Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Prime Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # R165-S

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Prime Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # R165-S

502 reviews
View this product

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Troy from Kettering, OH on 1/17/2022

2013 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great, wish tweeter was a little bit bigger to match factory but otherwise sounds amazing. Going to do the back speakers Rockford as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Chris from Portsmouth, RI on 1/14/2022

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers were as advertised nice fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Ronald from Spanish Fork, UT on 1/13/2022

2005 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a good replacement for the stock speaker's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flawless

Jason from Vienna, VA on 1/13/2022

2017 Honda Civic EX-T

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flawless! I love them! Setup: Dual 10 inch sealed box, Punch 500W Amp (1 ohm), punch knob, and Kicker 47KEYLOC hi-lo adapter!! I'm in LOVE!!!!!!!

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Robert from Windsor Mill, MD on 1/12/2022

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not impressed at all with these speakers. They are probably fine if you listen to music with the volume all the way down. If you turn them up at all the sound quality goes away and the distortion kicks in. I was expecting much better based off of the reviews. I guess they are "cheap" for a reason. I am returning them for a nicer set. The good thing was Crutchfield made returning these for another pair incredibly easy and painless. The customer service was amazing. I'm truly impressed and will not hesitate to buy anything from them.

Pros: easy return process

Cons: sound quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Paul from Grand Rapids, MI on 1/10/2022

2008 Saturn Astra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Little rattling overall good product

Pros: Bass, loud,

Cons: Rattling a little

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

08 Avenger replacement

Justin from Idaho Falls, ID on 1/9/2022

2008 Dodge Avenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these as replacements for my OE speakers. I'm very impressed with these speakers! Mid and highs are very immersive. They do however, lack just a bit of bass, (possibly because I'm using an aftermarket radio to power them, for now) but matched with either subs or 6x9s in the back you get a full range sounds. Love these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Factory replacement upgrade

Travis from Post Falls, ID on 1/9/2022

2019 Volkswagen Golf Alltrack

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for factory speakers. Sound way better.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Ivan from Miami, FL on 1/9/2022

2013 Hyundai Azera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

chris from GERMANTOWN, WI on 1/7/2022

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these and JBL Club 620F for my 2012 Silverado ex cab. Was not planning on changing the head unit, just wanted to upgrade the speakers for better sound. I put the JBLs in the rear doors and Rocks in the front. I like putting different mfgs front to back for a more complete sound. Sort of like cheap surround sound. Anyways these speakers are such an improvement over the drone of the factory units, they removed the poor boom bass and provided clearer mid range and my ears tell me sharper sound with volume up. They worked great with the Rocks in the front (did not use tweeter). Installation was easy but mounting the speaker to the bracket was not simple. I had to drill and use the stupid door slide nuts to attach to the bracket. This added a little angst to the project. The JBL's worked better with the bracket. A good sound improvement. Pleased. If I have to compare the speakers to each other I think I would pick the JBL's. They just seem to have a smoother low end. Either way you can't go wrong except a few dollars difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old school ride

Crutchfield customer from Haslet, TX on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Piggott, AR on 1/2/2022

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product ,good s sound ,

Pros: Sound awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 1/1/2022

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers they have given my car a new sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful customer service

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale, PA on 12/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing customer service! Got the speakers as a gift for my dad, but didn't add the vehicle when I ordered so did not receive the wiring stuff. I called and they got me all sorted out in no time. The team was very kind and helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fosgate rocks

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, CA on 12/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service and all the wiring and adapters came with my order at no extra charge ,made for a easy install.

Pros: comes with everything needed for installation.

Cons: No cons here it is what they say it is.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Pekin, IL on 12/29/2021

2015 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This brand is phenomenal. Always happy with this brand. It's worth the money. Great quality sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

N/A

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/28/2021

2002 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible product and it has enhanced my love for my car. Thanks for the great quality item and Happy New Year to you all!

Pros: Quality Sleek look

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/28/2021

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot better sound then the old kicker speakers I had installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Park, CO on 12/26/2021

2019 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although we couldn't get the tweeters in (used the factory) everything else fit just fine and the sounds was like night and day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Albertville, AL on 12/25/2021

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy to install.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Reynoldsburg, OH on 12/22/2021

2011 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Good fit

Pros: Had them installed at Best Buy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 12/21/2021

2016 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always easy with Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine factory replacement for Lexus ES330

Datanerd from Alexandria, VA on 12/19/2021

2004 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are fine factory replacements for 2004 Lexus ES330 front doors which had 17 year old speakers that had started breaking down from age. Replacing the ancient speakers gave me a great deal of clarity and bass response, compared to the crackling mess you would get before I replaced both the woofers and tweeters. Replacing the tweeters required cutting off the old tweeters at the speaker, stripping and twisting the wire pairs together (color to color) and plugging this back into the 4pin connector (see photo), then running the wires from the back of the woofer to the new tweeters. Also, these tweeters don't have a screw hole to secure them, so expect to use hot glue or double sided tape or some other adhesive to secure them to the factory brackets.

Pros: Price, clean sound.

Cons: Tweeters need wiring change for ES330.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Grayslake, IL on 12/12/2021

2001 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed R165 s in my 2001 Tundra I have a updated Pioneer head unit and these speakers sound great. A very worthwhile upgrade and glad I bought them. The speakers installed in the stock mounts without a problems. I split tweeter enclosure in half and just used bottom portion and reused the metal mounting bracket and screw on the door, it worked great.

Pros: Cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, what a difference in the sound quality! I should've done this upgrade sooner!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Well Worth The Price

Crutchfield customer from Alamogordo, NM on 11/6/2021

2003 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Entry level price-point, but sounds way better than what I expected!

Pros: Price; no crossover box or inline to mess with as it is all internal; Way better than factory speakers!

Cons: Only time will tell

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 11/3/2021

2006 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sound great and I didn't have to use an amp to power them! With the installation instructions Crutchfield sent me I was able to install them with ease!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 10/27/2021

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit with nice sound utilizing existing factory head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Brick, NJ on 10/20/2021

2003 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement speakers. Clean, crisp sound and very loud when pair correctly to your stock radio. 2003 acura mdx

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Grand Jct, CO on 10/20/2021

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed for my SC 430 Lexus. I love Crutchfield because they supply all the DIY information.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Fantástico

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 10/20/2021

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Esta empresa te permite conseguir todo lo que necesitas para instalar sonido o actualizar sonido en tu vehículo. Te indica los diagramas y el material necesario. En cuanto a la calidad de rockford sigue siendo bueno, esto lo instale en un kia optima actualizando los speakers de fabrica y andan muy bien el sonido mejoro notablemente

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Get these and you wont be disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 10/20/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For Rockford's entry speaker these are extremely clear and crisp! If you don't want to spend a ton of money and are looking for something better than your stock speakers, these are a perfect choice. Only sending 50 watts per channel to them. Also there is no crossover to mount, the resistors and capacitors are built in to the mid and tweeter.

Pros: Great price Crisp clean sound Needs very little wattage No crossover to mount

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing!!

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 10/17/2021

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are an amazing upgrade from the original stock GM speakers. I highly recommend them!!!

Pros: great sound and clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Metlakatla, AK on 10/13/2021

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love everything about the product you guys sell and the stuff I bought is amazing, thank you so much

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from De Soto, MO on 10/12/2021

2017 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent uograde from factory even without an amplifier.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: Cant think of any.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 10/9/2021

2008 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and excellent price. Installation hardware included for free made installing these speakers that much easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 10/7/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacement speakers sounds good, as expected!

Pros: Easy install, especially with free adapters!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Skeetman has returned and ready soon to bump.

Crutchfield customer from Champaign, IL on 10/7/2021

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great and really a good price. Rockford Fosgate puts the Fosgate name on these series -1 or primes and they deserve it.

Pros: Works on factory deck power amps and sounds good.

Cons: Didn't have a speaker adapter for tweets so I fashioned two out of window sails.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1998 Tahoe upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 10/4/2021

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge difference in the quality of sound in 1998 Tahoe. Fit prefect.

Pros: Prefect fit, including tweeters

Cons: none at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 10/3/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with sound quality.

Pros: Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

T100 Glow-up

Crutchfield customer from Portland , OR on 9/27/2021

1997 Toyota T100

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a set of original speakers in a '97 Toyota T100, and what an improvement! I was able to reuse the original plastic speaker panel by cutting off a small alignment nub and drilling a small hole for the tweeter wiring to come through. Tweeter in the A-pillar used the original bracket with some high-strength double-sided tape after removing from the little housing.

Pros: Great sound for price Seem sturdy

Cons: Wire for tweeter was a bit long (just ziptied it up)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from East Alton, IL on 9/26/2021

1999 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great. I had no idea my radio could sound this good.

Pros: These speakers are well made and come with hardware for different mounting options.

Cons: Wish there was a direct replacement for my factory speakers but the mounting was really not a problem.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Toyota Highlander Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Willard, UT on 9/21/2021

2016 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers to replace my wife's blown speakers in her 2016 Toyota Highlander. They were fairly simple to install and are honestly better sounding that the ones I replaced, loved how all the wiring and extra fitment plates were free with the purchase of these speakers! Literally everything you need at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend crutchfield.com for all speaker purchases.

Pros: Easy install Came with everything you need (as long as you have common tools) Tons of install videos on YouTube

Cons: Wish I bought these for my Jeep as well!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Goog product

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Caleb from St Cloud, FL on 7/25/2021

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high quality. Installed into the front doors of my 2002 Suburban 1500. Installation was easy. I have had them in that car for almost two years now, and they sound as good as the day I installed them. Would recommend!

Pros: Clear sound High quality materials

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Mountain City , TN on 7/23/2021

2000 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the Harmon/JBL stock speakers in my Toyota Sienna van. Sound now is 1000% better. Could not believe the difference. I'll buy RF again for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Forsyth

jason from Forsyth on 7/22/2021

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1 speaker failed very early after installing it. Installed a pair of these speakers to replace a dead speaker in 2000 Chevy Silverado. Sound was OK, but not noticeably better than factory Shortly after installing, 1 speaker quit working. Maybe a couple weeks. I assumed it was a poor connection or problem in the wiring. I never got around to pulling the door panel off again because I rarely drove the truck to notice it. It was WELL outside of the warranty period when I finally pulled the door panel and diagnosed it to the speaker. Shame on me for not addressing the issue when it happened. I wish I could buy just a single replacement.

Pros: fits in original opening. re-drilled door frame for screws.

Cons: Poor QA, failed very soon after installing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade from Stock Speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 7/2/2021

2009 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The foam surrounds on the front door speakers in my 2009 Honda Element gave up the ghost a couple of months ago and I finally got around to replacing them. The installation was a breeze. Actually easier than the instructions indicated as I didn't have to do any cutting at all. Just drilled new mounting holes and connected them up. These are substantially better than my stock speakers -- even to my 58-year-old, tinnitus-hobbled ears. The bass is tighter and has more "punch" than the factory speakers and the L-R separation is much more pronounced. If I'd known how easy it was going to be and how much better it would sound, I'd have done this years ago. I just put in an order to replace the other 2 "good" factory speakers with another pair of these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Owasso, OK on 6/27/2021

1995 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Good quality. Easy install. Put in a 95 suburban doors.

Pros: Good quality. Good price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Merced, CA on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

They make it so easy.

Crutchfield customer from Olyphant, PA on 6/20/2021

2015 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They make it easy. First off the speakers were a game changer, I replaced the factory speakers in a 2015 Nissan Altima. If I would have known how good it could sound I would have changed them the second I bought the car. Crutchfield made the installation a breeze, step by step instructions the whole install took about an hour. Highly recommend the speakers, highly recommend Crutchfield.

Pros: Ups your bass definition a lot.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Camas, WA on 6/19/2021

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/15/2021

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish it had more bass but overall good

Pros: It's very clear and works well for the price

Cons: Bass is lacking but still sounds good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Buy these.

Crutchfield customer from Troy, AL on 6/13/2021

2013 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and even better customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 6/10/2021

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers!! Easy to install and excellent customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Peasy and sound good to me

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/3/2021

2009 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. Easy install in 2009 Honda CR-V with the Crutchfield provided wire adaptors and speaker adaptors. No complaints at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Iron Station, NC on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They seem nice. The wrong adapters were sent for hooking up the tweeters, just spliced into original plugs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield was wrong

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 5/30/2021

2012 Mitsubishi Galant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The site says these are for my door and rear of my car. WRONG. Only fit the door. My rear speakers are 6x9s

Pros: Fit my doors

Cons: Did not fit my rear

Crutchfield response on 6/8/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Madison from Corpus Christi, TX on 5/29/2021

2019 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is okay but I was very disappointed in the lows for the speaker. My factory speakers sounded better in my tus on than these did. The sound is louder but definitely not better.

Pros: Louder

Cons: Distorted lows

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Budget Speaker / Quality Sound

Crutchfield customer from Olney, IL on 5/27/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers at a great price! Installed them in my Jeep Wrangler JKU (replaced a set of coaxial Kicker CSC65 that were used along with the stock tweeters) and the sound difference is amazing! Would definitely recommend (especially for the price point) Classic RF

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Kinston, NC on 5/26/2021

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not even the right size. I entered the the vehicle information and still receive the wrong speakers size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/3/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze, FL on 5/25/2021

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're pretty good for the money i paid They're real good just wish yall would've cut the hole for the tweeters into the adapter plates other than that they sound good in my jeep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 5/25/2021

2011 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fun and exciting install, even for a newbie! Crutchfield came in clutch when I wasn't sure about a few things, and the installation went off without a hitch. SO glad I chose this set - beautifully packaged, good instructions, and worked well with the universal bracket.

Pros: Easy install Great sound Recommended accessories work well with minimal customization

Cons: Extra materials after installation (save them for another project) Didn't need the universal back strap accessory

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Lil Disappointed

Ronald from Cleveland, Oh on 5/24/2021

2013 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers but doesn't give me that deep bass sound I'm looking for. The tweeters are great fits in the doors perfectly sound quality is awesome.

Pros: Fits perfectly, sound clarity, price

Cons: Deep bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield speakers with wires and instructions

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rita, GU on 5/23/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was exactly wheat I expected. Complete set of what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Install

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 5/22/2021

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, a perfect upgrade from my factory stock speakers. All items required to adapt for a custom fit were included. However, I know it would be difficult for Crutchfield to stock an adapter for every speaker but having to modify the tweeter mount myself was a minor setback.

Pros: Customer support.

Cons: Had to make modifications.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Downgrade from stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from PEARL CITY, HI on 5/17/2021

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Downgraded speakers for a 2007 Dodge Ram2500 with Infinity system. Bought this based on their recommendation. Bass is weak. They should be recommending a 6x9 replacement.

Pros:

Cons: Weak bass

Crutchfield response on 5/24/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice speaker, but not 6.5"

Paul from Newark on 5/7/2021

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JL)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice speaker. but not 6.5". it is a 6" speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/13/2021
Car speaker sizing can be one of most confusing things we deal with on a daily basis here at Crutchfield, and it helps to think of speakers in categories instead of sizes. Measuring a speaker will never yield the same number as its category, as this customer pointed out in their comment. To help our customers, we decided to take the research we did on speaker locations in various vehicles and translate that into what fits from the measurements we actually take from the speakers we sell. We hoped to eliminate some of the confusion and not mislead customers. These sizes are not always indicative of what the factory speaker size was. In any event, you can find out more about identifying speaker "sizes" here.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price work excellent 2010 Toyota Camry with stock radio

Pros: Sound,fit&value

Cons: No pig tail for tweeters

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Even if you have the Alpine system in your Jeep, this is the next step

Crutchfield customer from Appleton, WI on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A huge improvement in clarity compared to the already "upgraded" Alpine Jeep speakers. Much better quality materials as well.

Pros: High quality speakers that allow you to hear what you have been missing in your music from your factory system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Tigard, OR on 4/1/2021

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers, it really makes driving in traffic a little more bearable, a real improvement over my stock speakers, well done Rockford Fosgate, and thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Darren from Kent, WA on 3/28/2021

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice set of separates. The highs are just right, not too bright. Have the tweets up in the corner of the dash. Only one minor complaint is that the bass isn't that great but that'll be addressed later after I add an amp and subwoofer to the set up. Would've given five stars but I got the wrong adapters and had to search the net for wiring layout in my vehicle. Small pain.

Pros: Clear highs and mids from the aftermarket head unit

Cons: Not a lot of bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/27/2021

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good mids and bass. Sounds great! Good quality. Would recommend an amp for the best overall sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, KS on 3/21/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy install and even includes tweeters. Nothing to complain about

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Island, SC on 3/21/2021

2003 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome .. great product .. easy install.. been a Crutchfield customer for years .. always the best, hands down ! ??????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Goldsboro, NC on 3/17/2021

2009 Buick Enclave

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the speakers was damaged and I had to buy another set from somewhere else... I want to return them and get a refund

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 5 found this helpful

Not for jeep factory amp and aftermarket head unit

Donald from MARYVILLE, TN on 3/17/2021

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good at low volume, but once the radio hits 20 which is half volume the distortion starts so that's pretty disappointing to me I bought 2 pair at this price. To much of a pain to return so ill end up replacing soon and toss these. These went in my 07 jeep wrangler which had the infinity system in it.. I replaced the radio head unit, added PAC, these speakers are being pushed by factory amp with Boss head unit. So maybe this will help some of you jeep guys.

Pros: Sound good at low volume

Cons: Distort at half volume with jeep aftermarket head unit and factory amp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wallet friendly quality

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 3/15/2021

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very affordable price for such a clean sounding speaker, super simple setup and looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely Disatisfied

David from SEATTLE, WA on 3/14/2021

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've purchased Rockford Fosgate products in the past but I'm highly dissatisfied with these speakers. There's virtually no mids or lows. I've been trying to tune these speakers with my Alpine ilx-w650 but I get nothing. The stock speakers had a richer sound on the low end.

Pros: Tweeters brighter and more defined than stock speakers

Cons: No lows or mids

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/14/2021

2015 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really love the speakers sound and quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 ford fusion

Dustin from Saint cloud fl on 3/14/2021

2014 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2014 Ford Fusion. Not the Sony system. Just the my ford touch 6 speaker system. Pretty disappointed in these speakers. Was hoping for more for the price. They sound worse than the factory system and not by a little. I can't even turn them up as loud as the factory speakers before the start bottoming out. Would not recommend these at all. The bass is almost non existent. I would return them but already installed them.

Pros: Packaged really well. Seem good quality just wished they sounded better.

Cons: Not 6 1/2 Has almost 0 bass Sounds worse than factory

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Set!

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/14/2021

2004 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a great beginner component set. They were easy to put in and the quality is unmatched for the price. They're perfect if you're just getting started with car audio, or if you don't want to spend too much money and but you still want great sound. The tweeters have nice, bright highs which create a truly 3D soundstage. The woofers are a little lacking in bass, but that's expected at this price and power. Overall, a great set!

Pros: Bright Highs Directional Sound Easy to Install Great for the price

Cons: Lacking in bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An inexpensive and impressive upgrade from stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/10/2021

2018 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2018 Jeep Cherokee and I added a RF subwoofer to my stock system a month ago, and that made the stock speakers sound wimpy and were completely drowned by bass. I needed an upgrade in clarity of treble and mid but didn't want to run another amp or upgrade the head unit. I ordered these for my front doors and corner tweeters and was impressed. Clearly an upgrade. When I turn the sub off, the mids/bass response was marginally better and won't blow you away. Since I have sub, it really was the highs where I wanted to see improvement and it was surprisingly good. I had to turn the treble down, which I put to max with the stock speakers to balance the sound. I recommend if you are looking for an inexpensive upgrade to a stock system.

Pros: Easy to install nice upgrade without installing an amp Runs off stock headunit Highs are loud and clear

Cons: Minimal Mid/bass improvement

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Pea Ridge, AR on 3/10/2021

2004 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality sound!

Pros: Really good quality for the budget

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/10/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall these are great speakers the sound quality is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value add!

Crutchfield customer from Croton Hdsn, NY on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to our Class C cabin, now with crisp highs and full tones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, TN on 2/27/2021

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product; great service; great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City , MO on 2/24/2021

2019 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and sounds great.

Pros: The price for sure

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor base quality

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh, WI on 2/23/2021

2013 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tweeters are good, but I was really disappointed in the kickers, much lower quality than my stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Sun City, CA on 2/22/2021

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit. This is my second set of these. Will buy again if/when needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 2/17/2021

2005 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze, FL on 2/17/2021

2009 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound fantastic. They are really clear and the bass is very smooth.

Pros: The price for good speakers. They sound great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not quite a drop-in, but sounds better than stock

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 2/15/2021

2017 Chevrolet Volt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tweeters definitely improved the sound in the high range, but are a little harsh in the upper highs. Midbass drivers only sound marginally better than stock, but overall the system sounds a good bit better than stock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Belle Glade, FL on 2/14/2021

2014 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to send these speakers back to Crutchfield. They did not fit the front door OEM speaker brackets very well.and the rear door speakers were tweeter speakers, So I Purchased a 6 1/2 inch alpine tweeter speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Townville

Crutchfield customer from Townville on 2/8/2021

2011 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear and crisp but no thump. Bass is lacking at least in my Genesis Lexicon system.

Pros: Clear sound with no distortion.

Cons: Not a lot of thump.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Joshua C from Pataskala, OH on 2/3/2021

2017 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My factory speakers sounded better than these. They were a pain to install so I'm just going to leave them in. I wouldn't recommend them.

Pros: crisp

Cons: bass is lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Getva second opinion if you have Dynaudio sytem.

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 1/19/2021

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After speaking to the professionals at Crutchfield I was told that these speakers would be great replacements for my rear doors and that will compliment my Dynaudio system. Unfortunately that's not the case, these speakers can handle the output.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Can not handle Dynaudio output.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Belvidere, IL on 1/16/2021

2004 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over stock without spending too much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 1/12/2021

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound fairly easy installation after I got the first door complete

Pros: Price sound

Cons: Tweeter installation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Notasulga, AL on 12/17/2020

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and price....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Salem, AL on 12/16/2020

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were not worth my time or my money! My Toyota factory speakers had more mid bass than these. I had to return them!

Pros: The highs are crisp and clear.

Cons: The mid bass is weak and not an upgrade from my factory speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product and great support

Crutchfield customer from Rolling Prairie, IN on 12/16/2020

2007 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these speakers in a 2007 Colorado and thanks to the help from Crutchfield the installation was a breeze. While the speakers don't perform above my expectations they do work much better than the original factory speakers.

Pros: Easy installation. Decent sound.

Cons: Only slightly better than the factory speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Whitmire, SC on 12/14/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are great and fit with little modifications in my Jeep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound for a great price

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 12/10/2020

2008 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound for a great price. Very happy with these speakers. They replaced the stock factory speakers. They work great with the stock radio. Huge difference in the tweeter. Pretty straight forward install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 12/8/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

John from Wakefield, MA on 12/8/2020

2015 Lincoln MKZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came in good condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo West, CO on 12/7/2020

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. Gives enough bass to enhance the sound of my music and listening pleasure.

Pros:

Cons: A bit of time to install the tweeters

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Fosgate

Crutchfield customer from Tiffin, OH on 12/6/2020

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound easy to install

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Pearland, TX on 12/5/2020

2015 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Showed up on time and look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Penfield, IL on 12/3/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. I installed them as front speakers and tombstone tweeters in my 2010 Jeep Wrangler JKU and they sound fantastic. Good cheap investment for a much better experience for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Brownsburg, IN on 12/3/2020

2015 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mid bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Harrison, MI on 11/29/2020

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are awesome they jam and the highs are amazing as well it's like being at a concert the sound is amazing now with my 2 12 type s thank you crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid quality, Crisp sound but less bass then factory speakers

Deepak from CARY, NC on 11/29/2020

2010 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very crisp, clear sound. I replaced the original 2010 Accord front speakers with these and noticed it has less bass than the original ones. I expected at least same or little more bass but still trying to figure out if I should switch back to the original bottom ones keeping new twitters installed. These speakers appears to have solid quality then orginal ones so I am sure if you add extra bass, its perfect upgrade with the original factory stereo.

Pros: Solid Quality Crisp Sound Looks amazing

Cons: Very less bass than original factory speakers

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buy these NOW!

Crutchfield customer from La Mesa, CA on 11/28/2020

2005 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just amazing speakers! Buy yours now!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Sturgis, MI on 11/25/2020

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers sounds great

Pros: Good price

Cons: No cross over

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 11/21/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in my Toyota Tundra and wondered why they sold me 6 1/2" when 6x 9 are factory size. Your support led me down the path that good 6x9 speakers will hit the window when rolled down. They also walked me thru the correct wiring process for the dash tweeters. Although mounting brackets are not available for the dash tweeters, I made some very easy out of polypropylene sheet at work. The whole process from ordering to enjoying them was simple. I have bought from Crutchfield for over 30 years and will continue.

Pros: Excellent support staff.

Cons: Not great speaker options for Tundra. But not Crutchfields fault.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 11/15/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple plug and play and sounds great good low end

Pros:

Cons: Silicone sealing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Northbridge, MA on 11/9/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Substantial improvement over my stock speakers. Install was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/7/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sounding front speakers they are real crisp and good lows as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super easy

Crutchfield customer from Glendora, CA on 11/7/2020

2003 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install-less than 25 minutes! Big improvement in sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker upgraded my factory set up real well.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So So

Crutchfield customer from New Prague, MN on 11/4/2020

2013 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not produce a decent amount of Bass. Disappointed.

Pros: good brand

Cons: does not sound good in vehicle. Very little bass.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Galen from Hamilton, NY on 10/25/2020

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are good speakers, especially for the money. I've had them in my everything-else-stock '16 Impreza for a few weeks and they sound great. Decent bass for what they are and my set up. I listen to everything from the Bach's to bass heavy EDM. But, BUT, I had to turn virtual bass off and set the EQ with lower frequencies at zero. The bass they do have sounds great but even at low volumes and stereo set as mentioned deep bass makes them sound as if they're ready to blow. Particularly bass such as the first drop in Diplo's Revolution. Given the reviews and frequency range of the speakers I wasn't expecting much bass, that's what the sub is for. But even with stock everything else they have enough bass for me to be happy with, even without the sub. They just can't handle some of it. Even with flat EQ and all bass boosters off.

Pros: Huge improvement over stock speakers even with leaving everything else stock. Decent bass, sounds better than stock, what little they can handle.

Cons: Can't handle some bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Waco, GA on 10/19/2020

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound love how you guys help with install with plenty of directions on line or on paper

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

10/10

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 10/18/2020

1999 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These bad boys will make your car sound fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Adjuntas, PR on 10/12/2020

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 10/10/2020

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great high range speakers, great sound clear lyrics. Not much on the low end. No bass

Pros: Easy to install great sound

Cons: No bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers, Great Price, Great Balance. Short on Bass though

Chris from Maryland on 10/5/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with these speakers as an upgrade to stock in my 2014 Wrangler. They are not very bass-heavy, but I have a subwoofer, so they sound great. Well balanced, tweeters are sharp and clean. The tweeters fit the factory tombstones in my jeep with just a little work to make the factory openings slightly larger (used a dremel). They are also directable to some degree so you can adjust the soundstage. But remember- it's a jeep, so it noisy and not a great acoustic environment! As usual, Crutchfield provided installation accessories and instructions made the install a breeze. Great upgrade to the factory system and they sound great- even with the top down. If you want thumping bass- keep moving. But if you want great balance and good sound- I really like these. I did blow one of the originals, but Crutchfield made the warranty process super simple. Highly recommend Crutchfield and these speakers.

Pros: Price, overall sound, quality, crisp clean highs, really easy install.

Cons: Short on bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Vast improvement over factory speakers

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 10/1/2020

2020 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Day and night improvement over factory speakers. Unfortunately, installing them on the 2 ohm factory head unit limits the sound production they are capable of. Installing a Kicker key 4channel amp to bring the RFs to life. A great way to install the tweeter in the Frontier dash is to rip the paper out of the factory speaker and hot glue the tweeter right inside. The factory speaker was horrible but it makes a great bracket!

Pros: Very easy install with Crutchfield master sheets, wiring and brackets. Why buy anywhere else?

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Chester Springs, PA on 9/28/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit sounds perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Mentor, OH on 9/27/2020

2016 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Good replacement for factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 9/26/2020

2004 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good, but cant handle too much base.

Pros: Many mounting holes

Cons: 4 of mounting holes too big

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Warren, IL on 9/24/2020

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Huge upgrade over stock

Crutchfield customer from Meriden, CT on 9/23/2020

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a replacement for stock speakers in a '18 VW GTI. They have really opened up the sound. The sound is less muffled now and somehow brighter and cleaner than before. The bass is slightly better, but then I did not install an amp so they're running off the stock head unit's power. For the price they really can't be beat.

Pros: Price Clean sound Easy fitment

Cons: Positive and negative terminals not clearly marked

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Beloit, WI on 9/21/2020

1998 Oldsmobile Aurora

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Licking, MO on 9/8/2020

2009 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers, sound great for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Surprised?

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/7/2020

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great for the price. Good value?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Lake Zurich, IL on 9/6/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Prefect installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 9/3/2020

2000 Toyota Celica GTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these on my 00 Celica GTS and wow what a difference. I mean of course it was way different than the 20 year old speakers I still had but the sound is just so clear and crisp. To install everything I did modify a few things such as the hole where the tweeter is mounted on the door panel and how the speakers attack to the brackets but other than that pretty easy job just find the cables that correspond to each, snip, and rewire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Grover Beach, CA on 8/31/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers for replacing factory system in my JK

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Hagatna, GU on 8/31/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality speakers that don't break the bank. I wish it came with crossovers for both woofer and tweeter but it does the job and the price can't be beat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/30/2020

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bumps, thumps. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 8/25/2020

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my Chevy...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 8/24/2020

2000 Acura Integra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best investment ever. Really completes my system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Where's the bass

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/6/2020

2003 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are "ok" speakers. The vocals and highs are good, tight and running on deck power surprisingly clean. But, the mid-bass is nowhere close to keeping up with the vocals and highs. From 100hz -1500hz these need help. Going to try playing with the airspace on the door to see if it helps

Pros: Highs and vocals are really good

Cons: Bass response very weak

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Murrells Inlet, SC on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 8/2/2020

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The twitters don't fits on Corolla s they are way to small when suppose to perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2020
We're sorry you're having problems with your speaker installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Michael from Madison, AL on 7/27/2020

2009 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase to replace an older set of Kenwood coaxials I purchased from Crutchfield a few years ago. Install was easy and the improvement in sound quality is significant. The music now has true highs, mids and lows- with better imaging, clarity, etc. Installed in my daughters '09 Accord Sedan using only the power from the factory stereo. Also installed the Rockford 6.5" coaxials in the rear deck and already had a 10" Kicker in the trunk with a Sound Ordnance mono amp (all from Crutchfield). The upgrades are all "done" and we are very pleased with the results. Great service, selection, prices and timely shipping from Crutchfield as usual. Would strongly recommend to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound terible quality

Brandon from Buffalo Grove, IL on 7/11/2020

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK, don't get me wrong, but these speakers are perfect for the person who wants clarity. BUT THEY SUCK WITH THE FACTORY HONDA SYSTEM. I blew my speakers within one week of owning them. I bought these specked for FACTORY RADIO UPGRADES. I did my research. I love hearing my bass, and I asked a few people that own them and they have their bass cranked up, but with my FACTORY HONDA RADIO the speaker blew. I can't get replacements now cause they are out of stock and they don't know when they are getting shipments in and was told they would be shipped out the day I called and NOPE GOT THE INVOICE AND said OUT OF STOCK. DIDNT EVEN HAVE THE NERVE TO CALL ME!!

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Legit everything else

Crutchfield response on

1 of 18 found this helpful

Noticeable improvement over stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from Mount Holly, NJ on 7/11/2020

2004 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, happy with the sound once I got the system configured correctly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bass

Bob from Stowe on 7/2/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sad product from Rockford

Dean from PITTSBURGH, PA on 6/19/2020

2020 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointing product from Rockford. At moderate volume the low frequency driver starts "thumping" as though its at the limits of it's excursion. The speaker's actual dimension only 5 1/4" ( I've bought enough products over the years to realize the actual size is always smaller but these are noticeably) , I pulled them out of the doors checking phase and any obstruction, replaced it an have the same issue. Unfortunately all of my packing material was thrown away prematurely or these would go back. Its sad to say the OEM kicker was a better product. Hopefully Crutchfield has a suitable replacement for these, I hate throwing money away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Christal clear

Andy the x tech from Goffstown, NH on 6/2/2020

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. They fit great in my BMW E46 with adapters. I had to modify the bracket for the tweeters. I made a YouTube video installing them "Andy the X Tech" https://youtu.be/0151Ujg944I

Pros: Sound at mid volume is Chrystal clear. Tweeters sound amazing. Great midrange speakers.

Cons: I was hoping for a little more bass. But sound is great. I know they need some time to break in and It could also be my stock head unit. I will be changing it soon. I was hoping to not add a sub. We will see. Rock on??

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Rockfords

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality, really improved my enjoyment in driving. Easy install.

Pros: Great sound, great quality easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Rocks!

Crutchfield customer from Coal City, IL on 5/28/2020

2007 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speakers, they sound amazing! Im so happy!

Pros: They sound spectacular! My car sounds so much different than it did with the stock speakers in it! You have made me love driving my car again!!

Cons: Definitely no cons!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, AR on 5/28/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work alright but if you are replacing your OEM 6 by 9 tundra speakers with these then be prepared to be disappointed. They have a weak bass compared to stock and just don't sound good. I'm not not big into audio but these just lack the bass the oem have so if you are buying these for the bass then look elsewhere because it ain't here. I'm disappointed and I'm not happy with how my truck sounds so I will be looking for something to satisfy my needs. Again I'm not into audio that much but still expect to enjoy my music at a good decent quality which these to me don't deliver.

Pros:

Cons: Weak bass

Crutchfield response on 6/2/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. That's a common reaction when replacing car speakers. What you can expect to hear from a new speaker is better clarity and definition in the mids and highs. So your music will sound better and more lifelike, but you might not hear more bass. The only way to get more bass is to add more power, and if you want to keep the factory radio, that means adding an amplifier. A small (40-50 watts), 4-channel amp can supply twice the power of an aftermarket stereo and three or four times the power of the typical factory radio. That'll improve all the sound, but you'll especially hear it in the fullness of the bass. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good speakers and features

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 5/26/2020

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound good and the tweeters had a built in bass blocker so I didn't need to worry about a crossover. I wish I had bought these for my front doors too but I went with Sound Ordinance for them, and it required more work and splicing. These speakers have an extra set of connectors so you can plug your tweeters in without splicing. Glad I purchased these!

Pros: Bass blocker Extra connection for tweeters Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 5/24/2020

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, I have them n my 2019 accord sport an they make a big difference. The highs are awesome....

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Added clarity to blown stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from Watervliet, NY on 5/23/2020

2016 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the stock speakers were blown on the passenger side so I picked these as the replacements. They have a nice clean sound with the factory amp and I was able to wire the tweeter in the stock location so all of the sound comes across just like from the factory. Good quality and easy to mount with the adapters. Highly recommended for a quick swap and cleaner sound over factory.

Pros: Clean, Well Priced, Good design

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Zachery from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA on 5/23/2020

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great sound. Would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Wolfe City, TX on 5/20/2020

1999 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provided great sound, great upgrade over the stock speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing mid-price deck speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Elyria, OH on 5/20/2020

2015 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing budget speakers. I highly recommend these for any end user that wants a high quality sound, with a low cost. I doubt they will find anything significantly better. Fosgate quality, as expected.

Pros: Price, mounting depth.

Cons: Slightly grainy at high power, but most budget systems will never see it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Hammond, IN on 5/19/2020

2019 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers look and sou and awesome, exactly what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Mabelvale, AR on 5/19/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers for the money. Have a nice sound to them.

Pros: Good sound. Inexpensive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Speaker for the $, but install can get tricky....

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 5/17/2020

2000 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this set for a 2000 Tacoma. Replacing a 20 yr old OEM system. Suppose to fit in the door or rear panel speakers either one. Well, as I took the door panels off it looked almost impossible for the tweeters to mount in the door at all? I am a rookie audio installer but the space where a tweeter would fit is in the door pocket and I wasn't going to block up my door pocket. And that is less than optimal place for tweeters also. So, I mounted them external on the A pillar. It was most optimal and only way to get them on the pillar was external mount. I didn't use the hardware from RF, I used my own. They sound good, but installation was not as easy as I had hoped for what was factory install. My OEM system didn't have tweeters so I added them. I'm happy with them so far. I added sound deading material to my doors as well to help with sound.

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Chinch Pin screws are poor set up to me. I used my own hardware to secure the speaker to the new speaker mount panel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 5/14/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good for mid and high sound. Nice and clean

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Logan, UT on 5/13/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great and we're really easy to install with the Crutchfield installation instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 5/10/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sounds great. Bass is reasonable and sound is clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Fleischmanns, NY on 5/9/2020

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best at this price point in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Malta, OH on 5/5/2020

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quick shipment, exactly what I needed with detailed instructions, my system sounds better than new highly recommend this company !!

Pros: lightning fast shipping with courteous and prompt correspondence

Cons: wish I could shake someones hand as this has been an outstanding buying experience !!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/4/2020

2000 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

crisp sound and good looking speakers. Tweeters have different mounting options.

Pros: various ways to mount tweeters. comes with flush tweeter faces to mount in door panels or mini tweeter pods to mount anywhere.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockfords ROCK

ursino from Windsor, CA on 4/26/2020

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product and for the money you can't beat it .. Nice clean clear sound !!!tweeters are nice and crisp Decent bass

Pros: Best bang for your buck Clean clear sound Shallow mount can mount almost anywhere Rockford sound tweeters are nice and crisp

Cons: Decent bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Broad Brook, CT on 4/25/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Can't go wrong

Oscar from PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ on 4/24/2020

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, had no issues installing with all included freebies from crutchfield, sound awesome in my vehicle, tweeters were a little difficult to use but I made some modifications and got them to fit

Pros:

Cons: Tweeters didn't fit but after modifying my pillars got them to fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2005 Silverado ext cab speaker install

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation wasn't bad. Had to drill new holes in door panels for the tweeters. Was walked right through it using tech support! Drilled a 1-3/4" hole and rounded it out a bit to make it bigger then hot glued it in place. Really love the sound in my 2005 Silverado, still using the factory radio. Sounds soo much better! Tech support was fantastic. I damaged a speaker installing it and they even sent me a replacement set no charge!

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Could use some shorter screws but not a huge deal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/13/2020

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great in my Ram 1500, suggest getting the baffles to help keep them from getting wet.

Pros: Look great easy swap

Cons: Had to do a little cutting of the plastic on the door

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Salt Rock, WV on 4/12/2020

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed them in the sound bar of my 97 jeep wrangler with a little bit of creativity they fit great and sound awesome I wish they had a little more bass but I think a small sub is really what I need

Pros: High quality Clear sound

Cons: Not much bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, KY on 4/5/2020

2019 Ram 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound outstanding at this price point and I highly recommend them for any system where you won't use an aftermarket amp to power them. They are extremely punchy and tweeters sound really good and easy to tune with my jvc head unit and along with the Rockford Fosgate 8" powered sub my regular cab Ram sounds great at any volume level.

Pros: Sounds great and easy install plus a nice price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 3/20/2020

2019 Mitsubishi Mirage G4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound really nice n clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, IL on 3/19/2020

1996 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hook them up to aftermarket head unit on my 96 bronco xl crank it up and enjoy the clarity the tweeters are modified fit for me so I placed them where I thought they sounded best if you have alot of bass they really do bring in a different dimension of sound no more droned out highs by pushing 2 12s in the rear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Westlake Vlg, CA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Painless to work with and clean sounding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Waunakee, WI on 3/11/2020

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Trae from Belfast, ME on 3/8/2020

2002 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely terrible. Don't waste your money. No bass whatsoever. I should Have just kept my stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/10/2020
Trae, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2000 Camry and I was down to one functioning speaker in the rear due to deterioration of the factory speakers. I purchased the Rockford Fosgate R165-S front speakers with the tweeters to replace the factory speakers. After removing the interior door panel, the speaker installation was easy after I received the mounting brackets from Crutchfield. The speakers sound great and for the price it was a solid purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2016 Dodge Ram rear Door

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 2/25/2020

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked perfect in the rear doors of the truck, the bass is cleaner and deeper. The tweeters add dimension to the sound. I'm going to purchase these for the front doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Federal Hgts, CO on 2/23/2020

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great! My second pair! Back em up with a sub though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Florence, CO on 2/20/2020

2012 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 2/10/2020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY INSTALLATION, LOUD CRISP CLEAR SOUNDS.

Pros: EASY INSTALLATION. SOUNDS ARE CRISP AND CLEAR

Cons: NOT MUCH BASS CAPABILITY, BUY SOME ROCKFORD FOSGATE SUBS TO GO WITH IT. PROBLEM FIXED

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Blackstone, VA on 1/27/2020

2001 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade over factory for the money would definitely purchase again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Northumberland, PA on 1/21/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tweeters a must

Crutchfield customer from Dubois, WY on 1/19/2020

1998 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely go with the tweeter of your choice. Adds another dimension to your music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These really upgraded the sound in my Titan. So much more clarity than the stock speakers. I was quite surprised how well my head unit was able to power these. It's nice to be able to run some component speakers without an amp.

Pros: Excellent sound and clarity, easy install, no amp required with aftermarket head unit.

Cons: No tweeter bracket available for my Titan, but a bracket is easy to fab up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Justin from PEARSALL, TX on 1/7/2020

2011 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, easy to install and hook up

Pros: Great sound, easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These fellas Rock

Crutchfield customer from Dunedin, FL on 12/30/2019

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You cannot beat the sound for this price. I was not expecting as much clarity with these speakers, but I have been proved wrong. I bought 2 sets of these, one for my car that has a sub, and one set for my daughter, who doesn't have a sub. A sub really brings everything together, but they are not too shabby on their own. I think adding an amp would really bring these guys to life. Great set of speakers if you are upgrading.

Pros: Easy installation, and the sound is great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Clean Crisp Sound

SHANE from Colorado Springs on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for my lower fairings in my Harley Street Glide and am BEYOND impressed. I have never ran component speakers and the R165-S have a clear and crisp sound. I am not running off of an amp bet I don't see any need for one as well. I would strongly recommend these as any speaker upgrade.

Pros: Quality, packaging sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Merkel, TX on 12/14/2019

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 12/8/2019

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from stock speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Houston

J from Houston on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty disappointed with these. I bought them on the advice of a friend. The sound is worse than my 18 year old OEM speakers. I wouldn't buy these again. They need more bass and more full sound. You get what you pay for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 11 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Columbia City, IN on 11/24/2019

2016 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stock replacement speakers. I didn't use the tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound and easy to install and wire

Darian from North Carolina on 11/19/2019

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install especially with harnesses and they are exact fits.

Pros: Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speakers for Jeep liberty

Crutchfield customer from Canadian, TX on 11/10/2019

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is poor, nothing fit right I learn to go for the original equipment; this was a waste of money

Pros: None

Cons: Connectors not available, bad sound quality, don't fit right; tweeters completely different and is no way to mount them

Crutchfield response on 11/19/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 11/6/2019

1998 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice set a speakers sound is great price is great easy install and great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarity with some peaking

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/28/2019

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade kit for a car that has standard factory speakers. Only negative is the integrated crossover in the tweeter leaves no adjustment aside from the head unit. Paired with the stock Honda Civic Sport head unit requires treble to be almost tuned completely down to avoid harsh highs. Could be the speakers - could be the head unit. Overall good upgrade for factor 4 speaker system.

Pros: Price, ease of install, nice lengths of wire.

Cons: A bit harsh on the highs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great affordable speaker set

Crutchfield customer from Port Richey, FL on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cant beat the sound for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 10/22/2019

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers were a perfect replacement for my factory speakers. Quick and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Do they fit? Yea!

Mike from Clifton Park, NY on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First: these sound awesome. Second: The mounting brackets that came with them left a very large gap around between the edge of the bracket and the factory mounting hole. (2013 Veloster Re:Mix) This was easily remedied by removing the factory speaker from the factory body shroud and attaching the new speaker directly to that big plastic shroud. Speaker fits WAY better and sounds even better. Third: for the same car, Crutchfield advertises that these tweeters DO NOT FIT (Surface mount only). I found this information to be 79.6598344852% incorrect. After removing the RF tweeter from it's pretty little housing, I found that the grill cover for the factory tweeter lined up almost perfectly with the grill cover on this tweeter. Lay the RF tweeter in place, aim it a teeny bit, and then hit it with some hot glue and...BAM!! It's almost as though it were meant to be! It's still hidden nicely in the factory tweeter mount, and I get the nice clear sound I was looking for without having to add what I consider to be quite unsightly pods to my dash or pillars.

Pros: Sound Great Fit amazingly well in factory locations Sound Great

Cons: Had to completely destroy the factory speaker to make it into a speaker mount, but hey, I was replacing it anyway because it was blown, so not really a huge con really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, TX on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers the clarity is unbelievable. just don't over power them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Carthage, NC on 10/16/2019

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All components arrived quickly. Quality looks good. I have not yet installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Murray, UT on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

big bang for great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from New Prague, MN on 9/18/2019

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Noob set-up..

Crutchfield customer from Ozone Park, NY on 9/6/2019

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass even with stock radio..??

Pros: Good for price

Cons: Nothing I could think off..??

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R165-S

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MA on 9/3/2019

1996 Isuzu Trooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty great speakers so far. Had them about 4 months now and definitely am enjoying the sound quality. Installing them was a bit of a hassle, but that is less on the speakers themselves and more on my specific vehicle. I had to break off the 4 corner brackets to get them to fit in properly. And I had to completely rebuild my tweeter set up to make these ones fit into place. Still, after the headache of install, these have been great speakers.

Pros: Good sounds quality

Cons: Tweeters will require some finagling

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Zero base, disappointed w Customer Service for recommending these

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 9/1/2019

2009 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm new to installing speakers on my own, and I was told by Crutchfield customer service that these speakers would provide an excellent sound stage and would have decent base. They don't. These speakers are barely better than stock in the mids and highs, and they sorely disappoint when it comes to any base whatsoever - there is zero base. If you have a sub, these speakers might work for you, but if you don't, stay away from these. I'd like to return them for something else, but I threw away the boxes when I installed the speakers, thinking they would eventually "break in".

Pros: Good highs and mids

Cons: Terrible lows, no base at all. Difficult installation instructions, shouldn't have bought these.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful