Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
104 066 842 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
104 066 842 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Punch Series powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # PS-8

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Punch Series powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # PS-8

90 reviews
View this product

Little amp that could

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 7/2/2020

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is just what I was looking for. I wanted something to improve my bass while compact enough to fit under back seat in a crew cab. Amazed of the punch you get from this little guy. I would say its meant for inside a cab not sure you would get same result if installed in a truck. 5 stars!

Pros: Compact Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 6/26/2020

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sub is perfect for small space under seat of my Jeep Wrangler. not huge base but I wasn't looking for that, the box fills the space perfectly with sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love

Crutchfield customer from Hunker, PA on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good base for such a small subwoofer love it

Pros: Good bass easy to install small compact

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 6/15/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for my Wrangler! Powerful sub with a great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

nice

Crutchfield customer from Williamsport, PA on 5/28/2020

2013 Cadillac Escalade EXT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, AR on 5/19/2020

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Conneaut, OH on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2011 chevy traverse, and even with the large area it still added a nice low end that can be heard and felt through the whole vehicle. I am definitely impressed with this sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Secret System!

Matt from Mount Holly, NJ on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound way bigger than they are! I'm sure if you try you could blow them out, but I'm not trying to set off car alarms. I have one each underneath the front seats of a 2012 (they fit perfectly). I have them split off a single mono preamp output that just wasn't cutting it. I never tried the high level input option, instead I added a Rockford Fosgate line driver to the mix. I'm not about to win any spl competitions, but considering they have literally zero impact on my interior space they are amazing. No customization required, no space lost, and sounds better than almost any factory sub! You really can't lose with this.

Pros: Gets pretty loud when used as a pair. Versatile installation options with both factory and aftermarket systems. Integrated amplifier simplifies the whole process from purchase to install. Easy to hide in almost any vehicle interior, especially under front seats.

Cons: At only 150w RMS they aren't going to shake your pants off. Also, they aren't free.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent performance in a small package

Mark from SAN LEANDRO, CA on 4/25/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub was the perfect solution for my truck. As others have said it fills in the low end and adds a bit of boom. No one's going to hear you coming from down the block, but it sounds amazing inside the truck. I am genuinely impressed with the performance of this small unit.

Pros: Compact, solid construction, fits underneath the seat, easy wiring, power and sound are clean, perfect for filling in the low end to compliment door speakers or a factory stereo.

Cons: A bit pricey, but then again you do get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 4/23/2020

2019 Nissan Titan XD

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow great sound.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Carterville, IL on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, just what I was looking for my truck. Fits nice between the bucket seats.

Pros: Exact fit between seats. Fosgate reputation for great car audio products

Cons: Can't find any Cons on this product

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Byron from Whitesburg, KY on 11/9/2019

2006 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received this and installed it in my 2006 Ford Explorer. Spoke with the customer service tech before ordering the sub and told him what I was looking for I and he assured me this would do the job. Although, he was great to work with, this sub is terrible. I do not suggest buying it. It's sounds awful! I'll be calling Crutchfield first thing Monday morning to see my options of return the item and going a different route for the low end. Literally the factory door speakers have my bass and sound better than this sub.

Pros: Small size that fits under your seat.

Cons: To many to list.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Euriel from Orlando, Florida on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid amp that gives me enough bass to kick it when I want but round out the sound in my truck. Fits under the rear seat just fine in my F150

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Carbondale, IL on 9/11/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits under the seat of my 2013 Jeep JK Unlimited. Added the boost I wanted. Sound quality in my vehicle has improved. I didn't want to mount it to the floor of my Jeep, so I used a Kensington cable lock through the screw holes and wrapped the cable around the seat leg.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa ok on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fosgate doesn't disappoint. I bought this speaker/amp to round out my wife's car stereo system. Perfect addition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Fontana, WI on 7/28/2019

2018 Nissan Rogue Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is exactly what I expected it to be based on my research and reviews. Installation was easy. The hardest part was finding the correct wires in the factory harness to splice into. I mounted amp under the driver seat of a 2018 Nissan Rogue Sport. Filled in bass nicely and thumps when you want it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Open box defective unit?

Crutchfield customer from Wexford, PA on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the Rockford Fosgate Punch PS-8 in a convertible Nissan 370Z behind the driver seat. The sound of powered subwoofer is okay but not enough "punch". I owned a 350Z with a factory installed Bose subwoofer behind the driver that could be felt the seat. The Crutchfield technician was very helpful with installation questions I had. I have tried different 12V sources, but the PS-8 drains the battery in a few days. It appears the Auto Turn-On switch,which has three options, does not work as intended to power down the unit when not in use. Also do not notice much difference when adjusting the Cross Over Frequency or the Punch EQ pots. I have reached out to Rockford Fosgate for technical support, but they do not answer their 1-800 number or respond to questions submitted on their web page. After all the effort it took to install the unit, I am reluctant to return and install another unit, so I installed a manual switch to turn the PS-8 on and off. I purchased an open box special. Hope that Crutchfield did not re-sell a unit that was returned as defective.

Pros: Decent sound

Cons: Switches do not seem to work as intended No technical support from Rockford Fosgate

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, TN on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I needed. Easy install and use. Happy with the experience with Crutchfield and with my product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Yukon, OK on 5/12/2019

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, compact, discreet and powerful

Pros: Great sound for the size and price

Cons: Power cable could be about 12"-18" longer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

AndyM from San Jose, CA on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I drive a topless Jeep Wrangler and this thing pumps out enough belly shaking bass that I feel every beat while doing 80 on the freeway. Its size fits perfectly under the driver's seat. I could not ask for a better sub at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/14/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this for my son's car and selected it for the all-in-one features and the Rockford Fosgate brand. A buddy and I installed this unit in 45 minutes start to finish and it was very easy. As soon as my son started the car and turned up the first song, the look on his face was worth everything! Great product, easy to install and incredible sound.

Pros: Easy to install, all-in-one, price, shipping speed, and so on...

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Medway, MA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried two competitor models and would highly recommend the PS-8. The sound quality, volume and level of control is fantastic. I have it installed under the drivers seat of my Tundra crew max and it more than fills the cab when turned up about a 3rd. That said, this is my second unit. I had one for about 3 years and it stopped working. I tried a couple different models to see if I wanted something different this time around and after a couple attempts I bought the PS-8 with the square trade warranty and couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Abbeville, GA on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

thought it'd produce more thump.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome little sub

Crutchfield customer from Gilbertsville, PA on 3/6/2019

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome little sub! Added this to our Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. With an upgraded head unit and speakers this sub adds the missing low frequencies the normal Jeep speakers can't obtain! Mounted this to our back gate so it's firing forward! Instal was easy! Would recommend!

Pros: Small and doesn't take up a lot of space

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Silverado

Crutchfield customer from Queensbury, NY on 3/5/2019

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass is perfect for a 41 yr old kid that will get a migraine from a 10 or 12. It fills the truck nicely. it really rounded out my system. I installed a kenwood deck, Rockford fosgate 6 3/4 and some kickers i put in awhile ago. I would have went 5 stars but im still learning a little about how it starts up. i used the remote wire from the deck as a signal to turn it on but i feel like it takes up to 2-3 minutes once in awhile. I checked the voltage and it does see 11v on the remote wire when the deck turns on. I mounted it half on the hump in the middle of the truck and used a 2x4 to level it. Id recommend screwing or bolting it to the floor. Sounds better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

John from Bixby, OK on 2/28/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product if installed and adjusted properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Glendive, MT on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Solid Purchase

Enrrique from Windsor, CO on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid amp that gives me enough bass to kick it when I want but round out the sound in my truck. Fits under the rear seat just fine.

Pros:

Cons: Not going to win any competitions with this

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Kelly from Wailuku, HI on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one great speaker! Made my system go from dull to WOW! Just what was missing to make your system thump! No regrets! Should have got this a long time ago! This is one thing you will not regret!!!

Pros: Best addition to any system! Especially if you have a stock system!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Sherman, TX on 1/9/2019

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price and very easy to install

Pros: Sounds great good lows

Cons: Ground wire is a little short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Kahului, HI on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little sub. Enough for what I need. Didn't take up a lot of space and shipment was fast.

Pros: Compact, sounds great, and easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Eric from El Cajon, CA on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub just the right amount of low to round out the system which was missing.

Pros: Compact but enough for Tacoma extra cab,lost no interior space.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Estero, FL on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Excellent base quality for an 8" sub. Would purchase again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Best sounding powered sub-woofer

Dennis W from Bucyrus, OH on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this on the advice of the online Crutchfield tech guy. After 2 trials of another brand of subwoofer, he told me about this one. He always liked Rockford products and he said I would not be disappointed. I love the hit on the bass that I get from this sub. The rear window of my 2016 Ford F150 shakes everytime this sub booms!! I have to adjust the remote bass control down on dance music, hip-hop and newer disco. I am 61 years old and I love the sound from this subwoofer. The bass is just amazing and I am glad I listened to the tech guy at Crutchfield!!

Pros: Slick package and heavy made. All connections at one end. Adds bass to factory unit where it was lacking poorly.

Cons: Not One!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Kulpmont, PA on 8/12/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome bass when space is limited!

Pros: Compact

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Product. Three points of advice.

Paul from Manteca, CA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have three points of advice regarding this product. NUMBER ONE - No need for this product if you are taking the kids all over town in your "Mom Van" Stick with you stock factory stereo. NUMBER TWO - If you like straight on, butt kicking, 3 chords, balls to the wall rock and roll, punk rock, power pop, modern day country music that really kicks, even things like hard core southern gospel power harmony, this sub will give you what you are looking for. Good thump without disturbing other drivers while at a stop light. Warning. Do not expect this sub to boom because it won't. NUMBER THREE - If you are a bass head forget it. Not for you. No further explanation needed.

Pros: See Point Number Two

Cons: See Point Number Three

Crutchfield response on

17 of 21 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Carlos from Fontana, CA on 6/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always Rockford Foagate delivers high quality sound and bass ... this diamond in a compact unit is exactly what my 2010 Nissan Frontier needed.. I'm old school and I have always relied on Rockford fosgate great quality sound at a fair price... highly recommend it..

Pros: Compact,high end quality sound and bass.

Cons: Wish there was a 10 or 12 inch in this compact sub amp unit..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome product!

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 4/30/2018

1999 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub sounds awesome! I want another one for my other vehicle now!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Steve from Wilmington, DE on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in my 2005 GMC Sierra 2500hd which doesn't have many options for sub and amp combos for the space in the truck. So I was skeptical of a sub this size an so compact actually putting out good hard hitting bass... boy was I surprised!! This little sucker kicks!! Don't get me wrong it won't rattle your mirrors off but it does rattle them when turned up. I have the factory Bose speakers and this is the perfect compliment to the system. Can crank it up and everything's nice clean and clear and sounds perfect just casually listening.

Pros: Size, sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 2/4/2018

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my truck. Not to much and definitely not to little.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Icing on the cake

Dave from Tucson, AZ on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Aftermarket (Kenwood) Head unit. Aftermarket door speakers (Rockford Fosgate). Was lacking a mid range sound. The Punch ?? by RF was just what the system needed. Extremely happy with the performance

Pros: Great sound, easy install

Cons: If I had to be queep, Still too large to fit under/behind seat on 2006 Tundra

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Solid Unit

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit, easy to install, sound is clean. It doesn't hit hard, it won't win any competitions, but it will fill your car with low frequency sound.

Pros: Good sound, easy to install

Cons: Won't pound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from 95682 on 8/2/2017

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound for such a compact box. I'm very pleased with the performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Angel from Newark, NJ on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound looks good fast shipping. Keep up the good work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Jace from South Dakota on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the size, the output of this sub is impressive! Fit right under the passenger seat of my Tacoma. Would recommend for sure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Terminations

Jon from Oak Harbor, WA on 3/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a nice little sub . I bought two. Please check the factory terminations! They have got to be the worst I've ever seen from a supposedly quality company. These terms: will Come right off with no effort . Oh, this includes the fuse holder terms. Hate to see what it looks like inside. But it does make a very small cab pickup thump a bit with two of them. Good space saving design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Anthony from Ny,ny on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had 2 12 inch sub Wolfers with 2500 W in my trunk now I have more space great bass a nice sound with the sub woofer and I'm happy plus I have my truck back. Happy

Pros: Doesn't shake the windows and a rearview mirror as much

Cons: Doesn't shake the windows and a rearview mirror as much ! Lol

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Good little sub

Art from Hackensack, NJ on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sub for what i need, got more from what i expected.hide it on top of my spare tire. Its perfect for my needs

Pros: Small and produce good bass.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good starter bass

Crutchfield customer from Grapevine, TX on 1/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was installed in an F150 where the optional bass unit would have gone, under the rear seat, extended cab. Hookup was very simple only option that may confuse folks is how to trigger the bass to power on but reading up will help. Originally didn't need to really secure the unit but later put two screws through the sheet metal on floor to hold it down solid. Just securing it solid turned it into a very good bass engine for what it is. Definiteley could feel the bass throughout cab and seats now. Tweak settings a lot my son likes his bass blurry while I like it sharp so tweaking will help a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, WV on 1/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It really surprised me how good the speaker sounds good base easy to hook up would definitely buy again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

It has

Guest from Auckland, NZ on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sub has "BASE" I have this installed in my VF Holden Ute, and it is Awesome, Paid $499 NZ Dollars. Note the only issue I have it is to loud for a 2 seater ute but my teenage son loves it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth Meeting, PA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound. I was pleasantly surprised of its base and clarity. Easy to hook up. Fit behind the seat of my 2016 f350 crew cab

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best upgrade

Jaymie from Bronx, NY on 9/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best upgrade I've done to my car. I didn't want to change my head unit or fill my cargo area with speakers, so this was the best alternative. If you know how to use a multi-meter &/or read a wiring diagram, then this is an easy install. Took me an hour & a half to install & that wired remote is a great addition. Great sound. Hidden under the drivers seat, you never know it's there until you crank up the bass. I'm already thinking aboit buying another one for the passenger seat.

Pros: Does not affect cargo space, compact to be hidden in a quarter panel or under a seat. Easy install if you understand auto electronics.

Cons: Great power for the size, but more power would increase the size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Sub

Nick from MO on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was worried that I might have paid a bit much for this sub, bit, after the install, I was surprised....., in a good way! I couldn't believe that much crisp, clear sounding bass could come out of an 8" sub.... Well worth the money spent....

Pros: Clear punch sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Fosgate

DeathStar from Ames, IS on 9/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have always used Rockford products in the past and I was surprised by how well this product performs considering its size

Pros: Great quality and sound production

Cons: Could have a longer supplied ground wire

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Small Box, Great Sound

Gonzo from Avon, CO on 9/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love loud music, this Box, was fit under the back seat of My Ram 2500 2014 without any problem, if I by myself I crank it loud, with the control for the Sub i can go up or down on Power, and sounds pretty sick, Is the same Brand what I have on my Nissan Frontier Pro 4x from Factory Rockford Fosgate, I loved!!

Pros: Plenty sound for my Truck

Cons: It was install on a shoppe, If I turned off, the stereo, the sub still on, and is loud noise, so I have to turned off the Sub woofer with the remote control, Other on that, works perfect so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Product

John E from Freeport, ME on 8/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After researching several powered subwoofers I settled on this one. The reviews were helpful and accurate. The installation was straightforward and the sub is surprisingly powerful especially for its size. I am completely happy with the product and very pleased with the support I received from Crutchfield. I would recommend this sub for anyone wanting to improve the low end on their system without spending tons of money. I think this sounds as good if not better than the factory option.

Pros: easy installation, compact size, surprisingly powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

aaron from Augusta, GA on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit in my Harley saddle bag! More bass that the SO..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for small car

Jeremie from Denver Colorado on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect amount of bass to supplement the existing Rockford fosgate system in my wife's Nissan Juke , I'm impressed. With very this speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just the right amount of bass

Karl from Dundas, MN on 7/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amplified sub to round out the bass to my factory stereo upgrades. I was a little skeptical that this little sub could provide the bass that i was looking for but man was I wrong. This amp won't give you bog booming bass but if you have a factory stereo with a lack of low end bass this sub is the one for you.

Pros: Small flat easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Paul from Akron, OH on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy to set up, sounds good. Nice to have a little more "boomp" with the music. Tight fit under passenger seat though, and bass seems off a bit when music is from radio. CD playback is fine.

Pros: Easy set up, good sound

Cons: Tight fit under seat, sticks out of front a bit. Thump is a bit off when using radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

A musical, compact, reliable sub

Rick from Rising Sun, MD on 6/16/2016

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this RF sub after my 3rd Infinity Basslink crapped out and I was forced to spend more money. This was money well spent. Although this sub isn't as loud as the Basslink, it fills in the bottom end in my Prius very nicely, and actually does pack a very respectable punch given its small size (8" driver and low profile). As others have said, if you are interested in impressing people in other cars, this is not the sub for you. But if care about quality and musicality, then I suggest you give this one a try. (You might check the RF website to see if they sell a larger Punch sub as well.) I think the additional cost over the Basslink is reflected in the sound and build quality, although I've only had it for ~ 2 months.

Pros: Sound quality, construction, small form factor

Cons: None that I know of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but can bring it.

Buck from Dahlonega Ga. on 6/9/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For only 8" and compact it sure does deliver the bass. I have an Ext. cab Silverado, if this was in a smaller vehicle it would sure enough hit.

Pros: Entire enclosure made of metal. Compact and excellent if you're just wanting to make music sound better by adding bass.

Cons: Virtually no installation instructions other than mounting powered sub.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly as described

Michael from Groton, CT on 6/8/2016

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife has a Traverse without the BOSE system and I found it lacking the bass I wanted. I replaced the head unit with a pioneer navigation unit, and RF speakers all the way around. Still missing the bottom end I wanted. Added the PS-8 to round out the system and was not disappointed. In fact it now has better bass response than my friends wife's Traverse with the BOSE system. I can think of no higher praise than eclipsing a $1900.00 factory option with components totaling less than half that. Definitely won't be heard coming down the street like my mustang, but for a family vehicle just missing the low notes this thing is awesome. Very happy...

Pros: Size, ease of installation, sound quality.

Cons: Thought this would be a half day project in the garage away from the kids, done in two hours.... Oh well, I guess it depends on what you call a con.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big bass for a small sub

Bryan S from Greenville, SC on 5/31/2016

2009 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounted under the passenger seat this little sub surprisedan me. It has great sound but does distort a little at high volume. But I don't listen to my radio at that volume just wanted to see what it would do. Good bass and hits the lows perfectly. I am very impressed with the quality of this sub. Especially for the price.

Pros: Small size and good sound!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Ned from Waikoloa,HI on 5/27/2016

2015 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was worried at first. But as soon as got it professionally installed, no more worries. Sounds great! Better then I hoped....great for the price.....I might get another one.

Pros: Small, fits under driver seat. Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 5/19/2016

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker comes with everything needed to get it up and running. Get for tight spaces

Pros: Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW

Jim from Cedar Springs, MI on 5/2/2016

2007 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am still amazed how awesome this Sub is. BIG sound from a small box. The added sub dial is a great feature. This was the missing link to my sound system.

Pros: Amazing sound. Compact.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Little Addition

Rick from Mt. Sidney, VA on 4/14/2016

2008 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great addition to my trucks sound. I didn't have a lot of dollars to put into getting an addition for more sound. With this all in one package I was able to achieve a pretty awesome sound! Just goes to show bigger is not always better. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Fairly easy to install. Take your time, patience will help more than anything. Adjustments on the unit are simple to do and I really like the "punch" control! Will fit just about anywhere in the vehicle.

Cons: They did not supply end to attach cable to the battery. You will need to get one for that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little sub

Jrthompson from Houston,TX on 4/6/2016

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little powered sub for someone looking to balance out the factory system. I have had Rockford products back since the first punch sub was made. They make a solid product. This is ideally for a small cabin then my supercrew f150 bit it sounds decent. I did make some mounts and I have it firing down under the rear seat. It completly changed the quality of bass it produced. The audio pickup function didn't work but the dc did for the remote. Overall I am pleased for the $209 spent on a open box model. I wish I had a 10" but it won't fit how I need it to. I plan on buying another one of these for my new wrangler also. It's solid built and hopefully lives up to the lasting quality of my past RF products.

Pros: Compact, solid built, comes with amp kit, decent sound

Cons: Distorts a little easy, it's a shallow tiny sub what do you expect though.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

JLM from Summerville, SC on 4/4/2016

2010 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2010 F150 S CREW. Kenwood DDX492 head unit with Polk DXi571 in all four doors. The install was pretty straight forward. This unit puts out plenty of clean bass once you get it dialed in. I used a piece of studded carpet runner trimmed to fit attached with Velcro to keep it from moving around on the floor instead of screwing into truck floor..

Pros: Easy installation. Very good adjustments for personal preferences.

Cons: Connections for power, ground and remote sense are small. You will need a tiny flathead screwdriver to make these connections.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

VERY Impressed!

Ryan from Durham, NC on 3/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this sub installed in my '13 RAV4 (factory head unit) the other day. I've come from a past of mostly having 2 10s or 2 12s from upgraded head units, so I wasn't expecting a whole lot, just looking for something to help fill in the lows my door speakers were missing. But, once they pulled it up and I sat in it, I was like DUDE WTF! And it was a GOOD WTF! I couldn't believe how much bass this sub produces! I'm sure having an open interior instead of putting it in a trunk plays into it, but still, WHOA! It took a little bit of tweaking to get it where I wanted, but that was easy to do thanks to the remote bass level control that comes with it (mounted under the steering column). I'm not sure what other settings they set on the actual amp after installing it, but I've got the remote level about halfway up. Louder led to distortion, but it's current level allows for nice and tight bass, even with the boominess. I've tested it with both hard rock and metal (quick hits from bass drum sound and feel great) as well as rap and techno, and I wouldn't want anything more than this in my current vehicle. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Pros: Feels very well built. Doesn't take up much space. Sounds AMAZING, with no qualifiers. Bonus points for my installers who used velcro instead of screws for mounting (allows for easy removal if I need to use my entire cargo space)! Remote bass control is great too.

Cons: My original goal for mounting was under the rear seat, where my amp for my door speakers was mounted, but the sub was too high for that, and it was too wide to be mounted under the passenger seat without sticking out some, but that may only have been due to having vents under the seat.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8 self powered subwoofer

Michael from slidell, LA on 3/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product that perectly fit under the seat of my 1985 Chevrolet C10 pickup. It came with all the wiring needed to wire it up right into my factory fuse box. Sounds great, nice tight bass that reaches the lows very well, much better than the installed 6x9s could ever produce. The 150 amp built in amp provides good power. HIghly recommended for tighter spaces.

Pros: Great sound, easy installation. Comes with the wiring needed to get it connected.

Cons: I couldn't get the auto-power sensing features to work to turn on the subwoofer. Luckily my aftermarket deck had a connection for a remote antenna that powered it up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect replacement for the Bose OE subwoofer in our Nissan Armada.

Francis from NYC on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised and was impressed with overall finish of the PS-8. Install wasn't too difficult; just had to place a couple shims to elevate the PS-8 under the driver's seat so it wouldn't block the HVAC lower duct for the 2nd row passengers. The PS-8 also comes with a wiring kit so that was a nice plus. The remote bass control is also great since adjustments are needed when switching and listening from different sources (aux, radio).

Pros: Great price. Sturdy construction. More than enough bass for a daily driver and huge improvement over the OE Bose subwoofer.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice compact sub

Randy from Hilo, HI on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this powered sub is what you can expect from a compact unit that can fit under a seat. If your sound system doesn't have a low end, this will fill it in nicely. If you listen to songs with heavy bass or you really want to feel the bass hit, this sub isn't for you. I don't think there is any better powered sub out there that can fit under your seat.

Pros: Comes with wiring kit, just need to buy rca cables if you have an aftermarket headunit Takes up very little space

Cons: Power cable that came with the sub was a little short since my battery is on the opposite side from my firewall hole

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

like the product just enough bass for the 4 door truck that it is in

larry22 from farmersville, TX on 2/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great easy hook up just enough bass for my 3 door pickup

Pros: easy to find minumium space reguired easy to hook up

Cons: wish it had a little more bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS-8

Bruce from orange, CA on 2/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with sound , It doesn't thump you out of truck but it does add that missing low freq sound

Pros: Sounds great, easy setup

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS8

Kevin from tulsa, OK on 1/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had it hooked up by Car Toys in Tulsa. They did an excellent job and the sub sounds great. So much extra bass out of such a small enclosure. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Pros: Small and out of the way. Great bass sound with lots of punch!

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great for the size

joseph from humble, TX on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I drive a tacoma access cab and needed something I could install and not be in the way and the ps-8 did the job. I stowed it under the passenger seat and it gives the system that extra bump so you can feel the music. works great if you are limited in space.

Pros: space saving

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy

Tom from wallkill, NY on 1/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this Sub in my 01 Silverado ext cab with Pioneer head unit and Rockford speakers in all the doors (factory sizes) I listen to all types of music and this thing makes the whole system sound fantastic. **it is not for you if you want to impress/annoy the neighbors** In side the truck it seems like it is blasting the whole block but its not. Also...you have to spend some time tuning everything (as usual)

Pros: Sounds great...decent price...fits under a seat

Cons: It's not 2 12" woofers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate ps-8 Awesome subwoofer

GaryA from Florida on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer sounds awesome Crutchfield is awesome I bought an install card they did great

Pros: Awesome subwoofer great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RockFord

John G from Nebraska on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good powered sub.

Pros: Sound, ease of setup

Cons: Doesn't fit under front seat in some cars

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PS-8, powered 8" subwoofer

Woody from Maryland on 12/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Box had missing items , could not install PS-8 powered sub-woofer.

Pros: Unknown

Cons: Awaiting missing parts for install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 17 found this helpful

The PS-8 is incredible

JB from Oregon on 12/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't typically write reviews, but this thing is pretty incredible. I was torn between this and the comparable kicker model. The kicker had more reviews and was $50 more, so I rolled the dice and I'm glad I did. This thing is built like a tank (all metal), small, fits easily under the seat ('05 Saab 9-2x) and sounds great. I listen mostly to rock and indie music and it rounds out the sound nicely. I've tried it with more bass heavy music and it does well with that as well. Pretty impressive output from something so small. I highly recommend it if you're looking for something to round out the low end of your sound, but don't want to spend a ton of money or take up a lot of space.

Pros: Easy installation, well built, great sound quality

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate PS8

DD3 from Kentucky on 12/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp. I needed something in my 2015 Lincoln MKC because factory stereo was lacking. The powered sub sounds good for an 8" low profile unit. I did not attempt this install myself and glad I didn't! I took it to a place in Clarksville, TN. these people know what they are doing. My vehicle has "active noise canceling" and other systems that proved to be a challenge that I would never would have been able to overcome.

Pros: Resanonable cost, size, good sound. Crutchfield was helpful but did not have info on my year vehicle. More of a reason to take it to a pro.

Cons: None on this unit but beware of install issues on new vehicles and push button start systems. You just can't "hook it up" like we used to do in years past.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Ryan

Ryan F. from Mississippi on 9/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2013 F150 xlt super crew . I already upgraded the door speakers and was looking for something to add some bass to my system. I was not looking for earth shaking, so I ordered this sub unit. The sub came quickly. The guys at Cruchfield assured me all I would need to install it would come in the kit. It took me longer to decide where exactly where I wanted to install it than it did to install it. This thing rocks! Sounds great and adds just enough bass to make the system sound like a premium unit. I am more than pleased!

Pros: Small, easy to install and has multiple adjustments to tune it to your liking.

Cons: None, so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

great compact sub

adrian from sydney on 8/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding sub. Installed in boot of hatchback Peugeot 208.

Pros: Great sound, small form factor.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great compact sub

J.T. from West Virginia on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the PS-8 under the driver's seat in my 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited to fill in the bottom end of the sound which was missing when using only the main speakers. Keeps it out of sight and does not take any cargo space away vs. a sub box in the rear cargo area. I am quite impressed with the PS-8. No, it doesn't "hit" like a 10" or 12" sub in the right enclosure with a good amp behind it, but once you get the PS-8 tuned & dialed in the way you want it, it does a surprisingly good job for a small amplified sub enclosure. The included remote level control is handy when you want/need to adjust the bass level. The PS-8 definitely adds the lower two octaves that were, for the most part, missing when only running the main speakers. If you're looking for a compact powered sub that will compliment the bottom end of your system, and do so without drawing much attention to your vehicle from the outside while you enjoy the sounds inside your car, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better, small, "all in one" package. It doesn't "thump" like larger subs, but if you want to fill in the lower frequencies very nicely, definitely take a look at the PS-8.

Pros: Relatively small. Good low frequency response for a 8" sub ("rated" down to 25 Hz, and it honestly does reproduce the lower frequencies very well). Easy installation. The hardest part is planning how you want to mount it, especially if you're doing something like mounting it under a seat, etc.. Great overall product.

Cons: None that I've encountered.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Rockford powered sub

Dnodoz from Texas on 6/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a little bass without giving up my hatchback Cato space. Had Car Toys mount it under the passenger seat. The guys at the shop were amazed. They hadn't seen this one before. Fantastic sound! I have to turn it down when I have a passenger in the seat. Only negative is it didn't come with a remote volume switch. I had to buy that from the installer. Crutch field service was stellar as usual.

Pros: Sound Size

Cons: No remote volume switch

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Big "punch" in a small package

Bill A from ATX on 6/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly impressed with the build and sound quality out of this single 8" enclosure. Housed in a sturdy metal enclosure that has some weight to it. The height of just over 3" is perfect for fitting under the driver seat of my 2006 tundra. The bass control knob that's included is great to dial in just the right amount of bass whether it's rap or metal that I'm banging. You can't go wrong with this one, I'm glad I waited for it to release.

Pros: Excellent Sound quality from an 8" Build quality of enclosure Compact size to accommodate my installation

Cons: Audio sense didn't seem to work, amp stayed on all the time, OK though, just ran remote turn on wire, now all is good.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP