for such a small package. It's small enough to bury under my head unit, making installation a breeze. Great purchase, I've never had any issues with RF products in the last 25 years or so. Highly recommend!

Pros: Size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Selma, TX on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Radio now sounds awesome. Also love that Crutchfield told me everything I would need to get the job done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Fort Sill, OK on 3/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and compact, but strong for its size. Really woke up the Rockford P1 6.5 components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Punch PBR400X4D

Crutchfield customer from Montville, NJ on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a compact amp. Easy install for the Jeep. Fit right under the steering column behind the knee panel. Easy connections with good documentation. Just perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

TOP